Raffles Town Club

darney

Hi all Brides-to-be here

I would like to know whether the RTC contract is transferable?
I have a contract with them and paid a deposit (quite a lot) but now is thinking of having my banquet at a restaurant instead, to save money.

wiseharmony

Hi ML KOH..
Welcome to RTC thread.

Hi Evelyn,
paid S$1500 for video, foto & montage. with unlimited shots. but really dont wanna to recomen this co lah... but if u wanna i can ask around for u. think this is the common mkt price now.

Hi Jean,
my cards cost mi abt $90 for 300pce. do remember to print more incase write wrongly etc. i used Hi-tech, they have some sample copy so dont hv to think what to included. for mine, i included a schedule for my guests to be seated as mi doing ROM & dinner together. so got to start on time. & yes, HI-tech give Gold thread FREE.

Hi DarNey,
think u got to check wif yr coordinator before u intend to transfer. no sure if there is a legal issue.

Hi Stardaze,
U can try calling terrance. but 25tables is a bit too little. the ballroom is huge & may look empty wif only 25 tables.

aliciatansk

ML Koh - Had the same coordinator as you. Totally agree that they are super inflexible in terms of throwing in of things for u...

Do we need to buy tixs to go for the fair? If so, where or how can I get the tixs?

stardaze

anybody thot of signing up RTC at the fair? heard that there are a lot more perks during the fair. can we make a tentative booking first then sign on the fair?

wiseharmony

Hi Evelyn & Sweetpea,

mi friend is using Andrew fm Segami. I find her fotos are much better then mine. May b u can check him out.

dolphin48

HI stardaze

That's what I did. I had a tentative booking and it will only be confirmed when i pay the deposit at the fair and also will enjoy the additional perks given then.

dark_chocolate

hi cia,

so wat's yr experience with her- Beatrice?

For me, I don't really like her. Though I have never see her yet. Prob coz dun like the way she talks... very slangy dangy.

Quite worried... my parents mandarin speaking don't know whether she can speak chinese.

aliciatansk

ML Koh - Basically, I have met her. She is rather friendly but feel she is not proactive. It's like she would feed me with info till I ask for it and she is really hard to negotiate with. Everything is mgmt decisions, mgmt decisions. If not cos I like the venue, would have opted out.

Btw, do you know where can I get the tixs for the fair?

wiseharmony

Hi ML Koh,
I spoken to Beatrice B4 too when Terrance was on NS. think tat the way she speaks..... she's a soft spoken lady. but quite puzzled as to why your parent need to understand.

Hi CIA,
Last year we purchase at the counter outside the ballroom. May b u can check wif Terrance?

sweetpea

Yippie Friday!!!!!

I think RTC catering sales dept is like that...so far I haven't heard of anyone in this forum who manged to get anything extra out of Terence or anyone. Since like they really wun budge.

dark_chocolate

hi wise,

my parents are goin with me and my hubby. my dad is very particular abt the overall presentation of the venue coz majority of the guests will be his business associates and friends...

cai,
u can call RTC and tell them u are interested to go and they will reserve tickets for u and u can pay them tomolo at the foyer there.

evelyntanss

Thanks Wise,
I already got a photographer. Now, looking for a cheap videographer...

I went to the bridal fair today. Very happy with the new deco.

dolphin48

Did anyone went to the fair yesterday and won anything?

Ya, I agree that the deco looks good. Just hope that the fire stunt will not happen on the actual day.

aliciatansk

Me went for the bridal fair too. Have chosen the flamengo decor.
what about you ladies? The perks thrown in during this fair are so much better. Negotiated with my coordinator and she allows me to enjoy all these perks though i have placed a deposit last yr already. Anyone of you is the lucky gal who won the presidential suite? Me won one of the F&B voucher.

Visited the wine vendor, the wines are pretty resonably priced...

shelyn

how was the deco yesterday?? anyone took photos can share with mi??... sounds like very nice leh issit???.....

wat happened yesterday about the fire??
how bout the perks offered?? I'm also interested to know leh
maybe can email mi at [email protected] to tell mi more??... hehe....

shelyn

Hi cia
can share with mi wat the perks are?? i also signed up last yr.... can enjoy the perks also??? aiya.... now very eager to know wat happened yesterday and regretted not going too.... =(

quick quick tell mi more leh ... haha... i very 'auntie' and 'kpo' hor hehe

dolphin48

Oh well, I was at the entrance of the ballroom just before they start the whole session and i saw a small part of the deco on the stage on fire. I guess one of the leaves dropped onto the candle holder which was lighted and so it caught fire. At first i thought that was really part of the theme and i told my coordinator that no way am I going to have that.

dolphin48

Hi cia

WHich is the flamengo decor? I like the stage deco where the band is playing and I think i'm taking that. But i'm asking my coordinator to check with the florist if i can remove the curtains behind and make is a simpler backdrop with some flowers (something like the main stage used yesterday).

shelyn

Sorry i might sound very naggy... but can someone pls share with mi wat were the perks offered yesterday?? cos i signed up during last bridal fair and my wedding is next yr... and hope they offer much better perks this time so i can also enjoy them.

maybe can email me [email protected]. can juz type or scan or watever??....

dolphin48

HI shelyn

I think the perks offered yesterday were basically 10% disc on the package (provided u meet their requirement of tables), free corkage of wine and champagne, 2nd night stay at the bridal suite, additional 5% on the wedding cards.

