Pan Pacific Singapore

Hi, PPgroom. So u booked already. Me too. Went to sign the contract this Wed. Me taking Ocean ballroom. Pacific Ballroom is indeed nicer. Wifey likes it but too bad, money constraint. So took the next best thing. When is your AD? Me 9th Jan 2005, Sunday. Maybe we both same date. You downstairs, I upstairs.Like you, me now left AD photographer and montage to settle. But still have reno to settle.

Hi, Miata. No need to feel amazed. Actually, I have been following this thread since Aug. Never posted any comments cos still looking around. Maybe it's bcos I am also quite ks. Major decisions are still taken by the both of us. It's just that I have more free time to look for all these things. Want to settle everything fast so that my wife can just concentrate about her bridal gowns and look pretty on that day.

Hi, Twinkleglint. As mentioned above, my AD on 9th Jan 2005. Actually, my first choice was 5th Dec 2004. Wanted to take advantage of the 2004 rates. But later learnt from my coordinator that date already taken. Only upon browsing thru this thread, then i realise that you had already booked the date. So me have to settle for 2005. But it's all right. At least I have 1 more month to save. Wedding really very expensive. Going to be broke after this.

I think i also heard my coordinator say waiter to table ratio is 1 to 1. Anyway, I just went to a wedding today at Carlton yesterday. Service was quite bad and one of the waiters even spilled a glass of wine onto my friend's seat and the wine glass broke. Lucky my friend was not around. Sound system was also quite bad. Very loud at some times. Hope that all these things won't happen on my big day too.

So nice chatting wif all of you. I also learnt a lot from reading this thread.

Hi Petals,

your wedding was at PP too right? over already? so glad to know it's 1 to 1 ratio. that's wat i call SERVICE!!

Hi Sean,

I'm one day before you

initially wanted Dec 04 dates, but all kenna booked, then tried Nov, Oct and even Sep!! and guess wat? all the Sat dates are all booked!! kekeke...

You're talking abt Ritz Carlton? i guess this kind of things can't stop it from happening cos afterall, hotels use part-time waiters. but as for the sound system, RC being a 5 star hotel? really shd not have these kind of technical problems happening...

so how many tables you having?

PPgroom, yes, my banquet is on a monday, though my customary is on sunday. Good to know that it is 1 to 1. My concern abt the serving is some guests may not like it. And it may cause the dinner to end later. Moreover, mine is on monday, next day pple still got to work.

As for the decision between PB and OB, no nit to ponder liao, cos the PB is taken on my banquet day. And frankly, my preference is OB. Cosy and more exclusive. :D

hi PPgroom, I think Sean is talking about Carlton Hotel along bugis there. It's not Ritz-Carlton which is a 6-star hotel. I've been to Ritz-Carlton to see the wedding set-up and wow, it's really super impressive..... too bad it's $1000+ per table! haha...

WAH!!!! $1000+ per table ah!?!? if really have the banquet there then for the next 3 years me and my wife will have to eat grass liao kekeke!!

Just wondering if any of you are a SingaporeBrides member? For only $30 you get many nice perks, e.g i looked thru some of the discounts and found that they $350 discount for Academy Video if you take their full package.

Seems like a good deal and really feel like joining, but need to find out more first.

Hi, Meixue & PPgroom. Yes, I'm referring to the Carlton along Beach Road. Maybe this case was just a one off accident.

Anyway, I just attended another wedding today at Orchard Parade Hotel. Food quite nice and service very good. Plates were changed after each course and drinks were refilled promptly. That's what I call service. Hope that I can also expect this type of service on my big day.

Anyone managed to bargain the price down for Pacific Ballroom? Maybe like asking for nett price instead of the +++? Any recommendation which coordinator is more accomodating?

I'm new here and I'm also a PP Bride next yr. Does anyone know how is the signature scroll look like? And what size it is? Feel like giving up this for other perks if it doesn't know nice.

Sorrie, typo error. The correct phase shd be" Feel like giving up this for other perks if it doesn't look nice."

Hi Miata, sure 1 waiter / waitress to 2 tables ah? I ask my coord but she dint reply me leh. My fren attended her cousin's wedding there but she still said serv quite good but cant rem how many waiter / waitress to how many table.

Hi KPO Lady,

The signature poster is quite nice. Colourful with ur wedding pic. But I think it's quite small (cant rem the size) and it's paper-quality.

Hi orosalind,

Thks for replying me. From the earlier postings, I know that u r going to have ur photos showing on ur AD using the projector. Can I know where r u going to place ur screen? B'cos I thought the stage is already quite crowded (got cake and 5-tied of glasses, etc...), are the guests able to see the photos clearly?

