Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

ii_yume

ladies, pls enlighten me. brides who held their wedding @ hilltop, after the banquet, what do you do? i mean did you book a chalet or go home straight after the banquet??

whoofy

pk : seems like the ballroom has a special attraction on males... I had some frens who attend wedding dinner @ Hilltop and given good feedbacks. The food portion were big and serve hot. I've also had dinner at the restaurant a few tims with my in laws and find it quite tasty. As my date is only in 2008, my main concern is whether they can maintain the ballroom constantly or not... xP

ii_yume

hi whoofy jo.. yours seems too far away.. i do hope for you that the ballroom remains the same standard or even upgrade to nicer by 2008.

suz told me that by my AD there shld be 4 projector screen instead of 3.

i like it oso because it is new. by my AD, it shld be only 1 yr old. hopefully suz and team will be even more exprience by then. as the ballroom seems like still pretty new environment..

LADIES.. are you couples gng to book into chalet/hotel?? pls share your tots..

eveuloveme

My school had a function at the Hilltop Garden Restaurant last friday and it was impressive!

We had it at the crystal ballroom 4th level, it has its own private receiption area.. the lift brings u straight up to it! and there are NO PILLARS in the ballroom.. your guests won't be blocked.

The ceiling is high and decked with 3 beautiful chandeliers!

Can't really comment on food cos mine is a school function... but what we had was nice!

the only problem maybe the parking cos there are only 100 plus lots...

hope this info helps!

whoofy

pk : It did come across my mind to book a chalet at Chevrons (nearest chalet to both my in-laws & my parents house since we all stay in the west)...My parent's place is actually quite small, by bookin a chalet.. we can also held our tea ceremony there..But it's still under consideration....
Somehow I just felt tat we all very lucky to book our banquet earli .. the govt jus announce the next GST increment to 7% !!! Oh my gosh !!! It's realli a good thing tat we hav lock our price package !!

ii_yume

hi whoofy.. because my family live in the east n me in the north. i wanted to gather everyone together after a day's hard work. so that they dun have to travel all the way back.

another question.. suz gave us the banquet price as nett. it is still not inclusive of gst right?
ot already included? thanks!

whoofy

Hi pk... if u realli wanna gather everyone after a hard day's den I suggest u try to book the chalet at Chevrons. Though the chalet not very, but u can book 2 for ur parents & siblings to rest for a nite. It's also very near from Hilltop...
the package we took is nett.. which means it includes everythihg liaoz.. no more hidden cost for us. Wat I worry is will they cut down the quality & quantity of the food serving since their profit margin will be lesser after the GST hike.

ii_yume

i see. after hearing from you, i also think that i should book chalet at chervon.

hopefully, their standard stay the same. coz if not, they will have bad reputation too. somemore the boss quite arrogant, if he really cut down on the quantity and quality, he will lose face.

i have 7 more mths to my AD. so excited... i just went for 1st appointment gown selection.. luckily i lost some weight.. durin rom, i was so upset, a lot of gowns make me look very fat. i was already plump then. i really look forward to my next gown selection appointment.

cheers!!!!

whoofy

pk.. feeling excited for you too... I hav not even start souricng for bridal shop.. any recommendation ? I'm not the regular size bride u see... I'm the big size type.. I MTM a dress during my ROM... guess I've got to find packages tat has MTM as well liaoz.. Frens keep sayin tat I'll start on a diet when my date is near cos it's very "automatic" one.. while I dunno leh... maybe it's still too earli for me to feel anxious now.. hahahhaaa

ii_yume

when is your AD? mine BS is santiago. i dunno how big size you are.. but my sis in law is bigger size than me, and we are using the same BS. they got gowns off the rack, yet very beautiful and even makes her looks slimmer.

my hb friend who is oso bigger size than me and i think standing 1.65-1.7m tall.. oso a bit fleshy, is using the same BS.

you can look for my consultant if you want. she is very customer-oriented.

and pls dun try dieting. if you really want to slim down, i have a very gd supplement to recommend. i slim down by taking it. it works by lowering your bad cholesterol, fats & sugar in blood. it contains vit a, b, c and iron, calcium etc. it is NOT meal replacement. u take it before your two largest meal.

you dun have to skip meals, take pills, or take replacement meal to lose weight. by skipping meals or taking pills, u will drop hair.. this was what happened to me a yr ago.. ^_^

dun mean to advertise it here. i really feel that no one should try crash diet or meal replacement. we are supposed to enjoy food in moderation.

ii_yume

it is 100% natural. in powder form. so u can mix with water or juice. the only side effect is that you will lose weight and go to toilet more often for the first wk.

email me for more details. [email protected]

let's keep this thread to hill top issue.

ii_yume

hi shirley, i tried to email you but i am getting this error.