But for me, there are a few things that I don't need so I used it to exchange for other stuffs...

shelyn

Hi Daphne

thanx so much for your info.... but these seems like wat were already offered last bridal fair leh. Tot someone said this fair offers much better perks... so i was thinking free flow beer... haha... my wishful thinking lah

dolphin48

Hi shelyn

Yeah, I wish for free flow of beer too.....but don't have....

Btw, it just occurred to me that if there's any problem getting taxis after the dinner there?

Any ex RTC had this problem?

sweetpea

Hi Wise, me AD 9 July hehe

I was also at the bridal show..yep deco is nice and place is even classier than I last saw it

Hi Cia, are you referring to the Flamenco table setting..the red flowers one? My MIL likes that..but I dun like red flowers leh...I like the peach and gold one but the flower arrangement is only a glass bowl with some petals inside.

Both settings r quite nice..though the one where the band was..I like the canopy, but my mum say a bit like Malay wedding style coz of the swages. Then my MIL dun like the butterflies and white flowers.
Sigghhh...gonna pull out my bair very soon!!

Now even invitation cards...I lthink I need to get both colours coz my MIL and Mom are divided about the colours. My MIL like all red and bright but me and my mom likes creme and class. How ah??

sweetpea

Hi Shelyn

The perks look the same to me...

Only that this year's lucky draw did not have air tics to give away. Too bad I missed the fire stunt. Terence told me about it ...sheesh! Dun think I will have any candles during my wedding.

shelyn

wahh...

seems like this bridal fair is more 'happening' than the one i went.... fire stunt somemore...

so this time round they showed 2 setup with stage and table deco? cos the one i went, they only did the aisle and stage... and only 1 deco... which is the gold colour theme.... now they have 2 more themes issit?? From the responses, seems like the new deco is really very nice hor... sigh sigh... missed it... =( never mind i already decided to go for the august bridal fair already, so as not to miss out anything... hehe... =P

wiseharmony

Hi SweetPea,
O izzit. e deco much better. must b real nice. actualli they got a nice ballroom just need to do a bit will look excellent. With high ceiling & no pillar etc.

Hi Shelyn,
Got good news. Mi had re-select mi flat to Bt Panjang loh. ke keee. had wrote in to HDB & request for transfer & was finally granted. So mi same process waiting for keys.

i quite liked the selected area. It near Jelapang LRT. infact it connecting to the carpark.
i felt mi quite lucky that HDB granted us... phew.

shelyn

Hi wise

where is your flat?? which block?? mi still looking at resale flat and very headache... the agent keep asking where we wan to focus our search and we are so undecided... cos got to consider near plaza, not noisy etc etc... sigh sigh....

is your new flat under the WIS???... tell mi more leh. i hope to settle this housing issue asap.... giving us a big headache. but i tot your flat at CCK was under reno already? or i remember wrongly?

shelyn

Hi Daphne

usually they have 2 fairs per yr... one in the beginning of the yr, another one in later part of the year... i attended last aug's bridal fair that's why din attend this one... thinking it would be similar but turned out to be much more interesting. So next one i intend to go see see also... hehe...

aliciatansk

Sheyln - Sorry for late reply. Didn't manage to log in till today. The perks are as per what Daphne has stated. So if you had attended the fair last year. the perks should be more or less the same lah.. so don't worry. Me also wish for free flow of beer leh.. can cut down on more costs.. kekekeke!

Sweetpea and Daphane - For the decor, me am refering to the one with the red ribbons tied on it and the background will be the one that the band is playing.

Sweetpea - Think your hubby and mom have to compromise a bit lah. For the wedding invitation cards, you can take both designs. So for your side, you can give out the cream ones and yout hubby's side give out the red ones.. kekekeke! That's what I intended to do too. Relatives would get the red one and friends would get the cream ones.

wiseharmony

Hi Shelyn,

the Yew Tee flat we only paid the Option to purchase $2K. Keys supposed to be ready by Apr/May. So we wrote in to HDB to request for "upgrade" to Bt Pangjang. We got the design & built unit.... Exec flat. we liked the location as the carpark is connected to LRT. & major expess way is olso nearby. heard them saying that gg to town by Bus 190 only take 20mins. & supermkt & food ctr just 7min walk. & the windows...

