Park Green

Actually we are surrounded by wet markets, thou a few requires transport.

There's also one and Punggol Plaza (new) and one at Hougang Central... so it's pretty convenient. Actually NTUC also do sell quite a lot of fresh food now

Limay, we will pop by your place after we come back from lunch

Hi Limay, Carol and ah eng,

you all can pop by anytime tomorrow, I should be around from 11 to 2pm...

btw, limay, are you going to clean up your apartment after you get the keys? is there any point in doing that, since the contractors will be coming to work from next week on and going to create a mess anyway?

ah eng, any advice? hmm.. I will have to wait for my hubby to arrive at 2pm, so dunno what to do in the meantime..I enjoy cleaning as I find it therapeutic (did I hear gasps of horror??! kekeke
) so I thought I can get going on that first.. maybe the MBR toilet.. kekeke... can lock it up after that, to prevent workers from going in..

EIG,
Haha, you are as "auntie" as I am cos we both serious house workers clipart{lame}

You find cleaning therapeutic? Hmm... maybe you can give me a hand if the cleaning in you house is not therapeutic enough

As for the MBR toilet, dun you need the workers to install lights for you? If you lock, how are they going to do that?

I will be at my house in the morning to check on the progress first, then go over to your place to look see
Maybe around 11+?

ok ok I will try to be there b4 2pm. My boys concert ends at 12.30pm....if nothing, mayb will reach there bout 1 plus.

EIG,
I sweeped and mopped the floor b4 the reno starts. Cos the workers gonna lay the flooring wif cardboards. Have to get rid of all the sands or dirts from the floor, if not later the cardboard rubs against the floor...i no eyes to see. So u know wat u can do tomolo while waiting for hubb :P

EIG,
Do you know that the bathroom door can be opened even when it's locked? What we did was to paste a BIG sign on the door telling the workers not to use the MBR toilet. It works.

Hi Fanta,
huh? the bathroom door can be opened even if it is locked from the inside? That's not very safe right?.. esp. if guests are using the common wc; they will risk being "exposed" if someone unwittingly intrude?!

Carol, I've got no time to clean for others! my apt will be xiong enough already, and will provide just the right amount of therapy for me, kekeke
.. but of course, if you can pay me $100 an hour, I dun mind helping you to clean

will probably clean the living/ dining area and MBR toilet then like wat ah eng did.. the lights will only be arriving next sat, so they can concentrate on doing the rewiring, electrical and carpentry work this week first

EIG,
$100 an hr? Why not you pay me that and I can clean your house for you... that's super therapeutic!!

So see you tomorrow then!

List of defects compiled from forum. Please add on to the list if you have any things else.

