Park Green

boheng

Carol, i ever tried jacuzzi once in the evening and it was sooooo cold! especially when the wind is blowing
i normally go jacuzzi in the late afternoon when the water is warmer.

boheng

btw how's the gathering last Sat morning? do the management still give free gifts (stone care solution) like the previous time?

ah_eng

Carol/Betty/EIG,
shd be no prob lah.

EIG,
all ur family...so pai say to go and eat ah. I dun think Carol went swimming too cos it was drizzling. So how was the BBQ? haven got the chance to try the pit yet.

boh eng,
ya..agree that this is a good way to know ur neighbours. Alvin told me that they are still giving free stone care solutions.

eijgnohz

Ah Eng,
The BBQ went well. It was drizzling abit when we first started, but luckily it stopped after awhile. I swam, but not for long. Think if you want to BBQ, do book pit 2 as it is just beside the pool. So convenient to just go to the pool and pop in. And thanks so much for lending me the chairs
btw, who are those ladies I met when I return the chairs to you? They look like they are bunking in at your place

ah_eng

EIG,
np...anyway only got those 3 miserable ones...hahaha
Tat 2 girls are my frens....they came by to have a chat by the pool...cos they nothing to do mah...hahaha!

janett

The last time I spoke to the condo mgr, he said he was very sympathetic of residents having to walk to LRT and working hard to form a committee of residents to explore shuttle..now the idea being being canned..who decided on it? Him?

ah_eng

Betty/Carol/EIG,
might not be able to join for swim tomolo evening. My mum's down with fever. If she doesnt get well, I will not be able to have my weekday off cos got to bring my boys home and let her rest.

bbmaru

Ah Eng/EIG/Betty,
So Thu is still on for us huh, with or without Ah Eng... Ah Eng, you still got a hubby at home leh... can tong bang your boys with him for a while and you sneak out for an hr lor...(I know you have to sneak out cos the two sure wants to follow one...esp Leonard

EIG,
I didn't tua you lah... I not feeling well on Sat evening mah... having headache after caught in the rain that afternoon... so was resting at home lor.. but I did went to the gym for a while on Sun evening... while running on the threadmill, the headache back again!

So the BBQ pit at Blk 8 near the pool is Pit 2? Wah, that one super popular leh... not easy to book hor...

eijgnohz

No lah, Carol, I am just joking. I hope that you have banish the headache for good now!
I should still be ok for the swim.

Yah, the pit was quite hard to book. I book the pit more than a month in advance (we are kiasu mah)! Got to do that if you want it on a certain date... v much like weddings.

ah_eng

Carol,
will see how first. Cos if I bringing my boys home, will normally reach home about 9plus (too late liao rite). Then reach home, must put them to bed....10plus liao :p

EIG,
u not kiasu. I planning to book one mth before hand too if got plans (esp for weekends)...hahaha..

boheng

Hi Carol, i was reading ur previous postings and u mentioned that there is a coffee shop near Ranggung LRT. While i was at the LRT yesterday, i couldnt see any coffee shop around. Issit within walking distance?

limay

Oh Boh Eng, we went to that last week - its at block 208, just get off at Ranggung & use the stairs at the opposite side of Park Green & walk the opposite direction...its about a 7min walk.
Carol, had the indian rojak & hor fun from that place (v crowded!) - both quite good
Pity its so small & hot...

bbmaru

Hey Bo Eng,
The coffeeshop is about 50m or less from the LRT stn. When you come out from the LRT gates, turn left and go down the stairs. You will see a T-junction just below the LRT stn. The road that turns into the blocks of flats leads to the coffeshop. Actually when you walk towards the T-junction, you will be able to see the coffeeshop on your right.

bbmaru

Limay,
You sure it's 7 mins from the LRT stn?? That long? I thought it was pretty near... either you and Alex strolled there or I walk way too fast
Think it will take me 3 mins or so

My apologies... then maybe it should be slightly more than 50m...maybe within a 100m.

boheng

Thanks Limay and Carol... guess tat is the nearest coffee shop to Park Green.. but still doesnt seem near as it will take more than 10 mins walk from Park Green

boheng

I find that finding food around Park Green can be quite tough if u dont drive.. let say if i want a packet of bee hoon for breakfast, i got to walk quite a long distance to the nearest coffee shop.. why cant they build more coffee shop instead of carparks in Sengkang? i can see lots of empty car parks around SengKang area but few eating place. No wonder most coffee shop around SengKang is always crowded.

bbmaru

Bo Eng,
Actually that coffeeshop is only convenient if you are coming back home by LRT and/or an alternative to the food courts at Rivervale Plaza. Otherwise, it's really not worth the trouble to walk all the way to the coffeeshop from home and then back again...

