Park Green

Fanta

Ha ha.. Yes, we are very near. We were so impressed with that plasma that we bought 3 at one go, together with family and friend. Think that helped to clinch a better deal with MS.

Alvin

Must check the price with hubby first.. Cant quite remember. Hey, did you guys buy the Sharp Grill-Convection-Microwave from MS too?

Christine,
Pls help to check what's the model no & price with your hubb. Where did you see it since it wasn't on display at HN/Best?

HI Christine,

We have actually bought a Sharp 32" LCD from MS but was thinking to change to 42" plasma. Pls let us know the price & model. Thks in advance.

Fanta

It is not on display yet. HN actually showed us at the storeroom but we read about it from the brochures. You guys interested?? Thought you already bought a LCD?

Christine,
If there are more pros to buying a plasma, we might chg it since haven't take delivery. Do give us more info of the model which you purchased. Thks!

wah me getting headaches on what kinda washing machine to buy.
Good news though, me getting keys next friday! Actually supposed to be tomorrow but am going off to San Francisco for work tomorrow...only back next week..

BTW the Sharp Grill-Convection-Microwave, is it any good guys/gals? I wanna get oven and microwave, if sharp is good then dun mind getting...

yeah missylan and kenneth (tupiddog), insurance would be cheaper. I am below 35 too..but luckily my dad got lobang for the insurance, so it's under my name. Heh..

Anyway i have the same name as u too!

Bricriu,
I have got one of that Sharp microwave oven, think the model no. shld be R888F or something like that. Pretty good. Moreover, you can go for this free cooking workshop that comes with every purchase of the microwave oven

Oh yes, the plasma tv. I think for those who love visual clarity and realistic colours will prefer plasma tvs. However, the cons of plasma is that the tendency of getting dead pixels are higher than LCD. Not sure if there's any new technology now to overcome this problem. It also consumes more power (some models consumes twice as much power)than a LCD. You may want to take this into consideration.

Hee.. sidetrack a bit... did anyone notice the PG signage at the front gate? It shows "Blk 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 & 12". Since when do we have an extra block 4??!! NTUC didn't even spot such an error.

Carol,

Hee thanks! Where did you buy yours? Tot of going down to MS to take a look. Do u happen to have their number or address? Cheers

I bought mine almost 1.5yrs ago from Sharp (as in the company itself). Got it at a promo price of less than $500.

Not sure how much MS is selling, so you better check out the best price before going down. MS address is Blk 94 Lor 4 TPY #01-16 (hope I get the unit no correct cos I tried to recall it offhand)

I am tempted abt the F&P Warehouse sale, but i read abt
1) Numerous cases of noisy fridges from F&P
2) Lack of spare parts in the event it breaks down as the brand is from New Zealand (?), hence less common compared to Jap/Korean brands

Lastly, as it's display sets on sale, the rubber sealing on the doors of the fridges would have somewhat be worn out as compared to new ones due to the frequent opening and closing of the doors by customers.

Some pts to consider. Anyone got comments?

Carol,
How has it been working for you so far? Easy to bake and gril?

Nutty,
Personally I feel for fridges it's best to go for Japanese brands. I have a whirlpool now and it's not in a good shape. The rubber wears out quite fast and if u don't shut the fridge door tightly, it will "overheat" and the sides get really hot, thus higher energy consumption.

Carol,

Could Blk 4 be the clubhouse ?

Me and hubby bot the 42 inch LG Plasma from Megastore. Tot it was a good buy at that time cos the px is affordable $4700 with free wall mount and reasonable quality. I only know the contrast is 3000:1. But now start seeing the prices of the other brands dropping and LCDs getting bigger and cheaper, dunno is it still best buy.

Anybody considered buying the Toshiba Plasma Beam fridge ? Tot its cheap and got anti bacteria.

