Park Green

I wonder how will BCA answer to us if their 2nd assessment for us reveals poor finishing and yet they have issued a satisfactory assessment earlier

Hi Kyosho1

As Carol had explained earlier, BCA did the assessment base on sampling. That means that they will only assess 1 out of every 4 units available and base on this they will issue Quality Workmanship Cert for all units or project!

That is why I am thinking of paying BCA through IDconnect to get another assessment to get them into dilemma.

Merci,
Thanks for informing me. Think I will settle my resident card issue on Mon.

Mrs Chan,
You mention that we have to activate gas to check for blocked gas pipes?? How do you know that the gas block is blocked? Has yours being rectified?

Hi Happylady,
The first batch of the resident cards are in.... just that mine is not in that batch...

Hi Cool-blue,
My washroom basin is porcelain... but I'm re-doing my master bedroom washroom using the same black tile as in the common washroom... as both me and my hubby like the black theme. In fact, my ID said the black tiles NTUC uses in the common washroom wall are quite expensive... there are cheaper substitute (with similar quality) available in the market. NTUC shld spent that amount of money to provide a better flooring instead.

Hi Carol

My hubby had the power and gas on the same day. So the gas man from Citygas came and check. He informed my husband that one is partially blocked.

So I included in my second defect list. Anyway the main con rep stated that he will check to see if this falls under whose responsibility. The main con or the company that provided the cooker.

snowball2 (snowball2) :

ohhh only the 1st batch of resident card in ... no wonder dun have my yet .. just went to ask today after 3 weeks of waiting.. and was told not in yet .. saw the card and it acctually looks not bad.. like some country club... LOL...

I was quoted almost $10,000 for renovation excluding the power points. The quoted price includes false ceiling for living and 3 bedrooms, TV console(living), freature wall(living), feature wall(master).... Expensive?
By the way, how much will be one power point?

Please advice...

Hi Missylan

I was quoted a reasonable sum of about $9K for the following (i have extracted the total cost of the following from my full renovation contract, which included many other renovation works):-

1)feature wall at living and dining
2)false ceiling for living, dining, master
3)wall paper for 2 bedrooms
4)painting of house
5)Tv console
6)feature wall in master
This includes general cleaning, electrical works.

I think I got a good deal. You may want to source around for more quotes.

Hi Mrs Chan,
When u say electrical works, what do u mean? from the numerous quotes i got, installation of per lighting point is avg $35. So u have a false ceiling with downlights..that could mean quite a number of lighting points. How many lighting points u got?

The wall paper for the 2 bedrooms if for all 4 walls? if it is, it's very cheap!

The quote i got for one side of my whole living room to dining room to foyer is already 2.1k using high quality wallpaper!

Which id firm is it if u dun mind? thanks!

Danny,
U got the wrong person. It was Merci who will be doing the exhaust fan.

Merci,
Can u help with Danny query. I cannot help him.

EIG,
I got my main door keys. There is a new and long scratch line at the main door tiles. Sian. The more u ask the workers to rectify defects, the more defects they created!

the flooring at bedrooms, it is parquet rite??!! Anyway, the contractors had them polished b4 handing over the main door keys over to us

My electrical works cost me $1600. Cos we shifting the SCV pt from one side to another in the MBR. Phew...that is so costly. Will be shifting 2 tel lines as well. Hmmm....only got about 20 lighting pts for the false ceiling. Anyone got better lobang. Another electrician quote me $1800. Cannot get a cheaper quote leh

Mrs Chan,
Yours is way cheaper liao loh.... But have you start yr renovation? If yes, how's their workmanship?

Nutty,
I was quoted each lighting point at $35 also... So x one meh? Cos our own shop lighting also don't quote this way 1... EC will get chop is it? Haahaa

To fellow PG neighbours who have attended the Saturday meeting,

We are gratified by the turnout on Saturday. It has been a pleasure to meetup with you people.

Any neighbours who could not make it to the meeting but are interested to know the outcome. Please drop an email to [email protected] with your unit number and name for a copy of the minutes on the meeting.

Hi Danny,
As we are not in a hurry to movein to avoid the possiblity of complicating things in the event of dispute with the maincon on defects rectification, we have been taking our time looking for ID. But I heard from my friend that it cost $150 to get the fan installed in a similar setup.

I received a leaflet on a special renovation package for Park Green. It certainly looks attractive. If anyone has taken their reno package, we would aprreciate you could share their comments in the forum.

Details of reno package from Colortec Design Studio. $11888

FOC items
Free inspection of unit for defects before work commences
Free installation of whole house lightings (lights not included)
Free interior consultation,design and colour corrdination
Free protection of floors with corrugated boards for whole house
Free 6 feet long galvanized metal support storage rack for bomb shelter

Living & dining
Specially design 7 feet tv console at living area
Specially design 7 feet x 8 feet mirror at dining area
Specially design false ceiling and L box at living and dining area
To re-wire 15 nos lighting points for living and dining area

Master bedroom
Specially design queen size headboard
Specially design 2 nos bedside table
Specially design 3 feet dresser with mirror
Specially design 3 feet tv conosle
supply and install window ledge top for bay window with scracthproof laminate

Room2
Specially design single size headboard
Specially design 1 no bedside table
supply and install windows ledge top for bay window with scratchproof laminate

Studyroom
Specially design 4 feet study table
Specially design 4 feet book shelving
supply and install window ledge top bay window with sctachproof laminate

Others
To paint whole house with ICI paint
supply and install night curtain for living area, roller/roman build for 3 bedrooms.

