Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
Hi Shann, great to have another bride to chat to

My wedding is Dec 31 next yr. Probably having around 25 tables as well....hmm.. initially was also concerned about the capacity. I think 25 is probably the max.

hi Misty!

Are you taking the Buffet? Yr wedding date is cool - easy to remember.
I've made tentative booking for Raffles but yet to go down.
Have you finalized yr guest list yet?

I'm taking the regular chinese dinner. My guest list more or less there liao... but it's quite flexible... cos my parents happy to cut down on their friends if necessary.

Yar.. hehe... my dinner on new year's eve :P Initially thinking of having countdown...but doubt the older guest will want to stay. Somemore I will be having my customary and m'sian dinner (FH is m'sian) the day before. I think by the end of the S'pore dinner, we will be ready to collapse

oic, im a little worried abt no. of guests coz parents still firming up e namelist - not sure how many they are inviting yet.
have you done yr photography, house, gown etc?
guess wat? i have not done anything yet as I was proposed to only few days ago.

Wah... only a few days ago!!!! Congratulations
You're really quick into the preps then :D. So have you fixed a date in Sept yet? It's quite impt to get the list, just to have a rough gauge of the number of tables you need... cos different hotels cater to different sizes.
My essential stuff are more or less done... BS is Divine, actual day photography with Lighted Pixels. Left with studio photography still undecided. Actually me and FH are living in US at the moment, so planning to met with the photographers when we next go back home (next month!!!)

Having 25 tables in Raffles Ballroom is quite comfortable, in fact you can even squeeze up to 26 tables.

Actually you can just purchase the wine from RH as and when your guests need them. This way, you don't have to worry about having sufficient wine, and don't have to bother with corkage waiver. The wine from RH is quite good.

Don't worry, RH is very professional. My coordinator used to be Sharul, but he left the hotel just a few days before my wedding. My wedding was very well handed over to Hon, who took care of all the details and everything turned out great!

Hence, although some may find RH's prices steep, etc, but you are paying for a level of professionalism unsurpassed by other hotels. It buys you a peace of mind, allowing you to just enjoy and soak in the atmosphere of your big day.

Thanks for all the valuable advice.

I'm really glad I registered with Singapore Brides!

BTW I am quite concerned that RH will release my tentative booking. My fiance was unhappy that they released the date that he wanted to another couple without informing him.

Felt a little insecure.

I love the service rendered at RH though.. quite professional i must say.

Dear Terrapin,
when is yr wedding day?

Initially planned for 26 tables. However, just days before the wedding, some people inform that they couldn't make it, so I was able to reduce to 25 tables. There were 10 guests per table.

Your AD is so far away, your guest list will probably be a high level one to determine whether you need 10+, 20+, 30+, 40+, etc number of tables so that you book the appropriate venue. If you think you are going to need closer to 30 tables, then better don't consider RH... it's a tough job trying to "cut" people.

Hi Misty

I am quite concern abt the wine part coz hubby side alot of Red wine drinker...so change to something else cant solve the problem....

Hi Terrapin

Do you have any pic to share? I may have up to 25 tables so would like to find out the space arrangement...my email [email protected]

hi Terrapin, thanks for yr advice! yup, we wld love to keep it to strictly 25. been telling my parents not to 'anyhow' invite.
good luck to me!

yup, do you have any picture to share on RH? don't mind if you share? im interested to take a look at the layout as well.
my email add is [email protected]
how much did you spend on floral? is it in the package? im going down to sign with agnes next mth.

hi xins - when's yr wedding?

hi Misty - wow, you are coordinating the entire thing from US? anyway, sounds like you have more or less settled yr stuff, ive not even started yet, a little worrying as my wedding is in sept. :P

Hi Cookie's gal and Terrapin,

yr church wedding is at st andrew's? my dream place!!
are you a church member? I'm having a slight prob with church ceremony venue coz mine will not be available on my wedding day. is it possible for me to do mine at st andrew's even tho im not church member? Pls advise?

thanks for showing us the lovely photos. very nice! i personally like old charms - thats why RH and St Andrew's

Hi Shann,
Thanks for the compliments! We love the architectural style of RH and St Andrew's too, that's why we even took our pre-wedding photoshoot at the two locations.

The flora provided by RH is included in the package. It's actually done by Woodsville Florist.

As for St Andrew's, regret to say that only members are allowed to have their wedding there. Have you considered alternatives like Chijmes?

