Regent Singapore

pingsparkle

latte: is there another thread on divine couture, so far i seen it doesn't have much posting? i want to check with you some stuff on DC.

hermes76

gals, dun be shy to ask/request or even demand :p since we are paying so much for the banquet.

For the parking coupons during AD, additionals requested will be charged at $5/coupon.

For the mics, we were given 4 standing(for the band) + 2 on rostrum.

For those having tea ceremony at Regent, tea-sets, trays, tea, hot/cold water are provided but do confirm with your coordinator.

maow

Bbg1223: so sorry for the late reply. I hope u have not rushed into making a decision yet! Though I know it's very time consuming, but i feel u should really look around first. I did not even consider oriental at all cos I couldn't meet their min tables requirement so I can't really help in this. Powder room room sounds good! Then u need not walk around so much with gowns. But the regent themes is really good! Especially for the ballroom. Why must u decide by mon? I hope your coordinator did not use some trick to make u rush to make a decision. I was being rushed to make a decision cos my coordinator told me that the price will change next week. So I had to make the decision by the end of the week. But I realized their price did not change at all! Not even 6mths after I've signed the package. Was really shocked and disappointed that a four star hotel has to resort to such trick to close deal.
Latte: sweetlove and I had the same MUA and I really think her makeup skill is really damn good! She charges $80 excluding fake eyelashes and ampuole. Fake eyelashes cost $20 if I'm not wrong.

maow

Wendy: I know they charges $80 for cordless mic. Don't think they charge for extra normal mic though. They do not have amplifier so they can only do a mic-up. If u need amplifier then u need to get it yourself.

rojak

latte: i think usually brides have separate MUA from the sisters/mum etc.. so that the MUA can focus on the bride

herman+Maow: thanks! i think normal mics should do for me.. just for performances..

rojak

anyone has photos of the guestbook that is provided by regent hotel? Also.. angbao box does not seem to be included in the package.. did anyone ask for any? Wondering how it looks.. i'm going to sign the contract this sunday, so just doing some final checks to see what else i need to add:

- mics for performances
- extra parking coupons
- extra invitation cards
- ang bao box?

not sure if i missed out anything.. can anyone suggest anything else that I might need? Thanks!

wlove

Hi Latte,

Yup my MUA is not bad (from La Belle). Otherwise you may contact your MUA from ur bridal shop, she will bring her colleagues/buddy MUA over, den u dun need to worry abt it le since she will arrange

What my MUA did for my wedding was to do mine and my MIL, her coll do my mum. If timing is enough and MUA is fast enough should be able to handle 2 pax.

Wendy: my package no angpow box also, only guestbook
rmb about the extra night stay!
and of course must check if they waive off corkage charges for you..

rojak

sweetlove: ohh how does the guestbook look like? I want to know so that I can decide if i want to go ahead and make my own... i do have extra night stay, and slightly more beer more wine.. do you remember how much beer/wine was consumed per table? i am really not sure if the beer/wine is sufficient.. >.< any idea if they still have arrangement with bottles n bottles for wine?

maow

Wendy: I think it's better for u to ask your coordinator to show u the guestbook as they have several designs so mine might not be the one u like. As for the wine and beer, it depends on the crowd. But gotta tell u that I've received a lot of feedback that the white wine is very good. Thus my 25 bottles of wine was consumed after the 2-3rd dish I think. And I topped up another 10bottles and I heard it was consumed before the last dish! As for beer, my 30L was consumed at around 4th course and I topped up 20L. But unfortunately, my guest slowed down on beer and I was left with 18glasses at the end of dinner. I think that's usually the case for beer. Pple tend to drink it at the start of dinner and will switch to wine after that.
As for ang pao box, it was not in my package too but I asked her for it and she provided me. But have to return to them. The ang pao box is quite nice i gotta say.

choco_ice

PingSparkle, yeah, not much discussion on DC thread. perhaps you can give me your email so that I can email you?

sweetlove and maow, thanks for recommendations. if she only charge $80 for make up and hair style, i will be interested to have her contact
I will message sweetlove from fb then.

can ask for ang pao box too? wow, i dont mind returning to them, but i need a nice looking angpao box on the table! thanks Maow. now will contact my coord.

rojak

Maow: That's alot of wine+beer consumed! how many tables was that?

