Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

whoofy

dangou : I'm keepin my fingers crossed lor.. since mine is in 2008, hopefully they will hav lazy susan on all tables by then. I knoe it's a small issue.. but still feel abit funny.. afterall a banquet presentation shld be up to the standard mah... xP

Can you gals share which wedding menu package u've taken ???

dangou

whoofy... yup yup, hopefully by then will have lazy susan. they are always improving, so no worries.

reb

Hi hi, i have just put a deposit at hilltop garden, mine is a smaller ballroom A at level 2 as wanted a smaller affair, anyone had yours at level 2? How was the embience during the dinner and march in?

jarenlynn

Hello ladies,

My hubby and I went there today. There are 3 weddings held there. I'm impressed with the Crystal ballroom but I didn't notice if there are "lazy susan" on the guest tables or not.

May I know if we need to pay $1.2k for booking the crystal ballroom?

Is there anything I need to take note of, if I book my wedding with Hilltop garden?

What other perks did the BTB managed to get from Hilltop garden?

We need advice before we put our deposit with them. Thanks.

cecelia446

Hi, Rebecca,

As I had been there to take a look on a sat night. Happened to see another couple holding their banquet on the 2nd floor. Seriously not very nice lor. Cse I find the place a bit cramp. Reception table will be along the corridor. The window are transparent. So everyone that pass by will look inside including me. Ke Ke..

But it's only my opinion lor. Perhaps you wanna drop by during a sat or sunday night to view it yourself? Especially now dec, sure alot of banquet there.

Hi Whoofy,

Just got my date from the fortune teller. Will be 16th Dec 2007. Going there to book this afternoon. Pray hard got slot for me. So scared..

pkum

Hihi.. yah i also saw the 2nd floor restaurant. I have taken my dinner there. If you are considering a small affair, i think it is a pretty good-enough venue. The cons is as stated by cecilia, that the windows are transparent. Everyone can look inside. and I did too! haha..

still i tink the best is the 4th floor ballroom. if you have many tables(45-60) and considering hotel or country club, this should be the place to consider. Yes, has to pay $1.2k for the ballroom.

cecelia446

Have booked for my banquet with hilltop yday.. Commented to Suzanna n her husband about the 'lazy susan'. They said after new year, they will have it for every table. Suzanna's husband (the boss) have already get someone to measure n they should be ready after chinese new year. According to them, price for the menu will increase abit from next year onwards due to GST increase, n they will change to a better menu with increase cost from next year onwards. Those who have already booked this year, will still entitle with the same package. So, those interested, better faster booked by end of this year.

whoofy

Hi Cecilia.. congrats !!! Good to hear u've managed to book on the date u want. I've not make any appt wif You Long Zi to confirm my date yet as I'm afraid it may be too earli.. since it's in 2008. But I've aready made a deposit with Hilltop for 7th Jun 08 for the ballroom..So now it's jus to confirm tis is a good date... Seeing you ladies making all the bookings.. it drives me wanting to give a call to the master asap !!! So I think we all are the lucky ones that can enjoy the package at a cheaper price. I'm quite pleased wif the current menu...
Realli looking forward to see tat all tables are wif lazy susan.... hahahaaaa

jarenlynn

I also intend to have my AD in year 2008. Does it matter if I booked with Hilltop and inform the date at a later date? Please advice. Thanks.

whoofy

Hi Lynnette,
you can try talk to Suzanna. Maybe jus give them a tentative date, like what I've done. My hubby likes the idea of having number 6,7 & 8..tats why we had made a tentative booking on 7th Jun 08. Also it's jus a day difference wif our ROM anniversary on 6th Jun. We can still change the date so long as it's available.

fairyelves

hi Lynette,

I think it's be better to have a date to secure the date first, cos others might have already book the date b4 you, you'd never know. =)

jarenlynn

Thanks ladies.
I hope that I can choose my AD date asap. May I know what other perks and special request should I make while booking? I understand that carpark is not included right? And the ballroom charge $1.2k. Is that nett price? How about bridal changing room? Is that big enough?

whoofy

hi Lynnette,
I believe the most impt thing is tat both of u like tat place and perhaps have a dinner at the restuarant to try out the food.
The ballrm charge is nett price at $1.2K. Their packages are also nett price, which means if we confirmed now, we will not be affected by any GST hike.

Unfortunately, the changing room is pretty small. It's located jus behind the ballrm, big enuf to allow bride to change and maybe another 2 helpers inside.
Basically there's not much of other perks to request since everything seems to be free flow. Only things tat may need to note is perhaps their service level & food quality on AD.
Perhaps u can make another trip down to speak with them on the details & check out the ballrm.

jarenlynn

Hi whOOfy,

From your reply, if I'm huge, then the changing room will be fully occupied? Hmmm... Worried.

