Peony Jade Resturant

thanks yuki! wow seems like it's quite a hot location keke...
Hi Danlee, can share some pictures w me too? my email is [email protected]

Hi, Karen & Bingbong.
Already sent some pics to you.

Don't think the chair will be an issue as when you march in, your guests will all focus on you only ma.
Anyway, do go down & view the place personally as it all depends on what individual wants & feeling is very individual lol. I may find the place great but you may not like it also. Heehee..

thanks Danlee! the pics look really nice!
i love the chairs actually, dark colors look different from all the whites.
i've asked for a quotation from them, and it seems 18 tables is the min for whole restaurant to be booked, if not then top up to $12K.
haa wondering what if i take 15 tables, then remaining 3 tables who want to eat inside... :p

some questions:
- where does the bride change and stay? if i want 'simple' wedding there and omit the Yam Seng, are there any other games that the guests can play? (guess if want games, my emcees + helpers got more to do...)
- are the waiters good?
hmmm the lady who ans my email was Jenny Ng... any experiences with her, or will someone else take over for wedding prep?
- wondering got other nice / cheap alternatives or not keke... (budget constrains = major headache, summor im the eldest daughter and my HTB is only child/only son!! terrible combi haha)

Hi bingbong

Yah! i wanted to omit the 'yam seng' and the cutting cake session initially..but the nice coordinator Pamela mentioned that it may be a bit 'cold'...I'll be going down to peony jade to book for next year's AD..maybe can feed u more details then!! =)

And yes..we do have a budget constraint too..no worries u r not the only one..

bingbong (harbingerg) :

Its still nicer with whole place book actually..
There is a room that the bride can change ya...
Ya.. u need good Emcee and some ideas for the games then..

Jenny is nice.. she is the one handling me..i like her service . Actually she told me she is new there...so doubt she will leave so fast..hahaha

karen, hmmm yup thats true, cos 'yam seng' sort of embodies the spirit of wedding dinner haha! otherwise guests won't be prompted to make noise.
games are harder to think of cos we have tons of babies, toddlers with mummies, and really old people... *faint*
Yuki, thanks! feel v reassured now hehe

Hi, Gals.
If you have budget constraint & intend to hold only a small banquet. This is really an ideal place wor.

I aslo same like you all ma. Got budget constraint because do not intend to spend too much $$ for wedding. Just to celebrate with family, relatives & some close friends will do.

That's why even my bridal, I also work with min budget. Hahah.....

Yeah all, finally went down last Sunday to book my AD's dinner. Aiyoh..but they don't seem to be quite flexible with the perks..heh..still worth it i guess..tried to negotiate for a 8pax food tasting..failed..free projector..failed..=P bad at bargaining...

Heh...did all of u take the consignment wine from the restaurant? Is the wine good?? Wondering if the 3 hrs of beer serving is sufficient....

Well .. quite a lot of their price changing. eg, veg and muslim food ~ going to be up quite a fair bit, in fact more ex then the normal per table price. If you have UOB, do check with UOB if there is new promo going on. The old one ending end June 2010, i think.

Beer serves from 7.30 - 10.30pm. Now ppl seldom drink beer, but their is housebrewed, should be nice! Will get to try their housepour when foodtasting, most likely getting their housepour cos just corkage is ex.

They are not flexi with perks ... but can try asking again before signing contract!

Karen Tay (tayy0003) : When did you book ?

ya..the wine is from Chile i think..not sure if its nice..

Any one tried it before ?

PJ is really a nice place to hold ur banquet... Thou it does not have a big foyer for ur reception, nice perks given, high ceiling but you will not regret holding ur wedding there. Their services are good, most importantly is their food! many of my guests told me that they just can't forget the delicious food they had during my wedding. I, myself also regret of not eating more, thou i have no time at all....

Bingbong: ooo...they can move on to pump room next door after mid-night..haha..

Quido : YES!! I will bear in mind...i totally forgot about my vegetarian friends until u brought up the reminder! Thanks for advice! Will try again b4 i sign the contract...

Yuki : I booked for next year 19th Sept..=) yours in 2011? Wow..and you've booked?? That's fast..

Purple Rain: Prob u can go back for their buffet dinner...=)

Karen Tay (tayy0003) : yes... And the intial date i wanted on 1 Jan 2011 is book also..thats why i gan chiong.. I only have this two dates before 2011 CNY ..so got to Kia su lo..hahaha

Hi, Karen.
They have buffet dinner?
Any idea what is the charges & food?

I dnt mind going back for that. Yummy yummy!

Hi Danlee

Yes! Buffet think costs about 38++/pax..if eves, PH, weekends think add. $2++/pax. But must have at least 4 peeps. When i went to check out the place most of the people were having the buffet..

I'm releasing my wedding banquet package on 8/8/2010 for Peony Jade (Clarke Quay) at a discounted price. Original downpayment is $2000, we can negotiate the transfer price.

