Raffles Hotel

starmoon

hi blur blur

thanx for sharing your beautiful pics wif me...u r very pretty and got a very good figure...nice gown as well...the lawn is indeed very nice.

bunni99

Thanks blur blur! Can feel the happiness from the pictures..
You've got fair skin so can show off in the sexy dress..
v.nice..

pepper

hi blur thanks for sharing ur pixs. u look at a celebrity singer ..think it is Kit Chan. are u related ?? ha ha...ur skin is very translucent and nice makeup. I am sure u enjoyed urself. raffles never disappoint

i also got band contact as i engage one during my wedding. it is $1400 for 2 sets with 4 band member includingone who sing, can sing jazz and even chinese songs! my relatives and friends enjoyed themselves very much. thw guy coordinator is also friendly and professional. anyone interested can email me for contact.
i also got my wedding album to share exclusively for raffles bride only
. anyone interested

starmoon

hi belle

i'm oso a raffles bride...will be having banquet at the ballroom in sep....can u share with me your pics? my email is [email protected]
btw, is yours oso at the ballroom? if yes, did u use sir charles or woodsville? cos i dunno which one to use and i have not met up with sharul to discuss the details yet...haiz, dunno whether he will call or should i call him....lots of things not arranged yet...

ublur

ashlee, i did not top up for the flowers.. guess my friends did take down some photos of the flowers n deco setup on tt day.. wait till i got the photos from them then i will sent to u... but i do have flowers backdrop at the lawn itself... i do not know if tt's the one u referring too.. sharul had the whole package customised for me.. tt's y i do not have to top up.. i paid more than the normal solemnisation package.
as for the band charges, u can refer to the website i gave u and contact the person in charge.. his charges are quite reasonable..

starmoon, bunni, titania thanks for compliments..

belle, i definately enjoyed myself tt day.. kit chan? hahha.. mayb it's cos of the make up.. if without the make up, i guess i m jus a plain gal.. hahaha.. btw, all brides are pretty right?? do share wif me ur photos.. ur wedding over already?

princess, peonies, u got mail... hope u enjoy..

pepper

hi starmoon, i used woodsville because i saw their website with the theme i wanted. i just sent u the link to my photos of my AD and PS.
Blue blur pls give me ur email again, i lost it.

ihec

hi all,im new. its my 1st post here hehe
i'm getting married at Raffles Hotel too in October.

like starmoon, i haven't met up with sharul to discuss anything yet. when is the time to do the food tasting and go through the other details huh.

blur blur and belle . do u have photos i can take a look?

tks all

katgrrl

Hi gals, haven't been here for a l-o-n-g time.
(Hi Ashlee!!

Btw, for those who had gone for their photoshoot at RH, do u know if there's free parking at their basement? Otherwise, any alternative parking within a stone's throw that's free?

cookies_gal

Hi belle,

Can you share your photos with me? [email protected]

Hi KarGrrl,
Haven't seen you for a while here! *waves*
Why don't you try asking your coordinator for free parking coupons? For my case, our bridal studio paid for the parking...

ublur

katgrrl, there is parking at basement, but it's not free.. unless u can get coupon from sharul..

CWS, u got mail..

seval

My JP also David Loh... think many Raffles bride getting David Loh. hehe

Hi Katgrrl - yeah, long time no see!! :p

coco

Hi RH Brides,

Has anyone managed to get waiver of corkage for wine? If not, how much was quoted??? RH seems very rigid about corkage on wine....

caitlin

Blur Blur,

Thanks for the quote.
Hmmm...their prices are really reasonable.
Will keep them in mind if I have budget for entertainment...Otherwise CDs it will be!
Hehe

nitestar

hey cookie's gal,
I was quoted at $35+++ too.. Wonder y the different quotes... is everyone here takin the standard package?

caitlin

Hi AP, Cookie's gal and Jacqueline,

I just checked my contract again. I was quoted at $35+++, but eventually RH agreed to 24 bottles at $500 nett, subsequent bottle at $35 nett per bottle.

starmoon

hey gals

sharul is leaving raffles...tomorrow is his last day....so sad...afterall all these while he is our only contact. hope the senior sales manager is good.

starmoon

hi seval

from his email, it seems like our event will be handled by Agnes Tan, Senior Catering Sales Manager. he also mentioned dat she will be in touch with us soon. have never met/spoke to her b4 so hopefully she is good lor. jenn is your coordinator rite if i remembered correctly....when is she going on maternity leave? u know who will be covering for her?

actually i spoke to sharul last week and he didnt even mention to me....i even told him that i will check wif fh to see when we r going down to discuss the decor, invites etc with him. haiz...

hweyhwey

Hi ,
Any one has any idea on the deco you will be using for the ballroom? ie, the colour themes etc.....really no idea leh.
Sharul leaving???? What do you all think about Jenn's sevice? So far she is cool i think.

seval

Starmoon - Ok, at least you get someone very experienced. Being the senior manager, should be, dun worry. I'm not sure when Jenn is going on maternity leave too, maybe will check wif her next time.

