Peony Jade Resturant

I just received the draft contract from Pauline... but dono wat to look out for... The items are like quite standard... Any ex-PJ brides can assist?

hi purple rain...i too also rcvd PJ contract. But then realise alot of things that the mgr had promise to throw in was not stated in the contract. i liase with the restaurant mgr but the one preparing the contract was rosie the wedding coordinator. so like projector, nos of complimentary carpark pass, food tasting up to 8 paxs were not stated in the contract. maybe u wanna look for all these in yr contract?

Hi Missy,

i suppose all the decision still lies with pauline. I'm really looking into every single details & point them out to pauline via email... Will meet up with her if needed to... The contract is too brief...

Hi Purple rain..agree with u that the contract is very brief. i not yet sign my contract...waiting for PJ to call me back. hahah

when yr ad?

If you notice items not in the contract, just inform them via email, listing what was promised. They will add it in.

wow... u muz have booked very early in order to secure this date.

I have not confirm BS yet. As i stayed up north, so will choose one in that area...

Quick question for brides who already done their food tasting. Did you need to call PJ or did they contact you about it? My AD is in mid-May and I vaguely remember Pamela mentioning March for food tasting and signing of finalised contract. However, I am not sure if I should call to check or just wait. Hmmm.

you call to make a reservation for your food tasting. Just went back yesterday with my husband to use our $50 complimentary voucher. Food was v good.
Brought back many pleasant memories.

any recommendations for the food that are nice there? as i'm going for a trail food tasting session soon and to decide on the package?

hi ene ~ from what i know we need to call PJ to make reservation for food tasting. by the way..u holding yr wedding at clark quay or keppel?

yoz purple rain ~~ i only make my booking in nov. maybe 9sep is still in its 7th mth so not many ppls wants this date ba...most of them opt for 20sep.

went down to keppel club for my dating anniversary dinner celebration. the foods really yummy yummy. they got this appetizer - deep fried golden mushroom. really nice lor..decided to have this dish as an appetizer for my guest instead of the standard things like peanuts.
i am liasing with the duty mgr at keppel..he quite nice and flexbile...and he be the one helping me with the music etc on my big day. but as for the wedding deco etc will need to liase with rosie. any one know if PJ got any wedding theme? i know they got a florist whom they work with to do the deco.

missy - our wedding dinner will be held at clarke quay.

i just emailed pamela about food tasting and she rang me the same evening. told me to ring her again after CNY in mid-feb because they are very busy. as usual, she was very accommodating and polite. I am still very impressed by their level of sincere service

Hi Danlee

just finished my wedding there on 20/1/09 with the S$548++ menu at PJ CLarke Quay...1 WORD to describe....
"EXCELLENT" =)

All my colleagues / relatives full of praises for the food...servings were at big portions...sufficient for everyone...the SEAFOOD was fresh as everyone mentioned...Below are the food that we had a lot of compliments.

1)Fish was changed to "Steamed Garoupa in Cantonese Style" (8/10)
2)Boiled Drunken Prawns (8/10) FRESH!
3) Crispy Roast Chicken with HOT SESAME PASTE (9/10) - do remind your guests to take it with the sauce at the base of the chicken..NICE!
4) Yin Yang Scallop (7.5/10)
5) Braised Sea Cucumber & Mushroom with Abalone Sauce (8.5/10) FRESH!

Our Co-ordinators (especially to Pamela and Kenny) have done a GOOD JOB...Kudos to them and the co-ordinator on stage to remind us on what to do..

Last thing to take note:
Do politely ask your guests to move up to the restaurant to wait, if not the reception area would be very crowded and there's no space to move around for the bride and groom.

Overall Score: 8.5 / 10

Hi, Chucky.

Oh thanks so much for sharing your great experience with me.
Kam siah kam siah!

I like the place so much that I have in fact changed my wedding date so that I can hold my wedding dinner there.

If you don't mind, can I seek your advice when there is a need?

i attended a wedding there too.
Food is EXCELLENT!!! But not warm enuff (perhaps for my fren wedding only..ops). So pls emphasize on this when your wedding dinner draws nearer.

cos i am seated at the very end of the aisle..we cannot see the screen. However, dun let this spoil your plan cos nth will be perfect.
My bride fren commented staff is very helpful and also pack the last few dishes for them when they went out for handshaking session.

Hi Chucky my ad is at sept and im quite blur when shd i go for food tasting.On the spot itself when we had our food tastin we decide on the favours as well?

due to table restrictions i have no choice but to transfer away my wedding dinner booking at peony jade clarke quay on 18 oct 2009 sunday.
any interested parties can email me at [email protected] or sms me 9046 5868.
Many thanks!

hiya all ... im considerin to host my weddin lunch at peony jade keppel club (coz CQ one is taken
... ) ... wonder hows the food and service there ... any comments and feedbacks?

also, coz im goin there after church wedding ... wld there b any prob to freshen up before marchin in?

Hi Summer, during the food tasting, Pamela (or whichever Duty Mgr) will ask you to select the favours, as well as decide on the colour theme and also give you the floor plan for you to work out the number of pple on each table.

Hi..just wondering anyone confirmed with peony jade CQ or keppel for 2010 dates? Do they able to accord 09 rates with exception?

at the moment i tink its still the same price. wong lw.
u can call them to double check.

anyway i still have my 18 oct 2009 dinner up for transfer..
email me at [email protected] / hp: 9046 5868
anyone who is interested yea~

tianxin, tks for the advise.
Have checked with them and likely be an increase of 10% or less...
hmm...perhaps have to talk to my fh whether to get married by end of yr :P

eternity321, i heard they might be looking to incorporate with an overnight stay at hotel for their new packages but not confirmed yet.

