Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
ashlee

Thanks for yr feedback. Was quite worried coz my family (like yrs) is also very fussy abt food. Just keeping my fingers cross.

Gald to knw you had a beautiful wedding....btw....is yr solm at the Lawn? Any pics to share as well?

CWS and ashlee...I was also concerned about the quality of the food...But well, we don't get to taste the food anyway so hehe...maybe I shouldn't care so much about what my relatives think...If they really care about us, they will just be happy to share in our joy (and not dampen it or embarrass our parents by openly sharing how they found the food not good enough for their taste). I'm sorry it sounds disrespectful of our elders but I really do think that they shouldn't think the wedding is about THEM, their taste, their preferences. It's OUR wedding after all...It will be so tiring if we tried to please everyone.

Hi Jacqueline,

Thanks for the compliments! When is your big day?

Hi ashlee,

Thanks! I'm happy for you too! Good to hear that you had a beautiful wedding!

As for married life, well, I just got back from my honeymoon, so have been really busy the last few days with the laundry and unpacking(Yucks!). It was quite exciting - to leave for Europe on the day of a London bomb blast and to return from Europe on the day of another bomb blast in London. In fact, our tour manager was quite frightened by the news of the second bomb blast!

If you're interested, you can visit our website to view our honeymoon photos!

Hey cookie's gal,

my big day seems so far away oh.. its next yr... 26th nov....
the places u went on yr honeymoon are so pretty.. envy...

cookiegal
How do u guys get to take so many shots together on your honeymoon? U know, we always can't get proper shots together as we dun like asking other ppl to take for us (shy lah). And end up stretching our arms and take photos of ourselves. Always look silly. haha...
I work in Piccadilly, and we live in Essex. So everyday, we take over-land train to Liverpool Street (where one bomb attack was near, luckily we were honeymooning then) and take the tube from there. One of the bomb scares last week was at Russell Square, one tube station from where I work. But really, nothing much has changed. Everyone still travel into London for work.

Where else in Europe did u go?

Hi Jacqueline,
Why not go to Europe for your honeymoon then? Although your AD is still quite some time away, it is never too early to start planning!

Hi ashlee,
We went with a tour group, so we basically just asked our tourmates to help us take shots for us. For those free days that we were out roaming by ourselves, we brought our trusty tripod along with us.
Surprisingly, felt that London was one of the safer places in Europe for us to use a tripod (I had this phobia that if we left our camera on the tripod, it'd get stolen right in front of us)! We covered Central Europe for the honeymoon. Started in Italy, and went to Austria, Switzerland, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, France and England. It was very fun!

Cookie's gal!

Wow, so many places you visited.
Must have been really fun.
How long was your tour?

Will wait for the weekend to view the pics so I can see them with FH.

Take care and may your marriage continue to be filled with God's blessings.

Hi catus,

Hi Caitlin,

Our tour was 16 days long.

Your wedding is coming soon right? How's your preps coming along? You take care too and God bless your FH & you in your marriage as well!

Hi ashlee,

Forgot to add this just now, but do you have any wedding pics to share? [email protected]

Hi Seval,

My friend's theme was cream colour. So RH ordered all roses in cream colour for her.. quite nice cozy effect on the ballroom but I want something different.. also trying to think about the theme...

Have you seen their wedding favours yet? Any interesting ones? or all chocs?

cws
thanks. We thought the day was pretty beautiful too. Could have done better if we could afford more flowers though!

cookiegal
That is a lot of places to visit in 16 days! Must have been fun. We are the lazy type. We dun like to go with tour group so we can sleep when we want to and wake up late! hehe

Hi ashlee,

Seen your photos - really captures the day well. Love your hairdos too! Who's your MUA? So where did you go for your honeymoon?

Cookie's Gal - Yeah, i also like Ashlee's hairdo.

Selphie - I hvnt seen their wedding favours. Do u know what they have?

Seval,

I have an email from Jenn with pics of some of their favours. But the email was sent to me last August when I signed up so it may not be so updated. Send me an email at [email protected] and I will forward the email to you.

Ashlee,
Can I see your pictures too?

