Raffles Hotel

seval

Belle - U know what? I dunno how to activate the PM! Can anyone tell me? But u can also send me an email at [email protected]

Ok, hotstamping... oh... maybe that's a more ex type of printing. Yeah. agree with Bochup, got to have those gold printing to match the invites... now I dunno if I shd do the real wax seal or take the sticker one. Did you pay extra for that? I suppose that comes together? Any kind soul can post a pic of the sticker or send me the pic? Can it be customise?

Is Katgrrl still in this thread? I wanted to get more info from her from the custom made seal. Hello? Katgrrl, you there?

Bochup - :p hehe... even if it's not Sharul's fault, he has to right the hotel's wrong. :0
So, he better settle this billing soon and do sth to placate you.
Poor sharul then.

Yeah.. agree with you that there are more beer drinkers nowadays as well but personally, I'm afraid of the beer belly & I know many gals who do as well... hehe...

pepper

HI seval
i sent the email to u liao.

I don have my digi cam with me, otherwise i will definitely post a pic online. hmm...i ask my hubby to bring the camera tomorrow

the sticker is FOC and comes with the whole package. i think it is cool to have a wax seal. haiz...didnt go and do it. the red sticker has the raffles hotel building on it, something like what u see on the website. so i was thinking whether to do a seal of our initials or use the sticker with the raffles hotel on it. I thought since raffles hotel is the place, it makes sense to have a sticker with raffles on it right? it is not everyday u can have a raffles sticker on ur envelope.

the cheapest hotstamping is with some AMK technpark office. the template is also $80 and each card is 35 cents. but got to send the card down urself whereas jasvy will collect and deliver to raffles hotel which is far more convenient and u canbe assuredof the quality since raffles recommend that as their printer right? for that 5 cents i think i rather have peace of mind. furthermore jasvy is used to printing for RH brides, so they know exactly the dimension of the card and can send u the mock up (they call it artwork) of the wordings according to the dimension of the card almost immediately. the other printer u need to either show them the card or tell them the card dimension. very troublesome.

so i hope i have helped those who are considering printers

very fun planning the wedding, seeing all the things coming together. the card really look very pretty. i kept one myself

katgrrl

Hullo hullo!

I'm here
It's a surreal feeling...catching up on the posts & suddenly someone's looking for me :p

Seval, the online shop I got it from is Old School Seals I did our monogram and mixed 2 of their existing fonts together because otherwise I couldn't get '&' to fit with the initials.
Dena was really prompt and helpful in showing me the designs. Everything came beautiful and as expected
Alternatively, the other shop I was considering is Custom Wax n Seals

Haven't used our seal yet though...will start next month when we finally sit down to do our invites

cookies_gal

Here's wishing everyone a Happy New Year!

Hi Bochup,

Thanks for describing the digital console. FH & I happened to be in around RH over the weekend, so we dropped by to take a look, and we managed to see the console.

Does Jasvy have any website? Read that you got your US wedding invites done by them as well. Do you choose the card design from a catalogue of designs that they have or can you propose your own? Care to share how they charge in this case? eg, the price range for the cards and the price range for the printing charges. How much time do you need to give them to print the cards?

BTW, is the sticker and the card design everyone is talking about here the same as that on your blog?

Hi belle,

Thanks for sharing the info about the printers. Really helped clarified things.

pepper

i dont think jasvy has a website. it was not stated on his namecard. btw, jasvy is the company's name. the guy is called jason. interesting right?

seval

Hi Katgrrl!
Happy that you are still here. I remembered going to one thread on the custom made seal and know tt you are 1 of the Raffles brides. I posted sth there for you but mayb the thread is too old & you din see. I have some questions that I need yr help to ans.

- Did you get the big one or the smaller sz one? I wasnt sure if the small one is good enough
- How much is the total cost with the shipment cost? I wonder is $50 enough...
- Do u mind sharing your design with me for reference?
- How much extra wax did you order for your invites? I have 250 guest in ttl, I dunno how much wax is enough.

Tks!

Belle - Got your email. Thanks! Will sure drop by to send you my blessings if I can.

