Park Hotel Orchard

Hi to anyone who is thinking of booking Crown price for their wedding dinner

I have my wedding dinner there around Christmas 2001 and I have a few advice to give.I was told the food was not bad and I confidently booked with them and I regreted. The food on my wedding dinner was a disappointment. In fact during my food tasting I have noticed that the food is too salty and I told Lilia to remind the chef not to cook too salty on my actual day. unfortunately they did not make any improvements on that day.
My colleagus told me that out of the 9 courses only the fish is aceeptable and the rest just taste too salty.

If you are particular about the decor, you will definately be disapointed asbasically besides the floral stand, the champange table and the cake there is NO decor at all. No names on the stage,no backdrop (accept a peice of brown cloth) no ice carving. It was written on the contact that every table should have a "creative centerpiece" and it turns out to be a single stalk of rose.

The co-ordination was also poor. the co-ordinator only give our briefing at around 5.30pm. When we had finish our briefing its almost 6pm. There is no time for us to do our reheresal. our Guest start arriving at 6.30pm and guess what they are still in the banquet room giving briefing to the waiter & waitress. It was only after we remind they that we need someone to serve the drinks to our guest that she let 2 waiter go out to the foyer to serve the drinks while they continue to have their briefing.

Hope the above comments are useful to you

Hi PC,

I am suprise with the experience that you have with Crown Prince.

Regarding the wedding decor, i guess it has been mentioned in the banquet package that there is no ice craving, and names signage on the stage. Is it not mentioned in urs?

Personally, i have spoken to the banquet executives and i thought that their service was very good. The contract was very detailed and they were very flexible.

I have booked my wedding with Crown Prince too. Mine will be in Jan 03. Cathy is my co-ordinator. I felt that their service is good. Woodstock and Star, r u holding your wedding there as well? When?

Have you all heard any comments, good or bad about the place so that I can take note?

I must admit that the decor there is slightly plain and if you really want to decorate the place, you may have to fork out extra to decorate the place. They have a florist to recommend and I have spoken to her. She is a very nice lady too. As it is still early b4 the wedding date, the finer details of the decor will be discussed later.

Hi woodstock & dumpling,

I have booked my wedding package with Crown Prince in Sep'03 (but only a tentative date cos i am still waiting for the tong(1) shu(1).) Any idea when it will be released?

So far, have not heard any adverse comments about the hotel. In fact i was very please with my co-ordinator Kris service that i think she was partly the reason why i book my package there.

I was told by my geomancer that the tong shu will be out in June. But not quite sure. Some say it will be out after Chinese 7th mth.

Yah, Kris is a very nice lady. At first I wanted to book it for Dec '02 which Kris will be in charge of that month. But later changed it to Jan '03 instead. So Cathy is in charge that month.

How much are they charging you per table? Is there any price increase due to the 5% GST? R u using the WeddingFair.com member promotion, 10% disc? What frills are they giving you?

hi dumpling!

the Her World promo is only applicable till Mar'03 so i did't book it at the discounted price.
But the hotel has locked in the 2002 price for my wedding in Sep'03.
I manage to ask for an additional barrel of beer and extra pcs of packing coupons.
What about you? Any extra freebies thrown in for our package?

Oh, so you are paying $728 for weekends? Any idea how much it is for Year '03?

Well, didn't manage to squeeze much things from Cathy as I was taking the discount promo. I changed the anniversary night stay to another barrel of 20l beer.

I thot parking coupons was like quite fixed. Didn't know that they can actually give out more. So how many did Kris give you?

So have you confirmed your wedding date oready?

Hi Star

Just wish to check with you on your wedding package for Sep'03.

You actually paid $728 for the weekend wedding package and get an additional barrel of beer, extra parking coupons without exchanging anything (like exchanging the anniversary night stay) for the above freebies from Kris?

'cos Cathy do not allow us to do that unless we exchange the anniversary night stay for the extra barrel of beer.

Hi gals...

I feel like signing with crown prince... due to it can hold min 25 tables, location and also the
promotion they are having now.
The promotion end today!! so i got to make the
decision today!!! Do you have any advise???
The table cost $728 nett for 9 course dish, 20litres of beer and 10 bottles of red wine, free cockage for hard liq., all chair covers, 80% confirm guest wedding cards, only 25 tickets of parking, free use of deluxe room for co-ordinators(friends) form 2pm-6pm, 1 night stay in bridal suite with american breakfast, food tasting for 6 person for 6 dishes(but can choose to add $150 for 10 person and 9dishes)

But under promotion :

$1,000 off the total bill... that makes each table
$688 nett if based on 25 tables
Free cockage for red wine
Additional night stay at bridal suite with breakfast
Complimentary room service pre-dinner snacks prior
to the Wedding Banquet.

