Qian Xi Restaurant??

Hi senior,
Over liaoz... :P

Hi Yaya,

Haben really decide yet...cuz still early ah...most prob wait till early next yr den will go chk out all the shortlisted venues lor..as i believe there will be many weddings taking place man..hot year! hee...

there's some worrying issue if hold at bliss garden...i.e. will thr be cabs easily avail? or have to call cab for those guest who have no own transport?

I'm browsing OCC and FRF too...

Welcome ringadingling! Good that u r doing ur research first cos if u book now, the banquet price will be locked in for u, meaning u'll be payin 2005/2006 price for ur wedding in 2007! Some places increase their prices every year so earlier start better! As for the transport -- taxis, u dun need to worry. I think there's a surcharge of $3 or $5 if u take a cab from expo so there's always a long queue of cabs waiting for passengers at expo. But some ppl will mind the surcharge. But can always take mrt mah.

Hi el and Lily, i think still better to get ur frens to be ur emcee. normally, people are too stage fright to sabo. or u can prepare something for them to say and tell them to stick to it. and warn them that u'll be v angry if they sabo lo. I think most frens will be understanding.

i tot of using their emcee in the first place thinking that he is experience now i heard this i rather not use them if not hor wait they say something funny like sheng ti jian kang. hahha\

but have a problem of who should i ask. my frenz dun like to be on stage.

Maggie,

My frd will not get stage fright lah.. cos he is a does part time MCing..

humm got to talk to hubby see if he wants to have friends as MC.

Difficult to ask frds with no experience to do it too.. they get stage fright and then end up spoil everything .. must well be a little more cheena and take the rest manager??

haha

I hv been an emcee once in my life for my fren.. it would be better if ther is a short script for ur emcee to say, maybe u can find 2 emcee. one 4 english, another for chinese. or dialect even better... hehee.. imagine in hokkien:"Kamsia ko wei ka bing, kin li si..." haha.. hope u understand (my hokkien not tt good)

I think still the best to get ur frens to be MC lah. For me, i'll get my frens to be my MC, one in Chinese, one in English. They're experienced and confirm wun sabo so ok.
I went for many weddings where they get the in-house MC (mostly the restaurant manager) turns out very cheesy. Like my cousin's wedding, the manager actually said that if the champagne cork flies more than 2m then the bride will kiss the groom, if less than 2m, the bride will kiss him instead. Woah.. the groom black face immediately.

Hi lily,
Yeah..me also got my 2 friends (1 guy 1 lady) to be my lunch banquet emcee...now dinner since u guys say until like tis, i wonder do i need to get another ppl to be the emcee instead of the manager or not..

Would like to chk wif u gals who went for wedding fairs and such...will the wedding fair/shows allow u to book for yr 2007? without any definite date? watz the frequency of hotels/magz organising all these wedding fairs/shows in a year? cuz i see got alot of show/fairs comin this Oct..dunno whether i shld go take a look as it seems like date too long den ppl might not entertain me???

Hi ringadingling,

actually i think it depends on hotels. some dun let u book so early cos the price not out yet, some will i think. the wedding shows and fairs seems to coincide with the publishing of the wedding mags -- in feb and sept, so there'll be a lot of shows in march and oct. i suggest u can start searching for ur venue next feb/march.

Hey i realise that it's Lily's wedding tomoro!!! Congrats Lily! Have fun!!
Dun stress k? Rem to rest well, so u'll be a mei mei bride!

Hey gals, there's two couples getting married around my block today. saw a very interesting car. Shall go find out more! btw, the latest bliss magazine has many BEEEAAAUTIFUL gowns! do check it out!

Hey Petrina,

The magazine is called Bliss. It's only the second issue, think they publish once a year. It's a smaller size compared to the other bridal mags but it's thick. I think u can find it a major bookstores, i dun rem seeing it at 7-eleven before tho'. i got my copy from another bride in this forum who bot extra.

maggie,

how much does it cost? is it worth the money? i'm now looking at gown designs coz meeting my designer in Nov.. hehe.. so exciting ..

Good morning gals!

