Park Hotel Orchard

oops.. [email protected]

my BS is at aljunied. it's Kowloon. the touched up for my albumn is done in taiwan tat's y i only collected my albumn aft 2 mths. can share wif me wen u got urs?

I had went for food tasting recently. The food is not bad.
1) Crown prince deluxe combinations for 1st dish(California Maki rolls to Ngoh Hiang)
2)Superior shark's fin soup with crabmeat & conpoy is excellent
3) Roast chicken with prawn crackers: good
4) Battered prawns(a bit too spicy),
5) Abalone with sea cucumber & mushroom is good
6) Garoupa with light soy sauce(good but slightly overcooked)
7) sauteed scallops with Honey peas in XO sauce(too oily) replaced with Scallops with Brocolli
8) Ee Fu Noodles (too hard) replaced with seafood noodles
9)Yam paste is good.

Hi See See,

How is preparation of your AD?

I will be meeting Victor next Saturday. Can you share the setup of the ballroom and the change of Shark fin Omelette to? I am thinking of changing the omelette too. thanks.

Hi Teo,

perpartion is almost done. now waiting for AD. nxt sat is my AD.
i've changed the sharkfin omelette to jelly fish(shark fin omelette doesnt look appealing). ur yam paste is yam paste with ginko nuts in sugar syrup & coconut milk??

hi See see,

Thanks for sharing.

mine is yam paste with ginko nuts with sugar syrup...how about the setup of your ballroom? I was told that they will use Rose now.

SeeSee / Teo, mine was yam paste with ginko nuts / coconut milk, i asked to add pumpkin too, taste very good.

Hi koori,
thanks for sharing...

Hi Teo,

This is my Menu for the dinner:
- Crown Prince Deluxe Combinations (BBQ Golden Coin Chicken, Seafood Roll, Roast Duck, Salad Prawns with Fruit Cocktail & Jelly Fish)
- Braised Superior Shark's Fin Soup with Crabmeat & Conpoy
- Crispy Roast Chicken with Prawn Crackers
- Sauteed King Prawns
- Braised Abalone with Sea Cucumber & Mushrooms
- Steamed Garoupa with Light Soy Sauce
- Sauteed Scallops with Asparagus in XO Sauce
- Seafood Noodles
- Yam Paste with Gingko Nuts in Sugar Syrup & Coconut Milk

Floral Arrangement
- Scatter rose petals on VIP, reception and cocktail table
- table color for cocktail table: Ivory table cloth with pink gerberas in small bowls as centerpieces
- reception table: long centerpiece with pink roses
- corridor: pink organza
- floral stand: pink roses
- guest table centerpiece: pink gereberas with tealight candles in blue bowls
- VIP table cloth and centerpiece: gold table cloth with gold seat ribbons with pink roses for VIP table centerpiece

you should b able to see these arrangement on the coming sat...

just suggesting, mayb can ask them to turn the light brighter as some of my photos didn't turn out well(using my camera asking frds to take few snaps). Hopefully the photos taken by my photographer is ok.

Hi See See,

Thanks for sharing. Dont worry about the photograhs taken as they can do some digital correction. It will be my AD soon.

hi teo,
hope everything turns out wwell for u... just a point for you to take note. if u r not using the original CDs, then choose some songs fm the hotel for back-up in case their player cannot read ur CDR. cos that happen to mine, luckily already got back-up songs fm the hotel. so dont need last min then choose the songs...

hi seesee,

thanks for your advice. i think that i will use the hotel's songs throughout the function. the only music that i will play will be during the slide show just before 1st march in.

are there any latecomings due to Sat's traffic? I am a bit worried that some of my guests will be caught in jam or parking issues on Sat.

lastly, how did your co ordinator give you the extra 7.3litres of beer as there is no 30L of Carlsberg? Thanks.

i tried using CDR can, but CDRW cant, hahaha tik their machine is quite outdated. However, if u are using a CDR, always pass to them to test out few days before your AD, still can make arrangements if their player cant play.

Hi little lamb,
thanks... just came back fm my HM... everything turns out well except that 1 table of ppl didnt turn up n i've reched my minimum no of tbls. so food was distributed to other tbl. actually no time to think of anything. just follow the things n move on(that's how i feel on tat day)...

Hi Teo,
u can hav ur songs but just take some back up plans or mayb like wat koori said, pass the CDR to them a few days b4 lor. my dinner started at 8.20-8.30... cos i've got cocktail recep. so most guest came quite early. didnt really check on tat cos i get to know tat pretty late. so didnt tot of it. just know tat we've used up our free barrel of beer n open up another 2+ litres of beer. cant finish... wasted... so hav u checked with them??? them giving u or???

Hi SeeSee,

How's your HM? Any photos to share for your HM and AD? Any comments on their food and service? Now trying to plan for the colour theme. Are there a lot of choices? Btw, what was your wedding favour?

Crown people did a wonderful job for my dinner kudos to my co-ord Victor! The set up was very nice and romantic!! We recvd alot of compliments on the food and service... I had a nice time planning with them. They were very professional and helpful too..

They have currently made a few changes/improvement on their deco which is very sweet esp the aisle walk way deco, my girlfriends liked it. They also changed the walkway into the ballroom deco to add in nice organza with crystal-like ornaments. The gift also nice nice -elegant mini-photoframe!!

Hi poochi,

Congrats for your wedding! When was your AD... never see u in this thread before...

Glad u have a happy dinner. You have any photos to share? I'll be having mine in end Oct.

little lamb thks! My AD was last Sunday.. Not active in this thread cos it was not very active too. Hee hee

My phtotos of the dinner not out yet le.. U can find me at the Zweddings thread.

Ok have a fun time planning your Big Day!!

