Park Hotel Orchard

Hi Maymay & Mvp,

Thx really thx 4 ur precious advise
. I'll stress dat pt 2 my planner when mtg her dis sun.

Hi MVP,
1st of all,Congrate to u.
U mentioned using ur frenz projector. But do CP charge 4 dat?
BTW, who e ur co-ordinator? May I kn?

Hi Maymay,
So when wil b ur wedding? n how's ur preparation going by? n who's ur co-ordinator 2?

Hullo fifi,

ur wedding is Dec04 and u r meeting the planner so soon?? Okie back to ur qn..wat do u mean does CP charge for tat, for wat? the projector? of course not since I'm getting in myself. If u are renting fr CP, they will charge u for $300, unless they bought one by end next yr then they can rent out to u FOC but they have been telling me tat since I signed up last yr.

My coordinator is Kris Wong.

fi fi..

my coordinator is corrine..since your wedding is in dec.. then ur coordinator will be kris.. heard many good comments abt kris.. so dun worry.. mine is corrine and she is new and thus many things also dunno..

mine is 24nov04..alr chose my BS..gown will be deciding in jan..had not chosen AD photographer..

MVP,

Yup, I'm talking abt d projector. actually my mtg up wif kris e 2 talk abt d package detail n viewing of ballroom. hve onli tentatively block d ballroom, but not confirm yet.

Maymay....

ah... how u kn my planner wil b kris? r u saying u'r chosing ur gown in jan? so early? Btw, which BS hve u chosen?

fifi

OIC..tot u oredy confirmed liao. If u realli need the projector, maybe u can try to discuss with kris or exchange wif something else. Your bargaining power will be strongest b4 signing the dotted line. I'm talking from my exp, cos my first projector din work and tat was like a wk from my AD, asked CP to provide FOC but was turned down flatly. And to think I tried the second one 2 days before my AD..but I'm lucky I managed to rent it at the nick of time.

Hi MVP,

dat's was fast in ur reply. Oh, i tot u've requested b4 u confirm wif CP. sure, i'm rem dis when neg wif kris. However, how's her service?
so, aft ur AD, hve u being 2 any honeymoon? wher did u go?

fifi..

CP assign their coordinator based on months.. think thye have 2 coordinator.. kris n corrine.. so since mine is corrine then urs have to be kris lor..

im with camellia.. jan is supposed to be deciding the type of gown i wan etc.. cos my package is MTM.. and my PS is in july.. so start planning in jan is jus nice..

May2,

OIC. so dis how they assign co-ordinator.....

wow... u taking MTM package, so hve u decide which style of gown u wanted??? so envy. mine a OTR packages... me oso planning 2 take PS in july. my photographer actaully wanted me 2 go Paula Ubi for outdr shoot, wat abt u? wher wil u b heading 4 outdr shoot....

fifi.. actually take MTM oso quite risky.. if not nice oso dunno how.. hahah... i have decide i want halter neck design.. empire cut i think.. you? wat design? chosen already? which BS? you have already discussed on the location? we haven discussed anything yet.. in fact.. haven confirm the photographer yet... hahaha

maymay....

me haven't chose d design yet. but on d day b4 i confirm d package wif my BS (Wedding news), they let me tried a few design liao. my designer say i looks beter in princess cut... still not confirm yet. ya... they mentioned wanted 2 bring us 2 Palau Ubi, say its unique but got 2 prepared 4 mosquito bites

Ur BS quite ex rite???? but their design e nice. thumb up....

Hullo ladies,

My coordinator wasn't assigned, I just happened to call and enquire and Kris was the lady who conversed with me the other time so tat's how she became my coordinator. Thus far, her service is pretty good except tat she is slow in responding initially until I feedback to her. Closer to my wedding, she is more helpful and have been following on quite closely too. Corrine is a new gal, think she joined during Oct this yr.

Me will be going for my honeymoon next week to Japan, ready to catch the snow.