Thanks for the info on the sticker. I agree with you that it's better to go to Jasvy, after working out the cost, the additional cost is less than $10 and they seemed to be pretty reliable. And the additional sticker sounds all the more reasonable for the additional $0.05.

No problem with the picture, I was browsing Bochup's blog and saw she uploaded a picture, I couldn't really see the pic but I have an idea of how it looks like now. Thanks so much.

Yeah, I like the invites too, both are nice, dunno whether to choose the classic one or the "red" one. It's not really that "red" either which was what I like. First sight, I like the classic one but later on, finds the "red" one quite nice too.. anyway, my wedding is still some time away, still has time to decide.
So, which one did you choose?

katgrrl

Hi Seval,

Glad to help
urhm, I think Old School Seals only had 1 size. Anyway, I got the Standard seal with birch handle that is 11/8" (3.5cm) wide (which is already slightly larger than some others).

Total cost depends on how many wax sticks u get and whether u get any accessories. $50 - u mean USD right?
A standard seal that uses their inhouse fonts costs US$38. I remember postage was $15. Their faux wax doesn't seem too ex though...

Heheh... sori, I've deleted the (design) pdf Dena sent me.
. I communicated what I had in mind and she designed a couple based on the fonts. Basically, we had our initials made into a monogram e.g. "K & M" The letters "K" & "M" were from the Shelley Allegro font while the ampersand (&) was from Bickley (since having all of them on Shelley just wouldn't fit). Think u'll have a pretty good idea by now

Hmm, faced the same problem on number of wax sticks too. Going by their estimate of 5 seals/stick, u should be safe with 50 sticks i.e. 2 boxes of 38 each ($12 in total). I ordered 2 different colours cos I'm thinking of mixing the colours heheh...
How I'm gonna do that is to melt the colours in a little bowl over a heat source, then use a spoon to pour the faux wax mixture onto the surface. This is similar to Custom Wax n Seal's Melting Pot. Dena said this shouldn't be a prob so let's see....
But if u wanna stick to 1 colour, then a glue gun will be a good investment. I believe u should be able to get the glue gun in SG (e.g. Bras Basah) where it'd be much cheaper (chk the dimensions first though). IMO, dun worry about getting a little bit extra because there'd always be Christmas or New Year cards to send.

Phew, I hope I've answered all your questions. Feel free to ask anything else. Fyi, here's another site for your consideration http://www.letterseals.com/

irenet

Hi all Raffles brides..

Happy Chinese New Year.
Be highly favored, greatly blessed and deeply loved.

zenith

bochup

cookie's gal,
you're most welcome!
yah i took the picture of the card front and the back (where i sealed it with that sticker). it's really quite impressive and some of my coworkers when they got the card, couldn't bear to tear off the sticker at first. wahahhaha. (but actually if they tear it carefully, it will not stick cos the card material is quite good.)

i selected my US cards with my hub at their office. i can't remember how long it took but it was pretty fast and jason was nice enuff to deliver it to RH so i could pick it up while running my errands since i was really busy (this was still before my sg wedding). as for cost, i only needed about 50pcs... so the price not so worthwhile but bo pian... and jason did try to give me a better price since repeat customer.

HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR and may we all have blissful marriages!!!

pepper

yup, i think raffles has the best card quality. so far none of the invite i have come across is as impressive as raffles. i think it is such a joy to receive a nice invite.

seval

Bochup -
haha... the first thing that came to my mind when the nail came out was "is the nail going to grow in time for the wedding"? I cannot believe that I cld still think of that with the pain... haha

Katgrrl - Thank you so much for answering all my qns. Really appreaciate it. Thanks!! Yeah, US$50. I hope to spend under S$100 for this wax seal plus access, hmmm... seems a bit difficult. hehe... but I think it's ok as it's not going to be a lot more.

katgrrl

Seval, u're welcome

I'm thinking of getting some traditional red wax now. Btw, I remember.... going to Bras Basah Complex and found that there's 1 dingy shop that sells red sealing wax. the only prob is that they dun sell individual sticks - 10-12 really long (~20cm) sticks in a box. Compared to the prices from Letterseals.com and Custom Wax, it's really cheap cos if I remember correctly, that box costs only S$18. The prob is I dun need so many... lemme know if u wanna share

I think the shop's name is Wah Hup..or Woh Hup(?), at a rather remote corner that faces the parapet. They also make seals but it's just a rubber stamp.