Hi lly (feel so bad calling u KPO Lady),

The screen can use PP's. I dunno where are the screen located but somehow recall that it's somewhere at the back of the room. I think the guest can see lah cos it's quite big. I dun think at the stage is a good idea like what u said, maybe blocked by cake, etc.

Hi Orosalind, according to Petals and Sean, the ratio is 1:1. Strange lei, I dont seem to have receive the pictures.

lly and Orosalind, the screen is located at the other end of the ballroom, directly opposite the stage. So, it should be big and unblocked. (I'm referring to OB). Ask your coordinator to fax you the plan. As for the projector, my coordinator said that I can use it if it's available. But how certain will I get it? I intend to flash two montages. How?

wow, there is so much going on..............*phew*, i was too busy to check it out.

hi sean,
yup, it's me who booked ur date first. hahaha. actually i wanted 18 dec but someone took it fr me. glad that u found 9 jan 2005 ok. sorry abt it.

wow, u r also another sweet groom that let ur FW to concentrate on her BS while u do Banq.

hi rosalind, lly,
i think the projector screen quite std one lah. should b not prob. the scroll is A3 size. i actually think that the stage is empty leh.

hi goodluck
hello, i book the ocean so not sure of pacific but u can try to neg.

hi meiqi, ppgroom
will let u kn abt wed-tv, cos i meeting a few this week but haven't schedule with wed-tv........too busy. but heard fr my frd that they even help to display ur frd's sms greeting on the screen. very sweet lor.........

hi all pan pac brides & grooms
dun worry, pan pac will give 1 to 1 waitress/waiter. my coor told me this when i signed the contract.

Miata16, I send 2 times liao. Let me try again. Yup, I rem it's directly at the end of the rm but cant rem it's OB or PB cos I went down and the coord show me the screen at a banquet setup. I think the projector screen no problem, surely can use one cos it's inside the ballroom and not those portable types. For the projector itself, if u wanna make sure, get ur coord to put into ur contract. Otherwise, if u can trust her promise verbally, then shld be no problem too. But if she says u can use oni if it's avail, then u got to pray no other events (esp biz events) that nids the projector?

Hi twinkleglint,

Something cute abt posting in this forum. U get to know who is the one who got ur date or u have gotten whose date. I met one in Oct 04 thread and found out this bride who almost ask for the same date as me for Ocean Ballroom.

Fm the banquet setup which I saw on the day of signing my contract, the stage not very empty leh. In fact I think a bit cramp for those who have big group of pple gg up on stage to yum seng.

1 to 1 waiter / waitress? This is great!!!!

Dun like the quality of the signature poster leh cos it's paper-material, like not thick enuf. Maybe go and laminate after the banquet so that wun spoil easily?

Hi Miata,

PP provide projector for you meh? i asked my coord and she said need to rent leh... and it costs anything up to $400+. better double check, i'm very sure PP dun provide FOC one.

Hi orosalind,

it is so kind of u to call me "lly" instead. "KPO Lady" is the name given by my hubby when he helped me to register to this forum. He think I very KPO as I always sit in front of the PC to read all the postings that u guys have posted. So he thinks that I shd join in the fun since I so KPO. Hehehe....

My coord told me that I've to pay $500 for the projector and they dun provide FOC ...
So now, I just wonder is it worth to pay so much for this? As for the signature scroll, my BS is also providing me one, but dun know which is nicer, feel like giving up one of them to neg some other perks. Or shd I use both??

WAH so expensive for just a projector which only use for a while throughout the event!! Personally I feel not worth to pay so much lor. If your office have one, perhaps can borrow or maybe think of other alternative. Definitely cheaper than rent from PP. For signature scroll, I have yet to see from my coordinator. Not sure if PP one is nice...perhaps petal can advise on this as he had his wedding dinner at PP not long ago.

Hmm.. thanks folks.. I will double check on the projector. The most I'll borrow from my company. :D Pay 400+ 500 for rental of projector? Use only few minutes.. siao meh? Hee...

Orosalind, I still havent receive it. The file is very big huh? nvm, or you send me your email, I give you another account to send to. Thank you so muchie.

hi all 2005 brides and grooms,

i am new here. i am very interested in Pan Pac. Is it true that my bf and i need to book a date already? I know it is very very 'hot' but mine will be late 05, so i don know whether we will be too early.... what do you all think?

thanks thanks

Hi, Chel,
it's not KS if u really wan to find a good date for yr wedding especially if u considering sat/sun cos 1 wk only got 2 days. if u r thinking of Ocean ballroom i think their package is set at $668nett as for Pacific room u got to ask the PP personnel.

