Peony Jade Resturant

angel81

well vankel, the last time i went there, she said tat the doposit is $1k, and then discuss abt the package and any changes. will advice u to discuss first then pay though. i'm not sure if they allow payment by credit card though, as she told mi nets or cash tat time, and i didn't ask abt credit card.

wen's ur AD Vankel?

mamoette

Hi Vankel, I paid the S$1K deposit by credit card.

Hi Angel, is it possible to discuss the details before paying the deposit? We were told that we needed to pay the deposit first to secure our preferred date. We haven't signed the agreement, though. Lots of things not quite clear and need trashing out. *Headache*
Btw, our first meeting/discussion was with Lydia (Pauline was on vacation then), and we were pretty satisfied with her professionalism. Have yet to meet/talk to Pauline face to face.

Hi Artemis,
So sorry to hear about your unpleasant experiences. I hope your AD went well and without a hitch.
I'm having a bit of a teething problem with the menu right now, but thanks to your advice, I feel we can make better informed decisions and discussions with Pauline.
Thanks again for your valuable posts!

vankel

Hi Angel,

Tks for the infor. My actual day is 8/3/06. How abt yours?

Mamoette,

Tks too.... Think I will ask for paymt by Cr Card.

angel81

Hi Vankel

U r welcme! My AD will be on 12May05. Heard tat its a hot date. But hopefully can get, cuz it's our anniversary date (so tat dae we'll b together for exactly 4yrs!)

Mamoette
I'm not too sure whether we can discuss before paying the deposit. Forgot to ask her if the discussion/negotiation fails, will they return the deposit to us anot. If can, I dun mind paying first then discuss before signing the agreement. But if not, I would put my foot down about paying without discussing first. Seems unfair, don't u tink?

I've not met Lydia before. Maybe I should ask for her instead. kekek....

so wen's ur AD?

mamoette

Hi Angel, I don't think there is a refund of the deposit should negotiation/discussion fails. U simply get a S$1,000 credit at the restaurant, I think. But yes, definitely discuss before signing the agreement. That's the stage where I am now. Need to sort out the menu & some other nitty gritties.
Lydia is Pauline's assistant. Whatever is discussed with Lydia has to go through Pauline in the end. Maybe better to speak to Pauline direct.

My AD is 10.12.2005. Less than 2 months away and lot of things not done! *headache* ...

How are your preparations coming along?

angel81

Mamoette

Oh wow! tat is really a headache if things are not more or less settled by now.

Haiz, looks like we really should talk to Pauline then. Well, we actually just told his parents about it last night (he proposed in May). so now, at last, we can go and start confirming the banquet and stuff. Most likely we would be going down to PJ this sat to start the discussion.

Wah, so dua bai ah? gota pay deposit to start the discussion and won't get back if things fail. I really hope she will be okay about things.

Nothing about beer was stated in the package we got from her. Did she give you complimentary beer or anithing? Any extras that you got from her? I don't really know how to negotiate, and my Fh is quite easy-going.

mamoette

Hi Angel, I don't remember any complimentary beer, but that's probably more because neither my fiance nor I drink, and so didn't pay attention to that.
I think one of the earlier posts from someone else mentioned that PJ has a beer package that is quite flexible. Like you can have 1/2 beer & 1/2 wine. Or something like that.
To negotiate, just ask for whatever you think you want. As long as you think that you're being fair in asking, no need to be paiseh. Remember it's your hard earned money that they want. It's all business.

Have you decided for sure on PJ?

saki

Hi gals..Infact i paid my deposit and now at the stage of confirming details in the contract.
For mine, i took up wkday package and i was given 30litres of beer but i am sure even wkend package include that as well cos i was nearly took up the wkend package.

angel81

Hi Mamoette,

Thanks for the advice! Appreciate it very much. Hope everyting goes well on Sat!

Hi Saki,
Thanks for the info! So do ur have only beer or do ur have wine too? Do you know how many glasses will a 30L barrel give? Just wondering if we need extra litres.

Did you change the centrepiece at each table? Cuz i saw the pics and don't really like the small centrepiece they provide.

Any other items you got complimentary? Thanks for the advice in advance!

saki

Hi angel,
30L barrel = 90 glasses. I only got complimentary beer and i will bring bottles of wine there (corkage free). I can't remember how the centrepiece look like but i am sure this is negotiable.I got the complimentary table setup for solemnisation before my wedding dinner start. Btw Fyi the deposit is non-refundable.

angel81

Hi Saki,

Thanks for the info. Have already met Pauline before I read your advice. kekke.... Paid the deposit already!

It went quite well actually. I saw the actual set up cuz we went there before the actual AD of another couple. And we met 2 other couples who went there to view the place too!

keke... *huew* confirmed the banquet place at last! :p

artemissoh

I am back from my honeymoon!

