Raffles Town Club

wiseharmony

Hi Evelyn,

Oh PS... u must be excited!! fun yah?
where u went?

mi just selected our flat too. will b getting keys in 2-3 mths time. how much r u investing on yr reno?

marriage life.... as per what hubby said trying to get use to another person sleeping next to u loh... ka kaka

evelyntanss

Hi Wise,
Ya, it was fun and exciting at the same time, tiring too. We went to sentosa.

We dont intend to invest alot in renovation because we got a resale flat and most of it is still very new. So, jus simple and minor renovation lor. hopefully less than 10k.

So, you got those New SERS flat, isnt? which area?

Hi Shelyn,
Did u receive my email?
Anyway, my address is [email protected] in case u havent receive.

sweetpea

Hello Wise...nice to hear from you...

Good to hear u got ur flat :0) My flat is waiting for us to move in. So now can concentrate on the wedding preps.

Hi Evelyn, when is ur AD?
My AD drawing nearer and nearer...my PS is coming next Wed! Thinking of going to Sentosa too.

Anyone going for the Bridal Fair? Hehe..go there and win some prizes

shelyn

Hi Evelyn and sweetpea,

When is your AD? Sweetpea, i alwiz have the impression that your AD was over leh... hehe.. =P maybe cos u have been active in this thread for sometime....

Evelyn, I've sent u the cards
see if u got them. btw, which area is your resale flat? is it those newly 5 yrs one?? i'm also thinking of getting a 5 yr resale, 4-rm and have a budget of 15k for reno... hopefully can do it within budget

also, those who have renovated their homes and are pleased with the result, maybe can recommend the contractor... i'm very scared of getting the wrong contractor.....

shelyn

by the way, are all of you liasing with terrence?? do u all have any problem reaching him and getting replies huh??.. cos when i call to look for him, he tends to be on off leh... and he seldom call back within the week that he says he will when i need him to help check out something....

actually i believe he's quite busy, but not sure whether i'm the only one facing this problem. Mayb cos my wedding date still a long time away. Does he get more 'proactive' when your wedding date gets nearer???

wiseharmony

good to hear from u. mi flat @ CCK/ Yew tee area.
it a new flat. got it at a low price @ S$185K for 110sq 5 room.

Hi Shelyn,
May b u can consider this area too.

sweetpea

Hi Shelyn

Yah...quite bz at work lately, and if I have the time to surf, I will be planning for my AD

If you are looking for just a contractor, and reasonably priced, you can try to contact Henry of Impress21 Design and Build. He did my house, overall quite happy. Spent about $12K for my premium flat.

Terence did not call me leh...my AD is 3 mths 3 wks away, dunno is it still early? Anyone knows when is a good time to contact him and get my cards and go for food tasting?

mononoke

shelyn, yep he gets proactive when your wedding is nearer. For me, I very last minute. He got to nag me to give him the number of tables(1 mth b4 my wedding).

shelyn

Hi wise,

Which block u staying?? my sis and a fren also staying at the new flats there... they staying at blocks 683 and 684 area. My parents don't like the area... they say very deserted and warned mi not to buy flats in those areas.. haha =P.... so i'm looking at those newer resale flats at bt panjang plaza. but the flats there not cheap leh... and small... their 4-room only 90m2 and more ex than the 5-room at yew tee area.

Hi sweetpea,
thanx for your contacts. will keep that in mind when i get my flat. I tot food tasting should be ard 2-3 mths before your wedding??... hmmm...

Mononoke,
I think things like confirming number of tables etc he will call u lah... but if it's other things... i'm not sure liao. I changed some items in the menu 1-2 weeks ago and still waiting for him to get back to me.. though he said will get back by this week. Hopefully he will be more responsive when the wedding date gets nearer. If not it will be very frustrating leh.

wiseharmony

Hi Shelyn,

Ha haa... am staying at 683... the area which yr parents disliked. currently am renting @ bt batok. Bt pangjang area,gd location.

check wif u, did yr sister complaint abt dusty? izzit windy etc?

it a bit far from MRT station. 10 min walk.
& yes.... deserted... ke keee...

evelyntanss

Hi Shelyn, Sweetpea

My AD is 22May2005

Sweetpea,
My food tasting is next thursday and i actually call terence to arrange for this. I think in around 2-3mth before your wedding you can start calling terence to arrange. To me, he is pretty okay for now.