Hi Seval, Agnes who is taking over as coordinator from Jenn told me there'll be more new favours in September. Havent seen them too, but she told me currently they have salt & pepper shakers, photoframes, etc.

Hi Seval and Selphie,

RH has a pretty wide range of wedding favors. They have the usual keychains, chocs, chopsticks & wedding bells.

More unusual ones include the the salt & pepper shakers (which are pretty cute, as they are in the form of a couple hugging each other
), jelly beans, tea leaves in test-tubes, soap in organza bags, photoframes etc. It's almost like, you name it, they have it. Think they should have candles even but I'm not sure.

For us, we opted for the honey jars as we thought it'd be most appropriate based on the profile of our guests.

Hi Caitlin,

Have you done your PS yet? Any pics to share?

Thanks Cookie's Gal, for the info on favours.. am never keen on juz chocs for favours, guests eat them and dat's it. Does RH print the couple's names on any part of the wedding favour? Eg. on the gift box or even on the item itself (on the salt and pepper shaker)? thanks..

Hi Cookie's gal,

Yah, I've done my PS. But I only have the proofs (8 pics to 1 A4 sheet of paper) so still very small.

I will email you one of the pages of RH proofs which my FH scanned earlier.
It was too time consuming for us to scan all.
Only scanned some to show friends before we get our CD Rom of all the pics taken.

cookiegal & seval
Hehe, I was quite happy with my hairdo too. I left it entirely up to the MUA and he did so well.

He is Kenneth Lee. Think he often does makeup for magazines and celebs.

Went Koh Samui for honeymoon. Hotel was really nice but that's about it. Din think Koh Samui did too much for us, hehe...

Hi Selphie,

Yes they do print the couple's names. It's printed on a tag that will be tied to the favor. You get to choose the wording and color of the print/ribbons used.

Hi Caitlin,

Saw your pics! Wow, you're very sweet looking! Beautiful pics too!
Will be waiting for the rest of your PS pics!

Hi ashlee,
Your MUA does makeup for mags and celebs? No wonder he did such a great job for you!

I am also interested to book Raffles hotel for my wedding next year, my concern is that of the non-air conned reception area - I checked with the hotel management; their reply is that they will provide us with a smaller function room complimentary if it is available that day. Are such function rooms frequently booked on Saturday nights?

How is the audio system and the LCD projector quality?

I have been to see the plain setting for the ballroom and the ceiling is rather low. Does anyone have any pictures of the actual event to share? Any themed weddings? Did anyone engage a live band at the cocktail?

Did any guests comment on the hydraulic elevator being slow?

Will the recent change in hotel management affect us?

I am also frantically searching for BS and PS. Can someone share with me which are the better ones around? Thanks for your advice.

Ashlee,

Your pics are LOVELY.
And I really like the decor they did for you.
I also want a primarily white roses decor. Which florist did you use and did you have to top up?

Caitlin
Aww, thanks. It was Woodsville who did the decor for us. We really liked it. My hand bouquet and corsages are from another florist and I think I'll live to regret the fact that we din ask Woodsville to do all the flowers for us. (I nearly cried when I saw my hand bouquet from this other florist, I really hated it)

We didn't top up as we were left with no budget for it! haha... what is included in the raffles package shld be enough though, but topping up would of course make it prettier and more luxurious.

Donna
we din use the ballroom so can't help u with it.
Audio and projector was good enough for us though.
For BS, u can try The Wedding Present. Their gowns are really pretty, from the classic ones to more daring and contemporary flamboyant gowns. www.weddingpresentbride.com
Photographers, try Chris Ling. They have four photographers and each one has their own style. www.chrisling.com
And of course, they are the ones we chose for our wedding thus the ones I recommend! hehe

I need to ask an ignorant question, does RH allow us to bring bottles of hard liquor that's duty-free to be consumed during the dinner? (within the 5 bottles waiver for corkage). Thanks..

hi cookiesal

nice webby u got there....not forgetting the lovely pics. thanks for sharing. btw, i have selected my favours liao but hor, RH didnt tell me abt choosing the words nor ribbons that will be used leh....do u think i shld ask them abt it?

selphie
to add on to starmoon's comment, u also have to be careful of the size of hard liquor u are going to bring. For us, we bought the alcohol from UK and brought it back to SG. They are all duty paid but as a couple of them are 1 litre bottles and RH refused to open those. Think they only open 70cl bottles.