Xin Nian Kuai Le everyone!

seval

Katgrrl, is the traditional red wax mail proof? I dun mind sharing but let me wk out how much I need first, let you know again.

Is the rubber stamp just those common ink stamp? hmm.. i'm going to check out that shop, I went dwn bras basah a few times but didn't spot this shop you mentioned.

Any other brides here interested to make the wax seal? We cld share the shipping and save some $$.

katgrrl

Seval, the traditional red wax is supposedly not mail proof as it's supposed to be brittle. However, I guess it depends on the amount of resin the manufacturer uses. No easy way to answer the question unless we try it out ourselves.

Yah, the rubber stamp is exactly like the good ol' "common ink stamp".
Seems that it's possible to use this with sealing wax although there's the risk of hot wax sticking onto the rubber. The solution apparently is either to oil the seal lightly and/or to cool it with cold water before pressing onto the wax. That's the impression I got from somewhere/one.

The shop at BBC is in a really remote place..i wouldn't have found it if I wasn't specifically looking for it. It's a very traditional (read: old fashioned
) stationery shop, manned by 2 Ah Peks, 1 Indian and the other Chinese. Good luck and let me know what u find out!
Good idea on sharing the shipment cost....maybe u wanna post it on the wax seal thread as well?

seval

Katgrrl - Yeah, dunno if it's mail proof unless we try out. Anyway, it's a lot cheaper. I will let you know again. I still haven't finalize my wax seal thingy. U have MSN or maybe give me yr email add? I contact u again.

How everyone? I enjoyed my new year holiday so much that I had to drag myself to work yesterday.

falkor

does anyone know how large the Tiffin Room is, and whether they allow people to book it for functions?

suzxie

Thanks for all your well wishes and sorry for not replying sooner. We did a spot of travelling before and after the wedding and I am only catching up on your posts now.

Our wedding dinner at Raffles Ballroom was lovely. We had a magical evening and everything went really well. Do let me know if you need any feedback or pics.. will be happy to share.

Bochup: thank you so much for your blog! It was extremely helpful when I was panicking in the days running up to the wedding - it reminded me of the little details to look out for, educated me about what to expect and calmed my fears. Many thanks and keep up the excellent work!

cookies gal: we had our dinner on Sunday, and the next day was a working day for most. We served, beer, wine and had alcoholic cocktails available for the pre-dinner cocktails and served wine for the dinner. Our crowd was mostly our parents church friends and colleagues, therefore light/average drinkers- although we had 3-4 tables of our friends. We only paid $25++ corkage for liquor.. which was great!

Our 22 tables of guests consumed:
- 1 30L barrel of beer (provided by Raffles)
- 22 bottles of wine (provided by Raffles)
- 16 extra bottles of wine (provided by us, corkage free waiver negotiated beforehand)
- 1 bottle of gin (provided by us, corkage $25++)

The digital console service provided free by Raffles means that you get a photomontage which your guests can see before the dinner. Being on a relatively tight budget, we also presented that photomontage during our dinner as we reasoned that not all guests will actually play with the console beforehand. Saved $200 in not having to create a special photomontage for the dinner!

Seval: hi there! Happy Chinese New Year! When's your AD?

Katgrrl/Ashlee: nice seeing you gals here!

bochup

hey Suzxie,
Congrats on having a great wedding! And glad that my website was helpful in calming your fears. That's what I was hoping to achieve when I recorded my wedding planning process. =)

On a side note, I am pleased to report that I have received the credit on the billing error from Raffles. No vouchers offered (like what Seval mentioned about Conrad) but Sharul did offer to meet me for lunch/dinner. What can I say... I'm a sucker for free (good) food.

caitlin

Hi Suzxie!

