Peony Jade Resturant

yuki: i see then really no point cause corkage fee is so ex -_-"

So it depends on whether ur guest can accept the texture anot.. but its not that bad la.. though i perfer something like port..

Hi BTBs

My HTB and I will be having a look at Peony Jade Clarke Quay... we have shortlisted this restaurant as a possible AD venue.

Anyone has any recent experience to share about this place? How's the service, decoration, food, etc? :D

blackcat: I think it's a great choice! that will be my banquet for AD too~

prior to this, my friend had her wedding there and I was really impressed with the food
If you go down to the place, you can see many awards hanging around and some on the table too. The chefs won many foodie awards so I think there is standard in their food

When I went down to recce the place with my HTB and in laws, we were also given a free dinner by Dave as he knows that we are interested in booking the place for actual day banquet. Now, that is really good service and initiative on his part. Needless to say, we signed on the night itself and paid the deposit.

He let us try the duck, fish maw soup, salted egg prawn (really very yummy.. my personal favourite), spring chicken, ee fu noodles and the braised tofu. All excellent!!!

Decoration is elegant, simple. Mostly dark reddish. Very chinese feel

Sharing some of thepictures we had...

The stage with projector on it

i be writing more during the weekend on the foods n stuffs.. if anyone interested to read, can pm me for the link.

1466393.jpg

they don't have? impossible... i went dinner last fri and saw them keeping the stuffs to set up a ROM table on the stage...

I forgotten how much to pay to use theirs... ard 100+- if i am not wrong. Can try asking the co-o to arrange for it.

Ling (missyling) : Well most place you can use for free..its within the package while peony still charge for that...man...

Well.maybe i can try argue to use it for free =D

Our wedding on 17 July was a smashing success at Peony Jade Clark Quay! The tables were beautifully set, the food was delicious and your staff was professional and attentive. The #1 thing that people tell us about the wedding is “the food was SO good!†We can’t say thank you enough, or tell you enough how impressed we were with the service. We even made a few small last minute changes the day and it was clearly no big deal. The staff was extremely courteous and everything was ready to go on time. We were 100% satisfied with everything from start to finish: your restaurant is extremely easy to work with, and we just wanted to say thank you for being such a large part of making our reception a huge success!

A special thanks to Dave and Daniel for their amazing attention to details and ensuring everything was smooth sailing. We appreciate your patience in answering all of our questions along the way. Thank you so much for all your help and being so attentive to us in planning our big day. All the last minute adjustments you made for us is greatly appreciated. It was so wonderful to work with someone who is really on top of things and your quick email correspondence throughout the process was really handy.

You and your staff did a wonderful job. Please let your staff know that they performed in an extraordinary manner. We look forward to having future events at Peony Jade! I would certainly recommend getting married at Peony Jade Clark Quay to anyone planning a wedding!

Thank you for making our wedding a truly memorable occasion.

hi bamboo..
so hapy to hear good reviews
) My coordinator would also be Dave. We really hit it off with him coz he is so approachable and takes alot of initiative. Thank u! Can I know if they cater for HALAL food ??? do you have any muslim guests?

>> Shanawawa, Dave is a really nice guy! He even reply email for my wedding planning when he was on leave in Malaysia. A few days b4 my wedding, they did ask me whether need to cater for muslim or vegetarian.. I do not have muslim or vege guest.

>> Jenn, mine was a lunch banquet for my realtives. I did my dinner banquet at Galley hotel for my church friends and close friends. The pictures are not ready yet. Do you have facebook? We can add each other to view pictures...

bebe: oh! that's great to know that there is muslim catering
Hmm.. how long before your banquet will Dave email you? I signed up with him in June this year. Actual banquet next year June. I haven't received any email or call. Is it too early to expect the details so soon?

missyling: thanks!! i will enquire about the halal food ;)

Shan, it's still very early. I sign up on May which is 2 months ago and my banquet is on this month July!! Most of the things can be settle 2 weeks before the wedding, I only confirm the no. of tables 1 week before the wedding, and make several changes on seating arrangement within that one week. Don't have to be so anxious.. relax and enjoy the process of preparation..

Bebe: hee ok!! So he will email me later on like next yr perhaps la? Wah u manage to get ur banquet so easily. So lucky! U know the date I wanted initially is already taken by another couple! And when Dave flipped the record book, I saw that most of the weekend dates even till 2012 had been reserved!!!

Yeap they won't contact us so soon, i signed like 1yrs few mths before my wedding..as my wedding date is a hot date for this yr.. its only like few mths before the food tasting then they will contact us.. so nid to kan chiong.

relax relax...

shanawawa (shanawawa) : Dave had already left...Haiz..i change from Jenny to dave and now is lydia... They really got high turnover rate man
Ling (missyling) :Me too..my wedding is Jan 15 2011 and i sign last year end..hahaha. Thanks God they still give me hotel room and i also manage to ask for projector for free =D

Ling (missyling) : yes.And they do not have good followup. At least a mail to inform the customer or what...i only found out when i call them man..

hi girls.. oh no! so sad.. why he left???? when we talked, he was saying he followed his boss or smth.. all the way to Peony Jade.. why he left? HAIYO!!!!! so disappointing leh..

oh i tot the projector is part of package, No?

so upset no good followup.. sigh... oso duno how now.. we were quite happy with dave so it's a big factor why we signed up.

