Park Hotel Orchard

Hi all, what do you all think about having the wedding on a weekday? How's the turn out of guests and is there a lot of hassle compared to weekdays?

hi jane... actually mine is on a weekday.. actually weekday oso has its advantages like pple tend to arrive earlier and you can start your dinner on time... and pple would not drink much wine & beer and you can save lotsa wine from ther liao... keke...

so how's ur decision... u cfm with CPHS liao? or u have other alternative venues? coz saw frm the website the promo ended las fri rite?

right now i very slack... haven plan my guest list and haven even went to try my gowns yet...

Hi See See, I have just booked my BS last week and I'm selecting my flat in 3 weeks time. I'm gonna be very busy over this whole preparation, still enjoying the process. I've not gone into the details like choosing the WG & EG, house reno etc. My BS said i'll need to start working out the design of my MTM WG after CNY and I have to start flipping through magazine's photos for any design that I like.

Hi Jane, I've been to a few weekday dinners. Frankly speaking, for weekdays, the mood is not as good as weekends, the guest are not as enthusiastic. But one thing good is you don't get much roudy scenes and dinner will not end too late as pple want to go back earlier. As for attendance wise,it's very much depends on your guest. Of cos the risk is higher. There's one friend of mine who's wedding on a weekday. They have 1-2 table of guest who turn up at 9 plus. But if u take CPHS, which is much more convenient than many other venues, the turn out rate might be higher. That's my own opinion...

H penny, thanks for your feedback. I'm thinking of weekday coz the weekends I wanted are taken up. I'm considering holiday inn, m hotel and grand hyatt as well. But grand hyatt may be out coz they just raised their prices.So when's your AD? I haven't even tot about my gown yet... This venue searching is driving me nuts.

Hi little lamb, thanks for your feedback. I'm just worried that it'll be too much of a hassle to my helpers if the wedding is on a weekday but I dun have many days to choose from due to my work schedule. I guess I'll really have to follow up on the RSVP closely if I wanna plan it on a weekday.

I just spoken to Wendy, she said the new batch of wedding flavour still not finalised yet and instead they have brought in another new batch of wine chimes... I was hoping for them to change cos I don't think my guest will appreciate it. What do you think?

Nice to meet everyone here. I am new to this site. I will be having my banquet at ballroom in June 05 too. Hope that we can get to share the nice food and wedding flavour. The only outstanding things are getting photographer, renting of car and gown/suit on the AD. Any recommendation? I had taken my bridal shots in overseas.

Hi Teo,

Welcome to this thread. My photography, car and gown are from my BS. I'm also looking for AD photographer. Can share with you once I've more info...

LittleLamb, i had my wedding during weekday, attendance rate still very good. The guests arrived by 8.15pm and we started the dinner by 8.35pm. It all depends on your RSVP, of cos i also have 2-3 whom din turn up. Still open one reserve table tat day.
The only day abt weekday is the guests might go off earlier cos they have to work the next day.

sorry MIA for so long... had my PS done last wk. waiting to view my phots. going for my food tasting on 24 mar... then has to start printing the invitation cards... so any1 had their food tasting yet?

Hi SeeSee,

Long time never hear from u. How's your PS? Is it tiring and where did u go? Must show us the photos later okie?

My food tasting won't be so soon. So have u decided what menu to go for?

This thread is very quiet, got a feeling not many couple using Crown Hotel...

little lamb,
quite busy recently... i'll only collect my album in may
. will show u wen i get them...

hav already told wendy abt the menu... but might change aft food tasting... who know...

thread quiet? cos last time got the stupid transition period mah... now will start to pick up... haha...

i've book my HM with chan bro to New Zealand... someunhappy things happen, now not happy with chan bro)
kao_angry.gif
... anyway, where u going 4 ur HM???

keke i oso MIA liao... paisey... hmm.. yah seems the thread has been quite quite but thk lotsa of my surrounding frens cfm with Crown Hotel leh.. probably they too bz to post anythin on web..

wah seesee, gd choice for HM location... NZ is such a beautiful place...

Hi SeeSee,

I can't wait to go for my food tasting... heard so many good comments from the previous brides... Must update us on your food tasting later okie?

What happened with Chan Brothers? I've been to quite a few tour with them before. So far so good. Except for last year when I bought an tic from them and there's some mistake in the itinery they provided. I'm still seeking compensation from them. But actually it's not their fault, it's the system fault.

NZ is a nice place for honeymoon. I went last year with my HTB and his siblings. If u need any info can jus let me know, I'll try my best to recall.

