Pan Pacific Singapore

brambles, you did not get your FOC projector??? call your coord quick quick!! PP has projectors liao and they are loaning it to the couples for their wedding banquet!! let me know if you're successful ok?

hi brambles & ladies here,

Which package did u guys took up? Which theme for the event?

Btw, what freebies can be neg?And i've seen some talking abt 'angbao' incident!!wat's the incident abt? Is it at the Pacific Ballroom?

hi sandy,

we wanted Nov 05 but haven pay the deposit because we cannot confirm date yet. SO did you get your date through the Online Chinese Almanac?

Hi Chel,

It is our plan to make our wedding on Mid Autumn Festival since from the beginning. According to seniors, mid autumn is a good date for wedding becuase it symbolic the reunion. We have ROM May last year and moved into our newly bought Apartment last June. Everything almost done except the customary wedding. Parents and relatives from both side keep pushing us to have our customary wedding earlier.

We know that "tong shu" for 2005 will only be out in the second half 2004, so out of no choice we choose 18 Sept because it is definitely an auspicious date and that's why we make early booking with Pan Pac.

But later when I check the wedding date I picked using the online chinese almanac, it is shown that the date we picked is a good date. However, it clashes with my mum's sign (pig), so I requested my father-in-law to double check (he knows how to calculate) and confirmed that it really clash with pig. Now we plan to make our "jing cha" ceremony a day before our banquet which is also an auspicious date for wedding to avoid the clash.

ppgroom, can ah? couldn't get any of them over the wkend. hv to try again loh

biba... i'm taking the Ocean Ballroom 2004 promo package. theme? hvn't decided. apparently, PP is coming up wif some new themes. so shall see how it goes later

basically, the freebies that u can 'bargain' for are things like waiver of hard liquor corkage, more pax for food tasting. invitation cards and car passes are sort of 100% guaranteed. gosh... it's been such a long time since my negotiation. anything else i missed??? hehe...

as for the angpow incident... i oso dunno what happened leh

Hi brambles,

I'm pretty sure can one.

btw, dun bargain for waiver of hard liquor cos it's already in there hahaha... do bargain for waiver of WINE though. maybe wanna bargain for the sash thingie which got everyone hyped up? and then there's the new thing in the house: ASK FOR THE PROJECTOR!! kekekeke!!!

wow... what a lively thread. just back in office over the weekend and some messages got archived liao...

hard liquor corkage already waived is it? no need to bargain right?

angpow incident?? err... what is that har?

i heard abt the ang pow incident too!!
happen to one of the couple which hold their banquet at PP,,,heard that a guy "sneak" in and "carry" away the ang pow box!!

can anyone share the details?

Pom

Sorry to intrude, but I'm already booked for 22 May 04 at Pacific ballroom 1,2 & 3, why is it that they still allow you to book?? Can you please provide me with more info? Thanks

Hi Lynn, you got a change in coordinator too/yet?

I asked my FH just now and he said he recall such an anypow incident at Pacific Ballroom but looks like nobody can verify huh... I guess Pacific Ballroom more vulnerable cos ground floor and the bad guy can make away more easily?

Hi PPgroom

I've paid the deposit and signed the contract last Jul already. However, as my co-ordinator (Delia) has left, I'm afraid that there's some mix-up, so now I'm a bit cautious.

Anyway, the angpow incident is at the Pacific Ballroom...

hahaha... pai seh. forgot that corkage for hard liquor is waived. yah, shld be wine

so this angpow incident is true? better be careful. it's scary. make sure that there's someone at the reception table near the angpow box at ALL times. my friend's advice is to 'escort' the angpow box to the bridal suite as soon as the dinner starts...

Hi Dora,

oic... the i think it's best Pom clarify with her coord liao.

oh, so it's the snatch and run case is it? hmmm... to prevent such things from happenging, would it be best to keep the ang pow box in the hotel suite's locker? (do they have a locker??)

Hi blim

Have yet heard anything from PP yet, most likely not so soon since my AD is in Oct.

Angbao incident if not wrong someone actually mingle in and then took the angbao box away without anyone knowledge. Tt's y u realise that the entrance to Pacific ballroom is only via 1 main entrance. The doors to ballroom from the main room are locked up ever since the incident.

According to Delia, the angpow incident happened when everyone is in the ballroom already, left a girl to guard the box and a lot of other things alone, so the guy managed to snatch and run away before the girl can react. Maybe they are a bit complacent on the security... anyway i think the best is to keep the angpows the minute most people go inside the ballroom

ALAMAK... then like that can't blame PP but the couple liao... how can they let a little girl in charge of so MUCH money?? this is a good reminder to us all not to be complacent with security.

aiyoh... what locker leh.. i think pan pacific should provide safe in the suite right?

just finished stringing all the cards over the weekend. so happy. one step closer now. tie strings tie until thumbs and fingers sore sore.. why? cos FH hopeless at that! he tie until so ugly i think better restrict him to just folding the inserts and cards. grrroowl....
Miata and Meixue will soon be tying strings too? heheh

hhahah... interesting... why ppgroom thinks the girl is a LITTLE girl leh? so funny... hahahha
i mean it is a sad incident but ppgroom's 1 word makes the scenario so drama...

hahaha!!! cos i believe if it's a woman, the snatcher sure wun be so daring one, cos a woman would surely put up a good fight!