Technical details of permanent failure:
PERM_FAILURE: SMTP Error (state 12): 554 delivery error: dd This user doesn't have a yahoo.com account ([email protected]) [-5] - mta489.mail.mud.yahoo.com

whoofy

hi pk
have not realli fixed my AD cos need to get the You Long Zi to calculate for 2008. But we have booked for 7th June 2008 lor.
I wear size 16 for tops... so how big size u think I am leh.. xP
Heard of Santiago before also.. but din realli check out the feedbacks. My hubby's fren recommended NY frm JB.. Anyway we are not to tat stage to look for BS yet as we are focusin on our new hourse reno.
Can u email me more details of the supplement..
it's also my msn email... thks !

ii_yume

hi whoofy,
if u have the time, u shld go JB to source for cheap and GOOD BS. else if sg is more convenient for you, u shld go for santiago. they make 'big' brides looks beautiful just like any other bride.

i tot i was really fat then that's why i think i chose them :p haha.. i have no confidence in other BS... now i m slimmer, i m even more pleased with them. big or small brides.. their gowns are just so beautiful!

ok i will send u the details for the supplements.

BTW, the ikea in tamp is opening in 30 Nov...
cheers.

ii_yume

hi woofy and shirley, i will send it to u gals tonite okie?

by the end of first month i only felt that suddenly most of my usual clothes are more loose.. actaully at one point every blouse is like so tight. people ask me if i was pregnant too..

then by the mid of second box, i tried on some of my S & M pants... i can fit in but the S still looks quite tight..

now i can wear S back.. and bought some new clothes in S size. butt become smaller and tummy flatter.

the supplement that i recommend is actually to lower our bad cholesterol and balance our sugar and fats in blood. it contains extracts of chrysanthem , sugar cane, sun flower etc. its has a orange taste. 100% natural.

by the way, it really depends on individual and discipline. some of my friends slim down slower.

cecelia446

Just been to Hilltop to take a look since see so many ppl praising it in the forum. Happen today there's 2 banquets taking place.

This crystal room that everyone praise is really good lei.. My PIL, husband n me very sua gu. Since there's a bauquet inside, we opened the door n pop our head inside. "WOW!!! SO NICE..." That's our comments.
kao_kiss.gif
My FIL got so excited that he immediately went to the office intending to book for a slot on DEC 07, but too bad it's close liao.
kao_cry.gif

But got 2 very big problems though. Carpark very limited. We had to queue outside the club bcse carpark is very full. N there's only 2 banquets. Wat if happens 3 banquets takes place at one time? Very worried lor.. When we reached, we saw 3 ppl (should be the guests for crystal ballroom) who lost their way due to the structure of the building. Bumped into them 3 times, n they looked really lost.. Perhaps if you guys are to hold your wedding there, do take note of these problems.

whoofy

Hi Cecilia.. Totally agreed wif your issues... Carpark lots is indeed quite a worry.. And to add on.. the restaurant do no give carpark redemption for guests.. But gd think it's charging per entry after 5pm, so it's not tat ex. For us, we r more concern wif the elders not knowing where is CSC n the ballroom. To avoid such inconvenience, we are considering to charter bus to pick up my relatives (at a central MRT location) and to bring them back. At least the bus will alight them at the main entrance, which is where the ballroom is quite near to.

cecelia446

Hi Whoofy,

I think it's a good idea to charter bus, cse my relatives are mostly fom Malaysia though I grew up here.. Scared they will lost their way.. Otherwise, I guess those Singaporeans will know where is it. A lot of my very sua gu friend also know where the place is lei.. Ke ke..
So Dun have to worry too much..
Have you got a date from you long zhi? Cse my FIL also just let them calculate a good date. Haven't got the date though. Very scared that we won't be able to get the ballroom, as Dec is a very hot season for banquet.
Think we r quite the same hor.. Me also intending to get my bridal package from JB (thinking of exploring Taman Sentosa for a nice boutique from there), n will be getting a flat soon (currently waiting for the HDB valuation).. So basically you n me will hv a very busy year next year..
kao_dizzy.gif

ii_yume

my mum worries that hill top too far ended up no one will turn up...

