Raffles Hotel

ublur

ashlee, i will be having my solemnisation at the lawn in May. We have arrange for music to play in the lawn. Microphone will b provided as well...

ashlee

blur
Cool, so one load off my mind. Thanks.
Congrats girl! Yours not long from now eh? Aww, you must send me the photos after your wedding!

ublur

hi ashlee, yup... sure will sent u the photos when all over.. u having ur solemisation also in the lawn?

Miralecraz, mine in May 18th... What abt urs? mine only solemnisation ceremony.. AD will b next year.. wat abt u?

ashlee

Mine's in July! hehe... may june july brides here!

blur
Yep solemnisation in the lawn in the morning and dinner on the same day. Which florist are you using?

hilsywong

Hi everyone, I'm thinking of holding my solomnisation and banquet in RH. I'm planning my entire wedding overseas, so I would really appreciate it if someone could send me some photos to have an idea how the ballroom looks, particularly when it's done up. Anyone have photos of the reception area in front of the ballroom? Does it bother anyone that the reception area has no airconditioning?

My email: [email protected]

titania

Hi Girls, anyone know if fireworks can be seen from RH? Also, any idea how to go about arranging for fireworks? Pls comment. Thanks!

caitlin

Hi Titania,

I don't know for sure. But if your wedding is at the ballroom, might be difficult cause the ballroom faces Seah Street. Think the best persons to ask would be Sharul or Jenn. They may have done this before and can give you the right contacts.

ublur

ashlee, cool.. i will b having solemnisation only in the lawni nt he evening.. I willb using the florist in raffles hotel i think.. forget the name.. i have not meet up wif sharul to discuss the details yet...

titania, wow fireworks eh? dun think singapore can apply for it right?

caitlin

Hi Titania,

Forgot to mention that there will probably be safety regulations. Likely to be difficult in RH cause it's national monument and there's insufficient open space. But best to check with Sharul or Jenn.

cookies_gal

Hi Titania,

Fireworks are classified as explosives, the same category as ammunition (eg, bullets). It definitely won't be simple to get safety clearance, and will involve parties like the police/army etc. There are very few private companies in S'pore that are capable of staging fireworks displays and also have the authority to import fireworks. (It's actually illegal to play with fireworks here in S'pore)

However, if you're talking about sparklers, best to check with Sharul/Jenn. The other side effect of fireworks/sparklers that you may wish to take note of is the lingering smell of gunpowder.

ashlee

Misty
am overseas too. Are u in the uk?
Can't help on the ballroom, cos we are only having it at the East India Rooms.

Blur
Sir Charles (or something like that) is it? hehe. We are using Woodsville. When are u meeting them then?

ublur

ashlee, well, i had to contact sharul first.. lately too busy.. hear tt only 2 wks before is sufficient. i planning to meet him next wkend.

hilsywong

ashlee...
ya, i'm in UK. My FH is in US, so very difficult for us to get things done. I'm such a control freak as well... so frustrating!

ashlee

blur
oh ok. Hope everything goes well for you.

misty
Oh no, is your fiance there for a long time or just temporarily? Which part of UK are u in?
Totally understand your frustration... but I am sure everything will turn out ok.

carelinwen

Hi ublur,

I may be thinking for have a garden soleminization at Raffles, followed by tea for about 20-30 persons. Can you PM with me your package?

titania

Hi Caitlin/blur blur/cookie's gal, I spoke to one of the brides in another forum, her solemnization event at sentosa had fireworks. but its thru her hubby's lobang. Would be real nice to have tt.
will chk with jen. And yes the facing seah st thing might be a problem.

caitlin

Hi Titania,

Yah, it will certainly be cool.

Have read it in a couple of foreign magazines.
It will definitely leave a lasting impression on your guests.
Let us know what Jenn says.

I remember you still asking in your last about Four Seasons etc. So you have confirmed FH already?

carelinwen

Hi ublur,

Wow, it's slightly off my budget. I know four seasons and sheraton has ROM package with buffet at about 45-50 +++ per pax minimum 25. But I may still contact Raffles later down to see if there are any special promotional packages.

ublur

Titania, cool, do let us noe too.. then i wil bring my FH to go down to watch too...

carelinwen, u r welcome.. i having mine on 18th May.. u may wan to come down and take a look.. u will surely love the place.. cheers..

titania

Hi caitlin/blur blur, no havent officially selected. I am making sure that RH can accomodate all my whims first. *laugh* and there r sooo many. But I must admit I am leaning towards RH. Also I'm an ex-Rafflesian so there is a sentimental thing behind it. *sheepish* But my BF is Acsian. *grin* I will update u guys after corresponding with Jen.

Titania,

I like ur idea abt fireworks too....my bro say got lobang if i willing to pay, but I dun have the budget....so din chk the feasibility of that with Jenn/Sharul....it would be a big bang with fireworks isn't it?

