Raffles Town Club

sweetpea

hi Wise..wow I think that's quite a good deal
Thanks! How many cartons you getting first? Terence did advise me earlier..you can also seek his advise how many bottles ppl usually drink.

wiseharmony

Hi SweetPea,

WineBos advice us to use 1.5bott per tables. unless you confirm yr guests r mostly wine drinkers then order more. ... & further more they olso supplier wine to RTC.

we order 6ctns. 3 confirm & 3 on consignment.

jochan

Hi Wise,

Is it possible to get the contacts/location of Winebos off you?
Have not gotten the dates for AD yet but am targetting second half of next year. Will finally be getting the dates tomorrow.

wiseharmony

just an updated. went for food tasting this. both folks feel that the food is good. yummy.

we were given a private room for food tasting & the chef came & "interview" us after all the dishes served and gathered feedback.

and we had collected the cards on the same day too. now looking for printer.

jochan

Thanks for the info Wise. =)

Am glad to hear food tasting went well.
Was a little worried about the food part, since on last 2 occasions I had meals at the restauarant, the food had been a little bland.

Though mine is still sometime away, am pretty much looking forward to getting full steam ahead on preps! =)

shelyn

Hi Wise

which menu did u take? My dad went for a dinner a few weeks ago... and told me the food not good leh and i was so sad... =(

But saw from somewhere, someone mention the sharksfin really good? Is that true? Hopefully the food really turns out good for the banquet

wiseharmony

Hi Shelyn,

forgotten what mi menu. it the w/end one.

as for the food mi not so worried. coz' cant pleased everybody, everyone got diff taste. did went there for dinner 2X, feels the food not bad.

guess there is no food gurantee when there is a large crowd. did went to ask around at some hotel they cant even confirm that on AD the food will be of the same std...

sweetpea

yep agree with wise...think everyone's tastes differ...and also, depends on the chef's mood dat day. But I am quite reassured that RTC's food isn't too far off from normal. Dun worry lah...got more things to headache over. Leave it to the chef

shelyn

Hi Elin

Mininum for weekday is 30 tables but maybe u can call and check with them. I think if you wan they can let you book for less than 30 tables but got to pay extra per table... according to previous messages.

wiseharmony

just an updated, mi got mi wedd cards liao. so am BZ with printers & doing guest list & collect address @ the same time.

btw, do u ladies know where can i find fotos of Bridal bouquet on web?

190805.gif

shelyn

Hi wise
how's their wedding cards? nice? how many choices do you have?

Some hotels and restaurants still use those quite 'oh biang' cards leh... red with gold letterings one. hopefully RTC has got more classy choices.. =P

wiseharmony

Hi shelyn,

there are 2 design same size. mi took half-half each. cream colour for friends & pink colour for relatives... (^_^)

if u keen can PM me. will mail u the soft copy. (only the cover-page).

jochan

hi wisely,

Have you sourced for a printer yet?
I requested for a sample copy of the cards and was trying to figure out which would work out better, hot stamping on them or inserts?
Cos their card is tri-fold and the deisgn is a little irregular in size on each page right?

wiseharmony

Hi jochan,

mi jus do simple printing. managed to get Tech printer @ AMK, if u r doing hot stamping think d-dragon offer a better rate....

went to tech printer they even can show mi sample of almost all the hotels & clubs & resturants. even RTC... so they have experience lah. gold string will b provided but need to tie ourselves.

shelyn

Hi wise

got ur mail. thanx. Both the cards look similar hor. I think it's a good idea to get half half of each. I think the red one more suitable for relatives, esp older ones. the cream one more suitable for frens.

How much are u spending on printing? and how many you printing?

teng2

Hi Sherlyn/wiseharmony..

Just to check with you all, when you all enquired about RTC, was it thru a friend who's a member? so at the end of it, you need that member to sign for you is it? or were you all outside parties all along?

went to view and talk to terence finally last thursday with HTB...didn't get to see the full set up but the whole setting was even nicer than the dinner I went to last time..... until now, haven't confirmed my booking yet.....

shelyn

Hi Teng

I signed up during bridal fair, no use of any member at all. When i first enquired they say shd have member number. Then they ask me how many tables i having.. told them ard 40-50 they say ok can... so i'm not sure how strict they are regarding this leh... even the bridal show they also allow non-members to go... though at different rate.

u have any photos to show regarding the setup? i've not seen an actual one yet leh.. intend to go down one day to have a look. Is it really very nice? Is the aisle long(L-shape) or short(straight)?

acbaby

hi there my wedding is on 11th Dec and will be holding at RTC... I deal with Terence too.. with the help from my boss (she is a member there) I shld say that so far RTC is a professional in their serivice and I like the ballroom.. cant use the long aisle as we will be showing a montage presentation..... but reli lah.. very hard to bargain with them.. maybe its a club and also i felt that the rates offered is very attractive and especially the extra perks from the bridal fare ... kinnda look forward.. btw, do anyone has got a recent bqt photo taken at RTC? Like to take a look at their setting once again cannot recall.. becos im thinking to add some flora touch myself..