I am happy to report that everything went well with the dinner and all my guests found the food delicious and in large portions. The only thing my hubby and I found off was that the sharksfin soup was a little rough... (But only we felt that way about it... Maybe cause we are really picky eaters
) But the rest of the dishes that we took were delicious.
Plus, they served the dishes really quickly... (not sure if that's a good or bad thing) But they ensured that all portions of food has been distributed before clearing the previous dish. I have yet to ask my friends and colleagues about the service... Will update you gals about it later.

We were able to put our foot down and got our 2 reserve tables and the floral arch.

I strongly urge you not to pay deposit until after you have ironed out all the details with her and gotten all of them in your contract. I noticed from previous posts that once the deposit is paid, Pauline seems to take a longer time to get back to you...

vonn

Hi Artemis,

But i tot we can only go into contract upon deposit paid.
Mine will be next year end, hope the service standard will still be the same.
So how did u went abt renting the projector those stuffs as PJ dint provide.

artemissoh

Hi Greta,

We made a loss for the ang baos collected from the banquet but managed to break even with the ang baos from the tea ceremony. Generally, I think the elder guests tend to give lesser cause it's a restaurant until they come and realise how posh the place is (We had some ang baos that were very obviously reopened and refilled.
) I think it's a general misconception and can be easily retified through a few well placed words within the relative grapevine. The relatives in the know gave much more.

Hi vonn,

I believe it is the customer's right to iron out all the details within the contract before paying the deposit. It is the "goods" so to speak in this case. After all, there is no further leverage if you have already paid deposit... You are not likely to go elsewhere and forfeit the deposit then. Think of it like buying a house... You go through all the terms and conditions of the sale before paying the down payment right? So why should booking a banquet be any different?

Pauline has purchased a multimedia projector and screen so do remember to get free usage of these items within your contract okay?

artemissoh

By the way, my friends and colleagues remarked that the service was prompt and efficient. So I guess as long as you care to negotiate the verbal land mine game with Pauline, your wedding event should turn out pretty well.

vonn

Hi Artemis,

OMG, she purchase a multimedia projector and screen? I had already sign the contract and these things dnt seems to be inside. So did she allow u to use them or did u have the montage?
Loss, Can i know which package u took?

artemissoh

Hi vonn,

Yes we had a photo montage and a video express highlight. We managed to persuade her to let us use the projector and screen FOC.

You can try talking to her... Unless you already have a lot of freebies, it should be no problem.

We took the Romance package with changes to the menu to suit our tastes.

christmas_bride

hi artemis,
happy to hear that things went smoothly on ur wedding day...
can i view ur AD photos? i'm keen to see the setup and decor in Peony jade.

artemissoh

Hi Cindy,

Our AD photos are not out yet. Will share with you gals when we get them. However, I would like to highlight that we discussed the floral decorations personally with the florist and paid her an extra of S$50 for more flowers.

hazlline

Hi Artemis/Angel/Saki/all PJ brides,

I have made an apptm with Lydia (Pauline's assistant) to go down to view the setup & ambience.
Any advice to give? On tight budget & at the same time worried ang baos we get cannot cover cost.

Can i have one of your name(s)? Thanks

Hazel

artemissoh

Hi Hazel,

I have not spoken to Lydia before. All liaison was made with Pauline. The packages available from Peony Jade are quite reasonably priced and they are flexible in changing the menus (top up maybe required).

If you are on a really tight budget, weekdays are cheaper than weekends. However, many people may leave earlier on weekdays. As for ang baos, if you invite closer friends and colleagues, it should not be a problem. Relatives side, just a few well chosen words to a gossipy auntie or your mother may help to solve your problem.

greta

Hi Hazel,
If u haven't pay deposit yet, maybe ask for details negotiated to be in black and white. Eg: beer price & usage, projector & screen, hotel alloted and amount off the bill if not taking, unconsumed tables, change of menu & price.

saki

Hi Hazel,
I strongly advise you not to pay any deposit until you could discuss every details clearly with pauline/ lydia. Don't fall into the mind set of booking the date by paying deposit before discussing the contract like me. U can always ask pauline to secure the date first while u discuss the contract term with her.
She turned down a couple of requests by me after i paid my deposit.

vonn

I remember i made a tentative booking with Lydia and wanted to confirm it with Pauline, she told me the date was taken. Fortunately, i dnt need that date. Then i ask Pauline why such cases happen, she said there was this couple went down for makan and like the place and immediately make a deposit. And she stongly advise us not to make tentative booking.
I also realise after making deposit, she is really not so bargainable.....

hazlline

Hi all!!

Nice to see the replys... Thks for the advices given! Don't think we r ready to give deposit lor... cos tis restaurant is only the 1st one we going to view.
Seems like I have to be extra careful before paying the deposit

angel81

Haiz... looks like I fell into the trap of putting a deposit first. But I tink my AD should b quite hot, hence was afraid tat sme1 would snatch the date away while we are discussing the contract.

