Qian Xi Restaurant??

pisces36

Ash : it's the standard amt. coz all of us r paying $2K leh.

Trista : it's included wan lah. as for your accessories since u bought liao then u can see which is better lor. more choices for u mah..no worries lah.

jas : all i can say is WOW!!! but would u b getting the negatives back huh? eh..so total damage is $8K ah?

duckling : so wat type of style suit u?

piglet23

Jas,
wow.. your pics must be really very nice leh.. must show it to us when u get back wor...

Geraldine,
No problem.. Hope tat u can hv a great trip this weekend.

mingli0318

Hihi jasmine...

dont be stress la... cheer up...

can i see ur mei mei pics? pls send to me at:
thanks much!!!

tare1919

I got another question. If i intend to play soft music thru out the whole dinner during march-in and when my emccee need to do the talking. will there be anybody fm the rest to help us change the music? we got to do it ourself? Will there be a sudden change in the music?

If dont play music thru out the dinner will it be a bit quite then everybody talk the rest become market already. (or am i thinking too much hah)

trina_wys

hello gals!!

waaaahhh.. been so so busy lately.. damn tired man..

germaine,

i'll update ur details soon okie? give me a little time.. thanks gal..

glad that u've chosen ur WG and EG liao.. so when is ur PS gonna be? in june?

jas ah!!

5k top up?? oh my goodness.. so now ur package is 8k liao.. very stress siah.. now i'm so scared to go for my PS too.. dun want to waste so much $$ away..

so when will ur 2 albums be out? me too want to see ur pics.. hehe..

oh.. and i also bought my bed last sunday liao.. spent 1.1k for the frame and a bed.. slumber land mattress i think.. got it at harvey norman coz they were having a promotion.. so now left $900 for my cupboard and side table only.. haha.. think got to get cheap cheap ones liao..

duckling..

how's ur fitting? good? what cut have u decided on? and what colour did u choose for ur EG?

i'm also worried about my WG leh.. wanted something simply.. but my designer says must be more unique coz its once in a life time.. so i'm also a little worried coz she's got lots of different fabric for my gown.. so worried man..

bubnbut

Pisces: keke..i till now still haven't go find out the cashcard thingy..as for the GDL..it'll be on either june or july..coz this year there's 2 lunar 7th mth..not tt important yet..so will decide the date later on..

piglet: thanks for yr info abt the bus..

duckling: ooohh..u gonna design yr own gown..den guess u muz be very stress out..relax..juz write down wat u like..den slowly think of it..guess it'll be gonna be very special..

pet: ooohh..almost all my furnitures in my flat are all bought frm ikea..coz i like it more country side feeling..u really hv to like the design u bought it..coz u gonna sleep it every night mah..muz hv the right mood in it..so u n yr hubby can..keke..enjoy every moment of the night mah..i mean enjoy the sleeping every night..

jas: wow..additional of 5k..tt muz be lots of best shots..i really hope i'll be able to control it..dun overspent on the pics too..coz i'll be bringing my doggies to join us..guess i'll choose those really pretty shots of them instead of me n my hubby..*finger crossed*

but since u n yr hubby like it..and hv the spare cash for it..den it shouldn't be a problem..

duckling78

I think its quite difficult to tell u how the design like lor..
WHen i go for the first fitting then will that the picture and show u all.

ivy,
thanks.. i haven scan my rejected photos yet..will try to do it tonight then i send to u all k.. cheers!!

pet,
i think for photos really no choice one lor..unless the photos are not nice else its really tough not to top up so much lor..maybe u ask ur PG not to take so much lor..cos for me, i like taking photos, so my PG take and take..ended up taking so much. that means more choices=more photos..ha!!

bed and frame 1.1k is cheap.. for 900 wardrobe, u can go aero furnishing at lion city hotel there..they got very cheap one.. 6 feet, 2 sliding doors ones is 780 and 8 feet, 2 sliding door ones is 990 including delivery. i bought the 8 feet one cos i want a bigger wardrobe..u can go take a look.

babygera

Jasmine, send to me ok??? [email protected] hehe thanks !!! oh ya, anyway can check with u the bed u buy issit pocket spring one??? cos i went to courts over the weekend and divan set pocket spring mattress is $2.3K then they will give us a $200 voucher...very ex leh

eiggam

My wedding is FINALLY over~!! My dinner at Qianxi (Farrer Park) yesterday was very good! Enjoyed myself alot! We increased the number of tables to 41 in the end.