Haven't plan for my honeymoon yet. Too many things to do... I'll be getting my house keys soon and I still have not selected my contractor... sigh... headache..

Hi penny,

How's your preparation?

i've sign up the 13 days guided tour pkg cieh chan bro on sunday's chan bro fair at suntec. then on tue, some1 called n said the staff make a mistake n quoted me the wrong price(which is 40% off the 2nd pax). now tat she's saying if i wan to go 13 days, i'll have to pay abt 6.2K in total plus taxes. if not i'll hav to go for the 11 days which is abt 5.1K including all taxes.
13 days tour include farm stay where 11 days doesnt... i happily thinking of the farmstay n now they say cannot... so sad... n angry lah... they didnt even apologise. wen ask her how could ur staff make such mistake. her reply was "I DON'T KNOW!". that make me very angry...
anyway, decided to go 11 days eventually... cos 13 days really too x. initially tot it's only 5.4K then ok now say has to pay 6K, so i not willing lor...

Hi SeeSee,

If I were u I oso will be v sad. Did u pay for any deposit for that? If there's receipt stating the package quoted, maybe can complain to NATAS. Anyway, it's their fault and they have to bear the responsibility.

Last time I also encountered a similar case with another agency. The agent gave me a discount when it's not supposed to be. They only found out after I've paid up fully and it's only few days before my trip. They threatened to cancel my trip if i refuse to pay them the discount. I was very mad and argued with them. Finally, we agreed to a half-half settlement. The guy who made the mistake have to pay for half the discount offered. Maybe u can try to talk to them again.

Hi Zen,

You can try calling Wendy at 67301503. She is a very girl. When is your AD?

hi little lamb,
i book through chan bro fair not the NATAS fair leh. anyway, tot just nvm lor. anyway HM mah. dont wanna spoil my mood. a frd used to wk in chan bro told me i can get the person who serve me to pay fthe diff. but i too kind hearted. so 4get it lor.

hi see see,

please share the food tasting sesssion with us. Mine will be in May and AD is June 05.

Actually, i was at Chan Bro fair looking for Europe trip too. they offered $4.3K/person for only 1st 10 paxs to Paris, Italy and London.the offer was still availiable but i didnt take up as it is too ex..i may plan to go for free and easy..

hi teo,

u sure ur's is in may? u got enuff time to print the cards n distribute them??? wen is ur AD mine also in june it's 11 june.

i initally took the 13 days NZ trip thinking they offering 1st pax at $2988(1st 10 pax mah) then 2nd at 40% off... didnt expect them to tell us they make a mistake... but any way, i've taken the 11 days instead now. flying off on 21 june

hi see see,

i will collect the invitation cards by this month and get them printed. then my plan is to distribute them in may and also food tasting. which printer company did you look for? how much is it? Thanks. my AD is 25th June.

hi teo,

i'm taking the printer company that my frds took earlier. they will collect n deliver it to ur door step. not very sure how much. but i guess not very ex. cos most of my HB's colleague used that company.

teo,

if u wan, i'll try to ask them the no. over the wkend. cos i'm going to make the call nxt wk aft my food tasting

hi see see,

yes, please give me their contact and the price if you know it..thanks..
pls share your food tasting experience..i may go for 9 courses (tasting) for 10person at $100...think that it is more worthy.

it is really lot of planning and details to be done before the actual day...photograhy, traditional things, sitting arrangement, menu, slide show, projector, Mcsees and honeymoon...

Hi SeeSee,

Can I have the contact of the printing co. also? Can I ask if the wedding favour still the same as the wine glass chime?

May I noe wats the latest pricing nw...anyone noes? There dun seem to be anything featuring the hotel. Only the resturant....

hi teo,
i'm also going to taste the 9 course at 100 nett for tbl of 10. but only 7 will turn up... haha.... anyway, cheap mah.

hi little lamb,
i'm gg t4 my food tasting only nxt wk, wil only b able to update u on the weddin favours nxt wk aft meeting up with wendy. sorry. will try to get the contact asap... been pretty busy recently. just went to choose my wedding photos.

hi suelynn,
i dont think there's any promo at the moment. if i'm not wrong it 768nett for wkends. not very sure for the wkdays.