Yah think Peach Garden really needs to revamp their group of servers... was actually contemplating between PJ or Peach Garden. But the moment I saw those who were serving me I chose PJ. HUGE diff....=S

Now changed coordinator again..the 4th one I'm handling with...phew..hope they dun change chefs.haha..tt's the main point right..

Yes I confirmed that Dave has left. I SMS him to ask and he called me back to let me know. He says Lydia will b my coordinator. He quit juz last week and is now at OCBC centre Peach Garden. Oh well >.<

no offense to anyone but attended a wedding dinner 2months back. the food is really not as good as raved. the suckling pig is soft, skin is not crispy. very very bad.

the 1st dish is so so too. no lobster. the 2nd dish is written as sharks fin on the menu but we are served fish maw??? the usual abalone and broccoli is sliced mushrooms and broccoli. Duck dish is too salty. The fish is another disaster, so spicy that everyone took 1 serving.

in short, the food is very blah. I wonder if it is the menu chosen but we were told that the couples pick the best menu offered in PJ. anyone took the same menu and served the same level of food?

their red wine is quite alright. =)

so restaurant doesn't really mean good food. so disappointed. =(

ParisBubble (parisbubble) : Which outlet did you go to ? Did you feedback to the bride/groom ?
Peony jade is well known for their food. pretty shocking to hear this.

we were too embarrassed to say anything to the couples because they were full of praises for this place before their wedding. Telling all of us the food will be very very good which I really believe given all the good reviews here. I was kinda excited because I'm trying the place for the first time after failing to book a CNY dinner there this year.

Granted, everyone is saying how marvelous the food in PJ is. But me, eating the food from the perspective of a guest, not the couples themselves, will only rate it at best 6/10. I think all the couples will believe that their wedding is the best so their judgment is not objective enough? I really dunno.

It's Clarke Quay branch. by the way, please skip the roast pig. I think it's a so-called top menu because of the pig and the duck. the ingredients used for other dishes are very cheap. I think partly to cover the cost. If I'm not wrong, the pig is not included in the food tasting.

I think a pig-less menu may be the one that everyone is raving about here. I hope to go there again to get a better experience.

really surprise to hear that.. but according to what i know, they will only replace dishes on the wedding IF last min. had to have standby tables open etc if they are not prepared to have extra ingredients on standby for last min. arrangement. If not, its not possible for menu not to telly on what is being served.

i feel you should let the couple know and let PJ get back regarding this issue.

Like for us, i personally find the prawns texture too tough during my 1st tasting of it. I made my concern to them to take notes during our dinner. And ask them to serve less sugar on the dessert too. Till date, when we meet up with some frds and relatives.. they are still full of praise with the dinner.

Am looking forwards to the next wedding dinner in Keppal in oct held by a frd.

hi dear. Probably you got me wrong. I did not mean that PJ substitute the dishes last minute. I'm saying their better menu includes the roast pig but other dishes are kind of compromised. so overall you will not feel that you are paying for a better menu.

oh, the other thing is their Champagne pyramid is kind of short and also no wedding cake. but given the price, it is still good value for those who cannot meet the minimum table requirements in the hotels. Just wish that the food was better.

what i mean is if the couple booked 18 tables 1 tables on standby but used up and last min. need another extra table... suay suay one of the table will have a different set of menu from the rest.

No rest will put real wedding cake unless the couple arrange for a real cake on their own. Especially a few tiers ones.. even hotel, if they had it, its only the top layer which is a small real cake.. 3 to 5 tier real wedding cake will cost a a few hundred to Ks... Which i doubt 99% of the couples will do so unless the couple themselves are willing to fork out the extra budget to do real cakes for their wedding.

I have always tasted the best from Peony Jade
For normal dinners and wedding ones. No complains at all. Rest assured for those who are having their banquet at PJ! There are more good reviews than bad ones

nope we did not feedback to my friend because it is not so nice I think. They are also a bit disappointed by the food too but still the table setting, yam paste and wine is nice. not forgetting that the wedding favour is quite pretty too. =)

ya, I think this is just a single incident. all the other couples had only the best food in PJ.

Wooo..I'm gonna have my AD dinner there in a month's time! Hope everything goes well~ =P

For brides who took the merchant stay, how was it?? Is it better if I changed to Novotel cause it's nearer??

Hi I am newbee here.did anyone sign up wedding banquet with peony jade next year 2011? Can share the quotation with me?pls email me at [email protected],thanks. And did anyone able to get free corkage charge or extra wine?

ParisBubble (parisbubble) : I also feel the pig is not worth it..but some dialect need to have ..so no choice for them...Hope mine turn out fine.Lots of chnages from the initial one that i like and wanted to take up...

ccci (ccci) : I tried but could not get corkahe free..haiz..any way..most ppl assure me their wine is nice..hahaha...

i've heard raving reviews abt their food; BUT their svc is not 2 professional..1st they got our date 4 meet-up wrong. den they never reply my email until i sms them. &amp; when i ask them 2 reserve a date b4 we meet up again, they were pretty aloft saying they only base it on 1st come 1st serve basis! if i cant get my date, i wldnt 1 2 book there anymore! i've oredi made compromises on the dates. their service is really v disappointing.

ya their date are 1st come 1st serve. During mine time, the person olso told me the date i wanted is taken up so we decided to change the date for the sake of it but to play safe, i emailed them again and was told the date is still available. -_-"

usually i will called them up to inform i am going down incase the co-ordinator isn't around.

yah..usually i'll email the HQ and at the same time call up the restaurant myself to coordinate with the floor manager..

so far so good...=)