my hb will be charterin a bus for his dad friends.. Hiaz.. another cost.

whoofy

Hi Cecilia... most of my relatives (my mom side) stays in Chinatown area, so we maybe plannin to hav a pick up pt @ Outram MRT. My AD is in June 2008.. have called You Long Zi previously and was advise to call back again somewhere in Jan/Feb 2007 to make appointment. My flat is a 4RM resale, paid $2500 above valuation price. Reno is in progress now...since we'r not in a hurry to move in, so we r also not pushing the contractors to finish by yr end. I guess once we settle down wif the new flat den we will go look for BS in JB. My hubby fren's recommend New York in JB cos their pkages are quite gd and hav PS in Desaru...Anyway will jus hav to take 1 step @ a time.
PK : since ur mom's worry abt the attendance.. the more u need to consider chartering bus leh.. at least ppl will feel "important" tat u make an effort to sincerely invite them for the banquet. xP

cecelia446

Hi Whoofy,

Yar true, take 1 step at a time as u still have a lot of time. For me, my flat is at cck. As the agent is a very good friend of mine, happen the owner is also his friend, so first thing he reserve this flat for me. Very reasonable price lor. Cse the owner only wants valuation price only. That day when we went, like the flat so much. Nice block number, nice floor and unit number, main door facing nice scenery(no blockage by other building), n best part the flat was never renovated or stayed before by the owner as he stayed with his mom all this while.. So it's like buying a brand new flat. Will leave renovation n design to my SIL who is a designer.

For me, I have to kind of rush cse my part time degree course will be starting next year June after i differed for 1 year. So, must get evrything ready before i start my class. Sigh... Very stress regards to money issues recently. Cse gotta fork out 10k for my studies next year not including my 3 insurance policy. So, meantime my husband gotta use his money first for the house n wedding.. Felt so guilty, had a very big cry few days ago, till now right eye swollen(btw dun dare to get out of the house, cse now my eye like deformed. Even the kid in the clinic kept on looking at me when i see a doctor).
kao_sad2.gif
But guess everything is kind of settled now lor.. Husband asked me not to worry, but I know he also very stress up by money issue lor.. Heart ache when I know he ate cup a noodle everytime at work just to save more money..

Hi PK,

Agree w Whoofy. Since yr hubby is chartering bus for his side. y not charter the same bus at a location for all yours n hubby's relatives (make more trips)? Can bargain w the driver for a lower cost?

dangou

just wanna share this... i've just held my wedding at hilltop crystal ballroom last saturday, 25nov2006 with 51 tables. It was really a fantastic place with very nice decorated ballroom. really given me a memorable wedding. thanks to hilltop huiping & jenny...

dangou

Hi cecilia… so u went to crystal ballroom last Saturday? I’m the bride that night. Keke… I do agree that it is not really easy to find the place though….

cecelia446

Hi Dangou,

Ha ha! You r the bride in purple evening gown??? Yar.. Was there that night.. FIL very anxious, didn't even asked your permission before popping his head in.. Sorry for that.. :p

Can share how much did you spend for your banquet that night? How's the food? Regards to the free flow of liquor, is it really 'free flow' as in did the waiter refill them once guests empty their glass?

Btw, you r beautiful that night..
kao_drool.gif
N wish you n husband "Chang Xiang Shi Shou", "Zao Sheng Gui Zhi" wo...

ii_yume

hi woofy & cecilia, i am working on chartering a bus for my side too. but i have not give too much tot on it.

questions! for those already held their wedding in hill top, what did you give as flavours for the guest?

and for haven and is waiting for the AD, what do u have in mind for the flavours?

dangou

hi cecilia...

yeap yeap... u saw me in the maroon purple "chinese chinese" evening gown is it? dun feel sorry for that, no problem at all. we are very willing to share the occasion with everyone.

total its abt $26K. comments on food also not bad, we had changed the crispy chicken to duck, quite a good choice, but heard from some guests, its abit cold, however overall well done. yup yup. its really free flow, but didn't really notice if there refill frequently, i shall ask my guests...