Hi poochi77,

I think u've visited my multiply website before. No wonder your nic sound so familiar to me... hehe..

So glad to hear some assurance here that dinner at Crown is good. Previously when we had our food tasting, we didn't find the food good. Really hope their food live up to it's reputation. What was your menu like and what colour theme did u choose?

O I did?? Hee hee cant remember liao...
My Menu is weekend 9 course:
1) Crown Prince Deluxe Combinations(i.e. Top shell, California Maki Rolls, Spring Rolls, Salad Prawns with Fruit Cocktail & Shark’s Fin Omelette)

2)Braised Superior Shark’s Fin Soup with Crabmeat & Conpoy

3)Roasted Pipa Duck

4)Sautéed Prawns with Cashew Nut

5)Braised Abalone with Sea Cucumber & Mushrooms

6)Sauteed Scallops with Honey Peas in XO Sauce

7)Steamed Garoupa with Superior Soya Sauce

8)Braised Ee-Fu Noodles with Crabmeat and Conpoy

9) Double Boiled Snow Fungus with Lotus Seeds, Red Dates & Lily Bulbs

I also had Muslim and veg - my guest said the muslim was nice also.

Wa your AD in Oct and you already fini food tasting- dats fast!! How come not nice the food le mayb you chose diff dishes?? During our food tasting my sis-in-law says even nicer than some the 5star Hotel...

My color theme quite std throughout was Shades of Red & Pink
I used pink Eustomas- very elegant, Pink gerberas for the cocktail table, light pink organza for the corridor and backdrop . Red Colour for VIP tables and Ivory for cocktail tables. (Think gold look abit not Chinese.)

hi poochi77, so ur wedding muz hv turn out gd rite...me planning to hold it there too, my AD is planned on 1st Oct 2006, but me still sourcing ard...btw, if u dun mind, can u send me ur wedding photo on the ballroom decor. thks
also, is the muslim and veg food more ex?

little lamb, is ur food the same as poochi77?

vankel, it is at the ballroom, coz the last time when i went to see the co-ordinator she show me to the ballroom...low ceiling but long march in lor...

Hi diana,

My dishes are almost the same as poochi. It was not nice cos the seafood we ate are not fresh. They promised such things will not happen on my wedding so keeping my fingers cross.

Hi poochi,

Yah, I also wan to take a look at your AD photos when it's ready. Thanks.

little lamb, really the seafood nt fresh....make sure they keep their promise...and if it still turn out nt fresh on ur AD, make sure they compensate...but i seriuosly tink tat wont happen coz they wont want to tarnish their reputation mah....

;-)

hi little lamb and poochi, if u dun mind, can i noe wat are the perks / package that crown hotel offer to u? can email to me so i will noe wat i can negotiate for? also, did u order veg/muslim/india food, if so, how much? Thks a million!

Hi Diana,

There's really not much to negotiate. Seems they very inflexible with the perks. So far I only managed to ask for slightly more wedding cards, carparks and waiver of a few bottles of wine corkage.

thks little lamb...really huh....btw who is ur co-ordinator? we meet a lady tink a taiwanese lade the last time and the way she present to us is tat tings can be negotiate leh....if nt, then i may hv to look ard again....haiz...

Currently is Victor. Last time there's 2 lady who served me but they all left. Have not really talk to Victor yet, but u can try.

Pertaining to the march in, understand that the ballroom one side of the partition is block(cant see the door). Any ideas to share on this issue? Is it awkward for those guests cant see?

thks little lamb

blizz, really? which part? did nt really noticed tat time when i went down to view the ballroom...will check on this if i do go down another time...

OH is at the left side when u enter...when will u be going down again?

By the way, did they waive off your corkage charge?

blizz, me yet to call them to fix appt...remember the last time they say no prob in waiving but they will only neg. when we are gng to confirm them lor...

Hi Diana,hv u tentatively block your date with them? Me have but now quite confused as whether to take up their package.

Hi Little Lamb, i agreed to what you have mentioned, not must perk given...did they give u 1 or 2 night accomodation?

Hi folks u can visit my site at http://poochi77.multiply.com. Yea I had a good turnout and started by 815pm on a Sunday nite.

My package was a very good catch(i think). It was weekday price for weekend package so I didnt really ask for other perks. No corkage charge for us -the liqour and wines (but have to get wines fr their vendor but currently they have ended this contract)but I did not have free flow beer only 1 free 30L. But for us dat was enuff cos we had lots of wine. So it all depends on the promo they having and ur luck... Per table was ard $700

Muslim / Veg food ard $55+++ per person I actually asked them for the menu and pricing.

As for the carpark / cards etc ok to ask for more if its reasonable and when the time is nearer...For no of nites if u dont need helpers rm mayb can try ask for 1 more nite? Mine came with helpers rm and I asked for extded time till 7pm for them.
Also if u the type who will drink and make merry can ask for brunch cos me and my husband totally skipped breakfast cos of hangover... I did suggest to Victor in my feedback.. hee : )

Diana: I had mine on a weekend but paid weekday rates; it was a hotel promotion that Crown was having I didnt neg for it.
When is ur wedding day? Hotels will normally offer u the normal package but will have occasional promotions either tie-in with bridal shows or even credit cards so u need to keep a look out I guess.
In fact I chance upon the Crown promo on this site.. so if u still got quite a while till ur wedding date u shld scout ard for these promos... but dats if u want to wait & see.

Hi poochi,

Saw your AD photos. heehee... You and HB got sabo jialuk jialuk. Looks like you enjoyed very much during the dinner. You got a very nice EG, like the colour and it looks very nice on you
. What do you mean by brunch? You mean you woke up late and miss their breakfast? What time their breakfast ended? How many tables did u have, and the 30L of beer was sufficient?