Shelyn,
I got clementi resale. It is not those 5 year old flat. It is as old as me! hehehehe
We only do very minor renovation so it is less than 10k

sweetpea

Hi Evelyn

Hehe thanks. I think I will call him some time after the wedding fair..think he will be busy just before and after the fair.

wiseharmony

wanna to share some fotos wif u...

Together, through Warm and Cold

(Photographer: An Hejie. Market Place, Town of Chifeng, Inner Mongolia)
Beyond the northern (Inner Mongolia) frontier, spring has arrived but the
cold weather lingered on. Snow fell on this April morning. Flakes danced
in the sky. A middle-aged man tended to his cart, on which sat a little
boy, wrapped up with blanket used to keep the vegetables from freezing.
>From time to time, the father would tuck at the blanket to make sure that
his son was all right. These are the words from the photographer: "Set in
the dark and shadowy background and the dancing snow flakes, the pink
puffy face of the little boy stood out in great contrast to that of the
father which was apparently shaped by the caprices of life. And life was
indeed harsh. Father and son only have each other for support. When the
father yelled out a sales pitch on top of his voice, his facial expression
was shockingly touching. One cannot help but be moved."
261568.jpg

wiseharmony

this is mi fav:

I want go to school

Caption on the photo: That day the English teacher arrived in our village.
She taught us our very first sentence in English: "I want go to school."

Did you hear it? It is a most heart-moving cry.

261576.jpg

wiseharmony

Love life

No rose, no diamond ring, but if this is not love, what is love?

With enthusiasm, love your life! Love the people around you!

261579.jpg

shelyn

Hi wise,
u staying which blk?? my sis is at 683C i think.. it's very dusty there cos there's some works going on juz next to the blk... think they building some road or canal... something like that. The auntie that helps her clean the house complain that the place is dusty... =P And the place not many food centre hor. I think only 1 rite? Her flat is quite windy cos unblocked. It's the unit that's facing the factories and 10th floor, so quite high therefore windy. My grandma says the view nice.. but i only see street lights and factories leh.. hehe.. =P

WAH evelyn
your resale is so old u still manage to spend only 10k on reno?? the previous owner renovated not long ago issit??... I intend to buy those resale that are not very well done, so more likely below hdb valuation no need to top up cash and spend more to reno to our taste.. but difficult leh... 4 rooms now very hot.

Wise,
these pictures are so touching. I alwiz feel very touched and sad when i see this kind of pictures or read about them on papers... but can't do much to help them. It shows how fortunate we are.

wiseharmony

Hi Shelyn,

OIC. tks for the update. yeap. mi new flat will be at 683C.... been there a few times... yes, liked the windy. was hoping the reno work to the drainage will completed soon.

Yeh, mi was also touch by these fotos, so instead of feeling sorry for 'em should be motivated by their "fighting sprirt" to go on. SO when you are feeling down should feel how lucky we r. as wat u mentioned " we r the fortunate ones."

Have a nice weekend, ladies.

evelyntanss

Hi Shelyn,

yeah, the previous owner did the renovation like 5 or 6 yrs ago. Furthermore, my husband and I didnt have much expectation on the design of the house. But the way, we took bank loan so we jus need to pay 2% cash.

Wise,
Yeah, I have arrange to pick up the wedding card on the day of food tasting.

wiseharmony

Five tips for a woman....

1. It is important that a man helps you around the house and has a job.

2. It is important that a man makes you laugh.

3. It is important to find a man you can count on and doesn't lie to you.

4. It is important that a man loves you and spoils you.

5. It is important that these four men don't know each other.

(^_^)

evelyntanss

Jus return from the food tasting. The food is nice and i got the invitation card liao.
I took the pink version. very happy with it..

Wise, do u have the soft copy for printing the invitation card?

wiseharmony

Hi Evelyn,

You can contact Hi-Tech at 64589455.
And i think their address is: AMK Techplace 1 #03-01/02
M-F : 9-5.30 Sat: 9-12

But better call them to confirm the address hor..

i think their rates r the lowest...

need lobang on red wine?

evelyntanss

Hi Wise,
Yeah, do you have lobang for wine? I need one with consignment. Actually, i am going to the RTC fair this sat to source for some wine vendor

Hi Cia,
RTC Bridal fair is 3 April 12noon to 5pm

Hi Daphne,
I am going to the Bridal fair cos terence told me that they are going to have new deco. So, i am going to take a look

dolphin48

I wonder what additional perks can we get at the bridal fair?