Email me asap at [email protected] if you're interested. Thanks!

Danlee (danlee) : I realise i never told you what photo i want..hahaha oops...

I am thinking whether to have projector or not. Got photo on the stage and also reception at ground level mah?

Danlee (danlee) : Ya..photos on the stage and also round floor reception..thinking how should i set up and whether to engage florist also... hee hee

Have u send the photo to me ??

Hi Yuki

Was trying to exchange for some other stuff at the cost of something else...but seems like they are so stiff with the arrangement...wanted to ask if instead of 6 people, 5 to turn up for food tasting, but get complete dinner and stuff..didn't agree..

Wanted to exchange the wedding favours for some wine..5 bottles only..phew..and more..

Karen Tay (tayy0003) : Oh no...somtimes its like that..the service line ppl are just not felxible...no matter its reatuarant of any other industry...

Hi, Yuki.

So sorry...recently very busy so did not login to the forum. Will send you some photos. Can give your email address again?

I'm considering to hold a 10 table wedding banquet. Has anyone held a banquet of this size at CQ?

Do I have to share the place with other dinner goers?

Lish (troides) : To hold at CQ , you need minimum 18 tables..not sure if 10 they are ok...You will need to check with them...

Just had my banquet with them in December..

Hmmmm no need to prepare to nego anything.. the most is get a foc projector. and switch some dishes from the same category..

extra perks is strictly not given...

But then, service is good on the wedding day, with the manager nagging at us that its time to march in or march out or bid farewell!

Hi christa :

Any pic on the reception at ground floor ?
Also on the ang bao box and guest book from PJ.

Can send to my email at [email protected]. Thanks

Thinking whether should i make my own theme or just use what is given... hahaha

Thinking hard !!

Hi, Yuki.
Reception area pics you meant those when guests arrive & left types? Have have..give me some time to downsize etc ok. The reception area is not big not that is not my main concern. Food & service more important to me. Until today, when I meet up my friends, they still talk about the food & wanted to go back for dinner there.

MeiHui..will send you soon.

Danlee (danlee) : yup...wanted to see where can i put my album , ang bao box, etc etc..
Also the decor...so can add some theme to it...

Sure sure . take ur time =)

ya..heard food is nice..thats why i book it too..hee hee.

I had already booked PJ for my actual day.. but can i check you guys how you arrange your parents or in-laws for the makeup?... they share the same room at PJ?... although the room looks quite big but will it be abit cramp?.. TIA

missesjoanna (missesjoanna) :Hee..i have no ideas yet. the room look big enough for all..Those who finish the make up can get out of the room first i suppose..

Saw this family that did that when i went to sign my package.

I also thinking about the same thing...
the more exp package at PJ consiust of the room...but i don need the roast pig.Its not an requirement for my dialect. So booking a room by itself is still cheaper then getting that package .

Just worried we are so tired to move any where..easier to port over to the hotel then remove make up etc..then to do it at PJ itself...
Funny wear that way back home also...hahaha

i will be bring a dress to change rather then wearing my gown home.. or best.. juz in my tee and short if i am really tired @ the end of the day.. haha very no imgine.. but dun care le.. wan to relax liao.

Just want to share my own experience..

Msjoanna: i believe you are given a hotel stay for a night on the wedding day itself. For us: we choose Merchant Court, so we have the MUA to go to the hotel and do the make up for us.

I got a pleasnt suprise when my hubby came to pick me up from the hotel and we took ferry to the resturant. Before that, we have a tour around the river.. Our nice photographer even make a MV of the whole tour.

Hi Danlee,

Can I have a look at your wedding dinner photos? Booked my wedding dinner with PJ as well, my AD is in Dec 2010. I kinda forgot how the stage look like...cos now wondering if my evening gown will blend with the backdrop...

baby baby: I choose other package that not include the hotel.. that why I'm been thinking on it... ur Hubby really soooo sweet.... :D

yuki: yea true scare end of the day already very tired... can just go back hotel and rest... but i think I will bring my tees and short to change if i'm walking back to the hotel... look very funny to walk around with my gowns... :D

Hi, dreamz.
Ok will email you some of my pics but will takes some times as me real busy recently. I still owe Yuki the pics of the reception area..so pai seh..

Hey gals... trust me...is nice to get a hotel romm nearby to stay for a night & have a good rest as you will be tired after the whole event.

But don't have to feel funny walking around with your gown. Is kind of FUN as you will be the most beautiful lady on the road & many people will be looking at you.

I agreed with Danlee, you all should book a room at nearby hotel. Ask peony jade, they have corporate rate as i booked extra two rooms for the bros and sis.

He is usually not romantic. that is once a lifetime!

i have booked with Peony at CQ, i am very satified with their services and they actually gave me some good perks when i ask for it eg.. hotel room for 1 night (the package tt i chosen is not inclusive of tt)foc projector.. so i think to those who intend to have their dinner at PJ i strongly recommed..