Ashlee - tt's so werid, why cant they just open it? that's silly!! :P

Starmoon - what did you choose for yr wedding favours?

Hi starmoon,

Who's your coordinator? I think it's perfectly okay to give him/her a call to find out about it.

What did you choose as your favor?

Hi Starmoon and ashlee,

thanks for the advice.. good thing I managed to ask in time.. almost wanted to buy the duty-free liquor back coz I am overseas now.

Selphie - Think you can still buy some duty free liquor if you intend to drink in your suite with your close friends after the dinner. :P

Just an idea for wedding favours. RH allows us to get our own favours as long as it's within the budget assigned to favours within the package price. I am looking around for charities which sell little handicrafts as my wedding favour cause I think it will be more meaningful that way. The item may not be very beautiful but some people throw away the wedding favours (or just leave them behind), if we can use the money for a good cause, why not?

Caitlin,

That's a sweet thought! I've read of one bride who gave the pink ribbons (that the breast cancer society sells) as her wedding favor.

seval
Ya, I also thought it was quite silly. But it seemed like they couldn't come up with a logical reason. Then again, we were pushing it to start with as I am sure they meant duty-paid in SG. hehe...

selphie
Or try what we did. Get 70cl bottles, duty paid, overseas. They can't fault u for that!

Caitlin
That is a wonderful idea. We should have done that!

I've just released my date on 25 Feb 2006 (Sat) and have 6 wine vouchers from Thos S.B.R which RH has allowed me to use for the banquets without corkage. Willing to let go at 50nett per bottle. Please PM me if you are interested. In addition, for couples who can shift their dates to take over the above date, I'll give the bottles for free!

Have a nice day!

hi seval and cookies gal

pai seh pai seh...i missed yr post for the whole week...cos sometimes i hardly scroll down to banquets section so missed it lor...didnt mean to keep all waiting....pai seh pai seh....

i've chosen the salt & pepper shaker and the small frame cos i thot it will be nice for those who comes in a pair and they can get both items lor...most importantly, i couldnt decide between these 2 so juz pick both lor to solve the problem

hi cookies gal
my coordinator is agnes...okie, will call or send her an email abt it...she's quite prompt.
btw, wad flowers did u use? i went to sir charles and basically was told that flowers like roses, lilies and orchids are the standard flowers that dun need top up...i find that very restricted lor. then oso got colours restrictions for the roses...the naturally lilac ones got to top up...haiz.

Starmoon - It's ok lah. I've chosed the keychains for wedding favours.
I think they just changed supplier. The last supplier seems to have more choices but still ok lah, I managed to pick something.

One question regarding the printing of invites. Any bride here used Jasvy for hot-stamping on Raffles Hotel's invitation cards? How is the effect? anyone has pics to show me?

I am trying to decide between normal printing and hot-stamping. I tot hot stamping is more for inserts so it doesn't spoil the card. But RH's cards are without inserts, would hot stamping cause the words to be imprinted to the other side of the card? (or am I talking about embossing?)

Help!! Thanks...

Selphie

Selphie,

I am not using Jasvy but my FH used to be in the printing business so I know a bit about printing. Hot stamping will not cause "dents" on the reverse side. It's just printing that is 3D (as in the words are raised on the right side).

Selphie - I used Jasvy and I took their normal printing as I find that hot stamping is too reflective but it does looks nicer than normal printing as the gold normal printing that they have does not look like gold. Looks more than red, looks better with the "red" invite, doesn't go too well with the "gold" invite. I can send you a picture on Thursday of my invite prtg if you want to. Will be home late these few days, don't think I have the time these two days. Is Thurs ok for you?

Think it's really up to you, if you don't mind the cost, go for hot stamping. If you would like to save a bit and is getting the "red" invite design, think the normal printing is fine too. For me, I didn't care as I find that guests don't keep the invite and it's not worth paying higher price for hot stamping but again, the price difference is not that great. So, it's really up to you.