Actually I'll prefer to MTM than OTR cos u can design your dream gowns and the sense of excitement in awaiting to see the final pc. Hey, I went to Ubin for my PS too, veri nice scenery and all my guests commented the pix are great but it's true tat there are mosquitoes bites, veri hot and got to take a boat so u need to pay extra money...so quite troublesome but overall I hv great fun during my PS. So have fun ladies!!

fifi... so have you decided on CP yet? how did your discussion go? you like everything they offer to you? BTW, when is your big day? how much are you paying for your package? i got a good deal with camelia for $2788 all MTM...

Mvp...

so envy u... gotta all d fun preparing 4 d wedding. so now, enjoy ur honeymoon....

maymay....
ya, yest jus went 4 d discussion. so far i quite like d setup. but kris mention they changing d favours ler.. got any idea wat'll dat b? now waiting for her new proposal as i xchange sum items 4 d wine.

wow... ur BS package such a gd deal.... dan i shld search ard 1st b4 confirming wif wedding news. my package cost $2988. But won't regret so coincidently, d photography n designer happen 2 kn my bf b4 hand.

my date on d 24th dec'04. urs?

oh ya... both ladies, wher's ur new love nest? my in punggol.....

Hi fifi,

nothing to envy since u will come to my stage after ur wedding, where u can realli sit back, relax and enjoy ur honeymoon after one yr plus of preparatory work. Actualli i enjoy my wedding process!!

It's great news that they are changing the favour cos I dun like their chopsticks. So bad tat I need to redo the packaging myself. But u must pray that the new favour will looks better cos I'm quite doubtful of CP taste after their chopstick..haha!!

Wow, ur big day is X'mas Eve!!!

Love nest in Bukit Panjang..

hey mvy...

now u'r my neighbour. i'm living there now. quick tell me, which part r u living @? d new 30th storey 1?

Ya, its on X'mas eve. But afraid d attendance won't b gd ler....

fifi and MVP,

i thot the new flavour is the chopsticks? tats wat they told me... i thot they look ok to me.. anyway i dun really care la.. hahaha.. cos i went for my fren's wedding.. then everyone din take the chopstick oso.. the guests din really care...

fifi,

maybe if u r gg to puala ubin, u can prepare insect repellent in advance? so u confirm with wedding news already? u like their designs? i agree with MVP on the dream gown part... heehee.. im already looking forward to my wedding gown..

my love nest is at bedok..

maymay...

actually their favour dis yr r chopstick. so next yr onwards, CP changin it 2 other favour but still unknown.

yup, hve oredi confirm wif them... anyway funi e dat my designer actually wanted me go through d bridal mag, during 1st fitting, 1 me 2 advise d design of gown wanted. dan fm d all new gown(w/o any pattern but comes in size 1) dat they hve, going 2 do it according 2 wat i wanted... i oso dun kn dis call OTR anot. hopefully d repellent wil help....
quite excited 4 dat.....

fifi... so still dunno what they are changin to? hope they dun come up with weird ideas... i was rather hoping that they would give their customers free use of projector... more practical..

ur package sounds like MTM leh.. mine oso sama sama... got to do homework.. let her know wat design i like.. then she will design something together with me..

i heard the mosquitoes there are quite resistant to repellent liao... when is ur PS?

Hi fifi & maymay,

fifi..tot u staying at punggol? Oh, mine is a resale flat.

Chopstick was their wedding favour since Jun this year, beforehand was a potpourri. Their favour will usually last them a yr, so it will be changed next yr. Ya maymay,agree!! Giving projector is better than anything else.

fifi, aiya urs is a MTM lah, OTR u dun even hv to do any research, just try the gown on the rack and pick one, tat's it!

Dun worry lah, tat time when I went to Ubin not tat bad lor, just a few mosquito bites, I just brought medicated oil only...but realli damn hot. I was perspiring like mad and so sticky throughout, but of course all these will not be shown in ur pix.