Sharon (the Asst. Manager I think) is very good and attentive. I had a rehearsal on Friday to test the song system and the march-in and she gave us some advices on when to start the march in and what speed we should walk. So yesterday, everything was perfect! The songs, montage and morning highlights were played at the correct time and everything was in order, no hiccups at all! And she even provided us with an additional table to put my PS album as I have 2 big albums and also an easel to put my sign in poster. As i bot in my own wedding cake, they were very nice to help us cut it and leave it at the reception table for ppl to help themselves after the cake cutting ceremony.

dinner started at around 815pm and ended at 1045 -1050. My sis (my main coordinator) and my hubby thot the dinner was served too quickly but i'm glad it ended early since many still have to work the next day. Most said the food was good and I heard many commented there was ALOT of shark fins and the fish is very BIG!! So far, no complains at all. When we went to pay the balance today, I asked Sharon how much wine & beer my guests had and she told me about 6 cartons of wine, 9crates of beer and 6 bottles of hard liquor and I was so relieved that all these are included in the banquet price.

the only one complaint that my sis told me was that one table had ants on the table cloth and seat covers when the guests arrived but the waitresses had them changed very quickly and they could sit in less that 10 mins. Quite ok lah since they retified the problem quickly.

Was very happy with the food and service yesterday. The manager, Sharon and another manager (a guy) were very attentive and made sure everything went well. The guy manager even taught my hubby how to open the champagne bottle (the champagne popped very beautifully) and also helped my emcee lead the yum seng. The waitresses and waiters were also very friendly and helpful (helped us carried our stuffs from the car) and some even commented on my beautiful gowns and said my wedding cake was delicious (we offered some to them as there were leftovers). Suzanna even came and said congrats to my hubby and I when I was doing my make-up. Thumbs up for Qianxi!!

BTW, I think we made some profits but as my hubby gave 10tables to my mum and let her keep the profits from her side, we made a slight loss. But just for your info, from my hubby's and my frens tables, we made a profit of an average of $100-150 per table. Not bad!

pisces36

hey maggie, welcome bk.. congrat tat everything went smoothly.
chk with u ah..issit other branch oso hv rehersal or oni Farrer park? then ah the wedding cake they left at the reception area but i thot everybody will be in the restaurant? eh..a bit confusing leh. :p

Jas : dun forget photos hor!!

eiggam

Hi Pisces!

I requested for the rehearsal as I wanted everything to be perfect and they accommodated me. I went after dinner time so there're no diners around so quite okay.

The reception table of Farrer park is inside the ballroom so it's okay. As my cake is only 3kg and there'll def won't be enuff to go around the 40+ tables, i told my emcee to announce that the cake will be at the recp table and told my cousins to take the lead to take the cake, so ppl wun feel paiseh. In the end, quite a number of ppl went to take the cake.

And for those who are interested in getting a wedding cake but haf no budget (like me), i'll advise u to get it from coffee bean. I ordered their "Gift wrapped" cake, it's two-tier and 3kg so it looks quite big and best of all, it's only $55. We paid with vouchers we claimed from UOB credit card and coffee bean card, so we din need to pay cash for the cake at all. And like me, just ask them to cut into small pieces and leave it somewhere for interested ppl to take, dun need to serve every table. and the cake was delicious!!!

bubnbut

maggie: Congrats to u n yr hubby..!! glad to know things turn out nicely n in order..so happy for u..so now it's a big big relieve for u rite..? keke..

jasmine: do email me yr pics..keke.. [email protected] wanna see yr pretty pics..

trina_wys

hi jas,

haha.. yupz.. u're right about the pics part.. hard to resist.. thats why i was thinking of just letting my PS PG choose where he want to take us and we'll just go along with it.. really must keen to my super tight budget..

