Park Green

Was trying to call the customer service of PG the whole afternoon. No one actually pick up the phone. Could you imagine, they actually promise to do up the defects by last week, to date still no sign of work done....what's even more ridiculous is my defect list is so little.

If they dun do up by next week, I think I need to seek legal advice.

Tokking about ID quotation, my ID threw in some things FOC like shelves.

I'm back and my heart is shattered

ATTENTION all those in Blk 6 unit 8. Please go to your unit ASAP and check for rain water seepage. The rain water flowed all the way from the main door to the cabinet housing the electrical circuit box to the middle of my dining room! Imagine the shock it caused to a tired, stomach-flu ridden recently married bride.....

I rest my case, you all can go experience the shock yourselves SIGH.... Better go early or you will have an additional defect i.e. marble flooring with water stain!

hey Chinnie

Did you tell the main con? What did they say? Anyway how did the water seep in? If it is due to their workmanship, what alternative course do you have?

This sounds so serious.

Mrs Chan,
I told Chinnie that I was telling my hubb on one rainy day while we were visiting our block that we have to place a piece of at the door sill to prevent rain water from coming in...and true enough, my prediction come true! I felt so sad for Chinnie...everything seems to go wrong for her unit... she might be the next best person to seek legal advice if she wants to do so.

The maincon's shoddy worksmanship and the developer's attitude really pissed many residents off... I won't be surprised if one day a group of residents go marching in to the developer's office!
That's what the BL residents did!

Hi Mrs Chan,

Told the main con, told the management office also. This is actually a acrchitectural design fault. Know the big gap on teh wall just outside the main door? My guess is that it came from there. Sure doesn't help that my unit has a tiny foyer (marble flooring) outside my main door.,... the marble will be gone case in no time. The floor is sloped towards the living room, thats why water flowed right in. One worker was working on my next door unit, he saw my water seepage and said "never mind, cai yuan gun gun". I nearly fainted there and then
Btw, I dunno what blk you are in, but Mr Ong, My Yap and the condo manager are all on leave when i dropped by today, so that's the reason why you can't get anyone.

Carol dear, I so suay hor? The main con also confirmed that a few of my bathroom tiles are hollow, and the tiles below my washing basin have big cracks, so have to redo. Sigh.. they might as well tear down my unit and redo everything.

Actually I saw the lady screaming outside the management office, i can fully understand her feelings and will not be surprised if i start doing that. Its just so depressing. You know wat? The supervisor got his worker to do up some of my defects, but it wasn't rectified properly and i have to resend in the defects. And he told me that he can't help me expedite anymore becos he already helped me once. They think we like to fill up defect forms? The whole bathroom floor grouting was badly done, and they rectified only the middle tiles and leave all big gaps in teh corner, claiming that the workers rectify where stickers are; so they are otherwise blind? Its not that we are fussy, but their workmanship is just not acceptable. Our unit is so badly done that it can be a classroom model of what bad workmanship should be like. Imagine I still have not checked for hollow floor tiles, really scared at what I might find.

I'm leaving for my honeymoon soon and when I return, their one month deadline will be up. If my defects are still not rectified by then, I shall get my ID to do up a quotation and charge it to NTUC. I have 101% more faith in my ID than the workers in PG. So if you ask me if I wan to get my defects rectified now? I really have mixed feelings.

All others, please activate your water and electricity ASAP. Better to spend a bit of money than to risk the possibility of missing out possible defects. The kitchen and comon bathroom are so dark that you can't see anything without light. Without water, you wont be able to check for water seepage as well.

I actually dread going to PG now SIGH SIGH SIGH

After reading Chinnie's experience, now I am abit worried about gg for my final inspection today. Wat if I accept all the rectifications already and found more later....so scary!! Hmm..we still have a year period to submit major defects rite??

Chinnie, thanks for highlighting the defects. I think I better check more although my first impression was that the defects are superficial. I can understand your feeling and hope that the contractor would rectify the damages immediately if they read the forum. Image of the contractor and NTUC at stake now.

I think the contractor do read the forum as I notice from the PG notice board that there are aware of the milipede problem at the pool.

About neighbours, I met 2 of the Blk 6ers when I first got my keys. Friendly people
So I think the inconsiderate ones, if there are any, would be a small %.

Hi Chinnie,
My unit condition is as bad. Almost 20% hollow tiles in all rooms, wall not at right angle, water leakage in false ceiling, uneven floor, 5% hollow wall tiles, bathrooms tiles have to redo, cracks and water seep in the wall, and etc.

I spoke the maincon nicely so that they can help me on the defects that I have listed out are major defects not acceptable under CONQUAS 21 standard which I don't understand why BCA pass my unit without noticing the obvious defects.