limay

Carol, u were sprinting issit? hehe...3min so fast? I think normal pace walking will take at least 5min..and another 10-15min to walk all the way back home to PG.
Boh Eng - there used to be shop houses diagonally across from the plot of land where PG was built, just as recent as 2 years back...but they cleared them all for flats!
So many residents & nothing to eat!

bbmaru

Limay,
You mean those low-rise flats were pulled down to make way for more flats?? Cannot be lah... didn't they have more than enough BTO flats near Buangkok MRT? I think they are crazy to do that... Agree that there should be more eating places near our place... can they bring back the hawker centres... I miss eating at those places... dunno like going to food court every weekends

limay

Hey Carol, yah...alex was previously involved in the NEL construction, & mentioned that there used to be the old fashion coffee shops just diagonally across PG, running parallel with the LRT! Dont know whats the deal with so many empty flats...what we need is a nice shopping center on the plot of land beside the tennis court!

I think Seng Kang also short of taxis!. Today I brought my son for 6in1 jabs, hubby went off to work after dropping me at the Kids Clinic(Rivervale Mall). Thought I can easily get a cab then but who knows... It started drizzling. My lucky day, a very kind man and his mother reversed and gave me a lift. So touched.... so pai seh!

limay

Missylan - wahh, so nice of them! Helpful samaritans are a dying breed here! But very true about the lack of taxis....we usually cab on the weekends, and its such a pain sometimes. Last week was worst, we were travelling with our dog (in a pet carrier) & cabs didnt want to stop even though they were empty! One guy even slowed down, read to stop, then speed away when he saw our carrier
so discriminating!! So anyways, we are contemplating getting a car, even if just to use for weekends...

eijgnohz

Actually I will rather not have a shopping centre besides PG
... there's enough shopping centres in Singapore already... ought to have more interesting use of the space beside PG.

Limay,
Yah, can consider getting a car... now COE so cheap somemore...

kenneth

Does anyone knows where to get poles for drying ur clothes? I have seen some nice aluminium ones with rubber ends. It's much nicer and lighter than the traditiona bamboo poles.

Appreciate ur help.

Missylan: Which blk u stay? Cos i can detect ur wireless AP from my unit in Blk 2.

eijgnohz

Hi Nutty,
you can get them from Rivervale Plaza. There's a shop on the second floor (besides NTUC foodfare) that sells both the bamboo and aluminium poles. The Aluminium ones are more costly. Think it's around $8 each? the bamboo ones cost $2.

We got the bamboo ones in the end becos they perform just basic tasks and we thought that they dun to be so nice lah...

bing77

Hi hi during the residents' gathering, did the mgt feedback that they will do something abt creating a proper walkway for residents to walk out of park green? I am also on for the shuttle service.

Nutty, i got the aluminium poles. They are more ex but they are lighter than the bamboo ones so easier to hang. But i hardly use them cos I find that it is very difficult to put the poles back on their stands when the clothes are hanging on it. Not matter how I position myself, the clothes will somehow touch the dirty ledge.

Anyone tried the Jalan kayu prata? Me and hubby felt that the std really dropped and the time waiting is really not worth it. Waited almost half an hour for our prata and diluted milo.

EIG, i think the plot of vacant land is for residential development. But dunno when they will develop.

ah_eng

Missylan,
U lucky gal!
My hubb's collgs ever mentioned...its difficult to hail for a cab at SK ..but if u call for one, they will come very fast..haahaa!

Limay,
go and buy now. Esp good since u have to carry ur dog around. Like wat EIG said, now the COE prices are cheap. Or mayb u want to wait till Apr, when the car import tax will drop. I believe that the price will be lower then.

Nutty,
ya..the aluminium poles are lighter than the bamboo ones. And the length is adjustable.

limay

Hui Bing - was there an agenda for the residents gathering? Thought it was just a makan session...
I would definitely second a proper walkway, quite hazardous now, have to squeeze through the guardhouse or the beams, quite scary esp. during the evenings when traffic is heavier! The stupid driveway also not very friendly for wearing heels!
Ah Eng, yah - we are actually talking to a friend to buy his car
Quite excited...going to test drive next week..not the most practical but I have been eyeing his car since he got it!

boheng

I noticed our Condo opposite, The Rivervale, their entrance is quite big and enuf to construct two pedestrian walkways by the side. However, Park Green main entrance is so constrain and only have enuf space for car and not for pedestrian and how are they going to construct a proper walkway with such a space constrain? what a bad Architecture design and not pedestrian friendly.

nutty,
i'm in blk 12....