I was like u abt the Rafflesian thinggy, went from Raffles Marina Club( dad says location too remote) to Raffles Town Club( I dun have their min capacity), b4 settling on Raffles Hotel....;) keke!

titania

Hi Widow-witch! *fellow-rafflesian* fireworks will be nice. *sighz* yah but budget could be a huge problem. Can share with me your lobang? [email protected] tks! Btw, hows the masquerade theme thing coming about? U sticking with it?

miraclecraz

Hi blur blur,

Ooh... So sorry. I added a comment here and forgot about it. keke..
another 2 more weeks to ur weddg eh.. Must be really excited abt it.
How's the preparation?

Need to seek anyone's advice on the guest list. How many tables do u haf? How many invited guests do u haf as well? I'm worried tat ple will not turn up at the last min even though they have RSVP. The guest list is the biggest headache.. *nod nod

titania,

wud chk with my bro for the fireworks lobang....but wun be seeing my bro that soon coz leaving SIN 2mrw for work, and wun be back till next week...wud update u once I get hold of him ya!;)

rgds to the theme, now a little headache....can't find the right march-in songs for my theme....other than that, wud still have a ala moulin rouge kinda of feel....it's gg to be lots of feathers, boas, right up to my AP box....
Plus, not sure if guests feels comfy, having to blend in with my theme....having 2nd thoughts...but likely ro stick as close to this original theme as close as possible, though wif some deviations....

miraclecraz,

I have 25 tables at the moment, RH max can stretch 26 tables, but now after wrking out the guest list, I have abt 28 tables worth of guests!!! my headache opp of urs....what if they all turn up???? i'm trying to attach self-stamped rsvp cards into the invites, so that they can be truthful abt their attendance, w/o having to be cordial, say coming,then no show.....hope that this wud help me get a more accurate figure.

terrapin

Hi widowwitch,

What about assigning 11 guests per table? I think the tables in RH are large enough to do that... just ask the banquet manager to increase the portions accordingly. You should be able to achieve 280 guests with 25/26 tables.

titania

Hi Widow-witch, sure whenever u get the lobang do drop me a mail.
Yr theme sounds really fun! What kinda march-in songs u looking out for? tried the moulin rouge soundtrack? How abt smth from Buddha Bar?

miraclecraz

HI widowwitch,

Thanx for ur reply

I've just added a few more frens. Total no. of invited guests now stands at abt 220. Only planning to have exactly 20 tables. If poss, dun wish to touch the 21st reserved table though.. *gee

ublur

miraclecraz.. woo, long time never come in n chat... din c ur msg previously..
it's jus another wk before my solemnisation at the lawn.. Have been raining continously recently.. keeping finger cross tt it will not rain on my day.. so scared..
nevertheless, my prep is more or less done.. very excited n happy tt my big day is coming..had planned for many things.. my FH will b singing to me on tt day, hopefully he will not go out of tune!! hahahaha

miraclecraz

Ooh... blur..
I'm Soo soo excited for you too!! Will need to consult you after urs is over.

Btw, r u havg ur dinner @ ballrm as well? How many tables? How many guests did u invite? Am havg some prob at estimation. Worried tat I've invited too little or too many. *Gee

No worries. I'm sure ur hubby would haf took time to practise it. It'll be perfect! As for weather. I'm also keeping my fingers crossed. I guess it applies for all held outdoor.. keke

ashlee

Blur
Wow! Just another week! Bet it's gonna be real pretty! What is your theme/colour? Are you going to have dinner the same day or is it just solemnisation?
Your fiance's so sweet, going to sing for you. What song is he singing? Think mine will kill himself before he attempts anything like that! hehe...

ublur

Miraclecraz, i only having solemnisation in the lawn only.. my AD willb sometime next year... however, i do arrange for food to b serving in the lawn.. more like a buffet type.. wif the chief n waiters standing there to serve my guests.

ashlee, yaa.. pretty nervous.. i wan to have a romantic n white solemnisation.. told my florists tt i wan cream n soft pink for deco.. will b having a band singing n entertaining my guest too.. my FH going to sing "Just the way you are" by billy joel.. he used to sing this song when we were courting..

7 more days to go..

hweyhwey

Hi widowwitch,
i am new here, can ask u something?? is RH really can strech to 26 tables?? I called sharul before, he said the max is only 25.

thank u very much!!

ashlee

Blur!
It sounds soooo cool!!! Aww, can imagine your wedding to be classy yet entertaining! What kind of music will the band be playing? How many guests are u inviting? When exactly is your fiance going to sing, before or after the vows? Who is your JP??
I'm so sorry, so many questions... I dunno why but I am SO excited for u! (Maybe cos we'll be having our solemnisation at the Lawn in July as well!)