Hi Nutty (Kenneth)/Missylan - $35 for each lighting point installation? I think that is a tad on the high side. My ID is charging $10 each (2 points FOC) and another ID I spoke to quoted $8/point. You may want to check again?

I was quoted for the total electrical works for the house as a whole. Each down light cost me about $23. I have a total of 19 downlights in my house. (in master, living and dining and 2 for bedrm 3). yes I have wallpaper in master room, all four walls and for bedroom 2, 2 walls. Lights not included in the quote.

Many ID I ask, they tend to find doing renovation works very little to earn coz everything already done up. I have approached as many as 20 IDs and contractors. You gotta ask around and compare prices lah.

I have seen my ID's workmanship and my husband and I are happy about it. In fact, he is also very service oriented. He kinda gave me free shelves. He also went with us to buy our funriture, our lights for the entire days (whole 12 hours) at no costs.

Want me to recommend?

Hi Big toes

I think $30 - $35 is for the light point. $8 is for installation of the lights.

My light point is $30.

Hi Mrs Chan,
Ohh...as in $35 for the halogen/PLC lights included. I was thinking you guys were referring to just pure installation. In that case, it sounds about right.
Ours are mostly non-PLC/halogen, hence just $10X18 light points.

Hi Merci

I think you may like to scout for more quotation. I know that there are some ID who do almost that same things you stated for less than $10K, without curtains.

Hi Merci,

The quotation doesnt seem cheap to me. Those FOC items are very common with IDs/contractors. I do not have the free rack deal but gotta free book shelving and the window bay top free
The others FOC items are available for my ID too though some are not listed on my quotation.

Carol,
I was at my unit yday and saw u and ur hubb checking ur MBR....too bad u two are engrossed in your checking and cannot see me :P

Hey Ah Eng,

Next time we can wave to each other from our balcony... so nice!!
We too, did "beo" your unit to see if you were in your unit in the morning but didn't see you...then after that we were too busy checking defects so didn't notice you... saw your hubb and kids in the pool when we left..and he told us you poor woman sweeping upstairs

As for our inspection, initially our unit looked ok to us, but the more areas we checked, the more defects surfaced... and we ended up with quite a number of masking tapes all over the house.

My main problems are scratches on the tiles, esp. those in the MBR near the tub, ill-fitting window panes and sliding windows, some uneven tiles and hollow tiles, some glue stains, lousy silicon work and minor pen-knife like cuts on the kitchen cabinets (did you check for cuts?). We have not checked for leakage like what Merci did, but maybe will check it by this week. Oh yes, did anyone check for sewerage drain blockage? Heard that some drains might be blocked by hardened cement, so must check too.

Just wanna check, has anyone of you seen the flyer on the L shape custom-made shelves (for the store) that's selling for $150? It was in our letter box. Anyone of you keen of going for it? It's quite industrial looking (with 4 or 5 wooden shelves and metal frame, which comes in white, brown or grey). Think it may be worth getting, cheap and functional (though it does not score well in the looks department).

Alvin,
is yours similar to the system advertised?

Hi ah eng,
We were at our apt on sat, but did not see you around. Two weeks have since passed since our keys collection and nothing has been done at all for defects rectification..! sigh... talked to the supervisor. He mentioned he will try his best to speed up the work, but there are too few workers for too many apts... quite alot have not even collected their keys..

Carol,
good for u...seems that ur unit not much major defect

EIG,
We were not there on sat cos I was busy shifting my stuff over to my mum place. I was there on sunday doing some cleaning up. Btw, my place starting reno today

Hi Alvin,
Thanks! ha ha, feels more assured and more confident to get it if we know others also go for the same system.
herd mentality

List of defects compiled from forum. Please add on to the list if you have any things else.