MVP,

mine is oso resales.. how much did u spend on reno? resales reno really cost more! then do they still give those chocolates or cakes on top of the favour? how come those perspiration dun show? photoshop made them all disappear? wont the makeup melt under the hot sun?

maymay,

I din realli reno veri extensively cos mine is pretty new and it's move-in condition so we onli changed the toilet door, change all their furniture and polish their tiles.

No more cakesor choco, just the chopstick onli.

Veri likely cos computer can remove even the mole and anything on ur face, so u can find ur complexion for once as clear as crystal...haha..aiya no lah ur makeup won't melt lah. In fact u will look fresh and not tired at all in the pix...amazing right! Tat's why studio pix is so ex...

Hi MVP & maymay...

MVP, sori 2 misled u. Punggol e my new hse. now i'm staying wif my parents in bt panjang.

But my package state OTR 4 gown ler.... dun kn oso. now going thru d mag but stil can't find any design i like. But my bf prefer me 2 wear bare back. Hopefully i won't get so muz bites as u when i'm off 2 Ubi 4 d PS. kipping finger cross....

Oh ya, i requested FOC projector fm kris but was deny. she said they oso rent fm vendor, so hve 2 pay $300 4 it. sigh.... i'm trying 2 xchange sum items i replace 4 d wine oso. dun kn can get anot. still waiting 4 her proposal.

MVP,

ic.. must be you found a place really to your liking.. for me its the location... the flat itself is in quite bad condition.. everything need to do..

CP quite niao hor come to think of it? heehee... only give 1 thing to our guests.. some hotels will give cakes/choc on top of the flavour.. but then again.. doesnt make a huge diff even if they did... has it ever occured to you that CP actually owns the projector but just wan to cover their cost? heehee..

fifi,

wat are you bargaining in exchange for? free wine? bare back will look sexy.. heehee

maymay...

I wanted to remove the day used room 4 coordinators / pre-dinners snack and 1 course fm the menu off. Hope to in exchange for free wine. But her new proposal onli give me waiver of wine corkage charges. Hope 2 get sum compliment wine.
However, she lack out d pre diner snack items dat i'm removing. so waiting 4 her reply now....

fifi.. urs is the weekend 9 course package rite? how much per table? i think waiver of wine corkage is very good liao.. cos i bargain very hard for this waiver but din get it... but then again i thot the 9 course alr got waiver of wine corkage? actually the room is probably worth more than the wine they will provide cos i dun think they will give more than 10 bottles.. at most..

Fifi - bare back will look nice but make sure u scrub the back and maintain it well but not to worry abt dirtying it cos u won't get to wear ur AD gowns for outdoor shots. They will rent u second hand ones (those tat are meant to be dirty). In fact I chose a low back A-line gown for my outdoor shots too and no bites leh...kee...if u really afraid then dun go Ubin lor but it's really ok, dun worry too much.

maymay - ya to me, cleanliness and well-maintained house is veri impt, so I'm v particular when choosing my flat. Anyway I need to choose bt panjang cos my ILs are staying there and hubby want to stay here to them..so no choice.

True enuff tat CP is rigid in their packages but believed most others oso the same except for Le Meridien. Tat time when I was doing my sourcing, they are really accomodating to all ur wants. Oh yes, 9 course oredy hv waiver for corkage leh. fifi u thinking of serving more wines ah but u can get wines from outside quite cheap leh, esp during carrefour sale. I din even serve wines cos mine oredy hv free flow of beer and I brought in hard liquor, so the wines we keep to ourselves...gee!!!

tat time I exchange the dayuse room for their anniversary meals since my jiemeis do not want to follow me to hotel, so quite useless to me.