I'm a RH BTB too.. so glad to know new BTBs.. my AD is Nov 06...
I'm also concerned abt the corkage fee.. but i guess wat terrapin said is right. if purchasin wine from RH, can save a lot of trouble... no need to source for wine n worry abt corkage... unless u want a certain type of wine..

Jacqueline, welcome!! It's great to hv more RH BTBs to chat with.

Shann,
hahaha...actually I was planning from UK (my fiance in US at that time). Then I moved to US and then going to move back to UK in August 06. Multi-national coordination *lol*. But it's all very easy with emails and internet.
Honestly, you still hv time. And you've managed to secure a hotel you like. I think maybe start looking around for AD PGs and VGs, so that you get ones of your choice, as they are usually 'taken up' quite early as well. Let me know how your guest list works out.

Xin dear, dont worry lah. Nothing you can do about the profile of your guests
. Just take that into consideration in your budget lor. At least you hv an idea... I hv absolutely no clue how much alcohol my guests going to consume :P.

cookie gal and terrapin, thanks for sharing your photos

Hi Shann, My wedding is Jan 07 still long long but both side parents keep asking why we havent book yet

Hi Jacqueline think I will most probably get the wine from RH also...since is 50bucks per bottle, if buy from outside the slightly better one is above 20 bucks and add on the corkage confirm more ex...

Hi Cookie gal and Terrapin, thanks for sharing the photo

hi Xin > wow, you do hav quite a bit of time, tho u can start booking now just to make sure

hi Misty > um... not sure if time is on my side coz my house is coming in feb and so i will b pretty busy with house plus gotta do gown and photography and church coordination as well.
heehee... just need to manage my time properly i guess.. ya, yrs is really multi-national coordination! you studying/working in US/UK?

hi Cookie gal/ terrapin > sob...i tried calling another pretty church as well, exclusively for members. i will have to look harder now. chijmes was our initial choice but we decided against it as they have a new policy that we cannot get our own caterer.

Hi Shann,

How about places like Asian Civilisation Museums or the old SJI building? These are lovely colonial style buildings that are open to the public. Hmm... not too sure if the Armenian church is open to public. You may wish to give that a try? I think if you ask in the Christian brides thread, the helpful ladies there would be able to provide a list of churches that non-members can rent.

Sorry.. i also dunno much about churches... but fingers crossed for you, Shann. Hopefully you'll get one you like soon! Sure the house will keep you very busy... but we are all here to help each other :D.... you just hv to ask.

I'm working in boston at the moment. Cant wait to get back to S'pore for holiday and chinese new yr!!! But hv a lot of work to finish up before I can go

Jacqueline and Xin, what bout you ladies? Settled any of the other wedding vendors yet?

you gals are very sweet
thanks for all the advice!
yup, im looking forward to my house...

oh ya, got yr BS yet? i checked out jazreel low, milan, sophia and french... still looking. you gals have anything to recommend?

Misty > in boston? Cool! what are you working as?

cookie's gal > ACM is off our budget, yup, i shall ask the gals in Christian brides thread. thanks for yr advice!

Misty how often do u get to come back to SG? are u gettin yr WG in US?

I've settled my gowns, pre-wedding photography, half-settled AD PG..

Hi ladies. Happy New Year! Hope you've enjoyed the holidays and may all your wishes for the new year come true :D

Jac, I'll be back twice between now and the AD. I've signed up with Divine Couture quite some time ago and have planned it such that I will have my fittings and PS during the time I'm back. I still havent decided on my pre-wedding photographer though.... very indecisive. So where are u getting your gowns and PS from?

Shann, dont feel too comfortable with revealing my profession in the forum lah :P. Hope you dont mind. Any updates from your part?

just made a tentative booking with Raffles hotel...they are so hot....i looking a few dates in Jan 07 and all taken up...so from Sat i change to Sun and now force to hold on Friday instead....

Hi Misty, i had signed up with the bridal shop last yr due to my Rom...other vendor like AD photographer think later bah..

Yes, Raffles hotel is really hot. Maybe it's because they only have one ballroom. In order to get the day I wanted, which happened to be a very popular Sat, I confirmed my booking 1.5 years beforehand.

Do book early to avoid disappointment.