My hubby and i think of trading off 10 bottles of
red wine and deluxe usage from 2pm to 6pm for
another 20 litres of beer... since the corkaged for red wine during promotion is free.
Please help me to think anyother thing can be neg??
Really need some advide... hope u gals can help me......

hi,I think its quite worth it, actually I am also a crown prince bride, i booked through the show, i dun think u can ask them to change the room for the beer, but can try lor...
actually depends on your budget n wheather u liked the place or not..

hi burydoey..

When is your wedding date? How many tables u having?

So wat extra perks you ask from them?

How was the bridal show? I missed it... so hope you can update me...

I booked on weekdays so its different perks,
same i got waiver corkage for wine,n 10 free bottles of wine, n $1800 angbao for booking on that day, and i booked 25tables.freeflow of beer.I couldnt able to ask for other perks..i tried to ask for the beer extra cause that day i couldnt confirm i am taking a weekend rate or weekday but she wouldnt allow..
i think the only difference is the angbao off the total bill, the rest is the same..n we confirm liao can get lucky draw for a trip to paris..

Hi Blurydoey

I have already confirm with crown prince too.

So which wedding cards u intend to choose?

I feel that both design are not nice....

i m also a crown prince bride...also find both designs for wedding invitation cards are not nice at all...not sure if i want to get my own cards...

Hello hi,

When is your wedding? ya lor... if can find more people to share the card it might be cheaper huh..

Or u have any idea they might be changing the design next yr?

hey micky,

mine is end of next year...how abt yours? i only heard from the banquet sales personnel that they are going to change the memento for the guests (they are still trying to come out with something new)...but never hear them mentioned anything about the cards.

i have seen those invitation cards from other hotels...and it's so cool...unlike what crown prince offers...the design is too simple and does not look at all elegant.

hello... hi,

Mine is also end of next yr
mine is on 07 dec. yours?

Ya heard them saying changing the memento but not the cards...

I got a few samples from other hotels too, they look so sweet and nice...

Crown prince one look more like a christmas card and the traditional one so "old" design...

If want to print our own wedding cards, how much will that cost?

I find the red one rather traditional lor, cause I dun find that its neccessary to print n buy cards,as normally pple wont keep the cards.
yup I also heard they are changing the momento to a few other choices, I think I heard is chopsticks.
oh btw, I think i am the earliest liao, me getting married on 17.9.03

hello hi and blurydoey..

Actually i was thinking if we really find the white ones a bit plain. We can actually buy those small "xi" chinese wording stickers and paste one on the card at the opening there... think this will look better... any other suggestions?

Or just do with it lor... anyway i think blurydoey is right... no one will actually keep them...

i have not checked out the cost of wedding cards but like what blurydoey mentioned, it's might not be neccessary cos people usually throw it away.
...will think abt it first.

oh...they have chosen chopsticks...that would be great
in fact, i have feedback this to the banquet sales bcos i saw that at marriott and it looks really nice...different from the usual chocolates or mini fruit cake. :P

hi pooh,
u also cp bride..welcome...
they have reference to do the cards printing, i am thinking of getting cheaper ones...dun really know where to source yet..u gals start to source already?

I have not look out for any yet... but read for other forum that "hi-tech" at AMK seems not bad. Maybe u can look into it...

But can we update our searching there? So that we can compare the prices

Lets discuss abt the wedding theme, shall we? Actually, I prefer last year set-up (not sure if you gals notice the poster where they put up in the lift...that is the one). I find that it looks quite classy.

I have seen the set-up for this year (will be used for next year as well) but find it a bit plain...wondering if we can improve on it or request for a certain theme. Any opinion on this?

As for printing, i happened to see one with precious moment pictures printed on it and it looks really sweet...maybe we can also consider that since ours look quite 'sub-standard'.

Hello hi..

You mean next yr theme will be a bit plain?

Do you have the pictures on that? Hmmmyou mean we can suggest to change the theme we like?

my wedding is on the 30/10, yeah saw those cards but seems like we have no choice. Dun think they are changing the designs even next year.

Guess the printing charges are quite standard. heard from CP rep saying that estimating @ $0.40 per pcs & $100 for the block.

halow hi & micky_m,

The picture on the lift? Well it does look classy but according to them the chair covers are ugly. becoz there is a black band going cross the chair. I didnt see it myself but I believe they are improving for the better.

The momento for guest, they are in the mist of discussion as well, but i doubt it will be chopstick becoz some couples wont like it or I shd say "parents" dun like it. Hope that they can give better gifts then!

Oh yes, they are also changing the florist too, so perhaps we can tell them what kind of flowers theme we like so they can match it for us.

Let's hope for the best next year, u guys wanted to have any decor on stage? Seems like it is a bit too plain.

hello micky,

i went to a few other hotels and they have the option to choose from a few wedding themes...but if i remember correctly, cathy mentioned that crown prince only offers 1 theme...they just changed it recently and will be used for next year.