I dunno abt their projector but u can actually source from outside. There is one who is charging $150 from one of the SBO forum.

maymay.... ya, as mine falls on xmas eve, so its d wkend package(758 nett). wat abt urs? Now i onli manage 2 get waiver of d wine corkage, no compliment wine

Mvp... ,u'r rite, wil hve 2 make sure my back can face pple 1st. hee hee... my designer actually did mentioned getting me a simple n relax gown 4 d shoot. Did heard them mention it b4. think i'll being along d repellent in case

Really, d 9 course menu oredi hve waiver of corkages charges 4 wine? But now d new std packages dat i've doesn't come wif dis ler. onli applies 2 hard liquor
I'll b changing 3 items fm their package. so nid 2 discus wif kris again. wil b mtg her again next mon 4 another session..... Mvp, ya, i'll serving more wine n d free flow of beer. most of our frenz drk wine rather dan hard liquor. so no choice.

as 4 d projector, not 2 worried as i'm also lkg 4 sum 1 doing edition 4 d presentation. Any recomendation u gals hve?

BTW, nid sum advise fm u gals... wat do u think wil d attendance b like 4 wedding held on x'mas eve? now i'm quite worry abt dis when comes 2 think of it.

morn ladies, wow fifi so late oredy u still post msg ah.

Oh maybe they hv changed their package cos last yr when I booked it was there but quite useless to us since we din bring in any wines. Hard liquor is for my parents guest while most of the our guests drink beer. Actually we wanted to bring in the 10 complimentary bottles of wines but afraid too little and will finish by cocktail, so eventually we save it for ourselves.

As far as I know, most of the videographer provides montage and free rental of projector. U can do ur search at this forum to find out more.

As for attendance, might be a bit sticky cos there is no best timing but x'mas eve, most of them either have their own program or travels. Think u hv to pre-empt ur guests much earlier, so that they can reserve their eve for u. But one thing is tat orchard will be veri packed during tat time, so parking will be a big prob and u might expect guests turning up late..just my opinion lah. Dun worry too much lor, this is out of our control!!

Mvp....

was home late n happen 2 c u gals reply.... well, think u'r rite, we can accomodate all pple. think i'll hve no choice as other alt date being taken up n so coincidently left x'mas eve 4 us

good day gals

MVP, i insisted on buying bedok flat so tat i can be near my mum
heehee.. then thankfully we found 1 within our budget and so jus grab it liao...

oh Fifi you should have booked during their bridal fair.. cos the other time they were offering waiver for both hard liqour and wine for their 9 course dinner.. but im looking at 8-course so dun have wiaver of wine.. only waiver of hard liqour.. i dun think i will serve wine in this case cos dun wan to increase unnecessary costs... if you can, try to bargain for the waiver of wine corkage instead of free wine bec wine can get cheaply elsewhere.. like wat MVP says.. at carrefour..

i agree with most of wat mvp says abt pre-empting ur guests earlier abt xmas.. bec people tend to travel or make holiday plans..

now tat mvp mention.. since videography will provide projector.. maybe can consider..

hey gals...

sori, quite confuse abt dis. wat r d package include in videography?

maymay...

yup. as wat u both mention. hve 2 advance notify all guests b4 hand. if not
can't imagine dat.

If u engage videographer, they do have some packages which include photo montage and morn highlight to be flashed out durring ur banquet night, and they do provide projector FOC. SO if u are looking for a videographer, do check wif them. A hassle off in sourcing for a projector at the same time. Hope this explains...

Ya boy, early notification is good. In fact when u first inform them, many will tell u they can make it. Only when it comes to your final RSVP on your last week prior to your AD that u heard a lot of rejects. Veri demoralising but tat's common so take it as a pc of cake. Even on AD, must expect some who will not turn up oso.

morning gals...

if we dun show montage during the dinner.. will the dinner be boring? how was ur guest turnout mvp? was it a weekday or weekend?

maymay,

it will be a bit boring lor cos guests will need to wait quite long before dinner starts, so this is a form of entertainment to them oso. Think must find ways to spice up ur wedding. In fact my guests commented that ours is quite entertaining cos they went to others which is purely dinner and they realli find going there for the sake of eating onli.