1) scratches on the marbles
2) uneven marble surface (height). ""Then our neighbours told us tat we got to write in as defects for the uneven tiles. Guess wat? The main contractor grinds their uneven tiles edges, and now their tiles have different color tones!!! They are grossly unhappy tat the tiles are worse than before.""
3) sharp edges of marble (eg front entrance floor)
4) toilet towel holder - multiple dents
5) wall tiles in master toilet - scratches and
cracks
6) cracked / chipped window pane above WC toilet
7) Hollow tiles in bombshelter, living room, WC
toilet
8) Wardrobe door misaligned (cannot open fully)
9) water retention at planting ledge
10) Timber flooring - scratches
11) wobbly shower glass panels/doors
12) loose fixed-type window panels
13) dents / deep scratches and rust on chrome-plated metal brackets under the master toilet sink
14) Kitchen cabinets - multiple scratches over
metal-like strip outlining
15) Door - obvious patched surfaces
16) door knobs - multiple scratches
17) patchy paint job on walls
18) stained external windows
19) Deep scratches on shower door chrome-plated
hinges
20) Poorly anodized main door handle
21) wall not at right angle
22) water leakage in false ceiling
23) cracks and water seep in the wall
24) the tiles below washing basin have big cracks
25) Blk 6 unit 8 houses - rain water seepage, flowed all the way from the main door to the cabinet housing the electrical circuit box to the middle of dining room.
26) Fire escape staircase consist of exposed metal instead of concrete.
27) Living room sliding frame - large dent and exposed wrongly drilled holes
28) soap bar holder missing with bracket in-situ only!
29) steel stand holding the sink at the common toliet is rusty
30) Badly done grottings between the tiles.
31) Varnishing on doors "eating" into silver lining and walls.
32) Squeky doors and windows.
33) Tarnished faucets.
34) Chipped door sills.
35) Main door has hacked look on the top. Not varnished
36) planting ledge lock is faulty
37) the MBR top hung window cannot really close (must use big amount of force)
38) kitchen cabinets has quite a number of corners with the plywood unglued.
39) water leakage
40) all small wardrode drawer locker cannot be locked
41) 1 living room tile different color tone
42) kitchen glass window cannot close and open
43) 1 of kitchen glass panel got so many chip 44) MBR middle hung window lock both are faulty and cannot close
45) MBR bathroom window cannot close
46) balcony iron grill got so many scratches
47) paint stain on wall skirting, door, balcony wall, balcony door frame
49) WC folding door - cracked panel
50) crack window pane in kitchen
51) crack window pane in MBR
52) Toilet sink platform edges not silicon properly

noticed the scratches on the timber flooring was removed with a planing technique as I could see curled slices of wood pieces on the floor.

I was recently informed by my future neighbour about the existence of the discussion here. It's amazing to see so many of my future neighbours here, and there are so much useful information which should have be very useful for me had I known the forum earlier. Well, it's still not too late to join I guess.

But I feel it's a bit crowded as thousands of posts clutter in one thread, difficult to follow and reply. Hence, I've created a dedicated forums site for all residence of Park Green, the forum will be used not only for renovation issues before we move in, it will also act as online community after we move in and become real neighbours.

Please be informed that the forum is not related to the PG management authority in any way, and it's not for commercial purpose either. It's free for you to use, as long as you use it properly.

URL: http://forum.parkgreen.info

So, go there and register your favorite account and start posting! There's a dedicated forum about renovation which you can use for all your renovation talk.

Hi Kenneth

I hope you recevied my mail on the ID.

If you need any help on anything, pls go ahead and ask.

My ID said that he will be starting work on my unit this week and hopefully I can move in mid Dec 04. i can hop around the Christmas tree.

hi teak,

i'm not parkgreener, but v.impressed with the forum u've created.

how did u go abt setting up such forum.

alway interested but getting nowhere.

also, i realize those pix u've taken, v.well taken. may i ask wat kind of equipment is being using?

Hi Teak,
welcome and thank you for the marvellous forum u have created for Park Greeners.
Well, I have given my support and already registered as angsc74.

See u all at the PG forum =P

roooller,

As long as you have some web space on a server supporting php & MySQL, you can build your own forum site using vbulletin. You can customize it to suit your taste and needs.

To avoid off track discussion, you may send email to me @ [email protected] if you like to know more. Or you can register an account in PG forum and we can have a discuss there.

Ah Eng,
Here I come...

For those who have not registered at the new forum, I wld think that registering under the same name will be easier for us to "recognise" each other... we just need to carry our other issues to the new forum and no need to guess who's who. But I think I know why Ah Eng is not usng Ah Eng anymore

Oh ya, thank you Teak for doing us such a big favour!

Hey Roooller,
Have you moved in to your new house?

Alvin,
How about you? I saw that your curtains are up and your windows are always open whenever I pop by PG, have you moved in? Can I pop by to take a look at your beautifully renovated house? You can pop by mine this weekend too... can see how good or bad my unit is

Hi Carol,
I think Alvin already moved into his love nest

Anyone getting Sharp fridge? So far no commends in the forum leh. Don't know how good it is.

Hey Rach,

How's your unit? Everything's going fine? When's your turn?

Talking abt electrical appliances, are there any pple who are still interested to join in bulk purchase cos I may be checking prices again, but this time I will not post any more of the details in the forum. If there are any interested parties, pls leave your emails and I will get in touch with you

Hey Danny,
Ah Eng has started a FS thread at the new PG forum... go check it out and let's share more advice there...

Oh yes, did Cecil give you a copy of the things that have to be done for the house, i.e. the FS tips like hanging hu lu in the toilet? He told us lots of things verbally and I dun think I can remember them all...and wat's worse is that I omitted some while writing them down