Park Hotel Orchard

meww

this thread abit quiet yah?......heard that CP is in the midst some changes to the wedding setup...like seatcovers...centre pieces....flower arrangements....anybody had the latest updates?....understand that you can also choose the flowers you like and the hotel can try to match the colour theme....managed only to see a couple using champagne roses...anybody tried out other flowers like red roses? tulips?...

shirley

Harlow all,

I'm thinking of holding my dinner at Crown Prince in Dec 2003 too. My FH is quite determined to hold our wedding there 'cos he loves the place after attending one wedding there. But seems that there are quite a lot of people not very pleased with the service there..should I or should I not??

micky

Hi Shirley

I am also a dec 2003 bride at CP, so far the service provided is not bad.
CP as a whole is not bad, location is one of its plus point.

shirley

Hi Micky,

Thank you for your response. Most probably we will go ahead with the place unless they charge us extremely high prices. But I will only be going to book the place in jan 2003, after my brother in law's wedding. Hope it's not too late. How much is your package and how much did you pay for it, if you dun mind sharing?

annmelody

me new in this thread and wondering if Crown Prince's banquet's food is as good as their restaurant? Anyone have any comments on thseir food and which are the dishes that is better?

tulip

Hi annmelody,

me have not tried CP food before...oni from hearsay found out that the food is good...my fren attended a wedding there and told me the food is tasty...Have u tried the restaurant food before? good??? thinking of going to the restaurant and tried out the food...

Hi shirley,

U may want to call up the coordinator to check out the dates first and make a tentative booking...alot of weekend dates in Nov and Dec were taken up already, esp the supposedly auspicious ones.....:p

annmelody

Hi Tulip,

The food at their Long Jiang Restaurant is good and tasty...went there for my ROM lunch.

but not very sure of the service that day and food wise...hope that it's as good as the restaurant's.

shirley

Hi tulip,

Thank you for yuor advice, will definitely do that
Don't want to make a wasted trip either.

dot

anyone can advise me when is the price range for Crown prince for weekday & weekend ?

thxs

ohaiyo

Dot,
I think their promotion just ended but u may wish to call them up to see if u can still make it on time. Normal rate would be^$628 nett on weekday and $728 nett on weekend.

dot

hi ohaiyo

thanks for the info. Wat promotion were they having? 1 free table for every 10?

Dot

ohaiyo

Hullo dot,

If I'm not wrong, the weekday 8 course is priced at $588...normally they dun hv 8 course in their usual menu. Then 9 course weekday and weekend was given some discount plus free flow of beer...something like tat...can't really rem. But they do extend a while more on their promotion. That's how i signed up wif them after their promotional period but yet still entitled to their perks.

dot

ohaiyo..

Not badd huh? after the promotional period, theey still extend the perks to you... honest bussiness ppl.. i like tt!!

Thks alot for yr info.. shall check out their Ballrm...

Dot

yan

I am planning to have my wedding dinner at Crown Prince. Anyone has tried the free food tasting? Howz the food? How many nites stay at the bridal suite?

mewz

Hi Yan,

Have yet to try the food tasting yet...so cant commend but my fren went for the wedding dinner and commented the food is tasty....the pkg gives 1 nite free stay....there is also a day use room for your helpers...but i converted that into an anniversary nite stay....cos dun think need the day room lor...hope that helps ...:p

yan

Hi Mewz

Tks for the info. The package offered by CP seems gd but one thing is that they do charge corkage for wine. The package has 10 free bottles of wine. Do you intend to offer wine?

mewz

Hi Yan,

I was oni thinking of offering red wine........i did ask for waiver of corkage charges for some additional red wine....that's about all...cos dun think would serve hard liquor or wine...think beer is enuff....

U should go speak to the coordinator ...mine is Kris Wong...a very nice and helpful lady...maybe is better u check directly with her....

mrs

Hi Girls!

