Park Green

Hi Rachel,
Still dreaming abt u going for the gathering :p

Compass Point (Starbucks) 18th July @ 3pm.

Our 1st gathering:

1: Alvin (OK)
2: Limay (OK)
3: Melodie (KIV)
4: Ah Eng (KIV)
5: Razor
6: Rachel (NO)
7: Mobe (OK)

Our Guard House has been revealed

113656.jpg

Wun be gathering our 1st gathering cos my hubb flying to penang 14th to 17th.

Our 1st gathering:

4: Ah Eng (NO)
5: Razor

Hi Everyboby,

I am back from BKK. Everyday shop! Shop! Shop! Eat! Eat! Eat. Is really a shopping paradise!!! If anyone of you are going to BKK soon, must go to Suan Lum Night Market(Same as the weekend market but it open at 6pm til 12 midnight - more cooler) , MBK (A lot of store selling ladies shoes at 199 Bahit (S$6), Fake Branded Goods), Fake T-shirt) , must try these seafood (Beside Suan Lum Market called Suan Lum Seafood) & also the thai boby & foot massage at Marble House (Best for Couples & very clean).

OK, For our PG first gathering, anymore people joining us?

Hi Alvin,

Think you must have gain a lot of weight

Hi Mel,

Thanx for the picture. That is really fast. Think confirm TOP in August liao. Hope by end of August i can get my key
Sep can start renovate my nest.. Yippee..

Hi All.
You people are sure damn active! So many postings in such a short time! ;P Btw, can't make it for the gathering on 18 July as we've been really busy lately. Next time la. You all enjoy yourself and share your information that you shared here with the rest who couldn't be there! :-)

Alex / Limay,
Harrow. Sam is fine. He looks and sounds very professional, but haven't get back to me since I met him more than a week ago leh. Mabbe he got himself too many deals to go thru from that exhibition. Anyway, I sent my floor plan to several other IDs - Image, Ciseem, Rest & Relaz and Cubebox Interior. So far, only hear from Cubebox. Any comments about them?

By the way, where did you all get your furniture from? Have visited many shops like D&B, OM, Lorenzo, Lami, etc, hoping to visit more coz haven't seem to find a shop that have many furnitures that caught our eyes. Any recommendation?

Our 1st gathering:

4: Ah Eng (NO)
5: Razor (NO)

Hi:

Will not be able to join you as I will be away from the 18th. Rest assured, once we move into Park Green, we can meet anytime.

*cheers*

Hey all,

Hubby & i just got back from visiting friends in KL/Melacca (got a terrible sunburn & got stop at the customs with pirated CDs! Luckily they didnt confiscate them...

Hmmm - so just 3 couples for the gathering? Alvin, Mobe and ourselves? Was hoping for more...shall we reschedule or just go ahead?
Then again, would be difficult to catch up if the group is too large...If we do go ahead, could we meet at a more central location? hehe...so sorry - but have to get some errands done in town on Sunday!

Hey Razor- think we are sticking to Sam from Fusion Concept. Too much of a hassle to find more IDs...spoke to Mae from Cubebox - she was the one who cancelled 2X and didnt reschedule; same with a couple of others...quite silly to be chasing these IDs since we are the customers.
Btw - Rachel & Melodie recommended us a couple of interesting places for furniture hunting - might want to try Dempsey Rd? (plenty of teak wood type)

Hi limay,

I just saw Sat newspaper Lorenzo having opening sales at changi south lane up to 70% on their furniture.

Is it possible for you to pass me Sam contact? I may want to call him and talk to him

Hi Rach,
Lorenzo does mainly white zen-ish type furniture ya?

Sam is at 63584001, or 93875150. There are i think 2 other IDs in the company if he is too busy to take on your project...hehe...seems like a couple of us might end up utilising Fusion Concepts' services - remember to ask for a discount since it makes things easier for them with same location and similar layouts!

Hi Limay,

Yupe, Lorenzo does quite a lot of darkwood furniture at their new showroom. Best is their leather sofa is so comfortable..
I saw one of thier dining table. Like it very much but after less is $1488, we still find it a bit ex. The sales guy not willing to reduce anymore. Not even want to waive off the delivery charges of $80. Will go to another branch to ask for disc :P

ok, will ask Sam to give disc. Thanx a lot ya

Hi Limay

Welcome back!

Hi Rachel!

Have u all been to the Furniture Mall at Plaza? I like a dining table from one of the shops there.

Went to Nova last weekend, got quite a bit of L-shaped sofas there...

Hi Mel,

Nope, i have not been to Furniture mall yet.I saw Nova before. Most of the L-shape sofa comes with metal leg right? I am loooking for low and darkwood leg. So is not easy to find. Saw one at Rainforest but quite ex though. Have you visited Home Merchant at changi?

alvin, bigtoes

i reckon we'd better postpone the meet up, cause i have this strange feeling that i'm gonna stand your folks up. so cant count on me turning up lah

let's fix another time instead howboutit?