Hi Ah Eng,

No problem even yr final inspection is ok, if u found out some more defects, u still got one more year for them to rework for you. Don't worry so much, the headache start went your reno begin be'cos your whole house will become so messy & after your reno complete, you will find more defects done by your own contractor.

Hi Chinnie.

First things first - how was ur wedding? Must share with us ur pix ok?

Sigh...quite upsetting to read abt all the defects & the way they are handling things! Guess will just have to close one eye for the more superficial ones. Or else will end up puking blood!

List of defects compiled from forum. Please add on to the list if you have any things else.

1) scratches on the marbles
2) uneven marble surface (height)
3) sharp edges of marble (eg front entrance floor)
4) toilet towel holder - multiple dents
5) wall tiles in master toilet - scratches and
cracks
6) cracked / chipped window pane above WC toilet
7) Hollow tiles in bombshelter, living room, WC
toilet
8) Wardrobe door misaligned (cannot open fully)
9) water retention at planting ledge
10) Parquet flooring - scratches
11) wobbly shower glass panels/doors
12) loose fixed-type window panels
13) dents / deep scratches on chrome-plated
metal brackets under the master toilet sink
14) Kitchen cabinets - multiple scratches over
metal-like strip outlining
15) Door - obvious patched surfaces
16) door knobs - multiple scratches
17) patchy paint job on walls
18) stained external windows
19) Deep scratches on shower door chrome-plated
hinges
20) Poorly anodized main door handle
21) wall not at right angle
22) water leakage in false ceiling
23) cracks and water seep in the wall
24) the tiles below washing basin have big cracks
25) Blk 6 unit 8 houses - rain water seepage, flowed all the way from the main door to the cabinet housing the electrical circuit box to the middle of dining room.
26) Fire escape staircase consist of exposed metal instead of concrete.

I think the rain water seepage is due to the structural fault, not sure if they can do anything to counter it. I think all, if not almost all units will be affected, depending on how heavy the rain and the direction of the wind.

So to safeguard your unit, best is that you place a piece of cloth at the front door sill, so at least you minimise the risk of water entering your unit and staining the tiles.

Hi Limay,

Wedding was fine. The banquet atmosphere (at least the deco part) was a fairy tale come true
So all was great until i came down with stomach flu on the 2nd day and then saw my unit on the 3rd day hahaha

All nice fotos are still with my photographer, those taken by my own camera, can't download becos the card reader is with my hubby
Will try to download one foto tonite okie?

Oh, btw i din read thru all the posts. If there's any question that I have to answer, please post again ok? Groggy groggy now....

yo chinnie,

sorry to hear abt your experience, my fren's condo has this problem earlier. There was a heavy downpour on the day she collected her keys and she saw the shallow shelter created a small 'waterfall', splashes to her unit door and flood the passage way. 1 advise to you is to take pix of all damages and email it to the developer and condo managemt, ensure they acknowledge it to reserve your right to seek any compensation. For private condos, rules state they are not able to made alteration to the structure till after 1 to 2 years(not too sure of EC)... so meanwhile ask them to mod up smtg for you, like adding temporary shelter to block the rain flow etc to prevent further damage to your unit. This will prevent your place from 'soaking' too long especially it is raining season now. My fren is still monitoring her door and told the mgmt that she wants to reserve her right to change door and door frame. Hope this helps.

Chinnie,
so sorry to hear about your bad experience......

Carol,
Based on Chinnie's description, I don't think its a structural defect. Its probably due to the gap that water got in to the area just outside of her main door and flow into the unit....

dear fellow residents:

i am collecting my keys tmw. after hearing so much complaints i m having the least expectation tmw.

just some thots to share... i think there is no use to keep complaining in this forum apart from sharing your grieves with fellow residents. the developer or maincon will not give a shit what we are saying here. we got to apply pressure thru more legitimate channels. kudo to merci for initiating a residents' meeting. another way is writing to the press forum, this way to raise public concern of the developer's shoddy job, to hit them where it counts, ie their reputation. they promised us similar standards to full fledge codo. is this the case? are we short-changed after paying so much? if they can't deliver what they promise, what we can at least do is to warn future buyers about this developer, to stay away from their projects.

if some residents out there who can get hold of the contacts of high level ntuc officials, pls write to them about the resident's plight. i will do the same. there's no point complaining to jean or jenny because they just follow procedures, not the ones who direct the policies. the problem is with the organization as a whole, not down to individuals.

of course, there's the legal process to fall back on. go to your lawyers after covering all your bases. ie give the maincon maximum time to rectify your defects. if it's not done up to stipulated standard, then proceed with the legal stuff. do not accept the defects because you want to move in soon. the law is on our side if you are patient. don't let the pple that screw up your property get away with it.