Did anyone manage to get complimentary printing of wedding invitation cards? That was included in the package last time.. but not now..

bbg1223

Hi ladies!

i have decided on Oriental for the wedding!
it was a tough choice but i must say that the wedding coordinator at oriental played a rather major role in making me feel very welcome =))

in the end, i still did not go to more hotels, i am just so lazy to do that so i relied 100% on my own feelings.

i agree that the theme at regent is much nicer!!! i will be adding some personalised touch to the theme at oriental and hopefully, it look less plain =) hope you guys have fun planning your beautiful weddings!!!

bebe123

Hi sweetlove and Maow,
Did you both had your wedding at the Tanglin Room?
If so, may I look at your pictures? I have been trying to visualise how the march in will be like in this narrow room. I guessed the pictures will give me a better idea.

xiao_ma

Hi SweetLove

Sorry its been awhile since i log in to check the post...
My FB: [email protected]
I need to decide if going to take up regent, will be going to meet Larrina coming sunday.
Pls add me so I can have a better idea on how the tanglin room will look in real wedding... Many Thanks!

choco_ice

xiao ma, I think this sunday there will be wedding show right? you can see how the tanglin room looks like on that day

I will go and see too because I need to decide on the theme. Btw, my wedding coord is Larrina too!

Tas, you can go to wedding show to take a look this sunday

wendy, no leh, not managed to get the printing.

I manage to get the angpao box. My wedding coord will give it to me on the day itself.

wlove

Hi Xiao Ma,

I cannot find your account on FB, due to some privacy settings you have set. I will email you my FB acct and you add me okie?

Tas: sorry I used the Royal Pavilion ballroom not Tanglin so cant help u..

My alcohol consumption: (26 tables)
26 free bottles of red/white wine all consumed
3 bottles used only out of 30 I brought.
Beer - Unlimited flow

Yes, got alot of good feedbacks on their wine, it's very nice (esp the red wine). If you don't mind the prices, can get from the hotel instead of buying ur own outside. unless you invite mostly wine drinkers and they drink ALOT, then u shouldnt use too many extra bottles..

maow

Tas: hi sorry I had my wedding at the royal ballroom too so I can't help u. But ya like what latte mentioned, u can go for their wedding show. I regret not going any during my time. And so I had to pop by during the weekends whenever I'm free to look at others' wedding theme.

Latte: was trying to find the ang pao box pic for u since I've just collected my pics ytd. But unfortunately, my PG didn't take pic of the ang pao box.

Wendy: I had 25 tables only. I guess the wine was really good then.

choco_ice

sweetlove,
Did you get the red wine from the hotel?

Thanks maow
Appreciate the thought. As long as it looks ok on the guest table, then it should be ok. ehehehe

bebe123

@sweetlove and Maow, yup definitely will attend the wedding show. Thanks!

Btw, Maow, sorry if i miss your above post, u mention that you had 25 tables for the royal ballroom, is your wedding on a weekday or weekend? coz i understand that the royal ballroom requires min 30 tables for weekend.

My AD is on a Fri but i have about 22-25 tables... so kind of stuck in between...

choco_ice

PIngSparkle, sent the email to you

Just went to Regent wedding show.... I love their themes! To my surprise, elements of opulence is very nice theme! Now need to convince my mum to have some black in the decor.

rojak

latte: I agree! love the themes. I thought the opposite though.. the opulence theme is much grander in the ballroom, and looks a little pathetic in the tanglin.. and my mum was horrified when she saw so much black.. i'm now waiting for the new theme for Tanglin to come out.. currently only elegance and opulence are left.. >.<

choco_ice

wendy, oh, you mean for Tanglin, only elegance and opulence? I thought emotions is included as well.... when will the new theme for tanglin come out?