Wow! Do you have contact within RH? Cause however hard I tried, I did not manage to negotiate any corkage fee waiver with RH...Sob...Only corkage in exchange for wine... (i.e. I bring my own wine instead of theirs and corkage will be waived for a certain no. of bottles)

suzxie

blur: you've got mail!

bochup: I'm a sucker for free good food too! You go girl!

caitlin: no contact within RH - I think I got the corkage fee waiver as a result of shameless negotiating and luck. Feb was probably a relatively slow month for weddings so RH may have been more willing to compromise. Nevermind, you can save some $ using their FOC digital console/photomontage package!

seval

Hey Suzxie, congrats and glad to hear that u had a magical wedding. Do share yr pics with me. [email protected]

I have tried to nego very hard for corkage waiver as well but got none. They give some bullshit reason that it's the company policy. I just hate it when they do such things.

Bochup - Not bad lah, at least got a free meal
but I just dun understand why r they so stingy.

selphie

I signed up with Raffles too, my AD is 30 Oct 05. My coordinator was Jenn but I find her muddle-headed, any of you ladies have better experience with other coordinators?

pepper

Dear Ladies, i just had my wedding and it was absolutely fabulous! everything was perfect, the flowers were opulent, my friends all commented that they have never attended a wedding with such gorgeous and generous settings for flowers. the flowers were really big and fresh. it setting was romantic with the soft glow from the chandeliers. then the service was excellent. Andrew was the banquet manager that evening and he was really attentive and accommodating and patience and listened carefully to our requirements from the music for march in, when to open the door, table seating arangement for vegetarian, etc. He was really great. I enjoyed my wedding dinner extremely. there was no glitch at all, the sound system, the video presentation all went smoothly. Food was served to us in our suite that night too. my hotel stay at raffles was memorable, the suite is so nice, it has a character of its own, so charming and nice, the longer u stay, the more u will grow to like it. It is unlike any of the 5 star hotels u stay at where it is so unpersonal. i have not made the wrong choice in holding my wedding dinner there.
for all of u out there holding the wedding there, look forward to a enjoyable evening

if u got any questions about it, just ask me, more than happy to help!

pepper

Oh one more thing, it was very nice to have the digital console thing. U can have pictures of ur childhood, pa tor days etc besides those u are going to show during the photo montage slideshow. they will burn one copy of the slideshow for u to bring home.

suzxie

Girls, you've got mail!

I totally 2nd belle's write up. The ambience was perfect. Andrew was my banquet manager as well and he was really excellent! I had a cold and was supervising the preparations, and he brought me a cup of peppermint tea which helped no end. Such small acts of thoughtfullness really makes Raffles stand apart! Jenn was good too - I had no major problems with her. Dinner went very well, great atmosphere and v glamourous... the guests enjoyed it very much. The only minor comment was that some guests felt the food was insufficient for them (we had a chinese sit-down dinner, classic menu). It was surprising as we were all full at the food tasting. But chances are, most of them would have forgotten it by now! The rest of the evening more than made up for it... but Raffles brides, you may want to check with Raffles beforehand!

pepper

yup i agree. think those relatives felt that the food was insufficient and maybe some went home still hungry. quite sad that they actually gave such small portion of food. it looks kindda bad in front of relatives who are used to big feasts and place more emphasis on food. moreover food is not that great as compared to some other hotels.

bochup

wah everyone asking for photos. i want too!!! email me at bochup1607 at yahoo.com puhhleeaaaase? =)

my lunch with sharul today was great. we ate at doc cheng's. very yummy lamb shank. =D

as for the food, my family felt it was decent altho i did hear some comments that the food was cold when served in the later part of dinner. I suppose I didn't realise how long our speeches would run. =D

suzxie

Belle: sorry to hear of your experience too - but at least you are not alone! (My guests thought the food quality was good though...) Don't worry, all will be forgotten by now or at least in 10 years time (at least that's what I tell myself!).

