Park Green

Dear residents,
Please be known that you are up against corporations who have the legal resources, money, experience as well as contracts which you have signed to protect them.

To standup against them, we need to stand together as one voice and bring up issues with evidence so compelling that developer cannot ignore (either it is not according to the sales contract or defects that is not allowed under BCA standards).

If we bring up design issues, like you don't like the car park design or the location of the foot massage. Developer will just laugh at you in the face as this is in the brochure.

However, if a feature or design that is state in the brochure that is not delivered.Then we have grounds to bring this up.

MP definitely will want to help his residents but we must definitely go to him with a case strong that he is obliged to help.

Merci puku,
Your point makes lotsa sense.
Design issues we really do not have much stand.
Let's get back wat we deserve.

to those couples who have nt gone thru their customary wedding ceremony...
Wanna earn rental since your unit is vacant? A family of 5 would like to rent a 3/4 bedroom unit for 1 mth (sep/oct 05 period). Drop me an email at [email protected]

boh eng,
There is another one on level 2 of Rivervale Plaza. Though stated 24hr, it closes after 10pm on Sunday.

Hi gg/grin,
I believe there is 2 groups of resident(excluding cheapo residents..keke), 1 is the stand up and protest resident and another is the more on "its ok lah" resident. Different ppl have different views, different reaction etc. There is no right or wrong. Cool off man, we are 1 big happy Park Greener!

Merci,
Carpark is no problem to me, just that the entrance abit sharp. As my car's turning radis is very short, that's why my hubby who has 10yrs of driving experience sometimes will miss the point. The guards knew this problem, so most of the time, they will hold on the barrier for us.

jes from block 6 - by any chance, are u on the 7th floor, facing the pool? hehe..in that case, we are the upstairs neighbour u mentioned. Sorry again for "littering" your balcony with flowers/leaves...didnt know the periwinkles shed so much. We have since trimmed the plants down & are constantly monitoring them

Meanwhile, agreed that its a waste of time bickering amongst ourselves. I think we stand on the side of the majority - we are not 100% happy with the quality & workmanship of Park Green, but can live with it. However, should there be a petition to the MP, I hope only the relevant issues will be brought up (eg. differences in what is promised vs. delivered - aka. material of wooden door) & not everything else under the sun (like keeping the fountain lights on 24/7).

Hi Limay, nope Im not in level 7. But very glad to have another considerate neighbour like you
... so actually blk 6 residents quite okay lah except for small handful of intentional litterbugs... still very keen to 'catch' the bug who had been littering the lift.....

Hi Jes, Limay

I'm glad too to have considerate neighbour in Blk 6. Most of them i met are friendly neighbours.

Anyone, by chance know if there's lantern festival cerebration at Park Green or any activities coming up ?
eeeerrr .. i've not move in yet so when i got to know the previos ones, too late liao. I would like to drop by to join the activities organise by the management and at the same time, get to know the neighbours in park green.

cheers ...

Can anyone of you enlighten me ... since ive not moved in to my place.
Is it too late to request Tong Seng to polish my marble flooring ?
cheers...

No worries, cool now

Curious, TS will buff the floor before handing over the keys. If you find areas that still have marks, just send in the defect form and they'll re-buff those areas. But TS won't grind down the tiles, something to do with the tiles being thinner than usual.

Hey Grin,
Did you check the S&P agreement? It did state the material of the front door, didn't it?

Do you intend to do anything? Shall we gather to bring about a claim on that?

Blk 12, inconsiderate neighbour left stacks of newpaper inside the lift! What the!?! Such a cosy and nice lift, they can still bear the throw things in there.

Missylan,

Ya, so inconsiderate. I have encountered worse rubbish than the newspapers! Empty boxes too.

I have always wanted to ask you... I once took a lift with a lady who was holding a gigantic block of Tolberone. Was that you?? Cos I think she lives the same flr as you

Carol Ng,
Kekeke... Yes, that is me. So Pai Seh, can you don't say gigantic? Hahaha... I don't even remember who was in the lift.

Hi ppl ... havn't been reading the forum for a while ... seems like i missed out on lotsa fun... can smell gunpowder everywhere muahah..

i guess a forum is a place where ppl post their views .. no right nor wrong ... agree with u totally man, missy

Merci, wat u said makes lotsa sense...

guess the door thingy is the only issue we can challenge them...

i hope i win the european lottery... muaha

And lastly ... stop pouring water down on my PES pls.... cheers

Cleaning canals? Maybe cos Vivian Balakrishnan was there for a constituency visit last Sunday? Well, have not been smelling the pong from the canal for some days now...fingers crossed they are doing something about it!

Wonder who has the contacts to any of the Management Committe Group Volunteers.

The main door is of fireproof quality. Checked with my friend who happen to drop by and is a civil engineer. Also checked with the independent surveyor who I hired to check my unit.