I CAN COLLECT MY KEYS LIAO....

So happy but maybe this is also the starting of my nightmare, since so much defects needed to be "dig" out.... Alamak...
223424.jpg

Hi TGV,
I agree with you that we shld commence some action rather venting our frustrations here. I did think of writing to the press abt this, but in hindsight, we better not "advertise" our defect-ridden development to the public since it might affect our future resale value. Who wld then dare to buy from us if we want to sell it 5 yrs later? No doubt we can get back at the developers by doing that, but it might not be a win-win situation either.

The best is to stay united as a group and complained as a group, the impact might be greater this way and maybe the developers will take us more seriously. If there's no use talking to the maincon, then we shld start planning how to settle our problems with the developer since the maincon is acting under the developer's instructions.

Do keep us informed of your first inspection. Maybe you would also like to come for the Sat meeting which Merci has initiated. We need more of those who can help contribute and are assertive and insistent.

Kyosho1,
will you be joining us on Sat too?

Hi Carol Ng,
I am working from 8am till 6pm on Saturday, so I won't be able to attend the meeting. Maybe I can send my wife over.
Just to confirm and for those who are interested, is it at 2pm, on Saturday at Park Green conference room?

When we collect our keys, we were presented with the CONQUAS 21 Quality Mark Certificate which indicate that the unit has built and tested according to the BCA CONQUAS Quality.

With this certification, it would meant that the unit should not have the kind of defects stated in the BCA web site.

So I really don't understand why obvious visible defects like rainwater leakage at windows, 100 over hollow tiles, water leakage on the walls, damage parquet and etc can go unnoticed when BCA offical assess the unit.

Can anyone enlighten me on this ? Or should I hire idconnect to get BCA to reassess the unit for me. Thanks

My opionion to the defects issue:

There are already so many units that has defects.
That may take some time before our unit
can get fixed. I do not know whether there is
any practical use of the complaint, can try....
i.e but will they increase manpower to do it.

I think we just let them fix our defects within
a month, if not let your own contractor estimate
the cost for them to do and let the developer
knows and they have 2 weeks to take action.
If still no action, we do ourself and proceed
to claim from the developer.

You may visit this link:
http://www.corenet.gov.sg/homeowners/defects/defect2.htm

cool guy.

certain defects might not surface after a while.
same thing happen to my MBR.

1-2 weeks after my key collection, one corner of my parquet shown sign of leakage.

CDL even remove that area. after 1 week of observation, they cfm no leakage.

Merci,
Do you know the CONQUAS Score that was awarded to PG? Cos according to the CONQUAS website, only top 10% of the private residential developments are above the score of 81.5 (and more than 50% of the private residential ppty scored below 78). SO you can imagine how badly done are the properties now!

This may also help...

"How are the projects assessed?

CONQUAS sets out the standards for the various aspects of the construction work and award points for works that meet the standards. CONQUAS is based on a 'first time right' inspection approach which means that any repair or rectification works done after assessment will not help to improve the CONQUAS score. CONQUAS does not assess every apartment unit. It uses a SAMPLING APPROACH to suitably represent the whole project. On the average, 1-in-4 apartment units in a residential development will be assessed under CONQUAS."

So in other words, only 100 or less units would have been inspected by CONQUAS and certainly that doesn't reflect the overall quality of the entire development.

I dunno when the development was inspected by CONQUAS, but I suspect CONQUAS may have randomly inspected those blocks which were completed earlier, e.g. block 12 (which probably may be why block 12 has lesser major defects than the other blocks). So knowing this, NTUC might well ensure that the worksmanship is better in their first few blocks and then became sloppy after CONQUAS completed their inspection...but that's just a wild guess.

Carol,

Actually, the sample must be chosen from every block to reduce sampling error. I guess NTUC must be very lucky in this that the sample chosen by BCA are those with the least defects.

Thanks Carol for clarifing this :-P. But why did CONQUAS give me a cert stating my unit achieve the quality standard.

They should have given it to the units they checked and the whole project as a whole.

BTW, my hubby told me that the VIP units are certainly given special treatment. He has been curiously noticing two Indian workers cleaning the loft window glasses with (Kiwi Kleaz glass solution) and polishing the doors and locks for the VIP units daily as he pass by the VIP units.

Perhaps, the VIP units are among units which the VIPs ensure that their units passed the CONQUAS quality standard.