thanks for the cupboard info.. will go down to lion city when FH and myself got the time to... we're actually thinking of getting IKEA cheap cupboards coz we'll be using them for 1 1/2 years only.. then shifting to new house.. so will not need a good one.. but ur 8ft one sounds very affordable.. will definitely go check it out..

hi angeline,

hahahahhhaa!! do what huh?? are u sure u meant sleeping?? kekekekekek...

understand what u mean about feeling good about the bed.. the mattress is good.. from slumber land.. and i tried lying down on it.. not too hard or soft.. just nice..

hi maggie!!!

u're back!!!! so happy that everything went as planned!! thats the best and i can really tell that u had a fantastic wedding!! so excited and happy for you gal!!

i'm also getting a real wedding cake.. but will be getting it from pine gardens.. love the taste of the cakes.. yum yum.. hehe.. i'm such a glutton..

waah!! u made a profit ah? hehe.. i actually budget 6k for a lost.. coz wanna be prepared first just in case so that i will have enough $$ to pay for everything..

okie.. time for bed.. its another 12 hour work day for me tmr.. night night gals!!! miss u all!!

duckling78

wow so many posting

Hi maggie
welcome back. Can really see that u really enjoy the wedding.. So happy for you. Hope everythng turn out well for me also but that still long haha.

Also show me your pixs when its ready ok. My email is [email protected]

kittylover

hi maggie! congrats to u! having heard ur v gd reviews, tink v likely i'll choose qianxi at farrer park too. but mine will be in the smaller ballroom as i'll hv less than 20 tables. thks for sharing the reviews & comments.

duckling78

Hi kitty another bride named josephine has told us that the small ballroom is also nice. U been there to see and look at the menu?

kittylover

hi Ugly duckling (duckling78), nvr been thr bef. but hv read ok comments abt qianxi in the forum here. most impt fits my budget & i get my own ballroom. i prefer to hv a room, rather than in part of the restaurant cos more privacy. the menu looks reasonably priced too. location pretty centralised. so shld b ok. jus tat no free parking one. guests hv to pay.

pisces36

Hi Maggie!!!

which flavour d u order from coffeebean? meaning after u redeem ur pts u hv to fork out $55 huh? it's a great idea leh..mayb i will do that too.
but how many days in advance do u hv to order the cake?

btw can i chk with u as the drinks r all free flow, r the guests serve with drinks once they r seated? coz my FIL r quite particular abt the drinks. they actually wanted to buy hard liqour even though we told them there's free flow. their main concern is for some restaurant, liqour will oni be served when the 1st dish is out. so during the time when the guests mingle while waiting for dinner to start, no liqour or wine was served. this happen to one of their relative which they find it embarrassing. so anybody encounter such cases in QX?

bandtz

<font color="ff6000">Hii Maggie; congrats! u must hv really enjoy urself beri much, can tell frm ur msg! happy for u as everything went smoothly.. so u can relax and start to make BB liao hor.. hee.. All the very best in ur future, ya! Do share ur pics wif us hor, thanks!

Oh ya, few things to check wif u, pls see below:-
1) Does QXL print all invitation cards for total no. of tables u've required?
2) Does the red wine taste smooth to swallow?
3) How long do they need to print the invitation card?

Many thanks! Cheers!

eiggam

Hi, morning everyone!!

I just woke up! Still on leave but going back to work tmr..

Hi Pet!! PG cakes are good, no worries. My guests were quite surprised that we got a real wedding cake. hee hee... i got the cake cos i love eatin cakes too and my hubby's BD was a few days before my wedding!! after all the guests left, my hubby and i stood at the recep and ate the cake, very nice!! just hope i'll not gain weight after my wedding. i lost quite a bit of weight just before my wedding and my cheongsum was quite loose. my gown designers even had to add another piece of rubber hook-thingy to prevent my wedding gown (a bustier) from slipping down (cos i mainly lost weight at the wrong part). ;) and dun worry about the profit/loss thingy. chuan dao qiao dou zhi ruan zhi, just take things easy and enjoy ur wedding.