Btw, going down to keppel club this sat to view their new restaurant as there r 2 weddings there in the main restaurnt and also the keppel ballroom...heard much bigger over that venue.

Hi, levis.
You mentioned the new package may be incorporate with an overnight stay at hotel, any idea when will they implement that? If already signed up don't know they will give or not hor?

I find it fair that they forfeit the 1k even if we found someone to transfer.As i was told i can do it last yr when paying the deposit.

hi danlee, i think it's for new couples who booked for next yr dates...dun think they'll give to those already sign up :P

summer82, can the pkg be transfer? cos my understanding is that the deposit will be forfeited as admin cost; and date will be released to new couples...u wanna chk with PJ on that?
if really can, too bad i can't take your date cos looking at dec 09 or jan 10. still pending for exact date. Haiz... ...

I havent gone down to Peony Jade but would love to hear from those who have seen both clarke quay and keppel. What do you think of the ambience of these 2 places? Thanks.

I attended a Poeny Jade @ Keppel Club (banquet at Keppel Hall) wedding recently...if you want some review, please PM me...

Gin, why not share your reviews here? =)

i visited the resturant at keppel club and was quite pleased with it. a little small, but the decor doesnt look cheena at all.

Hi Not_superfamous! (wow long name to type :P)
The wedding i attended held at the Keppel Hall...I think it's the ballroom in the club which is at level 3.

Ok...what written below is based on my OWN EXPERIENCE...

Category: Restaurants
Cuisine: Chinese

Location/Accessibility: 1/5 (Those not driving can be abit tedious)
Food: 4/5 (For Poeny Jade's food quality)
Service: 2/5
Room Deco: 3/5

(Reviews are based on own experience)
First Dish Presentation:
I never seen such an entrance before. After the emcee announce the food coming, we observe 1 min of slience cos I think the servers are 'preparing'...not enough ppl I think. They played a very oriental song, then after the 2 rows of servers march in, the song switched to Ricky Martin's - Shake a Bon Bon...then a Chef-dressed staff, wearing sunglasses (in the dark) was 'dancing' in to the room. My first expression was -> O.O

Sound system:
Sucks...when the music was played half way for the Groom and Bride's 1st March-in, Emcee's mic makes a loud squeeking sound. Sometimes can hear the emcee's voice, sometimes it 'auto' went down softer...

Coordination/Service:
Sucks...
- Bride and Groom on stage after champagne pouring, emcee announced nuptial toast for both of them, they are holding the champagne glasses and dunoe what to do...we observe 2 mins of slience...then the manager (who is distributing the champagne) walk over to 'teach' them what to do...
- We had 2 dishes on our table for 4th and 5th dish
- The front of the ballroom had their dessert first and 2nd half got it later...so when 2nd half got their share, 1st half of the ballroom guests are already leaving the place
- We were served by a staff whom asked us whether we want coke or 7-up as he was holding two juggies. We choose 7-up. After we drank, then we realised it's just iced water
- After our drinks are served, he spill coke on the floor behind us...
- And he uses NAPKIN to wipe the floor...OMG...I guess some of the napkins on the table are used to clear spills before??

They just make me feel that this wedding is just booked 1 week ago...everything so unprepared...the venue looks abit like CC hall...according to my bf...then the hall top hangs those silvery deco (similar to Xmas) which makes me feel that is it the leftover deco for last dec wedding? Stage deco not too bad...

I guess that's about all!

hi tan, talked to her over the phone when she was at Keppel but understand now she has been relocated to clarke quay.
Very nice & friendly lady... U met her to discuss your wedding plans?

hi levis,

Thanks! nope, haven met her yet, still setting an appt.

any one can advice what's their corkage charges like? so can anticipate and neg..

hi tan, corkage for wine & champagne is @ S$15++ per open btl... hmm...dunno if can negotiate but i dun intend to bring any cos their house chilean wine is quite good and only at $22.00++/btl.

Save the hazzle to bring wines on that night...

try to see if you can taste the wine if you intend to take their house wine. we didnt bother bringing our own wine in and took theirs and feedback from the guests was that it wasnt that great.. i dont drink so i cannot comment.

thanks for the advice. my IL and family loves wines, they will most likely bring in their favs.

any one in these days still drink beer? thought free flow of beer may be quite redundant.

Has anyone tried to cancel their wedding dinner with Peony Jade after placing a deposit? Did you have to pay any cancellation charges (additional) even though you did not sign the contract (only have draft contract).

No, not asking for refund. Am willing to forego deposit without having to pay cancellation charges. I'm thinking that if they want to slap the charges and if I don't pay, how are they going to get the cancellation charges from me?

I hope you understand what I mean? Hehe.

Haiz. It's because the guest list got longer and we need more than 22 tables. Hence, PJ at CQ can no longer fit. Also, both parents are not keen on their outlet at Keppel

Hi ene, u shd have printed your invites by now, i believed? mayb u wanna do a quick rsvp to check if you can still stay put in PJ at CQ?

if not, perhaps u wanna check if anyone might be interested to take over your date? anyway, r u still in time to find another venue with only less than 2 mths? Pretty rush & scary, right?

wong - I've actually got another venue secured already but need to settle the PJ issue. Invites printed but not sent out. They're on hold to see how the issue pans out.

Yes, have tried to post to see if anyone wants to take over but it's a Friday so chances are pretty low.

is there a free hotel stay 1 night if i book with PJ for wedding package?

which is the recommended meal to take? any must try dishes in your opinion?

parking got any problem for wedding at clark quay branch?

can we do our soleminsation before the wedding dinner starts? can they do the table arrangement for us? at FOC?