Raffles Marina

sharyenne

hi aurorin...

kekeke... i'm a PURPLE FREAK!!! so entire theme will be in purple. purple eustomas n purple sashes!

if u hv the space for half-tables, then it's fine. generally, pple aren't quite comfy sitting with total strangers.

then hv u finished buying all the stuff for GDL? where r u getting the cakes from?

hmmm... i havent quite decided on the wedding favours yet. thinking of burning cds of love ballads, including our march-in songs n our personal favs. cos i've oni abt 100 guests, it will still be affordable.
wat wedding favors r u having?

yea... montage almost done, juz gotta add on 1 pic or 2.
yet to view the 1st layout of our PS album, still waiting for my BS to call.

HM may be next yr... cos my FH needs to report back to camp for reservist straight after our AD, so we gotta shelf any HM plans till next yr.

sharyenne

aurorin,
guess u were tied up the last few days.

v happy for u... looking at the weather outside, it's a bright n sunny day! your lawn wedding will be perfect!
congrats gal! bet u r having a great time!
cant wait to c your pix!

jumbo

Edna, aurorin must be busy with her wedding.. keke.. her AD on 10 Sep?? I went to RM on 10 Sep for food tasting but didn't see any wedding going on leh.. only saw the NUS function in the ball room.. how's ur preparation anyway??

sharyenne

hi jumbo!
no... her AD was 9th sep, n the weather was great!

ummm... now in the midst of distributing the invitations n consolidating the rsvps.
juz bot the GDL stuff over the weekend.

jumbo

oh ok.. pai seh.. me blur blur liao.. keke..
wow... very fast huh.. now distributing the card liao huh.. i'm still preparing for my invitation card and will only distribute them out on early oct.. when's ur GDL?? our families had discussed th GDL stuff over the food tasting session.. save time.. keke..

sharyenne

my GDL will be on 25th sep, 2 weeks prior to my AD.

we've decided to keep the GDL as simple as poss, so juz bot the basic stuff.

aurorin

Hi jumbo & Edna!!

Yes yes my wedding is over and it was so fun!!! the flowers from stefii was like.... WOW.. Wish i can say more but just very blessed with good weather, good company and good food for the lawn wedding! When i have time will blog properly abt the whole day!

Will let u all know when i have all the actual day pictures up but give u a link to my friend's website first cos he took some pictures so you all can see the setting and the flowers!

http://flickr.com/photos/varf/tags/alicewilkie/

heeee... anyway good luck to both of you! I am sure now its edna's turn to get really excited! All i have to say is, dun worry and you will have a good time!!

sharyenne

WOWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!

thx Aurorin! for sharing the pix!
the setup was great! stefii's reali did a great job.
now i'm reali looking forward to mine. hope it'll be just as beautiful as yours.

what time was it when you marched in? the sunset was soooo beautiful!
i'm planning to march-in at around 7pm.
i reali reali hope i'll be as lucky as u, to have the same beautiful weather.

aurorin

Edna: marched in abt 7.10pm actually.. was so panicky cos they were still waiting for pple to gather around and i was on the boat waiting with my dad looking at the sun go down! Hahah had to call FH tell him to just start or i will miss the sunset altogether! Was cloudy actually but luckily managed to get some nice pink/orange clouds in the horizon..

Dun worry abt urs! October still good weather! Will def be very beautiful! Can set your mind to rest over the flowers at least! Very very thankful.. they really help create the atmosphere.. heeeee u must be so excited now.. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sharyenne

Hi wheel,
u can take a peek at aurorin's pix from the link she posted above.

as for mine, u gotta wait for at least another mth or so.

aurorin

hi wheel,

ya, my full AD photos not out and uploaded yet so can take a look at my friend's pix?
My experience with RM has been great and they are quite helpful. Didn't really negotiated much except for the corkage waiver but i think it also depends on which pkg you sign up for. But seriously NO REGRETS at all.. the atmosphere really something hard to replicate elsewhere and food was good, all my guests love it.

edna: how how how's everything???? cant wait to hear how yours went.. Really praying hard for your AD's weather to be fantastic too. :D

i finally had chance to blog abt the wedding so anyone free can go read if you like heh heh, really hope to get my AD photos soon!!

aurorin_dreamin.blogspot.com

sharyenne

Hi Aurorin,
i saw your pix!!!
the sunset was breathtaking!
i'm starting to get excited.
have been communicating with Margaret these few days, hope everything turns out well.
i'm in holiday mood already, can barely work. hehe...

aurorin

edna!

i getting very excited for u too!! I am sure every thing will turn put fantastic! So hows the weather forecast in spore this week? heh heh going to be on off soon? oct around the corner already..

rain_drop

Hi aurorin & edna,

Which package did you all take up with raffles marina? I am still considering if I should go for raffles marina. Have met up with Margaret couple of mths ago and not sure if there is any changes in the packages.

sharyenne

Hi Aurorin,
the weather has been sunny most of the times, with light showers occasionally.
8 days more!!!