Hope she will be more lenient while we are still vetting the contract.

Hazel, wen's ur AD? I would suggest to go down before another couple's AD so that you can view the actual set up. I went b4 sme1's AD, and saw the actual everyting. Gives u a beta idea of wat u wana keep or change.

greta

It's ok to put tentative booking. That is wat i did at first. But i request to be inform 1st hand if there are other couples interested in the same date as me. I am given the 1st piority of choice whether to put the deposit to secure the date or give it up.

Actually pauline wanted to email me the draft contract for viewing before i go down to pay deposit. Told her no need, we wanted to discuss personally with her first. I think she quite ok leh, maybe cause we din demand too many changes. Think it's a gd idea to email her your requirements. Black and white, she won't forget.

jenng

My AD will be holding at Peony Jade at Oct 15 2006. I also pay the deposit before viewing the contract. When she send me the draft, after the discussion with her she was quite flexible for me. She did offered us some help and also mention that she need to indicate in black and white in any case of she is forgetting.

hazlline

Hi Angel,

My AD was supposed to be on 24th June 06. But y/day night i went down to talk to Lydia (Pauline off duty) and told me my date was booked! sob...
My FH & me are satisfied with the ambience & their service.
Very interested and had to postponed to 29 Jun 06 lor... intend to go down today to place our deposit.
I am not very satisfied with the beer part leh... there's no beer provided rite? Can we negotiate for at least 30L?

vonn

Hazel,

I was keen in 24th June too. But is was taken long time ago.
Btw, it shld include beer or wine

hazlline

hello Vonn,

yes, my FH & me are disappointed when we knew its been booked on 24th June & other dates we want (3-4 others)
Dun know PJ is so..... popular leh?!?!
No, I was not given any beer at all in my pkg(serve by Lydia) I have not seen PAuline though i been there for 2 times..

mamoette

Hi Hazel, which package did you take? I took their cheapest, Unity Package, and beer was included. (But my fiance and I had it changed to a combination of wine & beer, though).

hazlline

Mamoette, Is urs a wkday / wkend ?
If its a wkend, then i really lose out in tis sense! my god... Cos now i will postpone my AD to Oct wkend instead. Managed to get hold of Pauline y/day, be going down to place a deposit & cleared everything. ya, be taking the unity pkg.

Vonn, urs also have wine/beer arh... wa lau~

Jennifer, I went down to Chef Chan restaurant but we dun like the decor/ambience there. somemore everything not included, add up will be v exp.!

angel81

Hi Hazel

mi took the unity package too. pauline gave us sme discount. either in cash rebate form, or we could use the amt to exchange for 30L beer + 7 bottles of wine. we took the beer + wine.

mamoette

Hi Hazel, ours is's a weekend (saturday). Funny that yours does not have alcohol in the package. Should double check with Pauline when you two meet.

Hi Angel, what kind of discount did you get, may I ask?

hazlline

Angel,when's ur AD?? so you using the $468nett discount to exchange for beer + wine instead of taking off fr total bill right?

Momoette, when's ur AD?

angel81

Hi mamoette & Hazel,

pauline gave us the choice of cash discount ($468nt) off total bill, or we can use this discount to exchange for a 30L beer + 7bottles of wine. so yup, we taking the beer + wine loh.

so hazel, u confirmed on PJ already? 29jun?

my AD is on 12May06.

i heard fr pauline tat she can squeeze 12 pple to a table if u really have alot of pple. so the max will b 254pax. u can seat 264pax (22tables x 12per table), bt u need a reserve table of at least 10pax. hence the max no. u can invite is 254.

i was assured (& many pple confirmed in this thread) tat the portions r big enough for 11 - 12 pax to share.
hope this helps, joyousonline.

jer

I'm new to this thread. I've placed part of the deposit but yet to discuss the contract.Any important point/s I've to really take note in the contract b4 i signed & has anyone tried the hotel stay at Pan Pacific or Conrad (provided by pj), care to share your view?

Hi Angel,

Did Pauline mention u need a min booking/total bill inorder to enjoy $468 cash discount?

mamoette

Hi Hazel, mine's on 17 Dec 05. And from the recent posts, it sounds like the packages for 2006 are different from those in 2005.

hazlline

Hi angel, finally confirmed our AD on 8th Oct 2006. cos nxt yr got 2 mths of "7th" month!

not much perks given to us... initially Pauline wanna charge us $280 for usage of projector + scrren!! after much negotiation, then she agree to let us use FOC... sigh

Hi Mamoette, she did mention to us tat she'll review the pkg & take away some... guess her biz too good liao... tats y! Definitely 2005 pkgs will be cheaper than 2006.