Hweyhwey - I also have no idea on the deco, dunno where to start. So far Jenn has been nice.

cookies_gal

Hi fellow Raffles Brides,

I'm back! Our wedding is over and it was beautiful! To quote Sharul, there's really magic in the walls of Raffles.

Anyhow, I was one of the couples affected by Sharul's departure. In fact, extremely affected. Our wedding was 18 June, just 2 days after his last day on the 16th. And we only knew of his departure on the afternoon of 12th June. But everything was well-managed. Our portfolio was handed over to the Director of catering, Hon. We met up with her on the 16th to run through together in detail our requirements that we had earlier communicated to Sharul. Although, it did take up some precious time, that session helped reassured us that we were in good hands.

The banquet that night was a success – with gorgeous décor, great food (we served cod fish which tasted wonderful even when it was re-heated for our supper), and impeccable service. It was everything that we expected of a wedding at Raffles and more! Will share with everyone our photos when they are ready.

Meanwhile, here's a photo of our wedding cake from Raffles taken at the dining table in the suite:
293800.jpg

To all the brides-to-be, trust Raffles to do a great job for your event and savor every moment of it!

coco

Hi Cookie gal,

Congratulations on your new status!

Wat's the theme for your wedding and the colors for your flowers? Which florist did you choose?

Has anyone spoken to Agnes the new manager?

cookies_gal

Hi AP,

My color theme was hues of pink and green for the flowers. For the florist, Sharul picked Woodsville for me. The arrangements were really lovely.

seval

Cookies Gal - Congratulations, u are now Mrs Cookies Gal? hehe... Really happy to hear that you have enjoy your wedding at Raffles. I'm sure they will do a great job for the rest as well. I was surprised tt u only know of Sharul's resignation so last minute, I thought they should at least tell you in advance to get you prepared. But anyway, good that they assured u are in good hands and proved it with the fabulous wedding you've got at Raffles.
Looking forward to see your pic.

starmoon

hi cookiesgal

Congratulations! glad to hear from another satisfied raffles bride....had alot of relatives and frenz commenting y we go with raffles cos their food is nothing great...just ok standard. aniwae, we'll be going for our food tasting next month and looking forward to our weding. oh, remember to show us your pics when u got the time to upload it, kaez?

seval

Cookies Gal - Yeah, how was the comments on the food huh? Some said the portion very small right?

Starmoon - I think every hotel food all same standard leh, so far, I think Pan Pac managed to satisfy my picky husband. All the food served at the other hotels banquet really sucks. :p Think that's the sacrifice we have to make for the ambience. Actually dun understand why hotels can't serve nicer food.

starmoon

hi seval

actually conrad has very good food and so does Grand Copthorne....in fact my MIL loves it so much she kept the food menu (cos she dunno english) and show it to me when we were looking around for banquet. but the min. requirement is 38 tables so we didnt take it as we r only inviting a small no. of ppl. tell u something hor, actually we went around and wanted to get conrad after comparing as we love the ambience there and they got very good review on food...but of course the bridal suite not as nice as Raffles lah. in the end,we chose raffles cos the dates we wanted all gone. recently, my bro went to his fren's wedding at hyatt and he commented that the food is very nice and ask me y dun go hyatt...told him i pay deposit liao and will ganna confiscate and he said pity cos food very nice.

hweyhwey

hi cookies gal,
congratulation!!
me too... my relatives said that hotel food all not good... but i go raffles not because of the food...

cookies_gal

Thanks for the well-wishes!

We received excellent reviews for the dinner that night. We actually had some fussy guests who specifically mentioned that the food that night was excellent. Just FYI, my in-laws' are Cantonese who are known to be quite particular about food!

We heard that the shark's fins had generous servings of shark's fins and that the steam cod fish was superb. Cod fish is a very unique item on their menu - hardly any hotel serves cod fish in the first place and it takes a really good chef to pull it off steamed. In fact, once hubby saw cod fish on the menu, Raffles it was for us. The roast chicken was also another hit.

So, don't worry. With Raffles, you do not sacrifice the taste for ambience at all! If you still have any doubts with respect to food, do voice them to your coordinator.

seval

hi gals - wonder if you gals read about the Raffles Hotel bought over? Wonder if we will be affected in any ways?

starmoon

hi seval

yah, read it the other day on TODAY and was telling hubby same thing too...but i guess prob not much bah since the staff still remains.

ashlee

CWS
We had the Jubilee buffet menu. Most of my friends said the food was great. But my family (super cheena ones who are very particular about food) and relatives said the chinese items in the buffet menu is horrible. And many of them complained. But we already expected that kind of response from my side of family, so it didn't bother us too much.

Unfortunately, we ourselves did not manage to taste the food at all. They did get two plates of food for us and left it at our seats during the dinner but we were busy talking to guests and did not have a single bite. Even though we requested for food to be served to our room after the dinner, they didn't bring it to us.

Never mind... it was quite a beautiful wedding. ;p

ashlee

cookiegal
Aw, ur wedding looks really lovely! Can see u guys go for the most romantic locations - St Andrews and Raffles. Lovely...

Think my only regret is that we didn't do our PS at the hotel itself. But then again, our solemnisation and dinner were both there so no loss! haha...

How's married life so far? ;p