Park Green

Melodie,

Ya..i was there wif my 2 monkeys...if u are there at the same time, u will not miss my 2 monkeys...haahaa!!

Bernini's dining tables are quite nice...but oso dark wood...my sister likes but her hubb oso says its doesnt matches their theme ....

Where is systeminds? We ever went to one shop at IMM and saw a storage platform bed...cost bout $1500 for a queen size mattress. My hubb thinking of gg back and ask for another quotation.

This is the first time I logged onto this forum!
My wife and I bought an apartment there too.
Blk 8 I think.
Nice meeting you all and look forward to seeing you folks in person soon.

Hi ah eng

I remember seeing kids but dunno whether got 2 a not.
Where did u park ur car, just o/s or beside the building under the shade? I saw a MPV b4 i left
And heard quite a lot of pple asking abt their TV console. 7 feet right?

I think i shld drop by Bernini this weekend to look see... I went to Cellini also. Their dining tables r quite nice also.

Systeminds is at Marina Square & The Furniture Mall. Dunno if they have a branch in IMM.

Melodie,

We are not driving a MPV anymore. But our car are parked in front of the bldg at one extreme side. The TV console's length is 2100mm...dunno issit 7 feet or 8 feet.

Might not do a platform oredi. Yday look at the floorplan again...the room seems pretty small for a platform....But I think we will still drop by Furniture mall to wacky.
Now we are thinking of customised dining area...cos our unit is quite small....cannot afford to buy nice and 6 chair-ed dining table. But we v fickle minded ...cannot decide tis and tat...tat y alot of things we have not buy :P

Anyone knows wat is the fridge dimension tat shd fits best into the kitchen??

Hi Ah Eng,

I just call up my banker(OCBC) & she told me that most of the case is pay by CPF? So... are we still paying by cash?

Hi Limay,

Thks!! So how do we know whenther we are paying by cash or CPF? My friend told me that we have sign a form upon purchasing the unit to chose to pay by cash or CPF for the stamp duties but I can't recall it. Did you sign this letter?

Alvin,
for me, is payable by cash. Cos i remember signing the form and also the lawyer mentioned that we can use our CPF to pay for exp/loan of the house up to 90%. For our case, we had use CPF to loan 90% of the house. So no extra can be used to pay for stamp duty. Think u better check wif ur lawyer than banker.

Hi everybody and Alvin

I am new here. I can't remember whether have I signed any form regarding the stamp duties. But I do remember that our banker told us we have an option to pay stamp duties by cash or CPF.

Hi Ka Ro,

Welcome & thank for yr info!! Pls let up know yr blk & unit for our updating.

Hi An Eng,

I called up my lawyer & they said that I opt to pay CPF lah.... Btw, do you have any ID photo that you are planning to deco yr house? If can, can u send to me. I prefer ZEN style but got no idea yet. Thks...

Hi Ah_Eng

Maybe I left before you.
We parked under the shade b'cos it was very very hot tat afternoon... I heard 7 feet, anyway 7 or 8 feet also can fit

You can ask for a quotation on ur dining table. But it will be much more ex then buying a ready made one.

Still got tm, no worries

Alvin,

Lucky u ...paying by CPF. We dun even know we had signed the pay via cash form till the lawyer inform us....now heart so pain for the cash

I did not keep any photos of wat I want and oso dunno the style I want. Only knew i wanted something simple, minimum display stuff, dark wood and light colours. Zen style meaning dark wood and white/cream colours?? This is wat i want for the living room. My kids bedroom and playroom will definitely have some colours. My bedroom...still cannot decide wat i want :P

Alvin,
no problem.

btw..did u loan 90% of the purchase price?? Wondering how did u manage to get the stamp duty payable by CPF??

Hi Ah Eng,

Until now, I still don't know how much I loan. What I know that I paid up 10% Cash & 10% CPF & the amount to loan still unknown? Very headache lah!!! So many thing to worry like... how to reno, how much to loan, which playgroup for my daughter...etc

Alvin, dun worry too much. We'll try to help each other

Hi Ah_Eng

If I'm not wrong, we can only loan up to 80% of our purchase price from the banks. When u sign the agreement with ur bank, all details like interest rates and loan amt etc. will be stated accordingly.