Petrina: It costs $6.90, this issue it features a lot of princessy gowns, got some from ur BS also (i personally really like one of them). the cover says there are over 100gowns featured but i never count lah but i really like some of the gowns featured. I would say it's quite worth it if u're looking for gown dsigns cos they have this article on gown cutting and who suits what. they also have write-up on honeymoon (that cost less than $1000) and home decor stuffs.
If i'm not wrong, there's another person trying to sell this mag in the exchange thread. u go see whether it's still available.

Petrina,

I think most of us get the design of our gowns from different mags.. i was lucky to had passed down mags from my galfrd who just got married in june..

well i've passed on the set with a few of the mags i bought to my other gal frd getting married in March next year.. well the library passes on..

Hey maggi and el,

thanks for ur advices.. now i'm really keen to get the bliss mag.. hehe.. some more got my BS!! they hardly advertise anywhere!!..

Hi Maggie n Petrina.

Just saw your posting only today..finally over..on my side so far so good.Food wise n portion all meet my expectation. is just the photo prob will be out next week. Once is ready will show it to you.

Congrat Lily
Nice to heard that every thing went well.
Can share with me your PS pixs...
I want to see mei mei xin niang keke.

Lily can PM me or email me at [email protected] wat dish is in your qian xi package.....thanks. Is there any dish is highly recommend or not recommend.

Hey Lily!

Good to see you back and that everything went well for you. Looking forward to see your pics!

Hey Petrina!

I went to Tampines Mall today and they have a Bliss magazine fair (or something like that -- Bliss is the official mag). The event will be till this weekend i think. If u haven't got ur mag yet, mabbe u wanna pop by there and see if it comes with any other free gifts?

hi lily!!!

great that everything went well for u!!.. hehe.. i also wanna see beautiful pics..

hi maggie,

oh! i knew that TM was going to have a bridal fair but didn't know that the official mag was Bliss.. will definitely go and take a look there.. maybe this thurs or the weekend..

Hi Yaya,

Food everything was good.. in fact i got no time to eat leh,... Only take 2 dish n have to change.like cheryl say, everyone commend that the food portion was big n good..hahah. The waiter only tabao a bit back for me to eat only..so wasted man...

Hi All the brides to be, sure, will let u know once the photo is ready...

Hi Lily, sorry 4 the late wishes~! its better late den never hor... hee...

I bet u must b bery relax now... so care to share a bit of ur experience.. hmm.. how abt ur 1st march in, was it a very short one? do they hav a fan fare? btw, wich ballroom u took? the bigger one? hw do u keep ur ang pow box? is the make up room big enough? phew~! so sori to ask u so many questions at a time.. Hope u dun mind!

Hi Tansan,

Ya very relax liao.. now...hahaha..Finally over..March in..so far is still ok lor..I took the ballroom B..The bigger one as i have 42 tables that day..
I get my sis to keep the angbao for me,..the ,makeup room was ok..bigger then the size of the home toilet..Hope that is a good illustration man..hahaha.
In fact they actually give u the key to lock up the make up room

Lily, thks 4 replying me... mine oso took the ballroom B. so did u hv ur foto to be shown at the flat screen tv outside? btw, wher's ur reception table den? and hw abt the decor, did u request the rest. to do 4 u or did u engage some1 else? did the rest. provide the wedding favors?

Hi Tansan,

No le.I did not ask them 2 show the photo.As i brought along my photo, the screen actually show my Father's name n my FIL name..
Recep table is just outside the ballroom b..I use their deco. Did not engage some1 outside as previously heard from someone that the price is not chaep...
Wedding flavour, i get my own le.. The restaurant never provide...Is u can scoll back to previous post, you should see the "xi" sweet.

My venue confirm at Conrad and Qian Xi already.
Heehee..Pet ah, help me update ok? :P Then photographer may change...so put TBC first. Heehee..

hey gals!

good morning.. I read from the dragon gate restaurant thread that the restaurant will be providing wedding favors from next year for free. sigh.. knowing that qianxi is a very competitive restaurant for wedding couples (they always try to better the rest) i wonder if they'll have their own wedding favors too..

Lily: I can't find ur 'xi' sweet when i go to wu mei. may i know which branch u went to?

oh yah, Petrina, can u help me update my BS in the table. I'm using Ted Collection for my AD gowns so should give them some credit also. Can you help me change to DIY (Ted Collections / Printemps-JB)? Thanks a million!

I'm getting my PS fotos soon! Will share wif u gals once i get it!