I'm also a cp bride. My wedding dinner is on 8 Dec, a Monday. I'm taking their weekday 9 course package. However, I may upgrade some of the ingredients and cut down to 8 course dinner at no extra cost.

For those of you considering CP, please note that they have rather limited parking lots and therefore unable to give 20% complimentary parking.

I managed to get waiver for all wine and hard liquor brought in, personalised service for each table (1 waiter to 1 table), 12 bottles of complimentary wine (instead of 10) and food tasting for all dishes (instead of 6 dishes) for 6 paxs. All these were exchanged with my free flow beer which is now limited to 50 litres (serves 150 glasses; 4 glasses each for 37 pax).

They also throw in a dining voucher for 8 paxs at Long Jiang for the wedding helpers. On top of that I get an 8% discount on each table booked. So all in all, I'll pay about $578 nett for each table.

For things like guest books and some other small items, I may trade in those at a later stage for other stuff if I do not need it.

jing

Hi Padme,

I m still contemplating whether to sign up Crown Prince..
Looking at yr msg, You mean I can try to negotiate to get waiver of all wine and hard liquor brought in, and have 1 waiter to 1 table and extra bottles of complimentary wine and food tasting for all dishes??
And somemore for gree dining voucher? and discount??
wow, can tell me how you bargain??
pls assist..

The price you paid for S$578 is for how many course??

you may want to email me at [email protected]

angrybride

I am going to file a complain to the management. How can they be so inconsistent in the pricing? I am charged around $700 for a dinner held on Sunday and no much benefits throw in either!! Moreover, I have about 42 tables.

mrs

Jing Jing: Basically, I signed up with them during a promotion and at the same time be a real thick-skin when it comes to negotiation.

I traded in my Free Flow Beer and for the waiver of corkage for wine and hard liquor (for 36 bottles in all)cos all I reckon most of my friends are wine drinkers, and 1 waiter to 1 table (Usual is 2 waiters to 3 tables). All those freeebies comes in because of the limited period promotion. I guess it helps as well when my company use them for functions too.

One thing to note though -I'm running a risk of limiting my beer to 50Litres. If the consumption exceeds, I'll have to pay $620 to buy another 30 Litres.

Angrybride: Just to hilight to you some points before you lodge a complaint.

1) I got mine package during a limited promotion.

2) From my experience in dealing with hotels (I work as a coordinator for dinners and conferences), I would say that $700/table for weekends (Fri-Sun) is quite reasonable cos the dates are 'hotter'. Usually, the mark up price is about $100-$150 difference between the weekday and weekend package.

3) Most Hotels can't throw in free flow of beer for weekend package because many guests would take advantage of 'no work tomorrow, so drink more' reason. Hotels will tend to lose money if they give free flow.

4) Generally, it is also harder for hotels to sell their ballrooms on weekdays and so they tend to be more generous in their perks for the weekdays' package. They are even more generous if your event is held on their off peak or low season period.

If you both of you wish to talk more about the package, can email me your contact number. Perhaps I can help you out. From my experience in dealing with hotels, it'll be easier negotiation is done amically instead of lodging complaints. Just my 2 cents worth.

ohaiyo

Never know that CP can be so flexible until tat extent. When I was bargaining wif them, every answer is a 'No' and I really have a hard time before I can bargain a bit more, and it's really a bit more only but Mrs Quake, u really hv a good deal. I find that they shouldn't react in this way. If it's a definite No, then they shld honour it. How could they turn ard and say Yes, this is really ridiculous. BTW mine is oso on a weekday. I feel there is no work ethics. Think I will oso lodge a complaint on this.

mrs

Hi Ohaiyo: Like I explained earlier, all the negotiations requires certain give and take. If I'm not wrong, you previous post stated that you booked after the promotion period and yet they gave the promotional perks to you. I guess the hotel has already given in already - by giving you the promotional perks after the promotion period.