May I ask if any of the ladies decide or already booked a chalet, a hotel room or any accomodation after the banquet at Hilltop? Or just go straight home?

pkum

hi lynnette,

i am still considering to book chevron(there is a thread on it) or a hotel. my uncle might book a hotel room as a gift for me. (BUT HE SAY NOT CONFIRM!) haha so i still dunno wat to do too.

whoofy

hi Lynnete

I'm also a big size bride to be.. hahaha
So likely we can either squeeze 2 skinny helps or 1 regualr size one...

some of us in here had previously discuss abt gettin hotel / chalet. For me it's still under consideration to book chalet at Chevrons for my tea ceremony. Since our love nest and both parents are stayin in Jurong, it's still ok to go hom after the banquet. If we realli booked the chalet, it's likely gonna be for gd frens to stay overnite and to enjoy the facilities the next day. Sadly there's no hotels nearby Hilltop ...

jarenlynn

Thanks ladies.

Good to hear feedback from you girls. I hope to settle my AD date asap. Having too much headache over the venue and work. = (

cecelia446

Hi Elvie,
Is it?? So coincidence.. Keke.. So, you also taking hilltop on that day? Yar.. Just booked the crystal ballroom.

Hi Whoofy,

Thankss.. Dun be too worried about the fortune telling since you have already made a booking liao. Cse not only they will give you a date, but also they will tell you what r the various auspicious timing to do certain things on your big day. So, if you go too early, perhaps by then you might forget some of the things that they mention. Btw, think for us, we will go home after the dinner bah.. Cse I think we will be hald dead by the time we reach the hotel(if we really book one), dun think will have any mood to enjoy the nice or good atmosphere of the room. Ha Ha..Then by 12pm, we will have to check out liao.. So rush..So, i think for us we would rather save the money n spent it on honeymoon after that. :p

Hi Lynnette,

I understand your feeling. But try to relax k.. Dun worried too much.. Seriously, though Hilltop is getting more n more famous, but still i think it's not as 'hot' as what the lady boss claims.. Ke ke.. So, you will definately get your desire slot provided it's not a peak season lor..
Like what Whoofy told me earlier, you going to be a bride mah.. So must happy happy, then you be pretty pretty..
kao_kiss.gif

whoofy

helo Cecilia

I've made a call to You Long Zi yesterday and it's still too earli for me to make an appt for auspicious dae in 2008.

haiz.. bo bian lor.. will hav to wait till mid Jan den call again..

whoofy

hi Lynnette

jus wanna ask if you've sign up with any BS ?
If you have, care to share wif me which one ?
As u may also understand, it's not easy for large size brides to find a suitable & good BS.

simply_jean

Happened to have a chance 2 visit Hilltop's crystal room previously and the place was really nice~~

Can i check with you, is it possible to change the dishes in the wedding package? Or it has to be those standard type? Does Hilltop allows customised banquet dishes?

dangou

they do allow changes, just need to pay the difference... as for customisation, think got to consult suz directly... : )

jarenlynn

Hi whOOfy,

I signed up with WhiteLink. = )

Thank you Cecilia. I hope to relax and not get too stress out with my wedding planning. Anyway today, I went to my ex-colleague's wedding at Orchard Hotel. Not bad... Though I remembered her hubby told me that their table cost $850 per table. So, I expected more grand than Marina Mandarin. = )

fairyelves

Hi Cecilia,

Yup, I took Qianxi too. But i took the 2nd level ballroom cos the crystall ballroom requires min.45 tables... =) So which BS did u take? =P

Hi Whoofy,

I thought the shifu will be able to calculate for dates jus using the Tong Shu? Cos the shifu I went to did asked if we wanted dates in 2008 cos we went to him ard end Nov. He said might be difficult to make booking for dinner tables...

pkum

Hi woofy,

I am gog for my 2nd gown selection appt on 23rd dec. My BS is Santiago at tanjong pagar.

You & your HB want to tag along? to see the gowns and package available? But since yours is on 2008, i guess u still have some time to shop ard. You can come and join me and ask all the question you want.

my sis in law and my HB fren whom are large size bride. they are using santiago. u want to view their pics? email me [email protected]

whoofy

Hi Lynnette

my sister is having hers in Jun 2007 at Orchard Hotel. She's quite happy wif their services.. and the ballroom is quite good. Not sure abt the food wise though..

Elvie.. which shifu you went to ? Can share the contact ? May not want to wait till Feb 2008 to confirm a date...

pk.. thks for the invitation... sadly I got to work this weekend leh... also it's abit earli for us to visit BS as now there's reno works need to be monitor at our new house. We bought quite a few pieces of furnitures frm IKEA a few wks back, and it was delivered to us yesterday. I guess I'll be spending my free times fixing up all the furnitures for the next few weeks.
kao_dizzy.gif

cecelia446

Hi Elvie,

Yippee!!! That means we will get to see each other on that day lor!!! So excited!!
Haven't got the time to source for BS yet. But i'm quite determined to get one from Johor. Cse with 3k sing dollars, think can get a very very good package there, which you might not be able to do it here. Maybe around January will go. Have a boutique in mind though. Went to their website, like very very nice lor.. www.memorywedding.com.my Perhaps, we can even arrange a meet up before our wedding. Ke Ke.. Unbelievable...:p

cecelia446

Hi Whoofy,

Where got such thing? Give them business, they still 'hiam' that it's too early.. Ha Ha!!!(just joking) Guess u have to wait if u really interested in their service bah.. But like you said, now it's better to concentrate on your furniture 1st lor.. The date wise they can calculate for you very fast one. Within 2 weeks, you will get the auspcious date le.. (suddenly so singlish today) :p

fairyelves

Whoofy,

I went to this Deng Shifu at:
Fu Guang Hang Trading & Enterprises
100 Jln Sultan #04-12 Sultan Plaza
Tel: 62917244