In fact, if you are interested, you can actually check with the banquet staff on the next wedding day...go down at around 6.15pm - 6.30pm to take a look...I have seen an 'oriental' type of set-up too. Heard from the banquet people that it was requested by the couple. (in that case, i think we can still request for changes but need to give advance notice)

Hi Poon,

I agree, the stage looks a bit plain too...shall we ask them to do something about it? Yeah, I think it's better to include some decor...but what kind of decorations is another question mark here.

By the way, do you gals intend to put up any slide shows? I think the hotel is charging $350.00 for the rental.

hello hi,

how was the "oriental" set up like?

Hello Poon,

Ya that is the extra cost if you going to have the slide show... but hear Kris said that they might be buying one unit next yr...so we might able to use it... but still got to source for any other rental that is cheaper...
Anyone got lobang?

Yeah Kris told me that too that they might be getting a unit, but I think so far they charged the least. I got a quote for $450.

But if you guys managed to get from office I think it shd be okie (*unfortunately my office dun have!)

BTW, how many tables are you are holding? if it is alot then perhaps u might need 2 projectors!

Hey Hi,
What kind of decor do u think they would do it for us? I heard that there is a backdrop on stage, perhaps the stage is rather small & that's why they are not putting any decor there. what say u?

Hi, Pooh...

I will be holding 25 tables only so far..
my company also dun have one

So must think if we really want the projector or not.

Halow mickey_m,

Well i would suggest u to wait. Perhaps they could get one next year then we save up a lot of unnecessary headache now, right? Anyway yours would be in Dec 2003 so still have time to wait.

Can check with Hi if she got a projector during her wedding and myself too then u dun have to worry liao!

Hey 25 tables are juz nice no blockage, so tat everyone can see u clearly, for mine shd kanna block one!

Hi pooh,

How many tables you having?

Ya lor that's wat my hubby told me too... he say i too kiasu liao...

But i think this is woman... we tends to think of a lot of things.

Hilo Mickey_m ..

hehehe yeah I agree that u worry too much! Worst to the worst ask from your frens who has it in their office then borrow lor

For us, we wanted 25 tables but our parents increase till 43, so I think we shall stay @ ard 40 ~43 tables lor!
no choice!

So u choosing the "chinese" card or "Ang mo" ones? Have you cfm your bridal?

Hi, what abt u? have u cfm your bridal?

Hi Pooh...

Wao... your parents increase to so much tables huh...

Think i will choose a mixture. Red ones for relatives and white ones for fren. yourself?

Yes... my bridal is thomson wedding design... wat abt yours?

Hello ladies,

Busy day at work today...no time to visit the forum.

I think mine should be around 38 to 40 tables....probably the corner tables will be blocked by the pillars...

As for the cards, i think I will choose both types also...red ones for relatives and white ones for friends...seems like our preferences are more or less abt the same...hehee...

For bridal...I have signed a package with Superstar Bridal and for actual day, it is either Andrew Choi or Nick Goh...have not decided yet. Hw abt the 2 of you?

Shall we chat out of this forum?? Maybe u would like to drop me a mail at [email protected]

Sure if u guys wished to drop me an email @ [email protected]

For me, I would take the red card becoz i feel that the white card are rather plain, which makes no significants to the wedding theme.

I have booked with White Link for my gowwn and for the actual day hmm .. no idea yet so far! U guys intend to have web pages for yourself on the wedding?

Mickey_m, what's your email?

Hi Pooh,

I have dropped you a mail at your yahoo mail.

Micky, look forward to hear from you too.

hi mickey,

I have wrote to you too.

hi blurydoey,

hello, hope you could join in as well...

hi gals ..

Looks like our "email group" is growing .. anyone who see this threat and wish to join us .. welcome .. hahaha

Enjoy !

Had shortlisted crown prince as one of the hotels for my dinner...in fact had made a tentative booking in Dec 2003 but still haven confirm.. typical singaporean KS lah..
...still got a couple of questions, dunno if you gals out there can help??

Went down to take a look at the ballroom setup...find them elegant and cozy..not bad...but just wondering if the projector screen is abit small..saw it at a corner of the room, think the guests at the back may have difficulty in seeing??? am thinking of around 28-30 tables, will it be crampy? or pillars blocking??...the setup i saw is for 25 tables, not sure about 30...how about the bridal suite? heard that CP does not have a wedding suite, they used normal executive suite for it...wondering whether it will be small??

sorry ah...alot of questions...kekeke

Newly joined in to this forum. Hey, I'm a 2003 Nov bride and hv signed up wif Crown Prince as my banquet.

Hi meww...

I think CP its ok for 28-30 tables...
The bridal suite not bad... not very small..as for projector didnt take note abt that...
so wat is your tentative date?

Hi Meww,

As for the projector if u can have 2 projectors they have 2 screen to assist you. One infront & 1 at the side. Tables of 30 shd be juz nice shdnt have any blockage. I went in to their suite room, seem alright leh. We juz have a good comment on their food taste.