Merci,
I believe VIP units were given extra care by the workers...but as for the window cleaner part (using Kiwi Kleaz), I think they use for all units... cos I saw a worker cleaning one low flr unit in blk 10 using that solution

Danny,
I dun think union members were given extra benefits other than the crappy 39 "pre-selected" units offered to the union members during the soft launch for grassroot leaders and union members. How I know?? Cos I'm a union member (and still get my keys so late)!!

Hi Carol and Danny,
What I meant by VIP units are units purchased by NTUC Choice Home staff. Who will have the authority to get Feng Shui selection done before the launch and audited way before PG TOP.

Perhaps, Carol might want ask Cecil again when he comes by your place. A PH unit facing the Punggol Park and having the best facing (door towards NE and windows towards SW) in the period 8 for the next 20 years.

And you know what, the unit number even strike 4D when the keys was collected according to Cecil.

hi Carol & Chinnie,

this thread is moving so fast dat i suppose u might hv missed out my earlier queries.

i was reading thru the good comments u had for ur id ( i presume both of u are using the same id?). m thinking of engaging her services for my flat. will u be able to comment on her workmanship and so on, e.g. carpentary...tiling..?

thks much!

Danny,
As what Merci said in her previous post, VIP units are those units purchased by the NTUC pple themselves, the grassroot leaders, or anyone who has "face" that's bigger than ours

Pebbie,
Sorry, think we've missed your post. You are quite resourceful to find us talking abt our ID in PG thread

Anyway, I have not finalised my quotation and design so I dun think I've got any to share with you. Maybe Chinnie might be in a better position to help...pls wait a while for Chinnie to reply as she's sick and sad... over to you Chinnie

I think we must complain appropriately. I totally agree with Carol that complaining and publishing on the newspaper really brings about bad word of mouth about our property. Though I believe it may hit them the most.

Afterall, a leasehold property will suffer a depreciated market value and Bad word of mouth may cause it to fall even further.

Perhaps the most appropriate manner would be to seek legal advice.

hi carol,

thanks for replying to my queries
hehehe...i was actually reading the posts previously on the nuovo site when i came across ur posts and some fella misunderstandg ur gd intentions
which then led me to PG site cos i was actually keen on purchasing a PG unit when it was launched but i was too slow.

i will juz wait for chinnie to reply when she gets better...or any1 who is using the same ID cld share their experience too

sure hope all of u get to iron out ur problems with PG's developer. muz be a terrible headache...

I'm back
Feeling much better and happier, perhaps it's becos i won't see my terrible unit till Dec hahaha. To those who have yet to see their rain soaked unit, i'm "glad" to declare that water stain has already set into my marble flooring and there are now two foot prints left behind by my slippers which was soaked in the cabinet!

Hi Pebbie,
Paiseh, too agitated, so din see your post. Went to see my ID's work in one of her client's place, and also my friend's place which she did up in Nuovo. Frankly speaking, i did not take note of her tiling work, becos my friend unit dun need tiling work, and same goes for her client's place (I think). But her carpentry work is fantastic! I was very impressed with the neat finishing and good workmanship, which is also why i actually hope that my defects will not complete on time so i can get her to do my unit hahaha. Anyway, will email you more details, so check your email!

Mrs Chan,

I agree with you. Another way is to call one of bigger shots of NTUC Choice Homes to attend our meeting.

I am into dun know how many pieces of defect list already. Sian.

Since my unit is Quality Workmanship certified by CONQUAS 21 (BCA), and there are still many major visible defects present. I wonder it is a good idea to get ID connector as my renovation project management to link up with BCA to get my unit reassess again by BCA.

The objective is to bring out the fault in the quality assessment scheme that sampling is not the right way to ensure quality in the construction industry as contractors can get around this mechanism by using good experienced workmanship on units that will be checked by BCA and lousy workmanship on units that will not be checked.

By the way, I remember there is a company (but forgot the name) who can do the assessment of defects and coordinate with developer to get all defects rectified.

I am just tired of this and just thinking of a shortcut to pay off another party to ensure my unit will be delivered of the quality I expect.

-----See below for the IDCONNECT/BCA advert--
Sign up for CONQUAS 21 QUALITY INSPECTION by BCA (Building and Construction Authority)
Through ID Connect, you can now have your newly renovated home assessed by BCA. Sign up before 31 December 04 to enjoy special promotional rate.
BCA will provide its expertise to carry out a site quality assessment on the completed internal workmanship delivered by your renovator, based on CONQUAS 21 Standards.
Outcome of the inspection will be presented in a report format issued by based on the following work areas:-

Floor
Ceiling
Window
M&E Fittings
Wall
Door
Components