Hi Mobe540,

No problem lah, we can fix some other day.

Hi Limay,

Welcome Back!! Last time I went to JB to shop & on the way back to S'pore custom I also got caught for privated VCD but they got record our name & do not confiscate the VCD.

So right now only 2 groups (U & I) can make it for the outing, do you still want to have it? For me any location (TOWN) is fine, pls advise? (My wife & my daughter will be joining us)

may i know where is nova? i'm thinking of getting l-shape sofa with metal leg.

if u're looking for wood leg, can pop by lifestorey and life shop

Hi Rachel

I haven't been there yet. I'm going there this sunday
Any gd stuff there?

Hi poox

Nova is at Paya Lebar Road. Quite easy to locate

Hey Alvin & Mobe,
Yah - guess we should postpone the gathering till more people can make it!

Hmm...we have gotten most of our furniture/white goods already! hehe, kiasu...but we have a dog, and that narrows down our choices alot (like no cloth-based furniture)- so that makes scouting round for furniture easier!

Btw, Barang2 is having a sale - i know its usually quite ex, but some prices have been reduced quite a bit...Like we are getting this solid teak wood study table for $420 (usual $720) when the closest we can get at other places (e.g. Rainforest) cost about $550. U guys should check it out!

Rachel - welcome! Have to bug Sam for a huge discount the next time i see him!

i've got a question for everyone...where do you guys store all your furniture and stuff after you've bought them? and how do you know that the stuff fits i.e. the space given for your washer, fridge, etc.? that's two questions heh

you have all got me scratching my head, cause honestly, I have not bought a single item as yet, and will wait till i get my keys before i do my round of shopping.

pardon my ignorance here, but i'm really stumped this time!

mobe540,

U can store the things in my house, no charges for u pal,

As for big stuff u have bought, Store them with the seller.

I reckon it's cheaper to get the stuff during the great singapore sale.

Cheers. Happy shopping.

welcome back longmarch. you bought all your whitegoods already?

yeah, i'll check with the retailer if can store with them for the time being....but it would be almost like 3 mths you know.

Limay,
May i ask the length of your study table bot at Barang2?

Mobe540,
u are not alone. Myself and hubb are also kiasi to buy things first and ended up wif stuffs that cannot fit into the house. So we are also waiting for the keys b4 gg shopping. But meanwhile, we are doing window-shopping first.

Hey Mobe,

We started EARLY - been collecting "junk" from our holidays and work trips since 2 years back! I dont think u can ever find stuff to fill a home in a matter of months, and esp. not all in Spore...so much prefer to buy things across the months (years in our case) and continents!

Luckily for us, we have spare rooms in our houses, so most of the junk goes there. The white goods and furniture are all still with the shops (in most cases, they hold indefinitely till we ask for delivery or they dont even have stock for 3 months cos they have to bring in from overseas)...Also we have our Chinese wedding dinner in Dec, so just thought it would make sense to spread out the work load...

On the furniture and appliances fitting into the place, dont think it would be a problem; do have the floor plan to scale and did measurements in the show flat. Just have to avoid items like the dual-door fridges which are broader than the fridge slot, etc...

Hey Ah Eng,
Don't have the length of the study table on hand, but i think its roughly 1.2m...if u pop by Barang2 to have a look, its called the "Bali study desk" - comes with a matching chair.

Hi mobe,

Most of the things i bought are quite standard. For example like double bed, mattress and TV etc.. For fridge and washing machine i will wait til we get our key

Hi limay,

I agree with you that barang barang sales is worth buying.
I got my teakwood bed from them with 40% and then add 10% disc again

Hey Ah Eng,
We actually saw the study desk @Barang2 sometime back before the sale started - luckily the salesguy told us to wait for this sale, cos the original price of $720 was too steep!

Rachel - wow, 40% + 10%? i think i should pop by Barang2 again! hehe...we were looking everywhere for our metal 4-poster/canopy bed...even looking at shipping one in from the States - but the shipping came up to almost the price of the bed! Finally settled on the one from LIM's/Grange collection.

Hi Limay,

If you are really keen go look for Leon at Tanglin Mall. He is the team leader. He will give you 40% + 10% + 5%
Althought he tell me not to tell my friends but i believe he can still give. I am thinking of getting their dining table.

thanks folks for the advice. not wanting to be left out, i actually went down to best denki yesterday to look at washers, tvs, etc. took down the model nos, cause i have a neighbourhood shop who's willing to bring in the stuff for me at prices more competitive than what the big stores have to offer.

beds, sofas, lights and stuff getting from IKEA, so waiting for the keys so that the IKEA ID can take a site visit and make her recommendations. so more or less leaving this chore to the ID. of course we will specify what we want, etc through magazine pictures.

btw,anyone doing their own painting of the walls? or not painting at all? I heard it cost $1500 upwards to paint the whole house, true or false? the bill just keeps getting bigger.