Hi rain drop,
i took the "Isle of Love" package at the Bistro Terrace.
when i signed, the price per pax was $58++ for weekends, but now it's $60++.
How much were u quoted?

aurorin

hey edna... weather patterns sound good! 8 days!!! heh rem to drink more water.. sleep early and no oily food!!

hi raindrop, i took the ocean of love pkg at $65++ (added suckling pig to the menu) so maybe more ex. How many guests are u thinking of having for your wedding?

sharyenne

hi aurorin,
ya... i'm trying to drink more water, n i've been abstaining from kopi for a few weeks.

but cant seem to sleep early... if i try to go to bed early, i'll just end up lying in bed, staring at the ceiling.

rain_drop

Hi Edna,

Me was quoted 58+ too then, but I did not confirm so not sure if the price still stands now if I decided to confirm. All in all, how much did u gals spend on the reception? Was the food good? Actually I am also considering Aloha chalet for the reception.

sharyenne

Hi rain drop,
my wedding is this Sunday, I'll post my feedback thereafter.

but i can tell u... so far, my coordinator, Margaret, has been very helpful. She has been accommodating to all my requests. hence, there's nothg much for me to worry about.

aurorin

hi edna: hmmm try to count sheeps? Heh try to have a hot bath, something warm to drink before bed.. dun read or do anything mentally stimulating.. heheh i find exercising in the evening help to sleep also (but not too close to bedtime).. cutting kopi definitely helps!!

hi raindrop: i had almost 300 guests and since mine was the lawn pkg, it was quite a hefty sum though it was almost covered by all my angbaos from the buffet dinner + morning tea ceremony..

And no worries abt the food... all my guests sang praises of it.. made me wish someone will invite me to their wedding there so tt i have a chance to try it
heeee

sharyenne

hi aurorin,
i gave up trying to sleep early... maybe just the nite before.
like last nite, i was working on my angpow boxes till 12+.
hehe... i'm too lazy to exercise.

i'll definitely get someone to leave me some food. i cant tahan not being able to sample the food, cos the menu looks sooooooo gd!

aurorin

morning edna!

Hmmm today looks rainy but i think once the skies let it all out, the weekend will be bright and sunny!

Think everything will be done by now.. so just relax and be a meimei bride on ur AD ya? And yes!! Please get them to save food for you and get one of everything!! :D

Good luck and COngrates!!!!! Rem to have fun!!

aurorin

Yesterday's weather was really good.. at least in the east.. Now Edna must be a missus already.. cant wait to hear how your AD went and see your AD pix!!!

aurorin

hi jumbo...

ya.. need to send hubby to work early so have more time to do 'non work-related' things before office hours ;D

how u?

sharyenne

hi aurorin n jumbo!!!
i'm now officially MRS THAM!!! hehehehehehe...
the wedding reception at RM was fantastic!
i totally enjoyed myself!
i din tell anyone we wld be marching in on a boat, n all my guests were in awe!
after our boat sounded the horn, other boats followed suit. dat was reali nice...
but we missed the sunset... the sun set v early on sun, think 645pm or so.
i oni got to the boat at 715pm, cos i was still gettin my hair done.
but we caught the remnants of the sunset.
n my photographer came onto the boat with us, n he managed to take a few pix with the last moments of the sunset.
it drizzled in the morn, but for only a while. the weather was great in the afternoon n evening time, but it was rather stuffy.
i was perspiring all over...
my hubby was a v happy man dat nite... he kept saying how happy he was.
but he got pushed into the swimming pool a few times, n once by me! hahahaha...
oh ya! the flowers by stefii's were lovely! reali reali purple!

aurorin

MRS THAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CONGRATES!!!!!!!!!!
hhahahahah no need to remind u to let us see your photos right??? So happy for you! You sound like u had a lot of fun with ur hubby.. heeee.. of cos ur hubby is happy! I am sure it was a beautiful wedding! Cant wait to see the photos when they are out! :D

rain_drop

Halo gals,

Do you all have Magaret's contact? I like to check out some details with her again....Seeing you all so satisfied with the services, may seriously consider RMCC. hehe...