shelyn

Wise,

did u write wrongly?? ur wedding Dec 04 or 05?... =P
tot u went for food tasting and printing invitations liao??...hehehe

acbaby

hi its me... nope have yet to do my food taste shld be doing it sometime mid of this nov or the 3rd week... urs in dec too? which date??? btw, anyone got pic to show me?? im still cracking my head on the deco abit .. already got idea for my album corner but still thinking if i shld get patels to spice up more abit

shelyn

aiya....this thread very quiet lately hor....
nothing to say about RTC??... =P

i still haven get my contract leh...although i paid my deposit about 2 mths ago...... but that's becos a lot of things still not settled lah. Hopefully can finalise everything next week then i can go down and sign... at the same time have a look at an actual setup.

CKW,
If you wan to have a look at a wedding setup can ask them to let u se mah.. i think going down to see personally gives a much better picture. Photos can be deceiving....hehehe...

I think eventually i wld be taking weekday package but going to change the menu.....

jochan

Have not seen any of their actual setups as my AD is still quite some time away.

But judging from pics I've seen through my coordinator, their std setup don't seem to include a lot of flowers.
those pics that i saw basically covers reception, the centrepieces of the individual tables and along the aisle towards and on the stage.

For those that have seen their actual day setups, any comments? has anyone done "top-ups" on floral pieces/deco.. etc?
would love to hear your comments..

shelyn

yah yah... wld like to hear some comments about their actual setup too. Any comments? CKW?... I would be going probably next or the week after next.... hopefully can take some pics.

wiseharmony

mi is Dec 5th. mi olso yet to confirm the layout & deco etc. was BZ wif new hse....

btw, how many flower ventor does RTC hv? need to decided by this mth....

acbaby

hey all... been to the venue over the weekend.... the set up and flora was a disappointment to me.. maybe i was expecting more.. bascially i think RTC need to re-consider the florist as the flowers look ugly... im gonna speak with Terence on this... im gonna change the center piece for the V.I.P table ...reli not to my expectation... the roses are like "bud".. and the creative flora deco for the normal table... its daisy and i reli dun like it when i see it.. so im gonna think of something.. maybe i wont be spending much for the deco but might D.I.Y... Im gonna spice up the whole red carpert with rose patels all the way to the stage ...i think this will look good.. i see what RTC can change for me in term of the "creative flower deco" if not got to think of something... RTC is reli a nice place with a nice ballroom but the set up still needs plenty of improvement boy.

acbaby

juz spoke with Terence not too long ago.. there is another deco i can choose from.. like ROSES then the daisy or whatever tht flower is call.. haha.... relief!!
anyway wl keep youall posted lah!

sweetpea

Hi acbaby...I believe there are a few themes we can choose..he showed me the garden theme pictures, the latest one is the Gold Theme Decor (same as the bridal show)..which one did you see? The setup for the bridal show was simple but quite ok for me...just some fake flower stands on the stage, real flowers stands by the aisle with candles...dat's all

shelyn

They showed me some pics during the bridal fair. They have 2 themes, one a red-coloured one and another gold/champagne-coloured one. Dunno wat's the names of their themes...hahaha... =P

The one during bridal fair is the gold coloured one. I think the 2 themes from different vendors. Personally i prefer the gold coloured one. I find the red one a bit too red... and looks quite outdated from the pics... the gold one looks more classy and elegant.

acbaby

hello all i think the one i saw is the gold theme.. the actual flora set up of the event becos there is a wedding dinner tht day... what happen is tht im not sure if its tht day or it happens all the time.. the flower cannot make it but terence told me i can choose the flower, there are 2 types to choose from hence is a relief for me lah... but anyway i will still need flower patels to spice up somemore...

anyway i took some pics..
http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/pcs_1204/my_photos

sweetpea

Hi acbaby

This does not look like the Gold Theme (hehe...can't see the gold colour)....I think it is the garden theme. I personally liked the gold theme...

shelyn

hi acbaby

This is not the gold theme... it's the red red one i was talking about lor... the gold theme would have gold curtains on the stage....

the aisle looks quite long hor. Acbaby, Is it the long aisle or short one? There seems to be only a few flower stands leh... like not enuff... =P

I took some photos during the bridal fair but dun have it with me now... will send post it here if possible tonite. Those would be the gold theme.... But i think RTC deco looks a bit bare... somehow i feel there's not enuff flower stands and deco etc etc to fill the ballroom to give ppl a stong enuff feeling. What do you all think?

acbaby

when i was there it was in the gold color.. it was taken using a my hubby XDA phone so the color defers...

yap i agreed very bare.. and thts why i say i want to feel the aisle with the platters... becos now the prob is i have montage presentation as such i cant use the long aisle lor..

ya the bridal fare one look so good!!! that day i still call their office to check if this is the actual set up i will get for my weekend wedding / package sign at bridal fare.

i have somemore pics.. i will upload to my album.. for you all to see

jochan

Hiya all,

Thanks for sharing your pics CKW. =)
Putting the colours aside, the place does look rather bare with that few miserable flower stands.
I did speak to my coordinator on the floral arrangements and in increasing the amt present
but seems like I def. have to top up with the florist to get the effect I wanted.