R u & yr hubby 1st timer applying flat? if so why dont u try WIS fm HDB. at 1st we olso thot buying resale unit. then later find out the price had drop so much so thot it a good time to buy new flat. coz for resales unit u got to think of reno cost too might b higher.

O, mi new flat is @ Blk 654 Senja. the neighbour there told mi they walk to BT Panjang plaza abt 10mins. & Hubby feels that there is more lively over @ Senja....

Sorry huh.... it non RTC related topic.

sweetipie

i guess i had missed a great deal of fun in here...missed the fair as well..when was it by the way?

hi daphne,

is alicia good? she's my coordinator too but i think she's not that attentive. she sent me the agreement and had got the day written wrongly, left out the deposit amount to pay and even left out the menu. she promised to send the menu and until now has not done so.

i request her to send me the samples of the wedding card as both my hubby and i arent free to make a trip down...she promised me for more than a month and until now, have not received it.

should i change my coordinator? i'm worried that terence have too much on hand as well. if i asked for a change, would it be weird. i'm not sure if it's because i've ordered a real low numbers that they are not making money...so service not that good

dolphin48

Hi sweetipie

I changed my coordinator to Natalie. I was supposed to meet Alicia at the fair itself and we have agreed on the time but when i was there, she seems very busy with another couple. We waited for her to finish with that couple and then another couple approached her and they sat down again to talk...As my FH need to leave before the start of the fair and I want him to be involved in the discussion so I just ask for another coordinator instead and got Natalie. SHe's not bad lah. At first she was like can't promise me anything and I got fed up and ask to talk to Terence directly instead since no one can make decision. Maybe i sounded fierce and after she talked to Terence, she managed to give me what I wanted and in fact able to decide on other exchange of perks that i requested....hee hee.....

wiseharmony

Hi SweetPie,
When i got my agreement olso full of mistake. Guess they always didnt check their work. FYI, my co-ordinator was Terrance.....

Hi Daphne.

wiseharmony

Hi Daphne,

I used RTC cards for my wedding. Actually their design r not too bad. I took 50% each of pink & cream. Pink r for all the relatives & cream for my friends.

but the inserts u got to get it done outside.

shelyn

Hi wise

u sure from blk 654 walk to bt panjang plaza only 10 min??? we are looking at those nearer to the plaza... those 54X and 60X series ones. Even the 53X series already seem very far leh.....

haha... of cos we are 1st timer lor.. =P how much u paid for your exec? We are putting a budget of 300k for resale 5-rm.... wanted 4 rm but seems like not much units around the area. this housing issue making our heads giddy.... sigh sigh....

shelyn

Hi Daphne

I have the soft copy of invitation cards, complementary from wise... haha... have emailed to u. u go chk and see.

anyway, when's your wedding?

dolphin48

Hi shelyn

Thanks! Got it.

Mine is 8 Jan 06. Not sure if it's worth it to design own cards. What happens is that I asked for an exchange of cards to something else and my coordinator offered another barrel of beer. However, as it's a Sunday night so not sure if I would need up to 2 barrel of beer as i think my friends are more of wine drinkers but the elderly group may drink more beer....

wiseharmony

Hi shelyn,

tat was what the neighbour said. they r old folks... so they even joked that we can walk faster then them... ke keee. Hey, we paid abt $300K for exec flat leh. 130m2. tat neighbour said that it was 90K more 5 yrs ago. now he heartache. May b u & hubby can serious consider B4 HDB closed that area application. Heard fm them they "open" the area by zone. SO BT panjang was open since "Nov/Dec".

enclosed the HDB link:
http://www.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampu100.nsf/0/Flats_On_Offer.html?open&doc=http://www2.hdb.gov.sg/webapp/BP13INTV/BP13ES_FlatAvail

BTW, tks for forwarding to Daphne the softcopy of the cards. mi really lost mine... :p

shelyn

Hi Jean
Sent.

Wise,
I think it's not likely my FH would agree to exec flat lah. Wanted 4-rm now become 5-rm... then exec.... later he scream ah... haha.. at first we were looking at 3-rm AMK flats leh... then CCK 4-rm.. then BP 4-rm.. then BP 5-rm... went thru so much but still haven settle on any unit. That's why now very sick of house hunting already. Initially was still very enthu leh....

the 300k is b4 govt grant mah.. we intending to take the 40k grant cos staying near parents. Is 65X so near the plaza??? maybe muz go home and do research again...

Hi Daphne
U have how many barrels of beer now? and how many tables?? I have 2 barrels cos i have more tables and i'm not even sure it's enuff... if can exchange cards for 1 barrel beer not a bad idea mah. Their beer not cheap leh... each barrel would come up to about 500 after the ++

dolphin48

Hi shelyn

I'm looking at 30 tables but may go up as it comes nearer cos most of my guests are from Indonesia so not sure if the whole gang will come or representatives. So i'm given 1 free and 1 more in exchange for the cards...