I saw the elegance theme for Tanglin first, then I thought it's so simple, then I went to the other side and saw opulence and thought that it was grander than elegance. heheee

my MIL loves the opulence, so much so when we pointed out that there is black color, she said that although there's black, the red color is also there what....

now left my mum. will show her tomorrow.

rojak

Latte: I was told emotions is currently still included, but subject to the maintenance of the props by the end of the year.. they are phasing out emotions because the things are getting a little too old to be used.. i guess if really want can still request? The new theme should be out sometime in may.. expected to be similar to seasons in the park, but exclusive for tanglin

my mum actually loved opulence when i showed her photos.. but when she saw the real thing she didn't like it. the themes will still be on display tomorrow?

choco_ice

ah, like seasons in the park? I will love it! My AD is in May. wonder whether it's possible to get that theme. I'll discuss with my wedding co-ord. Paiseh, keep calling her to ask small things.....

I thought the theme was displayed only yesterday?

rojak

yeah like the park. i loved one of the upgrades yesterday.. the one with apples! did u see? ohh i tot u said u bringing ur mum to see tmr.. so i thought maybe the display is on for longer..

yes u can check with her.. tt's what she's there for anyway
maybe you will be the first to use the theme!! wow so cool

nefariouskat

Yeah! I'm a Regent BTB in May 2012 :D Will be having my wedding lunch in Tanglin Rooms

Went for the show yesterday too and only saw 2 themes for Tanglin Room. My co-ordinator did mention that there will be a 3rd theme.

My HTB and myself prefers opulence but my parents..

Hopefully the new theme will be even better than opulence, or else we will have to stick to the rather normal-looking elegance.

Those who went yesterday, what would u guys be choosing for that extra perks?

choco_ice

wendy, the one with apples? I did not notice. I think I only notice the one with white flowers upgrade and purple and pink flowers one.

Oh, I mean to show my mum the photos taken yesterday.

I hope I can wait patiently for the theme to come out. You see, I am a bit impatient because I want everything to be settled ASAP

nefariouskat, Congrats!
Yeah, you know, parents are superstitious. At first I thought elegance is nice, but when I went there to see, I felt it's a bit of standard. Unless if you want to change the shade to pink, blue or purple. I saw the one in ballroom was pink shade. I think it's nicer than the cream color one.

rojak

latte: i agree with u, i also want everything settled asap.. i don't want to be rushing for things even when the wedding is nearing! i want to be spa-ing and relaxing then. hahah

the elegance theme can change ot pink, which i also think is nicer. but the tanglin chandeliers will be fixed at cream.. so there will be mixed colors if you change. my coord did not mention any top up for color change tho

choco_ice

wendy, aiyoh, like that not nice. headache already.

By the way, anyone has opulence for their weddings before? can share the pictures?

wlove

Hi babes,

My dinner express highlights is up on my FB! U guys can see the reception area (which all my guests are lounging behind looks so crowded lol) and the Royal Pavilion ballroom.

pingsparkle

Hi sweetlove, latte was telling me that you have engage photography and videography which are very nice? mind letting me know your contacts?

Anyone care to share your PG/VG engaged on the actual day?

nefariouskat

hi gals, i received the agreement from Regent today. Just like to check what i should look out for before we sign the agreement? When i look through the agreement, everything looks ok.. haha..

wlove

Hi PingSparkle,

My PG is from my bridal shop, his name is William Goh and he does freelance too.