Thanks for the tip Rachel!

Hey Mobe - check out the lights at Balestier, u need to scout round thou, notice drastic price differences between similar lightings in different shops!

We are getting the ID to repaint the walls with a wash & wear coating...The price they quoted is $1700 for our unit (1350 sq metres).
In the long run, i think it would be $ well-spent, in terms of ease of maintenence & durability...if u looked closely at the show flats a couple of months back, u would have seen black scratches from the paintings flaking off the white wash on the walls...
rather prevent that from happening than try to rectify later..
Just my 2-cents

beware of shops in balestier, they sell cheap but their internal parts some made in msia or china. It's better that u ask them to write on the delivery note that all parts are made in the CE if the part u are buying are CE design.

My two cents worth,

Mobe540, i suggest u paint ur wall. the whitewash they give may not be durable.

I have a good contact for painting, should be in the low oneish.

Hey Longmarch,
Thanks for the pointer! Btw, can u furnish me with the contact for painting as well? The price our ID quoted is a tad on the high side; he claims that they employ local workers rather than foreign workers "who are usually more slip-shot" - but still, would be nice to have some cheaper options.

Limay,
Hi. Have not heard from Sam yet! ;P Anyway, heard that most IDs prefer to do HDB flats biz as they earn more from there as condo owners spent less on their services as the basic finishes are already done. Anyway, spoken to Cubebox already - not too bad, but I need more IDs for comparison. Will be speaking to RestNRelax this weekend tho I heard their price are on the high side.

Longmarch,
Hey, can pass me the contact for the painter as well? Maybe we should really group up and try to secure bulk discounts from the various contractors.

Mobe,
Can share which neighbourhood shop you go to for the appliances? Have casually checked out this Hougang shop a week ago - ya, their prices are cheaper than Harvey or Courts or Best. If you get more from them, you can slash them further.

All,
By the way, can check out D&B at Furniture Mall (Think they are located on the top floor, just beside one of the escalators. Their sofas, coffee tables and dining set are rather classy and nice. Their prices are middle range like OM - Slightly more expensive than places like Novena, Aero but slightly cheaper than Lorenzo, Lami, etc.

By the way, anybody know whether PG is cable-ready? I know there are cable points, but I heard that some HDB flats in Punggol / Seng Kang is not cable-ready yet (got cable points but cable is not connected yet!)

Thought most new houses come cable enabled. When you subscribe to SCV then they connect the cable for you mah...got cable points is good enough liao

Razor,
think the cables are not ready only at punggol area, due to the issue between singtel and scv. anyway, they claimed they've resolved the issue and cables to punggol will be ready in a couple of months' time. whatever, it shouldn't affect our apartment.

Zann,
Not necessary. I think new apartments nowadays all come cable ready with cable points in each unit. However, like what Dracwy mentioned, the "main" connection for the whole block / development may not be connected due to a previous dispute between Singtel and Starhub. I have a fren who stays at Lilydale who only recently got access to SCV, after moving in for more than a year or so.

Dracwy,
Hope so man. Hoper they really settle their dispute. I need SCV to catch my football lei. ;P

Razor,

Ok. But I guess as long as the cable points are installed, is good enough. Once main connection is made, houseowner subscribe to SCV and activate the service, he can start using SCV. The more troublesome part is when the house is not installed with cable points. So any house that is installed with cable points is consider cable ready just whether service is available.

Went to the Lorenzo opening sales at Changi South and finally bot the first item for our house =P

Longmarch,
Count me in for the painting if there is any good discount.

Anyone got lobang for wallpaper??

Hi Ah_eng

I went there yesterday...
I went to Home Merchant too.

Wat did u buy? Their TV console is really value for money right?

Melodie
I was there too yesterday at 3plus or 4pm. Got their TV console ...heeeheee....real value for money.

I went to Bernini at Lavender street on saturday evening. A low platform bed catches my eyes. But my hubb prefers to build a customised platform. Any idea how much it costs to build a platform bed?? My hubb commented that normally the bed frame colour shd matches the wardrobe colour...I tot why must match??!!

Felt so happy that most of you can start yr buying and plan to renovate... Me can't!!! Hai... Baby popping out next yr end of Jan... SO everything also cannot do... :-( Now also no mood to do anything...

Hi ah_eng

I was there ard tat time too. Did u bring ur kids?
I wanted to get the TV console also but my hb said that he's afraid tat it doesn't match our theme, watever tat is

Anything at Bernini? Dining tables nice?

Maybe ur hubby wants a uniform look.

I dunno how much a platform bed costs. Prob. ard 1K up. U can try systeminds. We r thinking of getting them to do up a storage platform in one of our rooms.