Wooh.. This thread moves very fast!!
Thanks kenneth!

hey guys, Where do u get ur floor plan (measure to scale)? I'm thinking of submitting the floor plan to interior designers..

hi carol,

u referring to dead pixels to the 'burn mark' fr plasma is it?
understand it can b rectified for some models.
the models christine should b able to rectified.

woah.. topic of the day is F&P and plasmas...

was like the majority of us who are undecided between plasma and LCDs.

here's my 2 cents worth :

undestand that buyers "must" accept max of 10 or 15 "dead pixels" upon delivery of plasma. For those with resolution less than 1000, it is actually quite visible before u go very near it.
u got to pay to replace these pixels.pixels die after two to three years..depending on the quality of the plasma screen.
Must check with the store what is the acceptable no. of dead pixels - if any before they deliver. w

and also, like what Christine and Carol mentioned, plasma also emits alot of heat and energy consumption is also pretty high.

LCD technology has improved and you can get to watch fast action pictures like soccer for eg. with better clarity and movements which is comparable to plasma screen. LCD is best watched at 30" or 32". 37" onwards will give you slightly distorted image.

Hi Polly, nice to noe dat I hav got a neighbour on the same flr.
Btw hav u rec'd any letters to pay the maintenace & surveyor fees yet?? So excited to get the keys. Dunno when meh.....Hope it won't b long....

Chris, thanks for the useful info dat u had given me today. Appreciate it
Hope dat can meet up soon. Thk my hubby can remb ur hubby. Tok to him juz now, he said he remb leh.
Envy dat u had alrdy gotten ur keys. Catch up soon. =)

Bricriu,
Hee...paiseh, I have not used that to bake or grill yet! But I like the convection part of it since it doesn't dry up the food when you heat you food in it

Maybe will go for the cooking workshop provided then see how to use it to bake and grill.

JM,
Dunno is Blk 4 is the clubhouse leh... anyway, Toshiba is not a bad choice since it's reasonably priced. But if you are particular abt it being extremely quiet, then Mit is still the choice

Roooller,
Ya, the burnt marks are actually caused by the dead pixels. Some of the burnt marks can be fixed if the patch is small. But if it's a big patch, then it might be beyond repair. However, I came across this plasma tv from Hitachi that claims to overcome the burnt mark problem...but didn't read up more since I am might be getting an LCD

Was at the F&P wh sale this morning. Looking for the 440(either top or bottom freezer) as this model can fit the slot we have (think can't go any bigger liao). was excited as some models can discount more than 50%. but end up not buying as most have yellow stains in the interior of the fridge/ some scratches/ dents. the S/S not the new ezyclean stainless steel but the old type (fingerprint prone). think that not worth buying afterall as don't think i want to buy $1099 for 440 S/S or $899 for white/sandstone.
but if none of the defect bothers you, than will be very good buy. saw 1 440 bottom freezer irudim (left-side door open) going for $1049... but got 3 ugly dents at the side of the door....

Hi all, btw did any blk 6 PGer get keys or calls for key collecting appt yet....
sigh... furniture deliver due liao....

Ah Eng, can I have your curtain contacts. Thx loads.

Gosh. this thread is moving very fast. I not around few days only already so many archives

Hi limay and chinnie,
Have you guys receive any calls from lawyer to collect keys? I need to rely on you guys as we stay in the same block

Danny & Rachel,
Limay is in U.S. now, so she might not be able to respond. anyway, we have not heard from the lawyer yet. we were told by jean that she'll issue the Notice of Vacant Possession by end of Oct or early Nov. if end of oct get the notice, most probably can get keys by early nov. think blk 6 and blk 2 are the last blocks to collect keys...

will keep u guys updated as soon as i hear from anyone.

Sigh... no news yet leh. Can any kind soul who is calling NTUC to arrange for key collection help to ask which blk will receive the notice next?

My hubby just called our lawyer yesterday. Lawyer say no news from ntuc yet..
Guess like what dracwy say we are the last to get our keys..

Hi Chinnie,

I'm the kind soul here. Kekekeee.... Called up NTUC yesterday evening. Was told that notice will be served to Blk 8 today or next monday.

Hi Kyosho1,

There is no Blk 11 in PG? I think u make a mistake

Btw, if anyone of u who have bought a plasma TV, pls share with us the brand & price you purchase. Thks.

Thanks White - at this rate, guess us at block 6 will get our notice for key collection by the end of the month - fingers crossed.