He gave me 8 dates for selection and charges $38.
After you have selected your date, you can go back to him and he will select the Guo Da Li and An Chuang date for you too, no extra charge. =)

Cecilia,

So you have planned to go to Johor to source for your BS. We also thought of that but for us, the travelling back and forth to JB will cost us alot of time, hehe..so we have decided to settle for a BS in S'pore instead. I'm sure we'll have a chance to meet up over in QX..kekeke...
Good luck to you in BS hunting.. =P

whoofy

Hi Cecilia

I'm also considering to look for BS in JB. Maybe we can even arrange to go in one of these days to check them out.

Elvie.. thks for the info. Will ask my hubby if we wanna see Deng shifu or wait...

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE !!!!

pkum

Hi people, yah woofy is right. i thnk to get better offer, it is good to get a few grps of couple to go 'shop' for BS together. in this way, they might offer better price and maybe more extras. the couples can share their views and 'hopefully' not get pyscho by the sales to sign the package.

that time when me n hb went to look for BS, my Hb is like so happy with whatever the sales say, he happily took out his card for deposit. he didnt even think for a while.

cecelia446

Hi Whoofy,

Good lei.. But me going around January. You wanna get your pkg so early? Will be quite tedious, cse will take cab there i guess. Husband just change car, dun want our car to be stolen as you know the security there very bad.. Ke Ke.. :p You wanna join us?

yurieve

I've placed a $1k deposit wz Hilltop Garden Restaurant for 16Jun07 but my wedding will be postponed due to personal reasons. Its for the ballroom at level 2 n a min of 18 tbls to max of abt 23 tbls, with free flow beer, red wine & hard liquor.

i'm now letting it go for $800(neg.) which means u will only pay $800 when the deposit is actually $1k.

pls pm or email me at [email protected] if u r interested, tks

jarenlynn

Maybe we should post here for any wedding favours sources. I have this contact from one of the wedding shows.

My Wedding Favours
Tel: 67531198 / 93869775.

I haven't seen the products yet.
Maybe you girls can go and see online.

Though I've chosen my wedding date, I haven't book with Hilltop Garden.

yurieve

to add-on to my earlier post, the dates/venue can be changed provided it is still available.

u can choose to have it at hilltop, bliss garden or qianxi restaurant on any date u wan as long as it is still available.

pls let me know if any of u is interested or else i'll hv to forfeit my deposit, tks

whoofy

Hi Cecilia

sorry for the late reply. January maybe abit too earli for us.. but if we hav time, we done mind to do some window shopping and collect some info. Totally understand how it feels to be reluctant driving a new car to JB... all hubby feels to same !! I'll discuss wif my hubby and let you knoe. But meanwhile, shld u alreadi hav plans to go, pls do so without us.

whoofy

ladies.. u can also check out tis web side name : heavenly corner. I'm not sure why tis Forum dun allow me to type the website in...

nicoletalyn

i'm in dilemma.
Hilltop @ Bukit Batok or Pioneer Spring @Mt Faber?
Afraid tht for Hilltop, by giving free flow h/liquor, they may compromise on the food. Any comment.Pls help.

cecelia446

Hi Lynne,

Hilltop is at Bukit Batok. I have checked with a very closed friend who went for a wedding dinner at hilltop. He said the food is alot and serve hot. So you dun have to worry that bcse of the free flow, they will compromise on the food.

When I went to meet Suzanne who is the lady boss and her husband, I did asked them abt this. They promised that of cse they will not do so. Reason why they provide free flow is bcse, they wouldn't lost much also. Bcse most of the banquets, guests do not drink so much. The boss even went in the kitchen n bring out his food supply n let my FIL see that they use good quality food. Ha Ha!! So dun have to worry.. The boss look very honest type.

Hi Whoofy,

K Ba.. Think I will go rackie first.. Update u after that k..

nicoletalyn

Hi Cecilia,
Appreciate the info. How abt the wine & hard liq?Any comment, whether they are drinkable ones? Sorry, I'm a bit petty over the details, till my FH also give up liao.

Whoofy, I cant search for the heavenly corner website. Can pls email me @ [email protected] Thank u.

whoofy

Hi Lynne
the red wine tat Hillyop serves is Australian Jacob's Creek. It's quite easy to drink for any starters... not the strong strong type.. so dun worry too much.. As for hard liqor, if I can recall correctly, it's Martell.