My attendance is like 98% to 99%, considered v.good response!! It was a Monday...so I'm pretty glad that my guests din play me out. In fact my 2 reserved tables were opened to cater for some ''extra'' guests.

mvp,

ya i think nowadays a slide show is the norm and expected thing.. so if dun have then people sure feel something is missing.. but i dun feel like spending on the videography jus for the projector.. maybe i will source for projector rental.. u say got $150.. you rem where?

mine is oso weekday.. wednesday.. hope that the turnout is as good as yours..

I got his contact thr this forum oso. U can check under videography topic. Think his name is Christopher. Dun know how is the effect cos I din engage him eventually. Be sure to test out first.

Dun worry, but most impt is to RSVP lor!!

Hi gals...

agree dat nid sum entertainment 2 spice up d guest while waiting. But other dan ,video montage, any others programs u gals come across b4? me hoping 2 hve sum thing special during diner x oso. if not vri boring, jus sit down eating nothing else. Gals, any suggestion???

think consider engaging 1 videograher. i hate all hassel, probably dis d best solution 4 me dis lazy bum...
hee hee...

nowsaday wkday diner vri norm liao. hve attended a few, d respond was oso vri gd. so maymay, dun nid 2 wori abt dat.

i think people treat RSVP too lightly.. i helped my fren as jiemei and her frens basically said ok when RSVP but eventually din turn up.. i only hope more people can be educated to be more considerate in this area and to be on time!

other special programs? ask ur emcee to engage ur guests in games? maybe quiz them abt the 2 of u or something then give them a token gift? maybe chocolates since CP dun provide? other than that i dunno liao cos oso dun wan to turn a wedding dinner into a D&D.. but Fifi can maybe consider getting people to do carolings? that will keep the spirit of christmas alive!

as for videography.. it is still in the thinking stage only..

maymay....

U'r rite. alot pple stil consider RSVP minor issue... hopefully wif d new act going on by d govt, they'll treat RSVP more impt..

hve tot of dat. but if get guest 2 partipate in games, it may turn out 2 b a D&D rather. so cancel dat idea. mayb, i'll jus get my frenz 2 sing during d diner.

BTW, 2 9 i'm going down 2 CP again 2 neg d new proposal...

fifi..

i always believe we should the change within ourselves.. let's hope that we can do that to others and others will undo to us the same

singing is a good idea.. but alas.. all my frens r soo shy! so i think worst come to worst.. my only form of entertainment is: let the guests talk and admire the beautiful bride! hahahah

maymay....

Hahaha. so how many outfit r u changing during ur diner x? r u getting d kua etc? BTW, when u taking ur PS?

fifi..

i think i'll jus wear WG then change into EG.. 2 is enuf.. lazy to change more.. morning alr wake up so early liao.. then run everywhere.. the least to do.. the better for me.. i will get either a kua or tea dress lor.. depends on my BS.. if her selection of kua is yucky.. then i rather take teadress.. i jus confirmed my photographer today.. my BS told me it will be around 29 july 04. you?

may2....

u've oredi decide d timing? so early! U confirm d AD photographer or PS? since PS @ july, u choosing gown during Feb period... me still haven even call my BS 2 confirm anything wif him.

fifi..

wat timing? i confirmed the PS photographer. AD still considering. Meeting up a photographer tis sat to see his work. according to my BS, i need to design my WG in late Dec or early Jan. How was ur discussion with CP?

maymay..

i mean d AD leaving hse timing. think i got it wrong liao. sori ah...

so hve u decide when 2 design d gown? beter act 1st if not vri rush later....

Hve sumhow settle wif kris liao. now waiting 4 her new contract.

fifi..

ooh u got me confused for a while.. actually yes we have confirmed the timing to reach my bf's place on the AD.. but as to the procedure and every other thing.. we have not finalised yet..

for now im actually more concerned abt my ROM dress! after i get it done n over with then i will decide on the gown.. but more or less i have decide on the shape..

so u got wat u wan?

maymay...

sum how lah.... as wat u gals mentioned previously, CP r not vri flexi wif their package. so think dat's d best we can go.

Ur BS packages doesn't cover ROM dress? think u can rent fm them oso rite?