Alvin - how is the rectifications coming along? When are u guys starting on renovation? Yah, we got a plasma - kiasu - a few months ago - ours is the cheapest plasma model - P&G, $5999 for 42 inches

MeLodie (melodie), fanta (fanta) :

yeah i oso find the quote for the curtains ex.. but i have asked them to give better price alreadi, the price is abt the same as those quoted to me from shops in park mall .. they told me good material thats why more ex.. anyway .. i would actually rather have my ID settle the whole hse for me.. but the price make me headache..

ah_eng (ah_eng) :

can let me know where u got your curtains done? is it with day and nite curtains?

All:

i recieved a thick stack of letter from lawyers today .. actually back dated ones as they already called me up to ask me pay $$ , which i already done so yesterday . but got one i dun understand . That is the CLAIM FOR OWNER-OCCUPIER'S TAX RATE form .. wat am i suppose to do with this and wat is this all abt ? can someone be kind enough to explain to blur me...

Oso is a letter supposely to Power Supply to request them to turn on power for me... sooo wat to do now..? wait till i confirm the date of kep collection than call power supply up or have to go down personnally?

Limay,

I have a feeling we would be next. I think Blk 12, 10 and 8 has started. So it should be Blk 6 next.

And I am going to meet my IDs soon!

Hi Limay,

They have also finish my defects & I think next week I can start my reno. Can I have the model no: for yr P&G (I think is LG right)plasma?

Hi ! Alvin,
Congrats on getting your keys so early. This is my first posting but I have been following all the fellow PGers postings.Can really feel the excitement here. Hope to get mine soon

However, just to share of a little on Plasma. I'm a sucker for Plasma and have been monitoring the price & model for the last 12 months. Finally, I narrowed down to 2 Brands, Hitachi & Samsung. IMO, Hitachi has the best quality & Samsung has the best value for money, especially with the recent $1500 trade-in. Finally ended up with Samsung due to budget. I paid $5300 for the 42" ( PS42S4S ) with mounting bracket & installation.
There is also an alternative model ( PS42D4S ) selling at $4800 with lesser speakers & inputs.
From what I heard, Samusung was the best seller for the last 3 months.

Kenneth (tupiddog),
Our lawyer told us we dun have to do anything for CLAIM FOR OWNER-OCCUPIER'S TAX RATE form. What we did for the power supply was to fix an appt with SP after confirming on the key collection date. Can be arranged on the same day if they got enough manpower.

Kenneth (tupiddog),
Forgot to add 1 more point, it's faster to fix appt with SP via internet than via phone. Dun have to go down personally.

alvin,
limay went to sleep liao. night time in U.S. anyway, yah, it's LG, not P&G (silly limay...)
i can't remember the model number of the LG plasma, but think it's already discontinued. can't find anywhere in the shops or the LG website liao..

roooller,
Sorie for not being clear. I meant to fix appt on the same day wif key collection. We did that to save the hassle of running anor trip down. How's your reno getting on? When are you moving in? Heard quite a no. of Nuovo residents shifted in liao

kenneth,
once you make appt for the key collection, immediately call Singapore Power (can get the 1800 number from www.singaporepower.com.sg) and make ask them how to turn on your utilities.

they will walk through the whole process with you, and will make appt with you to meet the technician to switch on the power. they will arrange to meet you 4 days later, at your unit.

so if you are getting your keys on friday, then you have to call Spower 4 days before.

not sure abt the ntuc. but cdl provides 'free' electrical power. so u get to on ur aircon on the key collection.

u take the opportunity to test ur aircon.
some say to on the aircon for one whole day to test for leakage.

if ntuc is not providing this service. then activate on the same day as ur key collection. else, i see there's no need lor.

u might want to ask those already gotta their keys.

btw, the SP staffs came earlier on the activation day.

as for my renov, just startedthis week. things r moving slow.

no leh, i drop by one of the night, apparently still quite quiet. like not many has shifted. though there's initial rush for the key collection.

Hi Alvin,
I bought my 37" LCD Sharp at $7499 comes with free 15" few months back. I believe now the price would have drop