Blim

How much did you spend on printing of the cards? Need to do some budgeting. I think I will be doing the strings in Mar/Apr 04. I bet I will be the one doing it too, cant trust my hubby on this girly thing. Haha

What they say it might be they know each other... Cos when they chase the theif one of the ang bao drop on the floor. And they look inside it, it happen to newspaper...

Anyway it the couple fault there nothing to do wif Pan Pac

I asked for a projector but my coordinator say only got one and it is taken up by another couple on the same day. Do they really have ONLY ONE projector???

Brambles, most printers don't tie for you unless you pay for the strings leh. My printer is giving us strings FOC.

Miata, we spent $80 + 5% GST for 200 normal printing inserts. Paper and gold strings included. In the end, found out printer gave us 16 extra inserts and 1 extra gold string. Only need to make 1 trip to collect. Arrangement prior to that was done via phone and fax.

*gasp* piglets you mean it's a conspiracy ar... haiyo...

hey hey Miata!! how can you say printing of cards is girly thing? for me,most likely i'll be the one doing the coordination as well leh kekeke!! (think gonna kena pull ear by my FW liao WAHAHAHA)

Miata, Hi-Tec phone is 6458 9455. I liaise with Mei Yan. Do you want the directions too?

Meixue, we're waiting for Johnny to come back to work. Probably will go for food-tasting in Feb. Now we're wondering if we can request for food-tasting for 10pax. The contract fixed up with the previous coordinator stated 6pax only leh...

PPGroom and Miata, I also think stringing up the cards is quite a girly thing. Cos usually the guys' fingers bui-bui, very difficult to tie the knot beautifully hor... hahahah. A nicely done up card should be stringed tautly so the inserts will not shift easily and the butterfly knot should be as symmetrical as possible and aligned at the middle of the card. In the aspects, most guys fail miserably wor...

Hi blim,

HAHAHA!!!!! i like the way you describe men's fingers 'bui bui' hahahah!!!!! that's a good one!! looks like i gotta 'delegate' this delicate job to my FW lor

food tasting shd definitely try to ask for 10 pax... think no issue for PP side so long not more than 10... that time when i ask, my coord did not even hesitate and agree.

PPgroom, see what Blim said? hahaha.. girly girly!

Blim very nice liao, says men's fingers bui bui, but I'd say men are clumsy! hahahaha.. :P

Blim, Hi-Tec is at AMK Ave 10? It's the same contact I have. For the food tasting, I think you can negotiate. Good luck!

Hi Sandy,

I got your mails to my yahoo acc. The subject headings were the same leh... were they the 2 parts you mentioned?

Hi celestine,
thanks so much for the comfort

I love Graceful Image's gowns too...but was reading its thread here and saw quite alot of extreme comments over their svc...tat's y im abit scared & confused loh
*sigh*..hope things do turn out well loh...so u booked yours oredi?

Hi PP grooms & brides,
anyone of u know whether PP is coming out with new design for their invitation cards huh? do u all find their current design & quality abit lack comparing with their status & outlook/impression they give pple huh?

Hi blim,
ya...PPgroom is rite..food tasting shd definitely try to ask for 10 pax...mine was given to me even before i asked...so i believe you sure wont hv problem in this..dun wori...so besides the banquet, u got all things ready for the big day oredi? wat abt the kuo da li kind of things huh? cakes, gowns, AD photographer, portfolio, etc...all completed & satusfied? sure feeling beli excited rite...keke...must give all of us some tips okie..
btw for the food tasting tat u gonna arrange hor, did u change anythg yet? such as the way of cooking some of the dishes or upgrading some dish to better one? such as to abalone? coz OB no abalone leh...and the scallop is dried scallop and not fresh one leh...advise me hor...Thanks

im adding mine to the list :

Yr 2004 :
Mar --> Blim
Jun --> Miata
Aug --> Meixue
Oct/Nov --> Rosalind
Dec --> Brambles

Yr 2005 :
Jan --> ppgroom
Jan --> cutiebear
Jan --> Koolinc & Angie

btw...i remember someone here asking abt aroma tealights in the ballroom...i did asked johnny last time too...but too bad they dun hv this leh...but he say we can buy and pass to him loh.. and they will put it in the ballroom when they setting up...

Hi Angie,

yeah, i heard from my previous coord that PP is coming up new designs for their invitation cards sometime this year. not sure exactly when though, but definitely by this year.

yeah, their current design abit too simple... doesn't quite fit PP's status hehehe...

Yes, PP will be having new designs. We wanted to have a look at the new ones but they weren't ready in time for our wedding lor. Actually, the current ivory is not too bad lah. But the red one is err..... We thought the end product for the ivory cards is nice. The inserts were nicely done up with the ang-gong-gia picture and complete with shimmering gold strings. But the envelope is boring. Brrr....

Angie, the aroma tealights will be placed at each table is it? I worry those guests with sensitive nose will keep sneezing or not huh? I recall 1 ex-classmate is sensitive to 1 tutor's perfume. Every time she comes, he sneeze non-stop...

Angie, I think almost all the bridal shops will dish out their fair share of beautiful dreams and horrible nightmares... I read a thread some time ago about this poor bride whose wedding gown split on her big day. The zip gave way from below the arm-pit all the way to the lower body. Bridal shop name is undisclosed but location at Tanjong Pagar. It kind of gives me the jitters... so when I go collect my gowns in March, I'll be sure to twist and turn and stand and squat and sit just to make sure the seams are flawless....