Park Green

Hey Alvin,
Great for you! Bought your "hotel" mattress with bedframe at a great price!

I have jotted down the prices and models. Hope I can deliver good news to you guys over the weekend.

Saw your quotation too. You want to have wall papers in your living room? They look nice but I personally consider them a hassle, esp after a few yrs' time. My old house used to have wall papers. They either turned yellow (discoloured) or started peeling (lost it's adhesiveness). It's very unsightly and got to spend a sum of money to remove and/or replace it. I'm not too sure about the type of wall paper and glue they use now, maybe they are better now since my wall papers were done up almost 20yrs ago when my family first shifted in to the flat.

The breakdown of the charges seems reasonable, but I might not have a false ceiling and that many lighting points. Is no. of lighting point = no. of bulb use? Think I will get a no frills reno, except getting more built-in cupboards and a few dividers

Maybe I can chcek with your ID one of these days to see what they can propose for my house

Carol,
which shop are u planning to buy from?
If we do a bulk purchase, do the shop entertain different delivery dates?

Alvin,
the 2 IDs i talked to, commented tat the foyer and passageway comes wif the false ceiling. I am not too sure what they meant by that. Now I am wondering, if that is true, then u wldnt need another false ceiling for the passageway rite??

Hey Ah Eng,
I'm sure the electrical shop will accomodate different delivery dates

I will be checking out Min Sheng, since the boss is fond of matching his rivals' prices or even offer better prices!

If you have anything in mind, let me know the price and model ok? I will check it out for you

Hullo All

Wow, the thread is moving fast.

Carol, count me in too! I need a washing machine and a toshiba fridge

I bot my Sharp Aquos 20'' at $1699 from Best Denki... w/o bracket. So have to buy a bracket fr somewhere...

hey guys - i want in on the washing machine too - looking at LG fuzzy logic - most places selling the 6.5kg for $349 including delivery (1 yr warranty)...wana see if can get a cheaper price...

Alvin - how do u find ur ID? ...are u comfortable with him? no hidden cost that he didnt tell u...?
quite certain with ours from Fusion Concept, but ur ID quote sounds more attractive leh...

Hey Carol,
Yah, top loading..we hv always used top-loading, associate side-loading with the dhobi places..hehe..so just picked which ever top loading one that looks nice
umm...didnt copy the model no, but its the 6.5kg one in matt silver (there is only one model). sorree...
dont think the price will vary alot thou...cheapest i hv seen is $349. thanks!

Hi Alvin,

Hope you dun mind I kpo. I think you can bargain with your ID on the electrical cost, since you doing so many lighting points, the savings will come up to well, maybe a bit lah
Additional points and installation of lights are one of the few standard things that we can compare across the board
Let me know if you need any price references, i can PM you or list in here if others are interested.

Hi Snowball,

To know how many lighting and electrical points you have, check out the last page of the sales brochure on specifications. I used that to guess the location of lighting points (and by looking at the previous showroom)and increase the number of points according to what I need. For your info, false ceiling is provided in all passage ways, kitchen and bathrooms, so no need to ask your ID to do, save $$$

Hi Limay,

This is ID company is my friend. I think the best is that you go down to view his design. So far we saw a HDB unit that he have done is quite ok & his price is pretty cheap.

Got to check out specs tonight to see what we are getting and not.

Hey Limay,
Will describe what you told me to the boss and see what model he's going to quote me. If the price is anywhere around $349, think that shld be the one!

Hi carol,

I am actually looking at Toshiba GR-H55ST fridge @ $790, or Mitsubishi MR-F62P(ST) @ $1080. As for washing machine i am looking at LG WFT85B31EP @ $699 or Panasonic NAF90GS-GY @ $599. Both washers are Top loader

Wow, I was a little overwhelmed by the no. of items you guys are eyeing!! I can do the shopping for all of you
. I'll try my best to get the best deal

Alvin,
I heard that F&P's fridges are noisy and not as durable as their Jap or Korean counterparts. One even said that the salesman showed him the motor is made in Malaysia. Maybe you want to think twice. Afterall, paying so much for a malaysian made prdt is not that worthwhile.

Hi Carol,

I think if we all get from the same dealer , i am sure we can get good disc..
Do you need help? Let me know if you can't cope, i can help you to call

Hi Carol,

Thks for your info. Beside F & P fridge, do you know any other brand that have almost the same desgin with stiansteel finishing. I like F & P be'cos of the design but don't know any thing about the spec.

Hi Rach,
Thanks for offering your help. No prob, I can still manage. I tried calling, but they are not as "open" abt their prices over the phone, so I think it's still best to make a trip down to get the best prices. Moreover, I can take a look and offer my 2 cents worth of comments after the trip.