Evelyn: your coordinator is Terence? Mine is Alicia. Wonder if she can make decisions on perks???

sweetpea

Hi Daphne

Me am going too..wanna see the setup and also get the sample cards from Terence. And hope I get something at the Lucky Draw too!

aliciatansk

HI Evelyn - Thanks for the info! Me will go down and take a look at their new decor. You mean they will have wine vendor at this fair?

Wise - $13.80/bott is quite good buy. RTC is charging like $32 +++ for a bottle.

Ladies - I have already signed up with RTC. Wonder if I can still ask for more perks from them when I go down for the fair?

sweetpea

Hi Daphne

I have already sigend up with them a year a go..heh. My AD is in July.

Hi Cia, RTC will also have wine vendors at the fair even though they have their own wines from the Cellar.

Hi Wise, which AD photographer did you engage? I am STILL looking for a photographer..its been like months and I still have not found a suitable one........ahrg.....

shelyn

Those who have booked with RTC, do we still need to pay for the bridal fair huh?? if paying, are we paying the members' fee or non-member fee?

Hi wise,
Wat's the name of the wine you bought? the price seems very reasonable leh... or most of the wines on consignments are around such price one??

evelyntanss

hi shelyn,

i ask terence. he told me that we have to pay non-member fee.

Hi Daphne,
Yeah, my coordinator is terence. I think they are pretty tight about giving extra perks. But I think it is not the perks that is more impt. It is the place, right?

Hi Cia,
yeah, there will be wine vendor there and one bridal studio, i think it is Yvonne Creative.

Hi Wise, the price is very good. What is the name?
Who did u spoke to in winebos? hope that they will be at the RTC fair

wiseharmony

Sorry, i made a mistake. should be $18.30/ bott not $13.80.... pei say...

we order Merlot. need to check who i spoke to.
as we signed up during the bridal fair last year, the cockage was waived. but for beer need to order fm RTC. so during my wedd dinner in total our guests consume 2 barrel of beer + 4 cartons of merlot. & i heard of of our guests paid for his "stout" beer... :p

We paid for 3 confirm cartons. & consign another 3-4 cartons... (cant remember liao).

the Merlot we selected was a bit fruity taste. some guest feedback was good. but some dont liked the taste. so i guess cant please everybody lah.

wiseharmony

Hi SweetPea,

i felt my fotographer didnt do a good job. coz lotsa of details he didnt take. liked my gowns, ring, shoes, wedding cake, table setup etc or even RTC beautiful hotel room.

now all these are in my memory.... so tat y cant show/ share any fotos for the setup wif u ladies.

shelyn

hi wise
how many tables did u have huh? wan to estimate how many barrels of beers i will need... i think i will have about 50 tables.

per carton of wine is how many bottles?? =P

also dun mind telling me who your photographer is?? i also haven book photographer... maybe will tell my photographer wat i wan in the photos so he will know wat to take... hahaha.... i will be very sad if he din take my gown and the ballroom etc... cos i'm sure we ladies spent a lot of effort to make sure these details are in good order. It's the guys who dun really care... Maybe cos most photographers are males, that's why they also din take such detailed photos

wiseharmony

Hi Daphne & Shelyn,

the fotographers was a freelance attached to the videography co. my videographer was detail he took the gowns, cake etc & moments... but not the fotographers. tat day was so blur & busy so cannot really think or instruct him to do him.

he olso forgotten to take my pretty flower girls & boys.... Sigh!! tat time really "cak sim"...

Anyway, it over lah. at least the whole event went smooth lah.

Hi Shelyn,
think for RTC the 1st barrel will come be provided. then if required the captain/ bqt mgr will advise u whether u need another barrel. & this really depends on your guests. whether they r red wine or beer drinker so cannot advise.

per carton is 12bott. think for red wine there is a formula... think it 3 bott for 2tables.

dark_chocolate

Am goin for the fair as well. But not goin to stay for the entire show since I am pretty much fixed with the venue. Had some hard time getting my coordinator Beatrice to give me FOC to the show. Told her am not hard up for the food and etc. Am goin there to see the new decor and the ambience and confirmed my booking!

On the whole they are very inflexible in terms of cust request unlike hotels more accomodating and willingly to throw in more perks.

Too bad, I prefer the plc hence have to tolerate their so-called 'constraints'!