ah eng,
True, I alway on call cab for my MIL... very fast respond(taxi license plate) but usually will reach here in 7mins.

bigtoes,
Maybe is my son who is lucky... hehe... so nice of them. Going to buy 4D. NO... cannot tell you all his number plate. I'm a fishmonger! lol...
I don't have a driving license... so nice, can drive a car.

boh eng,
Yup, I hate the design too. When we aren't driving, you cannot drop at the main gate. Then the stupid main gate don't have side door for us to enter. Till now, I still dunno where the hell are the side doors. That time I was pregnant, I still have to squeezed and turn when walking past the barrier. Almost squeezed my son out!

eijgnohz

Limay,
Actually it is not worth buying a 2nd hand car now...unless of course, the price is v v cheap and the car is relatively new. Becos brand new cars are relatively cheaper now...

limay

Yes - doubt they can construct a walkway even if they wanted to...unless they are thinking of a covered walkway & maybe pull down a portion of the compound wall to make another pedestrian exit! Fat hope!

Missylan, my driving sucks lah...had to take the driving test 3 time before i passed!
the car is manual somemore, think Alex will be the one chauffeuring me around!
EIG - the 2nd hand car we are getting is a pretty good deal lah, limited edition race car engine type, so can fetch quite a bit when we sell to the right car enthusiast (hopefully). Road tax higher thou, but cannot put a price of some things, else wont make sense to get a car at all!

Limay,
My friend who did second hand cars, job hopped to new car sale. Cos second hand cars very few ppl wanna buy liao. Cos like what EIG said,l new cars more worth it and the amount of money you lose each year(if you buy old car), you can buy a new car.

felicia_ang

Missylan,

That really depend. You need to take into the account of the COE and the OMV. Need to do some calculation on the COE and OMV and also the car body value.

kenneth

Hi Hui Bing, do u know wat's the length of the aluminium pole u bought?? Around 2m plus rite?
My parents suggested wrapping the ledge with a layer of clear plastic. I think i may do that since u mentioned abt dirty ledges.

btw...may i know during all the residents gathering/meeting, did someone take down the minutes. Who monitor the follow up action?

Shuttle bus??

Anyone having problem with their water heater? Have to wait kinda long for the warm water even though we left the water heater on throughout the day. And bathe halfway, the warm water just gone and have to wait again...

limay

Missylan, EIG - Honda correct, but the model is pretty old...think they have just a couple on the roads in Spore - its a Honda DelSol, was in production for 4 years in replacment to the CRX, and that was in 1992! So really really old, though completely modified - only the licence plate & the car body are the originals! The road tax will be at the max for the engine capacity, but resale value is apparently quite high cos its quite rare

mona

Hi neighbours,
We didn't have the chance to attend the residents meeting as always missed it due to some other events. Is there any other channel that we can feedback to the management ? Also, I just wonder whether all these feedback will be action upon - all it is just NATO (No Action Talk Only) ??

bbmaru

Hey Betty,
I was about to ask this question too. As long as there's no rain and the weather's not too cold to swim, I will be there at 7.30pm or there about. See you there. Tonight come earlier and try to swim a bit lah...

EIG,
Must come huh. Think maybe Ah Eng won't be joining cos didn't hear from her leh... maybe her mum's still not well yet. Who knows, today she's at home taking care of her 2 boys

telok

Carol, okie.....c u tonight. Try to be there at 7.30pm. I reach home at 7.15, change & come down straight away lor........

eijgnohz

Hi Carol, Betty,
Will try and get home asap. But 7.30pm is abit early leh, dun think can get home in time. I will try. Latest will be 8pm.

poox

Hi missylan

We were checking with a friend from Singapore Power and he told us because our heater is powered by gas, it is advisable to keep the temparature lower eg. 40+ degree cos if u set it too high, the gas may not have enough time to hit up the water.....something like that.

bbmaru

Betty and EIG,
Hmmm.... every time we want to swim, it will rain

My side is raining so heavily now... the pool's gonna be really cold later... if the sun doesn't come out by 5pm, then I think we can switch to the gym and exercise there instead... still interested??

bbmaru

Poox,
I thought there was once someone (can't remember who) mentioned that the heater technician thought her to set the heater to the max temp (i.e. 55) to ensure consistent temp of the hot water. Now wonder who's right who's wrong... or is it the heater's fault??

I used to not have such problem but lately have been experiencing it too... I guess it could also be becos more pple from the same block/household use hot water at the same time...which affects the water flow and hence fluctuating the temp.

telok

Carol
Ya,my office here also dark, dark. Looks like there will be a heavy downpour. I hv not been to the gym before, is fine with me. Sms the venue when we reach home, okie?