Hi kittylover! The small ballroom looks nice also. dun worry. the food is very good so far no complains from whoever we asked. most ppl just commented that the portion is very BIG and they can't finish. ya, no free parking also but it's only $2.04 i think per entry. One thing also is very hard to get cab. warn ur guests beforehand to call cab or take mrt to Dhoby Ghaut or something.

Hi Pisces! The cake i ordered is called "Gift-wrapped", can see from http://www.coffeebean.com.sg/coffeebean/shop_product.cfm?mcat=1&amp;group=3&amp;from=Buy
The actual cost is $55 and i paid with 5 $10 vouchers we claimed from UOB credit card and 250 beanpoints so no cost to us at all. The flavor i ordered was orange fruitcake. Those who ate it said it's nice but very sweet cos of the icing. They have other beautiful, reasonably priced cakes also. I sourced around for quite long actually, main thing is dun let the cake sellers know that it''' be used as a wedding cake and the price wun be so ex.
as for the drinks, i think they're served immediately. i never hear any complains abt this so i assume it is. my dad's frens and relatives can drink quite alot (they finished one XO at my house during tea ceremony) and my dad never complained about anything abt it so it should be okay. Anyway, if u r worried about it, just inform the manager beforehand and they'll carry out ur instructions. The best thing i like about them is they remembered all my requests (like i dun want the flashing lights at the back to be on, to cover the champagne tables and cake tables with cloth, my parents' march-in, the speed of my march-in) and did them.

Anyone wants the AD program and emcee speech can get from me k? I was amazed that we stick to the AD schedule so tightly that everything went very smoothly. And my emcee was great! She's a sweet girl who put everyone at ease immediately and said everything beautifully. Emcee is quite impt i think, cos the mood is set by them. I'm also glad that one guy manager of QX helped her to cue the guests to clap at certain times like popping champagne bottle and when we cross arm toast.

One more tip for u gals, try to use fresh flowers for ur car deco. We used fresh flowers and it looked great in the pics and i just loved it so much!! it's very different from other bridal car decos and many ppl kept looking at our car. Even my photographers were intrigued by it. I can give u my florist contact (recommended by my cousin who used to be a florist herself) if u like.

eiggam

haha.. as i was typing my long msg there're more msges!! hee..

Tansan: Thank you!! will def share pics with u all when they're out.
to answer ur qns:
(1) They print only 70% i think. We initially only confirmed 32 tables (it increased to 41 tables in the end) but the cards were enuff. But we wasted some envelops and they din provide enuff ribbons to tie so we had cards and inserts leftovers.
(2) I din take the red wine on the AD but i saw one of my high-class uncle asking for refill of red wine so should be ok. They using Jacobs Creek red wine, about $20 in NTUC.
(3) Once they confirm the names of ur parents and u and ur hubby, they will fax u the proof the next day. I think print in less than a week. But just do it earlier (i tested the food and printed the cards in early Feb) so not to stress out urself as the AD nears.

Pisces: Yep, i had 7 muslim and 4 veg guests. I haven't had the chance to ask my muslim guests yet (cos mainly from my hubby's side) but my BIL who is a veg said that there's lots of mock meat, which makes sense also cos they can't serve vegetables for every dish or else wun be worth ur money. My BIL is a vegetable and mushroom eater and dun like mock meat. Another veg we asked (my hubby's colleagues) said the presentation very nice. I noticed that for every dish we had, they just imitate the dish in vegetarian form. For example, the cold dish, they had all the 6 assorted foods in vegetarian and for the fish dish, they had mock fish. I thot it was very cute..

kittylover

hi maggie, shld b going down to tk a look these few days. ur praises make me so eager to view the plc. i thot the nearest mrt is farrer park?

duckling78

Hi Kitty
Yah the nearest mrt statiopn is farrer park.

Maggie can sent me your AD Prog &amp; emcee sppech .

Did u make any sppech. Is there anything we need to take note.

babygera

Hi Maggie, Congrats !!! you are finally back from your AD
Great to hear that you had an enjoyable day
Can i have the AD Prog and emcee speech? my email is [email protected]
thanks !!! anyway the emcee issit your own friend or from QX? i intend to use my own fren leh....how ar?

eiggam

I sent the AD program &amp; emcee speech already!Pls check ur email. I removed the names and numbers for confidentiality purposes. Hope u all dun mind.