red packets

I am going to attend an ex-schoolmate wedding next month. At first, I was thinking how much should I give for ang-bow. From what I know, hotels along orchard are more expensive and I feel the reasonable rates should be somewhere around $80-$100 (based on 4*/5*)for the couple to breakeven. I thought so for Crown Prince and I am really surprised that the banquet is just around restaurant rates for Mon to Thu wedding dinner. That's really cheap! My friend wedding happened to fall on a weekday too, can I say that an ang-bow of about $50-$60 would be enough?

pooh

Hi Red Packet,

the ang bao thingee really depends on your friendship between u & ur frens. of coz locations are impt too! Some couples they get $628 for weekday package, so juz judging at this I feel that it is not enuff lor.

But again it depends on your level of friendship .. like my fren's wedding, my hubby & I went to the banquet and we gave $200 as our ang bao to them so it is all up to u ..

Hope my comments able to help u in deciding your ang bao thingee ..

Cheees ,,

Pooh

jj

Hi red packets,
agreed with pooh,not all the weekdays package has such good offers as mrs Quak. It depends on the time n bargaining power for the banquet booked.
I personally feel that the norm for the ang pao for hotel is $60-80 for breakeven for the couple.
So it all depends on your friendship with the couple.

pooh

Hi JJ,

ermm i dun think $60 can breakeven becoz we are only talking abt the banquet cost, have anyone tot of the beer and liquor costing? so seriously if we are talking abt $60 to breakeven .. I doubt.

Most imptly your friendship with the couple.

wp

I’m new to this thread.

I’ve also signed up with CP for the $628 weekday package. Wedding in Dec 03.
Looks like I’m one of those who got the short end of the deal by not knowing that the offer package can be extended.
Just wondering if anybody manage to negotiate for a better deal after reading padme’s message?

Padme, I’m interested in knowing how to get a better deal even though I’ve signed the package as I’m really bad at negotiating. Really appreciate any advice you can give.
You can email me at [email protected]

carol

Recently, anyone went to CP for their wedding dinner??? Could you all advise me on their service & food?? Thanks.

tingting

just to give my 2 cents' worth.

I had seriously considered signing up with CP, and almost signed on the dot. However, maybe bcos my date is rather popular (a Dec weekend), so not long after i enquired about the package, other couples are also enquiring about the date. The original package had free flow beer, and we wanted to exchange it for waiver of wine corkage. However, the hotel only allowed us to have a 30L beer with waiver of wine corkage for 15 bottles (or thereabout). We felt that it was a raw deal cos the value of beer we're giving up is much more than the waiver we got. And they refused to budge further. We thought the hotel was not very accommodating and therefore did not sign up.

All said, the coordinator who attended to us was rather friendly and helpful. Maybe her hands were tied. The food is supposed to be very nice, from the restaurant Long Jiang. Not sure about their service standard, but Padme is indeed lucky to get a 1-1 waiter ratio.

help

Hi folks, I am considering of signing up with CP. There is actually two restaurants, the chinese and the english ballroom. Which one did you all take? Pls advice.

help

But there are no english restaurant around. I went there to scout around. There was also the one at the first floor near the receptionist. It is a sichuan restaurant.

I went to third floor. No restaurant. But got one locked ballroom. Pls advice me cos I am seriously thinking of the ballroom.

Thanks so much carol. I thot no one will reply the emails cos it has been so long since people have entered here to reply emails. You have brighten up my day indeed!

help

The sichuan restaurant is at second floor sorrie. It is a sichuan restaurant.

How the ambience over there? Is it grand and impressive? Pls advice me.

pooh

Hi Help,

The ballroom of CP is okie why not u try to make an appt with them so that they can show u the wedding setup when they are holding a wedding dinner from there you would be able to see it better and decide if u like the place.

Well the resturant is a little too small unless u r having a small crowd. Food there not bad too.

Hope that the above helps!