All: please don't worry but check with raffles beforehand and see what can be done. I had a totally wonderful time there and do not regret it one bit. I was really really happy, couldn't stop smiling and the flowers, places, setting and music was fabulous.

Caitlin: Jenn said that she would arrange for the flowers to be made up and I think she used Sir Charles. I did not top up for the table arrangements but I wanted to have a rose in each napkin as it was Valentines weekend. It worked out cheaper for us to buy the roses from a wholesaler and arrange for them to be delivered to Raffles ballroom where the staff arranged the napkins for free (rather than for Raffles to supply the roses). So spent some $ on buying roses...

For anyone who is worried about the distance between the ballroom and the hotel room.. we were given a courtyard suite situated very near THOS SB Raffles (the fine foods shop) - 2 rooms down from the Ava Gardner suite. We had 3 outfit changes (predinner cocktails, 1st entrance and 2nd entrance) and managed the walk back to the hotel room all those times without problem (we were too quick once!)

irenet

Glad this thread is so much lively again.
I have just taken my wedding photo last friday and also juz received the invitation card from Sharul, arranging for print this week.

1 more mth to my wedding on 03 Apr, excited.. =P

I have a few queries:
1) roughly when will RH discuss with us abt the flower arrangement
2) when do we decide what to place for the digital console, how many they are and in powerpoint?
3) how many min is the walk to the stage?
bla bla bla.. getting nervous and now arranging for montage..
4) for buffet, they charge by table too?.. hmm...

Hi Suzxie,
Do share ur photos pls...

Hi Belle,
I am sorry to hear abt the food quantity, but glad that the quality is still there. Do share your photos when they are ready.

puiggy

Hi Suzxie,

Share ur pics wif me pls [email protected]

All:
Anybody planning to attend the bridal show at raffles? Anyone know wats e package going be like? btw wats e max no of table the ballroom can contain?

Many thanks!!

cookies_gal

Hi suxzie,

Thanks for sharing your pics! Very nice table setting.
Really can't wait for my wedding at Raffles.

Hi Zenith,

For the digital console, 30 pics would be a good number for the digital console. The earlier you can pass him the pics to work with, the better. All you need is to do is pass him the images on a CD.

Hi puiggy,
The max no. of tables for the ballroom is 25.

selphie

Hi Suzxie,

Do you mind sharing your pics with me? Allow me to intro myself >> AD 30 Oct 05, ROMing 4 days before that, still looking for ideas. BS I signed up is Sophia WC.

Selphie

bochup

suzxie,

thank u!
you n laurence look great together! and it certainly looked like u guys had fun especially with the cute oriental outfits. =)

hazey

Puiggy,

you mentioned there is a bridal show for Raffles.
Do you have any idea when is it?

Suzzie,

do you mind sharing your pictures with me too!!!
My dinner will be at Raffles on 23 Sept 05.

hazey

Opps..

Sorry ..I forgot to post my email address.
It is [email protected].

Heh.. I hope it is not too musch to ask , but does anyone have any contacts AD photographers?
I have check out a couple on the SG websites but unbfortunately they are all booked.

suzxie

all: thanks for your kind comments.

zenith, puiggy, selphie, hazey: mail heading your way!

selphie: hi there! good to see you here. you still have some months to go before Oct. in the meantime, enjoy your wedding preparations, there's lots to think about!

zenith: you should be start to talk to Raffles about your flower decor and digital console now. In the ballroom, it is a 1-3 min walk to stage (depending on how fast or slow you are!)

hazey: i used the Pond www.thepond.com.sg, and they were very good.

all: update on alcohol, found my signed contract and found that i had given up some items in the standard package in exchange for my deal on alcohol eg no wedding cards or wedding favours and also some compromise on the menu. Think that it helped that my wedding was over the chinese new year weekend and therefore off-peak as well. Just so you know...

selphie

Hey Suzxie, thanks for sharing!! Your wedding sure looks like loads of FUN! Yeah I am starting to realize there are ALOT of things! Everyday something new I did not think about pops up!

Seeing all the good experiences Raffles brides had, I sure am glad I signed up with them too.. *Phew!*