1) scratches on the marbles
2) uneven marble surface (height). ""Then our neighbours told us tat we got to write in as defects for the uneven tiles. Guess wat? The main contractor grinds their uneven tiles edges, and now their tiles have different color tones!!! They are grossly unhappy tat the tiles are worse than before.""
3) sharp edges of marble (eg front entrance floor)
4) toilet towel holder - multiple dents
5) wall tiles in master toilet - scratches and
cracks
6) cracked / chipped window pane above WC toilet
7) Hollow tiles in bombshelter, living room, WC
toilet
8) Wardrobe door misaligned (cannot open fully)
9) water retention at planting ledge
10) Timber flooring - scratches
11) wobbly shower glass panels/doors
12) loose fixed-type window panels
13) dents / deep scratches and rust on chrome-plated metal brackets under the master toilet sink
14) Kitchen cabinets - multiple scratches over
metal-like strip outlining
15) Door - obvious patched surfaces
16) door knobs - multiple scratches
17) patchy paint job on walls
18) stained external windows
19) Deep scratches on shower door chrome-plated
hinges
20) Poorly anodized main door handle
21) wall not at right angle
22) water leakage in false ceiling
23) cracks and water seep in the wall
24) the tiles below washing basin have big cracks
25) Blk 6 unit 8 houses - rain water seepage, flowed all the way from the main door to the cabinet housing the electrical circuit box to the middle of dining room.
26) Fire escape staircase consist of exposed metal instead of concrete.
27) Living room sliding frame - large dent and exposed wrongly drilled holes
28) soap bar holder missing with bracket in-situ only!
29) steel stand holding the sink at the common toliet is rusty
30) Badly done grottings between the tiles.
31) Varnishing on doors "eating" into silver lining and walls.
32) Squeky doors and windows.
33) Tarnished faucets.
34) Chipped door sills.
35) Main door has hacked look on the top. Not varnished
36) planting ledge lock is faulty
37) the MBR top hung window cannot really close (must use big amount of force)
38) kitchen cabinets has quite a number of corners with the plywood unglued.
39) water leakage
40) all small wardrode drawer locker cannot be locked
41) 1 living room tile different color tone
42) kitchen glass window cannot close and open
43) 1 of kitchen glass panel got so many chip 44) MBR middle hung window lock both are faulty and cannot close
45) MBR bathroom window cannot close
46) balcony iron grill got so many scratches
47) paint stain on wall skirting, door, balcony wall, balcony door frame
49) WC folding door - cracked panel
50) crack window pane in kitchen
51) crack window pane in MBR
52) Toilet sink platform edges not silicon properly
53) balcony trap water - have to re-tile
54) shower door panel cannot close properly, because it is out of alignment and there is a gap when you close it
55) Shower door seem to be placed in a wrong orientation?? , you can see the brand mark facing the interior of the shower cubicle.

EIG,
The door can be unlocked using a key or simliar object. Shldn't cause any indecent exposure unless your guests did it on purpose lah.....haha!!

Hi ppl,
i only got to know this forum recently, it's indeed very informative! i've just collected my keys yesterday and i'm looking for an id now....do you guys have any to recommend? if you do, could you either post it here or email it to [email protected]

Some good id firms which we went to and was impressed with either their creativity, services or pricing were:
1) Design Channel at Joo Chiat
2) Space Vision Design at Toa Payoh
3) Fuse Concept at Geylang
4) Collective Designs at Kensington Park

Do reply if you need me to give u the exact address or numbers. It's labourous tasks looking for ID firms. I went to countless and narrowed down to a few. For each, besides the above, you have to see if you can relate to the designer well, whether he/she is responsible, committed, his/her credentials and lastly do visit their previous works to see their workmanship.

Lastly, do try to bargain way from the beginning to see how much u can squeeze out of each.

Good luck.

Hi Kenneth,
Thanks for replying! It'll be great if you could provide me with their contact numbers, i can follow up from there.
Thanks again!

I'm back!!! Glanced through some of the postings, and yah, Esther was running around furiously around Park Green becos of my unit
You know how terrible it is? She was helping me to follow-up on my case, and when she call the supervisor, he said that they have to finish the defects rectification in 28 days, but not obliged to finish all these in a few days. But guess what, I collected my keys on 3/11, and was the first unit in blk 6 to do so, you mean i still behind in the queue? Other units in my blk have already closed case, and mine has yet to start work. Guess my defects are so many and so serious they dunno where to start?

These were related to me when i called my ID on my trip, the last i heard was that they have finally started work, have started hacking my bathrooms, which was after a month of key collection and many many warning letters!

Will drop in tomorrow to see how is the progress, if i find that they have stopped work again, i hope that my neighbours here can pardon me when they see a mad woman screaming in frustration URGH!

Hi chinnie,
Welcome back. How was your honeymooon? I am sure you enjoy yourself very much
I saw Esther was like so tired and sick running around looking for supervisor. I am sure those have not clear their defects is just a matter of time they blow up. I can see the manager already get used to people yelling and shouting at him.
The last i saw workers changing tiles at my balcony without putting any protection. Debris mostly landed on my compress marble. My hubby was so heated up scolded them to do protection in front of the manager. The manager felt so pai seh after that.