Merci,
The door is fire-proof?? But that's not solid timber right? Did your friend say anything about the material?

Also, my toilet fittings are started to tarnish badly, esp the shower head holder... anyone has the same problem? Can't clean them off!

Hi Merci puku, the main door definitely has to be fireproof but the material used is not solid timber as stated in our S&P agreement.. still waiting for TS reply on this since our last gathering (in April or May???)...

Anyone found solution to the long-term problems yet?

a. Master bdrm shower : floor has almost turn grey due to constant water. How to remove? I don't mind if the grey is even but it's not. Patches of areas outside the shower screen is also beginning to turn grey.

b. How to lower temp of the hot water in shower?

Did anyone check the handle of the main door? Mine's starting to rust. Also the hot water heater - last night I've got no water from the hot water pipe in all my bathrooms. So frustrating. It's been the third time this has happened. Can anyone advise what to do? I suspect there's "something" in those pipes causing the "blockage".

Ryue,
I suspect the heater's pipe is choked with the green substance (not sure if that's algae). You have to unscrew the pipe and clean the filter and the hot water will resume. It happened to me once and I have since been cleaning the heater filter regularly to avoid this problem...

If you dunno how to clean, get the maincon pple to teach you and you can easily do it yourself in future

hi ryue
regarding ur hot water problem, u can call the repair man from the company to clean the filter.
if not u can DIY yourself.
the filter is located at the heater set. u must off the red knob main water supply n gas supply first before removing a black knob. clean the filter with water n it will give u hot water.

Thanks all for the advice. Ya, I've lodged a complaint early this morning. Seems that things are starting to fall apart lately. Wonder if this is due to the "sub-standard" workmanship by TS?

Carol - I'm not sure if that's algae or tissue paper (the last time I had this problem). One thing's for sure is how in the world did those things end up in there? Did the contractors not store the pipes properly prior to installation to prevent foreign matters from entering the pipes? Is this a case of negligence, like using empty PET bottles and old newspapers in place of bricks for walls (in Taiwan)?

By the way, just for benchmarking sake, can I check how much your monthly utility bills average? Mine's around $180 with 4 pax residency. Most items seemed to be close to the national average except for gas which is way beyond that. I've tried to rationalise the cause by thinking we cook all 3 meals and sometimes for our extended families on weekends, but there was an occasion when we ate out quite often but the gas usage just didn't drop. I'm not sure if it's caused by the gas heater. Does anyone have an electric heater?

My friend say not all solid timber door are of fireproof standard. And not all fireproof timber door are solid timber as some of these doors include some fire retardant materials between to hold the fire from entering/getting out in/from a unit for prescribe length of time.

He cannot verify from one look whether the door is of solid timber as it has been covered by laminates.

Hey Ryue,
I dun have any problem with the PUB bills. Mine is always no more than $80 (2 persons' usage), except for once where PUB underestimated my bill for one particular mth and after actual meter reading adjustment, my bill came up to $120+. Other than that isolated incident, my bills are always pretty consistent. Gas is no more than $10 for most of the months (I cook only on weekends and occasional boiling of water on weekdays).

Did you switch off the heater mains after use? We only turn the heater on whenever we bathe. How much is yours?

I dun think our situation here is like the one in Taiwan (dun scare me lah). They have sent the green substance to the lab for testing and Roland will let us know once the results are out.

At first they suspected that it was due to the heater, but then one resident said that their washing machine also ganna the green substance... so now they are also clueless as to where the green substance originates from...

Guess we'll just have to wait for the results to be out. In the meantime, I will just have to keep cleaning the heater filter and I even wrap my kitchen tap with a cloth filter to filter away the green substance... imagine consuming the yucky green substance through your food or drinking water!!! YUCKS!

Yes, our front door knob has also started to rust

Ryue - ur monthly bill seems about right. We (2 pax) spend on average $90/mth, don't have the airconditioning switched on most times, and we cook at most 2X a week.
Has everyone been encountering the green goo? Maybe I should stop refilling my glass straight from the tap when I wake up in the middle of the night!! yucks

A lot of residents in Park Green are too busy and reluntant to take the lead to bring the outstanding problems we are facing before TS moves on.