sharyenne

hi aurorin!!!
thx!!!! kekekekekeke...
i'm still waiting for my fren to upload his pix, n oso the pix from my photog.
will share once i get them back.

the march-in on the boat was indeed beautiful!
i was teary when the boat was approaching the berth, with all my guests calling out our names n waving frantically to us. n esp so when i hear our special song playing in the background.
it was simply priceless!

i din get to sample all the food, the banquet staff oni served those hot food to our room after everythg was over.
but during the dinner itself, i managed to grab a few bites of the desserts. the choc cakes were yummy! rich n sinful... hehe...

hey rain drop,
u wun regret one bit if u decide to go with RM.
u can contact Margaret @ DID 6869 2222 or email @ [email protected]

rain_drop

Hi Edna,

I thought you got the isle of love package, does this package include coming in by the boat? Cos the package that Magaret showed me was just the normal march in on red carpet. Did you request the boat thingy from her? Was this FOC? What other perks did u gals asked? I was thinking the package does not include beer also. Did you all asked for the beer?

sharyenne

hi rain drop,
i took the "Isle of Love" pkg. the march-in by boat is an additional charge, it will cost u abt $180.
i brought in my own wedding favours n didnt use those provided by RM, hence, Margaret waived off the boat charge for me.
i asked for corkage waiver of up to 24 bottles (initially 20 bottles).
u can only ask for discounts on the beer, FOC beer is impossible.

rain_drop

Hi Edna,

Magaret only gave me a std package. Din let me bargain for anything. Did you have 100 guest for that package? Cos I don't seems to be able to gather 100 as I will only be inviting very close friends. She mentioned there is additional charges per head in this case....

dumpling_min

suppose I have only about 30-50 guests, can the marching in be done from a boat? or i need a min of say 100 guest b4 i can do that?

sharyenne

Hi rain drop,
the pix taken by my official photog r not ready yet.
u can take a look at the ones taken by my colleague's hubby.
i would say he did a fantastic job altho it was his 1st stab at wedding photojournalism.
i emailed the link to u oredi.

rain_drop

Hi Edna,

Saw your pics, really nice. Your actual pics must be super nice. You actually had 2 banquets? On different day consecutively?

aurorin

MRS THAM!!! heheheeh

Very very nice your photos!!! U and ur hubby looks like u having tons of fun.. esp when u push ur hubby into the water! Heh heh rem to share ur AD photos from photographer okie??

Really no regrets getting married at RM eh.. hehe i think more BTB shd consider... hehehe the ambience and food is all worth it!!

sharyenne

hi rain drop,
thx for the compliments!
actuali, both were on the same day.
i had a chinese lunch banquet for juz relatives n family frens, dats when we signed on the dotted line as well.
the dinner @ RM was solely for our own frens/colleagues.
we picked RM cos we wanted smthg informal for our frens, n RM was the perfect choice in terms of capacity n ambience.
as aurorin said, no regrets at all!

Hi aurorin,
wuahahahah... luv it when pple address me as MRS THAM!
but till now, i dunno ur hubby's surname leh!
yup, we reali had great fun dat nite.
shld be getting the albums from my photog next week, so will upload thereafer.

hi pinkblusher,
sent u the link. do let me noe if u dun get it.

aurorin

edna: hahahaha I am Mrs TAN! Seems like half of singapore are Tans.. I am happy getting called Mrs Tan but i think my Hubby enjoying hearing me being call Mrs Tan more cos he always smirks when pple do that! :D

sharyenne

yo MRS TAN!!!
yea... I guess it's usu the hubbies who r more pleased than anyone else.

like the few mths b4 the AD, my hubby wld call my office DID n ask for Mrs Tham. n i wld reply, "Sorli, wrong number!!!"

brink_79

Hi aurorin,

I am new to this thread and am considering raffles marina country club for my wedding.
Can I have your permission to the view the photos? Can you advise if they will have spare capacity if it rain that day.

sharyenne

hi brink 79,
what's the guest capacity u r looking at?
if it's less than 180, u may like to consider the bistro terrace. it's semi-outdoor with shelter.

whereas u need to have min. 200 pax to have the lawn wedding, n u will have the ballroom as backup in case it rains.

leave me your email address if you would like to view my AD pix.
i had mine at the Bistro.

sweetspuppy

Hi Edna, Wld u be so kind to send me your RM package prices after negotiation? Is Steffi's part of the package or did u pay extra? I'm comparing RM to 2 other yacht clubs. My est guest size is 150pax. Thanks!