Kittylover: Yah, nearest mrt is farrer park. Go view it soon, i bet u wun regret it.
Any questions just drop me an email at [email protected]

Duckling: We actually planned to do speech but last min we din cos my hubby had a sore throat and "threw temper" dun wanna say anything and my frens mentioned that if only the bride say speech it looks very weird, like Bride more "powerful" than the Groom so we scrapped it. Always prepare ur speech in advance and practice it.

Geraldine: I used my own fren as emcee. I think it's better cos i trust her more as she did many wedding emcee-ing before. Also, there's better rapport btwn ur fren and u. For eg., i last min dun want to say speech so i just signal to her and she got it and just skipped the whole part. And i saw the restaurant manager be emcee before and it's hard for them to take care of small details if they emcee. Like the last time i gate crash a wedding during my food tasting (i went to take a peek at the wedding at the main hall), the manager was the emcee and hence have to run here and there and forgot to on the projector during the slideshow. A slight hiccup lah but better if u have control of it all.

Tansan: not going for honeymoon yet cos my hubby cannot take leave as he's teaching. Most prob go during June hols or Dec hols. Planning to go New Zealand and also most prob will bring my wedding gown over to take more pics of it! I love it so much! Pls see my comments on it at the Ted Collection thread! Now sent for dry-cleaning.. Miss it so much..

pisces36

maggie may i hv the prog &amp; speech too?? Pls sent to [email protected]

I chk with my FH liao..he not keen to get the wedding cake leh..he say cut cost lah..
so most probably not getting a real cake liao..sigh...

I heard ted collection not bad leh..rmb to show me ur pics hor

babygera

Maggie, thanks i received it
hmmm ya i using my fren also 1 guy and 1 ger but i think will skip the part of parents march in

bandtz

<font color="aa00aa">maggie; we have the same idea, im oso tinking of asking my parents to participate in the 1st march in...
and tat was indeed a well detailed appt list... thanks!</font>

duckling78

wanted to but if only my parent march in funny leh cos my MIL not around le and FIL is old le also so cannot walk fast.

So have to skip here keke

I see how mayb get my bro n her gf lor but both no experience see how still got a long way to go.

Yah hor i suppose to go down and peek at maggie wedding but i forget becos that day i was back at office working and forget abt it.. sigh

eiggam

Pisces: Sent! Hope it helps! Actually my hubby at first also not interested in the cake but i rationalized it to him that i'll pay and if i dun buy magazines for the year, I can afford it since it's only $55. just how u budget for it lo. And yep, will def show u all the pics when they're out. can't wait to see them also..

Geraldine: Actually my emcee is only one girl by herself. Some of my frens actually thot that it'll be very weird but it's good that she can hold the whole thing together as she's experienced.

Tansan: Haha.. u know my mum's frens all said that the parents march in is very special and all wanted to have one like that for their kids' weddings. But it can only be done if both side parents are around and are game enough.

Duckling: dun need to follow my program entirely, it's up to u to do what u like.
i believe that there can be other special things that u can do *wink* and no worries about not going to peep at my wedding. I'll send u all the pics when they're ready.

celica75

hi gals ....

it has been a long time since i last came in. so u gals engage any emcee for ur AD? cos now i'm lost dunno if really need to get one or not as my hubby is tat kind tat very bo chap one. Probably planning to get my PS in end june or july.

wow really envy actually Jas's hubby dun make noise for the PS package when i review through the thread. keke :p

celica75

fyi ... initially i have this cashcard idea too, but it cost more than $10 per cashcard when i check up the web. probably will give up tat idea as it will exceed my budget oredi.

bubnbut

maggie: i need the AD program and emcee speech..thanks so much.. this is my email: [email protected]

i've checked abt the cashcard thingy liao..it cost a total of $7 per card..with a $2 deposit and $5 of value..so it's totally not a good idea..

kittylover

maggie, i went to QX (FP) yest alrdy! the ballroom is pretty cozy. cos so few table big room also v bare. v likely will tk the opal room. but the changing room a bit cramp lor..