Those air con that is hardly turn on at night, i advice u to turn off the main compressor at main switch at the aircon edge. it will help to save up to 35kW a month.

to all resident, please do up all ur minor defects before due soon. ask Tiong Seng in the office, they willing to do up for you. those issue that is headache issue to you, we have to go underground and not in forum to discuss.

i donno what the main door is made of, but i've tried installing a separate latch lock on the door myself. i had a really hard time turning the screws into the door (i damaged quite a number of steel screws actually!), it's harder than drilling into concrete, even with the help of an electric screwdriver. that kinda hardness, i'm satisfied.

my personal view is that it is more important that the wood is fire-retardant, or has been processed to retard fire. whether or not it's solid timber, it doesn't really matter to me. if the solid timber is not fire-retardant, then i wouldn't wanna have it.

anyway, we are facing a case of breach of contract on the part of NTUC Choice Homes, since the S&P (between us ["the purchaser"] & NTUC Choice Homes) stated clearly that we ought to be given solid timber main doors. of cos it depends on what kinda material we're having right now. can anyone verify that the main doors are not made of solid timber?

blk 6 residents: so far i didn't encounter any greenish thgs in the water, how bout you all?

carol: same here, my mbr bathroom fittings esp the showerhead holder all tarnish liao. can we tell main con to change?

Checked out the brochure. Yup, it states solid timber front door. At the residents' gathering where this was brought up, I remember that the TS rep said that the door was made of compressed wood and was fire-retardant.

Personally, I would rather not have the front door changed as long as it's fire-retardant. But NTUC has breached the contract and should give compensation. I'm pretty sure a fire-retardant solid timber door costs more than one made from compressed wood.

By the way, the contract is between us and NTUC choice homes. We have no contract with TS. If we seek compensation etc, it will be from NTUC. If NTUC feels that TS has short-changed them, that's NTUC's problem. I think we have to be clear which party has legal responsibility to us.

Are anyone interested to meetup this Saturday Morning 9:00am to discuss on bringing the case to NTUC and also check with SLF (Roland) whether they have found any thing that breach the Sales Agreement before TS hand over ?

hi all, do you think SLF/NTUC will tell us whether TS have breach of S&A contract. If so until now have not reply us the questions we post two gathering ago. They are sitting on our questions until CSC, so that we cannot take legal action against them.

Regarding to the MBR bathroom floor tiles have white stain, the floor must be dry after each shower, and constantly brush corner area where water trap. this will prevent white stain.

hi neighbours, i was told by my co-resident that there was a large gang of troops (think from TS and NTUC) who came to the unit and took away some water samples, supposedly to perform lab test on the green goo from the pipes. and they looked pretty serious collecting those stuff. my feel is that the hot/cold water heater thingy and the occasional sighting of the green goo might just be the tip of the iceberg. just hope that the piping for the estate is properly done (fingers crossed!)

merci - where is the meeting? hope it's not at the basement carpark. it's really not the most conducive place, given the bad echo, the lousy speakers, and worst the smell from the rubbish chutes (the workers don't seem to do a good job clearing the areas around the chutes every morning, leaving lots of 'dirty water' around). I'd suggest we do it at the open space above the gym...

Hi Corolla,
"Those air con that is hardly turn on at night, i advice u to turn off the main compressor at main switch at the aircon edge. it will help to save up to 35kW a month."

Do you mean to turn off the mains on those compressor that is not in use? How does the main switch vs aircon panel switch differ, and how the savings come about? If it really works, I will climb out to switch some off. Thanks

hi neighbours, i was told by my co-resident that there was a large gang of troops (think from TS and NTUC) who came to the unit and took away some water samples, supposedly to perform lab tests on the green goo from the pipes. and they looked pretty serious collecting those stuff. my feel is that the hot/cold water heater thingy and the occasional sighting of the green goo might be the tip of the iceberg. just hope that the piping for the estate is properly done (fingers crossed!)

merci - where is the meeting? hope it's not at the basement carpark. it's really not the most conducive place, given the bad echo, the lousy speakers, and worst the smell from the rubbish chutes (the workers don't seem to do a good job clearing the areas around the chutes every morning, leaving lots of 'dirty water' around). I'd suggest we do it at the open space above the gym...

Kyosho,
I think that saving works out to not more than $2/mth if I'm not wrong. You can refer to your latest PUB bill (to see how much it cost per kW)to work out the sum.

Ryue,
They had indeed taken the water for testing. I really hope it's got nothing to do the main water pipes.

The meeting that Merci has suggested, I presumed that it's a private gathering among the interested residents (so we will certainly not meet in the carpark like the past residents' gathering). Maybe we can meet inside the reading room

Would 9am be too early for many?? Should be make it slightly later like 10am?

If there's a gathering, I will be there.

Kyosho,
I think that saving works out to not more than $2/mth if I'm not wrong. You can refer to your latest PUB bill (to see how much it cost per kW)to work out the sum.

Ryue,
They had indeed taken the water for testing. I really hope it's got nothing to do the main water pipes.

The meeting that Merci has suggested, I presumed that it's a private gathering among the interested residents (so we will certainly not meet in the carpark like the past residents' gathering). Maybe we can meet inside the reading room

Would 9am be too early for many?? Should be make it slightly later like 10am?

If there's a gathering, I will be there.