Xins, I know what you mean... cos actually I wanted 7 Jan 07, and when I checked in August.. it was already taken!! Was quite disappointed for a while... but then decided to change it to my current date. Just that my m'sia dinner will be the day before, so I will be tiring for our families... but looking on the brighter side, a full weekend of celebration will be more fun than split weekends :P.
Hmm... I think maybe start looking around for AD photographers that you like... cos just like hotels, a lot of them get booked 1.5 years beforehand. I booked mine a few months ago and already a few couples have made enquiries with him about the same dates. Just dont want you to be disappointed

hihi, i made a tentative booking too.. for Sept next year. wanted Oct but all taken too.

Misty > im thinking of checking out divine too. who did you contact? helen? amanda? as yr designer?

hi xins > which BS did you choose?

Jacqueline > cool, sounds like you have settled most stuff!

Hi Misty, I dont have any AD photographer in mind coz havent start....and hopefully can find a good and cheap one
any recommendation?

Hi Shann, you mean Oct 06 or 07? if Oct 07 oso taken up i really very surprise...they r SOOO hot??? btw i choose Golden Horse Award, abt March will start my gown designing and fitting, that time my Rom i engage their MUA i find her quite good
kao_babydust.gif

anyone have problem in the food portion with Raffles? isit enough? my parents in law very mind about food portion coz they got bad experience in a reputable hotel last yr

Shann, my designer is Kim. I didnt ask for her specifically... she just happened to be the one attending to me when I went. She's very nice and accomodating. According to the Divine thread, all the designers are equally good, so dont worry. Just go and have a look. Remember to make appt.. cos then they will have time to let you try on the gowns to see if you like their style.

Xin, hmm... depending on what kind of style you like, I do have a list of photographers I checked out last time. If you prefer journalistic style, try going to this website:

http://www.wpja.com/wedding_photojournalists/international/asia/singapore/

That will link you to the websites of some of the better jounalistic wedding photographers.

to all the gals who have made plans to get married at raffles...congrats...u have made the wisest decision...had my solemnization last december and things were really well done...we din bother much with any details and agnes did a wonderful job!...she jus asked us what colour theme we wanted and on that day the place was simply lovely!...everyone was impressed with the service they provide and its definitely on a different level compared to what ive heard from other brides...it's a once in a lifetime experience and i feel raffles really makes it that way...

Hi infinite, thanks for sharing your joy with us. I'm glad the day went so beautifully for you
. Did you have your solemnisation at the lawn? I'm going to have solemnisation at the lawn, followed by champagne reception and then dinner at the ballroom :D. Will you be happy to share any photos with us? (sorry, very thick-skinned of me here).

Hey Misty, is yrs a special package? or how much are u payin for the champagne reception? cos my session at RH will be like yrs....
My gowns will be done by my cousin, cos he has a boutique at Park Mall...

Hi Jac,

mine isnt a special package... I just took up both the solemnisation as well as the dinner packages. As for the champagne, I think I'll just pay whatever is consumed. The solemnisation is only going to be attended only by family and close friends, so I dont imagine that the consumption is going to be very high.

Wow, so you can design the gown together with your cousin.. it must be very fun!! And next time can it on to your daughter :P. My mum has 2 pieces of wedding attire which I'm thinking of altering to wear... but no idea how to :D

i see, Misty, I'm still decidin whether to invite most ppl along to the solemnisation or not. cos I'm hoping to let the dinner start on time..

hi ladies, just to check w u... any chance tt raffles wld provide an additional room for the sisters etc to rest/change during the day?
anyone tried asking?

Shann, I cant remember exactly... but if I'm not wrong, they do not provide the additional room for the sisters (I think it's becos all the rooms are suites)... but they might provide another room nearer to the ballroom for you to change (from WG to EG) and touch up as the bridal suite is quite a distance away.

Shann, you can ask them to provide you with the Jubilee Lounge, which is closer to the ballroom than the suites. Your helpers can use that as a day room, and it comes with toilets within the lounge. It can also be locked, hence can put their belongings there. During the banquet, you will also probably use that to change gowns as you wouldn't want to walk all the way back to the suite.

Shann

I did check with Agnes before, they will not provide additional room for sisters coz all r suites, the best they could do is arrange for a room near ballroom for sisters to sit n rest...but cant change n wash up lor.

icic, thanks for all yr advice! Just met up with her on Wed. I have asked for Jubilee Hall. btw any of you getting buffet instead of chinese dinner?

I'm pretty sure they do for their function rooms.

In any case, they also have a restaurant Bar and Billiard Room which you can book. they do western buffet.

I am interested in RH's wedding packages and is wondering whether anyone can share the 2006 wedding packages with me? Also, what is the min and max no of tables RH can accommodate? My email addy is [email protected]

Thanks a million.