Pardon me, but I need to vent.....
2 weeks ago when I went back to check on my apartment, the timber flooring scratches were removed (to my delight) but my MBR, MBR toilet and living/dining hall were covered with thick cement dust (sigh). One of the shower shelf panels broke loose as well. Apart from that nothing was done. Yesterday I went to check, all the floor stickers on the marble floor was removed (while hollow tiles and scratches still in situ!) but everything cleaned up. I also saw holes on the ceiling of my MBR toilet!! (I bet that's where all the cement dust came from) Then there were new deep scratches on the timber flooring at the entrance to the toilet (aiyo!). I asked Nagarajan (keyman) about it but he couldn't explain much instead asked me to put the stickers back (that will take hours!!) walaauuuuuuu!!! The unit above and below me have already moved in. I wonder is it becos' I haven't made any noise so they ignore my apartment even though the promised 30 days for rectification is past due date??

Thanks.... heh heh
I feel much better already

Everyone need to check if the contractor pours cement into toilet bowl because they are too lazy to bring down to depose of extra cement.
If you missed this, it will cause endless headache as your toilet choke up in future.

My recommendation is that owner should check the unit every other day to ensure the rectification is okay. Tiong Seng is the maincon and they lack the manpower to monitor every minute how the subcontractor do the rectification.

Hi Kyosho1,
I would recommend that you get in touch with the supervisor to commit on the handover date. Ask them to give you a black and white stating that they would require more days to rectify your unit. This letter can be used later on if there is any dispute rather than keep quiet.

Hi ah eng, Carol and Limay,

We have commence renovation! Everything should be completed latest by 16 Dec 04 (including the rectification works by the main con hopefully - cross my fingers) and we will be moving in on 19 Dec!

Phew.. after venting earlier in the forum, I received a call from the contractor!! I haven't even complained to them yet..heh heh...maybe they were reading the forum. Was asked to go PG to check the color of the marble tiles at 12pm. I went and just came back. Showed him all the faults, scratches, cracks etc. Guess what, he said all the rectification will be finished by tomorrow 2pm and the key will be handed over to me as well.

kyosho1

same thing happened to my unit. My poor husband spent hours knocking and pasting the affected hollow tiles and the workers just removed them without rectifying it.

we told them off on sat as well.

btw, main con trying to convince us that the hollow tiles in the living room is not that bad, will not "pop up". Anyone of u accept that? Did they compensate u?

As I am not able to enter my unit(due to pregnancy "Pang Tang"). My hubby is the only one scanning for problem but my hubby's scanner is "Ku Ku" one lah. He is not the detailed type one lor. But quite happy with my blk contractor. I submitted the form last week(Fri) about my dirty marble floorings(which made us difficult to see whether there is stain or anything). This morning, we went to our unit. A guy is polishing the whole floorings.
I cannot complain too much also otherwise I dunno where I should stay during my confinement.

EIG,
Wah...why so fast??!!! I started reno earlier
than u leh...kekeke....I wanted to shift in on the 19th as well but that day clashes wif my chinese horoscope (tiger)...*oops! u know my age now*

The contractor also tried to convince me of this and that. I just asked him to do a good job and rectify all that he can and I will assess again tomorrow to see if it is to my satisfaction.

EIG,
my hubb just left PG. Called me that he saw that ur unit renovation has commenced.

Kyosho1,
anything u dun feel safe, just make them write down black and white for u.

Missylan/Carol,
Looks like our blk got lesser problems or at least lesser yelling fm what I see. The supervisors (Aziz & Samy), workers including the lift operator at Blk 12 are generally responsive. Very pleased with their service. Though it has been sometime since the day key was handed over, they're always around when we need them & they never say no to our requests

Has anyone got any feedback on deco services from Ikea. They offered to draw up a plan for the whole apartment for $500, incl suggested paint color scheme, accesories, furnitures, lightings type. Other companies reno/deco services charge $1000 for a plan.

Hi Eig

We're moving in on the same day!

