Peony Jade Resturant

wow.. so now the three 9 sept 05 PJ bride are all here.. he he

dolphin at 10 am
mine at 11.30 am (will reach at 11 am)
sue at 2 pm

i also not yet confirm menu with her....

so dolphin, you choose the restaurant cos of its atmosphere too?

are you all inviting Mr Chan for lunch? as for dolphin, think is diff cos Mr Chan rushing off rite, how about you sue? i not sure if include Mr Chan, the food should increase to 11 per table or? cos Mr Chan rushing to plaza park royal after mine rite?

dolphin> we havnt decide yet lei for the menu, big headache! We mite add dishes to the basic menu. Din have time to discuss. My fh's family moving, we not moving yet.

Freya> I invited Mr chan for lunch when I met up with him last time but he decline, saying cos he by then wld have eaten alot of rounds, kekeke!

freya> my FH chose the pl one. hehe.. he likes the jap style tea cup and the atmosphere. modern chinese look. both old n young ppl will like. oh.. also the staircase with candles n red carpet. kekeke... we offered mr chan to stay for early lunch but he said he's v bz for the day.

also we need not fetch him. any idea wat's the standard angbao to mr chan? does it include the transport reimbursement for him? or 2 separate red packet?

suelynn>we confirmed menu even before we pay our deposit. but will re-confirm the menu maybe 2 wks beforehand. oh ya.. food wise... i saw previous msg, food so-so and a bit sweet?

i also dun know how much to give him... the minimum transport reimbursement is $28 rite... maybe on top of that give an ang pow or a gift lor.. he he

actually i tried their buffet lunch before.... quite disappointing to me.. but fh said the food is okie, moreover i dint manage to get a slot at rom centre, so i book this place...

so dolphin you found your dress and bouquet already.. i be able to see you that day.. he he

freya, we'd signed up a bridal package wks back. suppose appt with designer this sat but their short dress series not here yet. so next sat dan go choose n try my dress + c wat accessories they have.

bouquet is not guy buy one meh? not sure le..

also in my package there'll be one trial make-up. so rom day they'll come to my pl make-up + hairdo for me.

since you are taking bridal package, why not ask if they will have rom bouquet...
oh.. rom bouquet paid by guy ah... hmm.. think up to individual lah. he he... but you can still choose the flowers mah and get your fh to pay...

date is drawing so near le..... scary and excited...

i think they say AD will hv bouquet. rom dress is complimentary one. hmm.. actually i not flower lover. dunno how to keep in gd condition. not gal-gal type. ;p actual day u c me u'll know. hehehe...

ya.. me too.. scared n excited. 1mth n 1day more... so freya, u found your dress already? wat colour?

btw u going for your AD soon?

ya... my dress found le.. mtm dress.... ivory/light yellow colour.....

but i not to yet find my shoes...

i have no plans for AD yet.... thot of just rom first... other things still pending.. he he..

how about you... when's ur AD.. i thk i gonna meet up with pauline soon. i have yet to confirm my guests attendance and menu.. he he

Hello, has anyone tried the banquet food at Peony-Jade recently? Care to comment on the quality of food and service? Thanks!

freya, my AD will be in nov this year (picked date). venue not confirm yet. still sourcing gd pl, gd food, gd atmosphere.
oh my attendance not confirm also. 2 wks before will inform pauline and also confirm our menu. hehe.. maybe if food nice, might have our AD there as well. heard pj have hotel package also.

dolphin> i see.. how come dun combine rom and banquet together in Nov... since its only two months diff.. he he.. just curious...

freya> oh.. cos 9/9 will be printed in cert mah. memory.. also if both in a day, v tiring le.. my sis that time only customary, woke up even before sunrise, all the way till after midnight le... my temper not gd if not enough sleep. hehehe..