I am optimistic abt getting good prices. I will be able to put my "bargaining talent" to the test this weekend

Hey Alvin,
There are in fact many other brands offering stainless stain model. Mitsubishi is one of them, but it depends on whether one is willing to invest in those ex fridges. Mit fridges are quite ex, esp their Folio series

I went to Courts the other day and got a few brochures (Mit, Samsung & Toshiba) for the fridges. Toshiba seems to be the cheapest among them. DIdn't cheap out Panasonic cos so far haven't heard many pple comment on that brand. But if you see any Panasonic fridges you are interested in, let me know. I can check out the best price for you

Hi Carol,

The mitsubishi MR-F62P(ST)$1080 is actually stainless steel. I was hoping to get lower about $900
If can get lower then that is even better :P The only set back is the size whether can fit into our home. So to play save is to wait til we get our keys

I'm park greener too...
Bought the WMF pots and pans earlier on during sales. Use the pans to boil instant noodles and realised the handle is very hot. Is it suppose to be like that? And I check all the pots and pans of WMF, seems like all of them have stainless steel handle.
Saw in the last thread that you guys bought a few WMF sets too, any feedback? Or did I use wrongly?
Sad...

Hi YYBB,
I actually expect that...and I mentioned in my earlier posts that the stainless steel handles are the only con. The handles shld have been convered in insulating material

I dun think you have used the pots wrongly. It shld be like that. Just be careful not to burn yourself when you're cooking. I still have not used mine, but it shld be the same too.

Btw, which blk are you staying in ?

Hey Alvin, ok thanks - will speak to our ID and see if he can lower the prices before we get a quote from your ID

Carol - thanks for agreeing to check up on the LG washing machine for us

Carol/Alvin - we got a stainless steel fridge - GE, about 400+ litres. Wanted a F&P also, but not too sure if the sizes can fit into the space, cos their fridges tend to be quite broad...If you want to get anything before u get the keys, just make sure its something of a standard size!

Pardon my ignorance, but do we have to place the fridge in a fixed place? Did they allocate a "slot" for us to place the fridge? If the slot is at a corner, we wld have problems if we buy fridge with side-by-side doors!!

Hi Carol,

According to my floor plan here. They actually have a slot specially for the fridge. So is better to take measurement on the actual flat then to commit one. Unless you go for smaller fridge. My idea was having a big fridge to just fill up the slot so i don't have to clean the extra space at the side..

Hi Carol,
The space for the fridge should be fixed already & in a corner if I'm not wrong. Also bear in mind that the space is limited so better not commit to a huge fridge

Btw, I saw WMF pots and pans on sale not just in Tangs but the rest of the dept stores like Taka, Isetan. I like the chinese wok which can be used to steam food as well but have yet to buy it. The sideback for the pots is really the stainless steel handle, otherwise it is really a good buy.

yah...i think the slot for the fridge is not particularly big, wont fit the 2-door types, unless u intend to get permission from mgt to hack the sides of the walls....troublesome...

Think I will be getting a fridge that's no more than 500L. Getting a big fridge and under-utilising it is a waste of money (and electricity). Now as the TOP is drawing nearer, there are so many things to think about...kind of headache.

I've reading the Nuovo's thread for the past 2 days. It has just obtained TOP and the residents have to book the appt date to collect the key and view their units. Seems like a long wait even after it has obtained TOP. I'm thinking, by the time I finish my reno and stuff, it would be so close to X'mas before I can really shift in

Hey Fanta,
I took a bet when I bought those WMF pots and wok. I told myself if the stainless stain's quality is good, then the handle is just a small problem... rather than getting a lousier wok with insulated handles

If you have Tangs card, I rather you get them from Tangs cos you still get $0.80 rebate for every $10 spent. So for me, I got back about $17+ from those WMF purchases

Hi Carol,
I also KPO catching the excitement of the Nuovo's residents over their TOP. Realised that it's very much dependant on the efficiency of the lawyer. So far, our lawyer dun seem to be that efficient. Our CPF forms were submitted late a few times cos our bank received notification quite late
Hopefully, things will change for the better.

For the WMF pots, just have to be a bit more careful with the handles and they should be able to last a long time

Hey Fanta,
I dun have faith in my lawyer. Dun think he's efficient. I got to call to ask him about the notice in writing on the latest progressive payment

So imagine, there's plenty of delays after TOP is granted. Think mostly like we can only start our reno in Nov.

Oh Carol, cld we be using the same lawyer? hee....Which bank did you take your loan fm? Somemore, the lawyer's assistant quite hostile whenever we make enquries. Dun like to pester them unless really have to. Looking at the pace they work, it seems we can only move in by Dec liao

Hi missylan,

The floor plan that PG sent it to us quite sometimes back.My hubby base on the door size and measure. But to be exact is better to wait til we see our unit

Hi fanta and carol,

I guess too, by the time we finish our reno would be Dec. I may not even have time to celebrate my Christmas at PG
Will be busy unpacking all my stuff..

Hi Rachel,
Oh... thanx...