I saw Esther with a girl on Sat... Wondering whether is it Carol? Walking towards Blk 12

Anybody in Blk 10? Seems like there r nt many pple fr Blk 10 as compared to Blk 12

fanta,
Dunno whether there are more serious defects in my unit or not, hope not! So far, I hadn't met the contractor only the key man. He is very cute. Sometimes, see him sitting outside the unit at level 1. Very cute man...
Dunno is it becos I told Adeline(contractor at B1) that I need to hurry this floorings first. Cos going to give birth liao and floorings too dirty to be able to view any defects. So after few days, they come over to polish for me.

Hey EIG, Polly, Ah Eng, and the rest of the new neighbours we met on Sat - was nice meeting u all
So far, everyone we have met in PG have been pretty cool - John from the 1st floor (the one with the dark red brolly at the yard) even invited us in to KPO when we were walking pass...

We did the handover on Sat - going to start reno on Wed & get the final handover from the ID after our wedding next weekend
Chinnie - how was ur honeymoon? Hope u are all well rested & recharged & ready to face the defects!!

Er missylan, I dun find the lift man cute leh.....heh My daughter's scared of this dark dark uncle in fact. But he's great! Very onz. The only way to look for sup is thru him. Hmmmm....it's gd to be pregnant hor, even maincon also react so fast

Hi Limay

My handover was not successful on sat. They are still working on the defects.

Congrats.... Are you shifting in this month?

Hi Ka Ro,

Thks for your chocolate. Sorry that not time for u on Sat be'cos busy with the deliveryman from F & P (Mounting the dryer).

Hi Ka Ro,
What happened? Why unsuccessful? Btw, sorie for not inviting you & wifey into our hse cos busy with the mounting of the dryer. The men almost knocked down the partition wall ** Faint **

Oh ya, thx for getting us the choc

Hi Alvin & Fanta

No worry...I understand. Hope you and your little girl like the choc.

The handover was unsuccessful because of the dark stain on the living room flooring. During the 1st collection of key, we were told that the black stain could be removed by some cleaning agent, but until last Sat it was proven wrong. Therefore, main-con said they have to replace the affected tiles.........

Hi Ka Ro,
I would suggest you be around when they replace the affected tile. My friend leave the choosing of tiles to them ended up she say her flooring can play chess. Have to re do again.

hi fanta,

how to open the toilet door from outside?

i noticed that our toilet door got no keyhole, so if it is accidentally locked from inside, you can't even open it if you're outside!!

fanta,
Most children afraid of darker tone ppl. Haahaa...

He is very friendly and whenever he sees us, he sure will smile. Maybe I am friendly with him too.

Cos I told Adeline that I dun care about other minor defects(cos rushing for renovation and hope to move in mid of Jan). Rather spend money to get my own contractor to solve. Me really in need to move in... So boh bian

Hi Rachel

Thank you very much for the advice. To prevent further delay in handover, I shall call them and also be around when they are replacing the tiles.

HI Byrdie,

U can use a 20 cents coin or any key to open the toilet door.

HI Rachel,

Doorbell is not provided by PG

Hi Byrdie,
Very hard to describe.....use a key but invert it so that the head presses against the part that supposed to have key hole, then try to turn in clock wise or anti clock wise (can't rem exactly) direction & turn the door knob. Wun get locked inside

Ka Ro,
Rachel's right, you must be around when they change tiles. It's a tiring process, stressful on the eye to match the exact color tone.

Missylan,
You planning to shift in before yr delivery hah?

Mel,
I was so tired after looking at the tile. Not easy to choose, as most of the colour quite close. Spend 3 hours just to choose one tile.. :P Tomorrow ask my hubby to go take a look at the tile before they change.

Rachel

Wow... 3 hrs? Must be tiring

The living rm tiles or kitchen tiles?

We've to replace our yard tiles, remember the odd one out?

Mel,

Hey, how come take so long to change your odd tile.

Mine was the living tile. Now they trying to look for similar yard tiles for us. As they say colour different. I told them better go find today and don't wait til last min.

Raymond promise to hand the key to us on Sat.