Really ah, their food nt tat nice? Gosh...Hope dun kanna curse by my guests kekkeke

Dolphin>yah mite as well combine both. nov n u havnt confirm venue? U power lei, if its me tink i freak out ald, hee! Yr end is a pop period to get married, alot of places ald fully booked 1 yr in adv.

suelynn> hehehe.. FH looking out a few. His mum suggest Spring Court (opp Chinatown Pt). But no hotel package le... ours on mon (picked dates), so shd be ok lo. peak period usually is wkends mah.. ;p

The buffet food is not that fantastic but I have heard from many that their banquet food is fabulous and large in portion.

I'm thinkin of having my soleminsation at PJ. anyone have pictues to share with me how it will look like?

Also I'm not sure whether to treat my guests to their set-meals or buffet after the ceremony. Care to advise? =)

Hi Shermaine,
I may have some pictures that may be useful to you. Where would you like me to email them to?

As for buffet vs set-meals, I had the same debate too. It pretty much depends on your guests. I threw this question to my married friends too and the general consensus is if most of your guests are the traditional sort, best to have set-meals. If they are mostly friends who are happy to help themselves, then buffet shouldn't be a problem. I've been to a buffet wedding dinner and I thought it was great cos the guests get to mingle and mix around. This, as opposed to being stuck at a table with 9 other people, who may or may not know each other.

Just my two cents' worth....

Hi Mamoette,
Oops.. left out my email add, its [email protected]

Thanks for your advise! *mucks.
I'm inviting around 40ppl to my ROM ceremony hence I'm unsure how it will works out.

If PJ would to offer me a "private dining" area for my ceremony and lunch. Does that means I have to take their set-meals?

For the record, the pictures are not mine. They are Pauline's. I am not acquainted with anyone in the photos either. Pauline sent the picx to me when I inquired on the packages and facilities at her restaurant.

Anyway, I've forwarded them to you, hope you find them helpful.

I just went for my food tasting yesterday evening. To me, the food was delicious. Even the elders found the food nice except for a particular dish which we will be changing. Such a relief to have another load off my mind.

Hi Greta,

Yeah. My AD (1st Oct) coming soon. 6 more weeks only! Still haven't compiled my music yet but the rest of the stuff is more or less settled.

Hi suelynn,

It's the sauteed scallops and pacific clams with vegetables. The elders didn't like the pacific clams so we will be changing it to just sauteed scallops with celery and macadamian nuts.

For info: heard from Pauline that currently, there are some promotions but will expire on 31 Aug 05. You may want to check with her for more details...

Hi pchosg,

1st October 2005 is a Saturday. I am not sure if my package has expired cause I booked quite early this year. Do contact Pauline if you are interested. She is very helpful and would be in a better position to advise you.

Hi hamtaro55,

I did hear her remark about that during my food tasting. So gals, if you are really interested in the place do try to contact her soon. Oh... I just remembered... She is on vacation now. I think she has an assistant... But I can't remember her name.

hi pchosg & artemis,

Pauline's assistant is Lydia (if I spelt correctly).

She called me before but I have misplaced her contact number...

hi artemis, sorry i super blur. but t bridal suite offer is at pan pac/conrad which is a bit far for travelling. do u feel so as it will be tiring n not tat convenient.
yr ad is coming. can share t experiences n photos with us?
pauline had confirmed t promotion will end in aug n she is out of town.

I'm seriously considering PJ. In fact I've reserved a date with them. But before I proceed to make my deposit, would really appreciate those who had/ going to have their wedding or ROM with PJ to give their advise on the following:

- Food
- Ambience
- Any hidden costs or perks that we can negotiate for
- Feedback from guests (esp any negative feedback)

hi mamoette
Is it possible for you to share the photos of PJ with me? My email address is [email protected] Thanks in advance

Hi horsey,

Realised that your AD is on a wkday. Quite a few places are already booked on the picked date (Sat, 11 Mar 06) that we wanted. I'm also considering mine on a Wednesday or Thursday. Our invitees is about 18 to 20 tables but kind of worried about the attendees thou. And my FH is working around Tuas... headaches...

Hi sotongbride,

Can't really comment much on all. Just like the others who's been to PJ... my FH & I was attracted by its chic ambience. Location is considered central (nearby Clarke Quay MRT). Guess on the perks will be: hotel stay, beer/wine, extra invite cards, extra parking... if possible.