For stamp duty, it is payable by CPF. If u have insufficient funds in ur CPF, U can pay in cash. Otherwise, the amt will be deducted fr ur CPF a/c.

I hope this helps. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

Hi Hi

Blur me. Just checked with my hubb. And let me correct myself here. For our case, this is wat the laywer had told us :- we cannot use CPF for our stamp duty because we had loaned from the bank 80% of the purchase price using our CPF for monthly payment and also use our CPF for the 10% downpayment. As such, we had already use our CPF for payment on 90% of the purchase price. And CPF ruling only allows us to use our CPF for maximum 90% of the purchase price.
Then how come some of u still can use CPF?? ...hmmm...feels abit cheated leh??!!

Alvin, if u had paid 20% for your house, it means that u are loaning 80% of the purchase price rite??

coolblue, tks for ur affirmation...

ah_eng

We also used our CPF to pay 10% of our downpayment + 10% cash. And we r also using our CPF to pay stamp duty and not forgetting the monthly instalments.

Hi Everybody,

Thanks for your wonderful advise.... Btw, if you are planning to buy ceiling fan for your new house, pls check it out this website: www.amasco.com.sg They got very special ceiling fan that can open & close.

RAZOR:

the electrical store I went to is along Hougang St 21, next to McDonalds. but if you really want cheap electricals, take my advice: GO TO MUSTAFA!!! most of the big ticket items like washers, tvs, etc go for $100 less or thereabouts! I'm most probably getting my stuff from there, cause they have ready stock and all items come with warranty. Trust me, cause I have done my research at Harvey Norman, Best Denki, Courts. this 3 places prices are abt the same, normally $1 difference (serious!).

Why not you guys try to ask your individual lawyer and clarify? It all depends on how much you loan from the bank. I just check with my lawyer, she say we can use CPF to pay for our stamp duty. I believe before you sign the agreement, the lawyer woeld have told you whether you can use CPF or cash to pay your stamp duty.

actually, if we are going ahead with the meet up, this will be a good opportunity for everyone to share their lobang, and also see if we can combine to do bulk orders (for painting, electrical stuff, curtains, grills, etc).

how? this thread getting too messy, cause everything and anything goes in here.

can i suggest 31 July Saturday at 4pm? We can meet at Punggol Marina? need a huge place. or Punggol Park? need not be a coffee place right?

Please add in your email if you have not done so

1) mobe540 [email protected] (#14-20 - see you in the lift Alvin!)
2) longmarch - [email protected]
3) ah eng - [email protected]
4) kyosho1 - [email protected]
5) missylan - [email protected]
6) Rachel - [email protected]
7) Roy - [email protected]
8) Melodie - [email protected]
9) Tokky - [email protected]
10) coolblue - [email protected] (Blk 2 #08-02)
11) Razor - [email protected]
12) Kenneth - [email protected]
13) Samily
14) RN - [email protected]
15) White - [email protected]
16) limay - [email protected] & dracwy - [email protected] (Blk 6 #08-08)
17) Kent - [email protected]
18) Alvin - [email protected] (Blk 12 #06-20)
19) Hui - [email protected]
20) woody - [email protected]
21) spidey - [email protected]
22) Vica - [email protected]
23) Augustine - [email protected]

on the issue of stamp duty, for those who purchased early, wasnt there this promo thingy going on which said that the stamp duties will be waived? not actually a waiver, cause the agent said that they will absorb the duties payable with the discount they offered us. not too sure, can anyone confirm? i am totally confused on what to do, what to pay, ...

Hey Mobe,
I guess we were one of the early birds (launched in Sept 02, we got our unit in Dec 02)- they mentioned deferring the stamp duties till TOP. Of cos there was also a discount off the list price, but then again - that was all factored in anyways (mark up, then pretend that they offered a discount)

I believe the typical case would be 10% cash + 10% CPF on signing the S&P, and progressive for the 80%. We actually paid another lump sum already, and will be clearing more of the home loan on TOP, rather than have to pay the exorbitant interest rates from Year 3 when the loan converts to a floating rate.

Anyway, best to check your individual contracts or with ur lawyers.