For std dinners with 30-40 tables, the ballroom would still look pretty spacious.
It's beautiful no doubt but the sparse amt of flowers provided really do not justify its grandness.

Have a good mind to bring this up to them.
Hotels have at least a larger no. of varieties to choose from.
Tho you can't compare club and hotel but with a beautiful place like RTC, they should do smthg abt their decor to match the grandeur of the place.
Perhaps we should all bring this up to our respective coordinators... one voice may not make an impact but as a group.. it just may have them seriously reconsider.

And ladies, I heard that RTC is looking into getting another/additional florist plus a new wedding cake by sometime next year.

BTW, does anyone have any idea what effect is given for the second march-in? Flower petals.. etc?
The first march-in is pretty std with the dry ice and all..
Have been to a few wedding dinners this year and noted that one or two did provide flower petals to guests sitting along the aisle, for them to scatter upon the couple.

shelyn

Since u have all seen the bridal fair setup then no need to put up the pics here anymore... hehe

Hopefully the new florist can give better ideas... I feel they need to put in more effort for their deco.... really a mis-match. when pple hear RTC they go 'wow'... but when they go in and see those sparse flowers... then it's a SURPRISE... =P

Jochan, I think the flower petals u were talking about was provided by the couple. They probably have to pay for that... i think... never heard of any banquet package that incl anything for 2nd march in leh.. usu juz walk in with nothing.... haha.. maybe can buy some bubbles for kids to blow lor... more economical... =P

i think it would be quite difficult for RTC to give more things.. such as more flowers without topping up. we have already all agreed that it is difficult to bargain for the banquet.... wat more these sort of extra stuff...

sweetpea

yyah..agree with Jochan..I think more people provide feedback, the better. I will definitely ask about this...though I have yet to see a wedding at RTC. Bubbles are a good idea...but be careful about the food!

acbaby

hilo...yap we shld voice out to RTC.. such a beautiful place and yet ... the deco and set up needs plenty of improvement!!!

to answer.. im getting flowers platters to spice up the place becos like uall say its bare.. tis one either to top up using the exisiting florist or D.I.Y... looking at what they have done for RTC for me i have decided to D.I.Y.... i think Will got to get some friends to help ... actually i have already done some stuff for my wedding up the table... wedding gold bell and table place card peom.... all d.i.y like a couple of months ago... juz tht now got to do somemore becos of increase in pax... *catching breath*

for 2nd march in.. ya most of hotels and clubs dun provide. the last wedding i went to, my friend used bubble but isnt very good.. we cant see the effect although we are not far from the door... for good effect i suggest use of confetti or the popping .... (have to buy urself and get ur co-ordinator to pass to the last 4 table near the aisle) ... not very expensive can get at concourse.. confetti shines so with lightning, pics will turn out to be nice... or can incoporate both too !!! think abt it.

for those wedding not this year i.e Nov / Dec, maybe after my wedding i post the pic up for ur ref and maybe can help you in a way or two to decide what to get etc.. esp to see the effect turn out with the rose platers along the aisle and stage.. i tink this will reli spice up the place a great deal... =)

shelyn

oh acbaby, u getting married this yr?? All along i tot it's next yr... My dinner would be on 27th Dec next yr... juz after x'mas so i believe wld be able to get a lot of cheap deco from concourse ard that period....

I think confetti is a good idea. RTC used that for their bridal fair too. Effect quite good.

How do we voice out as a group? since we are dealing with them individually?... maybe shd write a letter together and send it to them....haha... =P

acbaby

maybe i will bring this up to Terrence the next time i see him.... can tell him abt Singapore brides where all newly weds and brides to be share ideas, proceess and help one another...

well put in the nice way say we all agreed tht Raffles Town Club is a beautiful place but there is of cos more room for improvement like for wedding afair or maybe event co. banquet they have a nice ballroom but weak "deco team - meaning florist" and table set up .. table cloth and all... its a ballroom affair of cos whether its company, wedding couples i think as a consumer we all expect some standard of quality and never to mention Raffles Town Club is suppose to be a Country Club in the town. hhaahaha

hmmm... for me reli look forward to Honey moon...
wasnt feeling good the past weeks .. i think a couple of months.. having a lot of issues about work but wedding coming juz have to tahan lah : (