Fyi: PJ is quite flexible on our preference for a combination of beer and red wines... they can arrange a few bottles of red wines and lesser quantity of beer.

Hi Sotongbride,

I'm out of town right now and don't have the files with me. Can I send you the pics when I return to SG on Friday?

As for food, my fiance and I had ee-fu meen over the weekend. Not fabulous but not bad la. Rather palatable, no complaints.

Ambience-wise, the place is fab. Very modern oriental chic. Whoever designed the interior gave it a lot of thought and made use of the space very effectively. Good play on mirrors & windows. I like the fact that their private rooms are pillarless & tucked away yet not too hidden to be forgotten.

The perks should be negotiable within reasonable limits. Like if you don't want the hotel stay, I'm sure they can work out something in replacement.

Hey sotongbride,

Maybe the other ladies whom I sent the pix to earlier can forward them to you too? That way u don't need to wait till Friday.

Hi Artemis, pchosg, Shermaine, maybe one of you can help? Thanks!

Hi mamoette,
Pauline has sent the contract to us liao. Turn out to be a miscommunication. We confirm we wanted to change 1 dish, while pauline thought we haven't give her the go ahead. Overall, I think Pauline is very prompt/efficient in her email replies.

Hi pchosg,

We will be having a chaffeaur on that day so just relax in the car lor...
I have shared my food tasting experience with you gals in an earlier posting. We actually met up with the chef to give him the comments personally. I think it's great that Pauline allows us to talk to the chef.

Hi SotongBride,

- Food (8/10)
- Ambience (8/10) Mandarin Chic
- Location (6/10) Unless driving or taking a taxi, taking a bus or MRT will mean a long walk for guests
- Service (7/10) Excellent service from mature staff
- Any hidden costs or perks that we can negotiate for
Pauline can be very flexible just try your luck and ask for any help you need.
- Feedback from guests (esp any negative feedback) So far, I have only heard good comments from ladies within this forum about Peony Jade.

hi sotong bride
i just emailed u t photos too fr pauline.

hi artemis
ya maybe worry too much. so which hotel u take up conrad or pan pac?
glad to hear tat we can ask for lesser beer n wines in replacement
thks so much for sharing

Thanks for all the feedback. Really appreciate that.

Hi Peggy,

The max is 22 tables. Some of the tables are big enough for about 11 to 12 pax...Lydia told me that we can have about 240 pax.

If I sign up with them, I'll be using the restaurant to the max.

Hi peggy

i went to Peony jade for dinner and to enquire abt the wedding package too. I think their max is 22 tables but 2 of the tables will be located inside a VIP room.. personally i felt that the 2 tables there are a bit out of place cos guests seated there wun be able to catch all the action...

I didn't choose that place in the end cos i find the ceiling a bit low.

Hi peggy

i went to Peony jade for dinner and to enquire abt the wedding package too. I think their max is 22 tables but 2 of the tables will be located inside a VIP room.. personally i felt that the 2 tables there are a bit out of place cos guests seated there wun be able to catch all the action...

I didn't choose that place in the end cos i find the ceiling a bit low.

Hi Sunray,

I agree with you that the 2 private rooms are a tad out of place. If you have a large number of guests, PJ may be a little too cosy.

How did you find the food at PJ, btw? What would you give on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being fabulous?

Hi mamoette

We ordered a-la carte from the menu & there were abt 8 of us...food is really so-so only & it was kinda expensive. It was like a mix of sichuan and cantonese cuisine. Out of 10, i'll give 5.5.

I rather pay slightly more and go to Shang Palace at Shangri-la or Hua Ting at Orchard Htl.

I believe couples who choose this restaurant tend to be attraCTED by their reasonable priced wedding package and their ambience to the food.

Is a matter of which you prefer and whether you like to compromise on your expectation.

how do you find pauline?

does anyone faces any frustration or has any miscommunication with her leading to change of plan for your wedding?

anyone doing wedding lunch on a sat at peony jade or wedding lunch?

how's the food like?

how long does it takes for the whole ceremony?