ublur

ashlee, my band will be playing bonsanova, jazz and latin songs... they are very good.. if u need them i can pass the details to u..
i m inviting abt 40 guests and m fiance is going to sing the song after the solemnisation.. We had invited David loh as our JP.. saw many good reviews abt him.. so we booked him straight away...
wow, u planning ur solemnisation only or together wif ur customary too?? i told sharul who is my coordinator tt i wan to have a very dreamy and romantic theme. hopeffully the deco will be nice.. i will b having my ROM on 18th May from 5.30-7.30 pm... so if u r around tt area, mayb u wan to take a look of the whole deco n setup.... do let me noe if u really decided to have ur solemnisation at the lawn.. mayb i can pass u some tips.. me n FH simply love the lawn..

ashlee

blur
sigh, I will only be back in SG on 25th June. You MUST show me the pix ok?? Which florist are u using? Did u have to top up for more flowers?
We have already confirmed having our solemnisation at the Lawn. Fiance fell in love with it when Jenn showed us around in December. But I am not sure if the flowers included in the package is enough. We are using Woodsville and they suggested only two more pieces of arrangement on top of the package. Need some advice on that.

ublur

ashlee, cool.. u already confirm ur solemisation at the lawn? tt nice.. u will definately have a great day.. hmmm... using woodsville eh? mine is using Sir charles which is located in raffles hotel itself.. I dun rem sharul telling me tt i can get to choose florist.. I thought default florist is Sir charles..anyway, I do trust him to do up the whole setup for me..we had already told him tt we emphsise a lot on the deco. Hopefully it will turn out great..it's all in the package, so i din top up for more flowers..

so ur customary is not on the same day eh? u took up the normal solemnisation package? What timing are u looking at? dun worry, i will definately show u my photos after my ROM.. I will b flying off to korea for my honeymoon so i can only share the photos in end of may..

caitlin

Hi Blur Blur,

Jenn told me I could choose between Woodsville and Sir Charles. I prefer Sir Charles but wondered if they were more expensive. Glad to know you didn't have to top up.

My wedding is in ballroom in Sep. Do share with me your experience of working with Sir Charles. Cause I thought of asking them to do my church decor too then can "recycle" the same flowers in the ballroom in the evening.
Dun waste. Haha

Can you email me your band contact also? [email protected]? I don't think I will engage one (already worried that ballroom cannot accomodate all my guests) but now only know of ET (or EQ) music through bochup who used to post here. Thought I should get a few quotes to compare.

ashlee

blur
2 more days to go dearie!!! Bet you are really excited!

We are planning to do solemnisation in the morning and dinner at night, on the same day. So basically we are doing the dinner package and the use of the Lawn in the morning at an extra $500. Dunno how the decor is going to turn out as we have only about 30 guests, wonder if it is going to be too empty.

Definitely looking forward to see your pretty pix! and I am sure it is worth the wait!

Oh yes, and can I have the contacts of the band as well and how much they are charging? Can send me after your honeymoon, no probs. U make sure u get loads of rest and be a really pretty bride on your big day!

ublur

caitlin, ashlee, can i email u after my ROM? hhaha.. reason being is all his contacts are wif my FH.. so might have to email u slightly later..

ashlee, in fact, to have too many pple at the lawn will not be nice.. our idea is to have our guests to enjoy the nice scenery of the lawn n have a enjoyable time.. Imagine if we have too many guest and the guest are all filled up with chairs and tables, we will not be able to see the "greeneries"..

Lynda, i do have the song, but har... it's wif my FH.. will email u right after my ROM ok??

I m damm busy these few days .. already on leave last friday although my solemnisation is on wednesday.. will definately share wif u my photos..

starmoon

me oso raffles bride...was wondering if the cd player is a multi disc one cos if not, then someone got to be there to keep changing the CDs. anyone knows?

cookies_gal

Hi starmoon
I'm not too sure about whether it's a multi-disc player but I know that the sound system will be manned by a staff from the hotel so even if it's single disk, it should be ok as long as you inform the soundman what you want played, yah?

BTW, think I saw you posting in the Inspire thread, are you working with them too? When is your wedding?

Hi blur blur
Remember me? Hehe, just want to wish you "Congratulations!" Enjoy your ROM and don't forget to share your pics with me ok?

Hi Hweyhwey
It is possible to fit 26 tables in the ballroom but it'll be really tight. May be better to consider seating 11 per table instead?

miraclecraz

Hi Blur blur,

Dunno if u get get this on time. Tomorrow's the day!! Congratulations! Smile okie!

Rem to send me your pix.

starmoon

hi cookies gal

wah so nice to have a staff manning the player...me still headache earlier cos dunno who to ask to help me change the CDs cos it might inconvenient them mah. now can relax liao....phew...btw, what is inspire?? me dunno and i think u prob remember wrongly bah...my dinner is on 17 sep...wad abt urs? having it separate day with my AD cos my AD on sunday and most guests prefer to come on sat for dinner so can drink more hence, we fixed on sat for dinner lor