I think I'm the most worried of all, cos of my BB. My present room is super small, can't manage to squeeze room for the hammock.
159118.png

Missylan,
Too bad we cannot anyhow hack the walls of the rooms. Otherwise you can hack the walls of the adjoining room to make your master bedroom bigger. For my unit, I feel that my master bedroom is pretty small, might even be cramped if we have extra built-ins in the master bedroom

Argh....was hoping to get everything ready by end-Nov! Sigh...our wedding is on the 18th Dec and we leave for our honeymoon the week after for 3 weeks somemore...
Looks like have to to the chinese dinner and still live apart...so sad

Hi Rachel/Limay,
Did the ID advise how long it takes for reno? Ours may take 1 mth to 1 mth plus. If we get our keys by late Oct/Nov, we can only get settled in by Christmas time.

Fanta, he said 4-6 weeks, but i think can rush abit lah, cos ours reno are v minor, no false ceiling and build in cabinets etc...mentioned that it can be done concurrently with the rectification of defects (as long as not the same area)
Gona have to push him abit cos of the time factor!

Fanta, he said 4-6 weeks, but i think can rush abit lah, cos our reno are v minor, no false ceiling and build in cabinets etc...mentioned that it can be done concurrently with the rectification of defects (as long as not the same area)
Gona have to push him abit cos of the time factor!

Seems like everyone is in a hurry... Mine is most urgent, my customary (& honeymoon) in mid Nov!!!!

Your renos seem to take pretty long, taking into acc the scale of work done, your IDs included the defects rectification period? Mine will take 12 days, excluding the defects rectification period of cos. Ask them to do the carpentry in the factory while you rectify the defects, should save some time i think

If reno and defects rectification are to be done concurrently, make sure that there are no defects in the place that you are renovating, and take lots of pictures of the existing defects, to prevent disputes

Chinnie,
Have you taken your photos and settled most of your customary stuffs? If not, better try to finish them before you deal with reno of the new house and the shifting in...otherwise it will be really stressful for you in Nov

Limay, yours is pretty long considering that false ceiling & cabinets are out. Can ask them to commit to a shorter time frame.

Chinnie, yours take 12 days only? Painting and false ceiling incuded? Your ID will help to check for defects? I must ask my ID to shorten the process too.

Hi Carol,

Photos taken & selected for album, extra photos printed or in process, cards printed, GDL havent, food tasting next week, most furniture and many hosehold items bought (hahaha, me running warehouse now), guest list mostly are parents, wat else? I think i will be super plus wonder woman in Oct and Nov!

Hi Fanta,

Yup, mine take 12 days. I have quite a bit of carpentry work (wardrobe, bar counter, bed, feature wall, shoe cabinet, etc), false ceiling everywhere except 2 spare bedrooms, and of cos painting & electrical lah. Yup, my ID will help check defects and chase developer, hope she can take some stress off me... I dun have any wedding planner, doing everything myself, imagine the stress...
Now wondering if i will gain or lose weight during the stressful period hahaha

Maybe if NTUC TOP earlier, I can be the first to move into Park Green?

havent had time to read the other postings, but seriously, how far away are we from TOP?

Also, I heard from an ID (Simply Design) that said that all PG units come with flase ceiling throughout. how true is that?

Chinnie, I think your ID also has to be super plus wonder woman like you!! hee..... With that kinda speed, you should be the 1st to move in
Btw, any news from NTUC regarding TOP?

Hey mobe540,
You really missed out on a lot of our conversation!

If you still have the sales brochure, flip to the last page for the specs of the house. I think false ceilings are provided for the foyer, passageway to rooms, kitchen and WC (?!), if I'm not wrong.

As for TOP, I dun think we will be getting the TOP that soon.. fastest maybe the end of Sept or might even drag to Oct. BCA said "I cannot tell you anything more, but all I can say is that the TOP has not been issued yet. I cannot tell you whether it's going to be issued soon." What a snob!

So I think come X'mas, we won't be having mass celebration but mass reno and unpacking

Hi Chinnie,
Can I ask, how did you come across this ID? I spoke to Esther just now and I be looking at her packages to see what she can offer me

Will let you know the outcome. We also talked about your package...but I dunno what type you unit is... Is yours the A, B or C type? How big is your unit?

Hi Mobe,
I seriously dun think that Park Green comes with false ceiling throughout, NTUC not so kind
I think what we have have are concealed wirings with lighting points (wire dangling out of a hole, i saw that on some of the lower floor units), so if you dun want to add additional light points, it will look as good as false ceiling? False ceiling will be on the passage way though, so you will see a drop in ceiling height once you step into the passage way leading to the bedrooms (this is my thinking, not seen with my own eyes)

Yup Fanta, i also think she wonderwoman, so if you see two crazy women flying around in Park Green, it should probably be us hahaha. I'm inclined to think that TOP will be end Sept earliest since they have yet to file for TOP and still doing rectifications. But well, I'm as usual being optimistic here

Hey Chinnie,
It's good that you are optimistic, esp. during this stressful period. Wish I was like you when I had my customary!

Well, not being negative here, but according to the Nuovo thread, they said that even when they obtained the TOP, the owners will have to wait for their lawyers to get in touch with them before they can pay the outstanding monies. After the chqs are cleared, then can they start booking the dates to collect the keys. And apparently, Nuovo issues their keys in batch, i.e. by blocks. So those lucky owners staying in lucky blocks will get their keys earlier than the others.