Agree with Rachel. They deduct the stamp duty from our purchase price but we still have to pay our stamp duty either by CPF or Cash upon TOP...

Hi Ka Ro - WELCOME!
We are also at block 6. Which unit are u guys in?

Mobe - 31st July for the gathering sounds do-able for us...but can we meet at an air-conditioned place rather than at the Park? hehe...have enuf of getting bitten by mozzies lah

I just read through the contract. In fact we have an option to pay by cash or by cpf. My hubby and i choose to pay by cpf.

mobe,

I can't make it on 31july. Will be in overseas again. You guys go ahead. Will ask Mel to update me

Hi mobe

I can't make it on the 31st. Going for my OS PS.

Hi Rachel

We'll have to get our updates from those who r going then.

Hi Mel,

You went to the Lorenzo changi sales right? Did the guy or lady willing to reduce further or they stick to the disc price? I like the dining table and side table. Just find that their price are quite steep for non teakwood. Will try to go to Furniture mall and ask

Hi Rachel

Yah i went, but i did not ask for the prices of any of the items there. If u like it then try asking them for further disc. I'm interested in a dining set from Cellini. And another one from La Cafa at FM. Sofa set still undecided leh...

Chk with Ah_Eng, she bought the TV console from them.

Hi Mel,

I asked whether they willing to reduce further? He say thats the best he can give liao. Anyway i don't intend to buy from him as i find that he is not flexible.

Hi Rachel

Chk with the ladies there. They r quite friendly.
Were u there on Sun also? I'll be going to Cellini again at Loyang. Go take a look. And also the exhibition at Expo this weekend.

Hi Mel,

Can i have Cellini add at the Loyang? Since i stay nearby here can go take a look.
The exhibiton coming weekend are those on home furnishing right?

I bot my unit on the first week of the launch. The stamp duty was so called absorbed by netting it off the purchase price.

Hi Rachel

I have to chk and get back to u by SMS. If u're going this sunday, tell me then we can go together
Yes, on interior decor and furnitures..,

Hi Mel,

Ok, will let you know whether i am going this Sunday
Just went and collect my air ticket.. Can't wait to go on holiday

how much will stamp duty be? enough to get a paint job for the house? to think that I really thought that the stamp duty was going to be paid for by choice homes, that's wishful thinking heh?

as for the meetup on 31st, I was only suggesting. Can someone like Alvin take over the organisation bit?

Limay:

you are spot on with the mozzies, but i couldnt think of anywhere else to accomodate such a huge crowd - i'm assuming that 80% of us in here will come with spouses and all. unless we do it under the hot blazing sun, guaranteed no mosquitoes will bite. how?

Let's wait for Alvin better huh. we can fix the meet up in august, maybe the national day weekend. let's see the response on who's keen.

Ok, let us organise another outing to discuss more details:

Date: 8th Aug 2004 (SUN)
Location: Compass point (Starbuck)near to Park Green so that later we can go together to view our NEW HOUSE.
Time: 2pm

I hope this time most of us all available be'cos the next day is HOLIDAY & "Double 8" is a good day to meet up so anyone keen?

Name: Alvin, Wife & Daughter
Name:.......................

Mobe540,
I know my stamp duty bout $5800-$5900!!

Alvin,
my attendance wif hubb and 2 monkeys to be advised..cos its a long holiday and we are planning a short trip...still thinking

Hi Alvin,

I can't make it on 8th Aug also. I am leaving for my Honeymoon from 4-21Aug

Hi Mobe,

My stamp duty is about $8.1k-$8.2k

Heya,
Think the stamp duties are closer to $8-11k - have a look at your contract (am too lazy to dig ours out, but i remember it being abt $10k)..makes more sense to just deduct from the CPF than to pay hard cash.

On our gathering, given the group size, I dont think we can ever find a day to accomodate everyone...Lets just go ahead when there is a sizeable majority! Perfer not to meet on a public holiday, but if most of us can make it this round, then it would be ok.

Ok, let us organise another outing faster this time to discuss more details:

Date: 25th Jul 2004 (SUN)
Location: Compass point (Starbuck)near to Park Green so that later we can go together to view our NEW HOUSE.
Time: 3pm

PLS ADVISE ASAP!!!!