I heard tt the wedding wine charms is going to last til either June or Jul. Hmm.. my cousin juz called up CP to enquire and now they are running a promo with Citibank & OCBC. Thk the promo gg to last till 31 Mar. Haiz its a pity i miss the promo liao.

thk citibank is $30 nett off/table for weekend & $50 nett off/table for weekday. OCBC for weekend is f/f beer & upgrade of food tasting for 8 persons for 9 courses for weekend and $40 nett off/table for weekday & upgrade of food tasting.

quite a gd deal rite?

I called up endy yesterday...she told me that the discount is not applicable to wedding dinners held in 2006....

i've just gone for my food tasting. overall happy with the food.

i've got crown prince deluxe combinations for 1st dish(intend to change the california maki rolls & the shark's fin omelette to something else),
then braised superior shark's fin soup with crabmeat & conpoy(they serve me somethin else... so cant really comment but should b nice.),
crispy roast chicken with prawn crackers(chicken quite dry),
sauteed king prawns(must reconsider cos it's diffcult for those ladies to peel the shells, might dirty their dress),
braised abalone with sea cucumber & mushroom(very salty other than tat it's ok),
steamed garoupa with light soy sauce(not much comment on this cos personally dont really like eating fish plus the previous dish is salty that makes me feel like drinking water rather than eating the fish lor),
sauteed scallops with asparagus in XO sauce(very nice, it's spicy),
seafood noodles &
double boiled snow fungus with lotous seed, red dates & lily bulbs(going to change to yam paste).

saw both the red n the ivory wedding card already. red looks much better. ivory is too plain.

hope this info is useful to u all.

Hi SeeSee,

Yum yum, glad to hear that the food is good. You must have enjoyed the meal and ate to your fullest. How's the portion of the food? Was thinking of bringing more than 10 pax cos my ppls don't eat a lot.

Didn't know we can change the dishes outside from the package menu. Do you know if we can change it even during food tasting?

hi little lamb,
i dont think u can change it on the day itself, u've to give them ample time to prepare mah. haha, i had 11 course intstead of 9. they make a mistake n gave us wrong shark fin so gave us the again (without the shark fin lah)to taste n gave us a free dessert as apologizing.

hi every1,

i've collected my cards(fm jasvy). their contact no is 62992263 look for Ivy as she's more friendly than Jason. my advise is not to spend too much on the cards. i spent only $100 nett for 200 copies on the printing.

Any idea when crown prince will hold their road show?

Me intend to hold my wedding on Mar'06 looking for wkend price.

Got their Pkg price but its $796 net/table.I find it expensive loh...

They say if i book this yr for next yr wedding, they offer a $30 discount.

I am looking for hotel wif nice embience & food.
Budget not more than $750 for 25 tables

Cheers,summer

i'm new to this thread, hope you dun mind. i'm meeting wendy next week to view the ballroom and discuss the pkg. can any of you let me know what can i ask from her apart from those stated in the pkg?

Hi pearl,

There's nothing much to ask from her. They seems to be very strict. If you can see all the previous brides from Crown Prince, they didn't managed to get anything extra but maybe you can try to exchange your items. Like for me, I exchanged my helper's room to a free upgrade of food tasting.

Understand this mth dun hv any wedding function CP as its 'qingming' festival. I hv went down to view the ballroom on 18th april'05. Actually quite big loh,they can open up all the 'removable'pillars, cocktail recpt area oso very big, noted that if u hv yr function there, the whole of 3rd floor will be yrs...oso jus that the projector rather small & its at the center..and gotta rent from them abt $350.

The lastest information: There will be a wedding dinner gg on 15/5/05 maybe can dropby see the whole set up.I be gg to see

Hope its help u

Brgds/Summer

fyi, wendy is leaving cp. think her last day is 4th june. has to call her colleague victor to arrange fot things now.

brides, i had my wedding at CP last dec, good comments on food and service. basically all went well, am happy with Wendy's service. She is very patient from starting till end. Mine is the weekday package with 9 courses.

Hi see see,

Oh sad to hear wendy is laeving CP.

She is very friendly and acommodative.
However, after viewing the new ballroom set up,my hubby dun like the pillars & projector screen so ended din choose CP.

*sob sob*

hi summer,

so sad to hear that. i'm not having any montage show, so no prob wif the screen n i've got only 25-26 tbls, so also no prob wif the pillars

hi little lamb,

i'm so thrilled... just went to collect my photots n tis sat will b my GDL. i stil figuring out how to upload the photos. u hav any ideas???

You can upload at yahoo. For me i did it at www.multiply.com. Must share your photos after you upload ohh...

I'm also sad to know Wendy is leaving, she was so nice and friendly. Have u decided colour theme for the dinner?