My VG is Moving Pics, his video is very nicely taken hehe.. his facebook page is www.facebook facebook.com/Movingpics

is ur facebook account [email protected]? I can add you so you can see my photos/video :D

labride

I missed the wedding show at Regent.. I wonder can anyone share her wedding package &amp; perks with me so tt I will noe more or less what to ask for when I have my site inspection.

choco_ice

nefariouskat, you should pay attention to the things that they have agreed to accommodate your request. For example, you request for 10% more parking coupons, so you should check whether your request is jotted down on the contract

Tanglin room does have limitation. There are limited themes. Opulence is out for me because my whole family is against it due to black color

Then left emotions or elegance. Elegance - not really like the guest table centrepieces and cream color shades as well as the stage settings
emotions - not really like the VIP table centrepieces

Plan to mix and match elegance and emotions but still not sure whether it's allowed... stressed...

rojak

latte: cannot mix.. i've asked that the first trip i made >.< but as i look more, i think emotions is really quite nice even in the tanglin.. so if they allow it i would be choosing between emotions and the new theme, depending on how the new one looks

choco_ice

wendy, yah, after take a closer look, I agree that emotions is quite nice. since my AD is in May, I was told that the new theme will not be ready by May
So I have to use the existing themes.
The next wedding show will be in 14 May

maow

Wendy: ya I had 25 tables for a weekend night. Mine was a special case. Just about 3 months before the wedding, I asked my co-ord if the ballroom is being booked and she said no. So she offered to lower the min table requirement to 25. Cos if I stick tanglin room, I'll only have 22 tables max. So in that way it's a win-win situation for them since the ballroom is not being taken up anyway. I've to say I was really really lucky cos usually their ballroom is fully booked on all weekends.

Pingsparkle: my AD PG is the big day picture. Just collected the pics. Very nicely taken I've to say. But the bad thing is he didn't take some pics that I would expect him to take.we decorated the photo album table with our own props and he didn't take a pic of it at all!! But those pics he took are quite nice and he don't charge alot so it's value for money.

Wendy and nefariouskat: there will a new theme similar to seasons? If so I really think u should wait! Especially if u like flowers! The seasons theme looks really lovely in pic!

moonzz

Hi, i am having my AD on 01Nov2011 and is considering between Regent and Grand Park Cityhall. I only have ard 22-25 tables and only wanted the Ballroom for Regent however their min req for wkday for ballroom is min 25. So i am abit stuck too.
My coord. is Natalie and will be meeting her tomorrow to view the place.

Can i know wats the deposit like as some mention 3k and some 5k and 8k? And hows the food?

Could i have a share on some pics on the ballroom? My FB acc is [email protected]. Thanks.

Currently, i am also considering Grand Park at Cityhall as their ballroom seem not that bad..heard that is cosy and price is reasonable. But not sure the food.

Oh and another point to consider, as mine will be on a wkday, would it be inconvienent for my guests to travel after office hrs, like if orchard will jam? And is Regent not that accessible by public transport?

choco_ice

Hi Fion, about the food, I don't think you need to worry. I heard good raves about the food for Regent Hotel. If your date is not so popular, you can wait till their wedding show on 14 May

If not, let's see how it turns out during your meeting with Natalie. My deposit is only 3k because I booked Tanglin. I guess for ballroom is much higher like 8k. If you want to see the pics of the ballroom, you can go to Regent facebook.

Regent is accessible by public transport (forgot the bus no) The bus directly stops in front of regent.
30th dec (Thurs) I took taxi to Regent from buona vista. exit at Somerset MRT was terrible. It jammed until we exited from Grange Rd towards Orchard Boulevard. I think if driving from River valley road, the traffic should be ok. Also 30th dec was holiday season.

Regent Ballroom decoration is very very nice.... How I wish I got the ballroom. But then, I only have 16 - 18 tables at most. heheee

moonzz

Hey Latte, thanks alot for your advise. Yes i am tempted w Regent over the high good comments on the deco and e food but e cost is high..hahaa..n got abit of worried when some my frens told me tt is quite inaccessible..

So when is ur food tasting? for 8pax? did u try to ask for 10pax?

bebe123

Hi all, I had booked the tanglin room and the deposit is 5K + GST.

@Maow: I am getting worried that my guest lists would grow beyond the max 20 tables nearer to my AD. Can I check if there is extra cost for changing to the ballroom for your case?

@SweetLove: I am sourcing for my AD PG &amp; VG. Saw the great comments on your PG and VG, do you mind adding me to your facebook acount to view the pics also?