Have a great weekend.

thedog

the ballroom food is being catered by the restaurant also. Same cook. If the ballroom also have wedding that day, the restaurant one will have the assistant cook doing the banquet instead. Last time i did see both the restaurant and ballroom setup. They are using the same theme/cutlery except that the restaurant march-in is very short and not much deco/flower. In term of ambience, would feel that ballroom is more romantic and grand. For the restaurant, it is like pretty much walking into a restaurant for dinner feeling. Last time when i visit them, they advise me to take restaurant if less than 20 tables and the restaurant will be cheaper :p

ng wan nah

anyone booked a wedding package with CP NOV 2004? I am thinking and also need pricing as well as other info. Can anyone help? Thanks!

destitonia

Dear ladies,

Can I get your advice on the banquet coordinators? How is Kris and how is Cathy? And between the two of them, who is better, if you are able to compare..Thanks for the advice..

mrs

Go for Kris. She's definitely good. But do give them sometime if they don't get back to you as fast cos they are overseeing all events in the hotel.

destitonia

Hi Mrs Quake,
I believed by so saying, you have actually worked with Kris before? I was hoping someone could provide me with a comparison between the two of them..

Thanks once again..

mrs

Yes, I'm working with Kris for my dinner this year. She's a very polite and patient young lady; concern about her couples too. I've not worked with Cathy before. Why don't you talk to both of them and see which you prefer as your coordinator. Chemistry must be there.

redbean

Hi ,

I'm working with Cathy...she's quite okie. BTW my package is 728 less think 5%? for weekday package as i upgraded the dishes to the weekend ones....

Just wondering if any of you got the waiver for corkage for wine? mine only got free corkage for 10 bottles.... but have free flow of wine.

now I'm worried after reading one of the comment saying she would give a red packet of between $50-60!!!! If everyone thinks the same as her, then i sure make great losses as mine after corkage and wine would come about $700 a table!

confuse

what the diff bet using the ballroom and the resturant? Are the pricing different? I am interested with package, but I dunno whether it applies to ballroom or resturant. As for the freebies, I am okay abt them. Thanks for any incoming info!

pooh

ermm sorry but i dun think we can choose our co-ordinator. If i am not wrong both got their even split as per what month u gals will be helding ur banquet. one of them took odd month the other took even. So u will "automatically" selecting ur co-ordinator onec u have decided on your month to hold ur wedding. Infact I find both okie, it's up to u how u want to talk to them.

As for the angbao issues, previously there are ppl saying abt it but again i feel that it is on your friendship with your frens .. if a normal hi-bye fren they would think that $60 would be more than enuff .. but close friend usually will give higher, no matter how much is your banquet.

hope the above helps .

pooh

hi confuse,

yes there is a price difference for the both places. But it depends on how many tables in total u required.

maybe u would like to call them to check it out for more information.

bloomsbury

anyone knows whether Crown Prince has changed their seat covers, favours and wedding card designs since the beginning of the year?

By the way, how long in advance do we need to print the cards? Has anyone done your printing with CP's reccomended printer? Is it cheaper than the others?

mewz

Hi Bloomsbury,
The last time i heard from my co-ordinator Kris which was like 2-3 months back is that they are still finalising the changes...if i remember correctly...she mentioned going to change the Chinese(? I think so) version of the invitation cards....change favours from the potpurri to maybe chopsticks....change their seat covers to another material, but still the same ivory colour....changing to a new florist...and also changing the table arrangements, they are going to use a more zen style, like a oval plate filled with water then scatter some flower petals on top....

Am actually quite excited at the changes that she mentioned...but not sure if they have materialised...anybody been to crown prince recently??

sushi

I understand that CP ballroom has pillars. Are those pillars gonna blocked the tables? Please help.

mrs

Hi Sushi,

If you have less than 30 tables, the pillars are no problem at all but if more than that, some may get blocked.

Try and go down and see. That will give you a better idea.