thanks for your compliments.... all brides are beautiful, you will be too... : )

hi pk... my wedding favour is a pair of fork & spoon wrap in organza with a ribbon at the neck... :p

whoofy

Hi Cecilia.. R u feeling better now ?? I understand how stressful it can be financially & mentally.. I've completed my degree as a part timer as well.. and for 3 yrs.. it's really tiring.. Keep up the spirits ok ! U gonna be a bride leh !!
Dangou... did u book a hotel room after ur dinner ? I knoe the room for bride is pretty small.. issit really tat bad ? Also how's the service of the waiters / waitresses ? Can we use the LCD screen at the reception area ? Sorry.. there's so many qns from me... xP

dangou

hi whoofy... no problem at all. i'm very willing to answer your qns. share share ma... : )

no, i din book a hotel room, cos i'm moving into my new home immediately, so the first night at new home.
ya, the changing room quite small, however enough for changing. hehe.
errm... as for service, cant really comment cos i'm not at my seat most of the time. busy taking photos and kena tekan by friends lor...forced to drink. haha

yup yup, the LCD screen can use one. for my solemnisation, they projected the situation inside the ballroom for those not allowed to enter while the solemnisation is in progress... good good, but i heard from my friends, no sound from the lcd leh, however still can hear, cos the sound quite loud in ballroom le.

whoofy

Hi dangou... tats a gd idea to hav a live telecast of ur solemnisation ... cool ! I was thinkin of puting a slide show of my studio & outdoor photos so tat the guest wont need to crowd behind a table to see the album.
i jus notice something frm PK's photos.... They only have the lazy susan on the red table ah ?? How abt the rest of the guest's tables ?? Wont look tat presentable without the lazy susan leh.... Pls correct me if I'm wrong... and I hope so too... =/

whoofy

Oh no !!! Tis is true ???!!!! Alamak !!! I can't realli accept tat leh... not very professional.. I wonder if can negotiate wif them to ensure all the tables r wif the lazy susan.. Dun think tats's too much to ask mah !! =/
Another thing which I've notice when I was at the restuarant for dinner was tat dishes were placed onto a trolley, pushed by a waiter into the lift and send up to the ballroom ... I think it's to the ballroom lah cos we were waiting for the lift together wif the waiter.. We'r going down to the carpark while he's suppose to go up to the ballroom ... Wat amuse me is tat the dishes on the trolley were not covered with anything !!!! I mean.. it's not tat hygiene rite ? To let the food travel up in a lift.. sometimes squeeze wif ppl inside.. germs & bacterias all around.. not to mention dust as well...Ok Ok .. u can say tat I'm realli very particular abt tiny things.. But I am deinitely gonna speak wif them abt tis issue..
PK..u may also wanna consider..

pkum

woofy~! is it true??? OMG..

but the boss told me tat there's a mini kitchen behind the stage... he assured that the food will be warm. mabe we haf to confirm with suz again

the guest tables are quite nice already that's y i took the pix..

yueer

Hi pk,

you are a Santi bride too?? I am too.. Are you active in Santi's thread here???

Anyway, I am a big size bride too. Can you PM me the supplement that you were talking about?

hayoki

hi dangou,

have u try e food? how is it? my friends were saying that since they give us free flow of beer, wine..., they will cut down the portion of food, don't know true a not?

pkum

Hi Moon, nope. not active in Santi's thread. I will email you later in the evenin okie.
^_^

dangou

hi hayoki,
no worry abt the food... its wonderful, my relatives & friends have lots of good comments, especially on the duck & fish. the portion also very big... : )

hi lil,
lazy susan is the glass round top placed on the table, so food can go 360 degrees around to everyone.

whoofy

PK : not sure leh.. but base on the photos.. dun seem to be on all the tables.. only ok the 2 VIP table ... tats why me feeling not very comfortable liaoz...haiz...

dangou

initially i thought should have also. but no leh. to me, its ok, as long as the food is good, atmosphere is good, can liao. keke. i like too easily man zhu hor... haha.

pkum

alamak.. hiaz.. hopefully it is not causing any inconvenience to our guest. i dun mind, coz the bride wont get to eat a lot.. hiaz...

anyone encounter guest complaining abt inconvenience to take the food?