Hi Chel,

late 2005? i'm not sure if PP's package for late 2005 is out already or not... also, if you're looking at good dates, the 2005 'tong shu' is not out too.

how many tables are you looking at? cos for 2004, for 40 tables, you get $20 off per table + free flow of beer lor...

Hi Aspire and PPgroom,

thanks for your prompt reply. My bf will have to choose a sat (a must) cos we want to have church and customary on the same day. we will probably hit 30 to 35 tables. I have checked out the website and all they say is the price and the perks for Jan to Dec 05 so i would like to believe that is the package for 05 lor.

As for Tong Shu, where can my parents and FIL get it? I feel so pai say, and KS. but i really think $668 nett for PP is a steal.

PPgroom, the $20 off is applicable to the $668 package as well?

Hi lly,

Yup, it's great to join in the forum rather than just reading the postings. $500 for projector was the standard rate (as what I read fm prev postings). I think it's not worth as some managed to rent at $150-200 or use ur office one which is most likely FOC. For the signature poster, I'm oso in a dilemma cos my BS provide a nice signature book but not customised. The hotel provide signature poster (definitely poorer quality as compared to a book) but customise. But most likely, I'm taking the signature book out of my BS cos I'm thinking of changing to more photos. The PP's one, I'll stick to it cos there's no other freebies which I wanted to exchange fm them.
==================================================

Hi Meiqi,

The signature poster I saw fm my coord is a coloured one and with the couple's wedding photos on it (was told by the coord that the printer will contact us to send them our photos nearer to the AD).

Hi Miata16,

The file not v big leh, somemore, I did not rec and bounced mail. I think twinkleglint got it when I send to her email address. Anyw, ok, u send me another email address of urs. My email address is [email protected]

Agree, no pt paying so much for the projector for a few min use.

Hi Chel,

If the website states that the price is for Jan - Dec 05, then I think u can safely use that price. Y not call them to ask for the package info fm them first?

U can buy a tong shu fm those shops selling incenses but I dun think it's out yet. Can try this website as given by one of the bride here (refer to the last or 2nd last archieve ones).

Hi Chel,

forgot to add. for the 'tong shu', for the 2005 calendar, i believe you have to wait till about Lunar Sep-Oct 2004 then it'll be out. might be slightly earlier though.

Hi rosalind,

since no one reply me, so i ask you

did you join SingaporeBrides' membership? i read that it cost $30, but dunno worth it or not... got some perks worth looking at la but then again...

Does anyone manage to get the silver bows FOC (besides the 2 VIP tables)? I asked my coord before, she said $3/pcs. And does anyone intend to change the dishes, for eg. fish and dessert?

Hi Orosalind,

I have the same thought too. I intend to give up the BS one to exchange another 18R photo. But my hubby said that he wants both instead. May I know, do u MTM ur WG or choose OTR? Actually mine is MTM package, but that day I went to the BS to try out the gowns, every piece also quite nice leh, so the coord there suggested that I take OTR instead. And they will give me another 4 pcs of 18R photos. They highlighted that the gowns that I'm going to choose from are brand new. But how to be sure, rite? So blurr now, dun know how to decide liao. Initially, quite firm that I want to MTM even though I've no idea what kind of design I want, but now, after they brain-washed me abit, shaky liao....asked my hubby, he said "up to u lor"...xian....

Hi orosalind,

so what are the usual procedure? Just call them and make an appointment and they will bring us around as it? Do i have to decide immediately or do you all usually make two to three appointment with PP before deciding and paying the deposit. How much deposit is expected? sorry huh. i blur and have no idea how to go abt doing it.

hi PPgroom,
so the tong shu will out so late? hmm i am afraid by then all the dates will be taken up. since it is not out yet, how did you choose a date? anyway my mum told me it is the guy's side who decide the date so she cannot say anything one. hai...so ma fan le...

Hi PPgroom,

Me din see what are the perks cos my things almost all settled so I din find out more abt the cards. If u thinking whether to join or not, first of all, ask if those perks are what u nid? I just went in and roughly look at it, upon signing up, you will get the following:
1. an Empire Teddy Bear free
2. one Beauty Inspirations 50% discount voucher
3. one Rustic Nirvana $50 discount voucher
4. one Furluv A'dior $10 discount voucher
5. one Nail Arts by Serene $10 discount voucher
6. one Devotion Beauty Centre $50 discount voucher
7. one pair of complimentary tickets to attend The Regent Bridal Show featuring Kevin Seah Atelier.

Do u nid these? On top of that, those other privileges like:
Accessories

Beauty, Spa and Make-up

Bridal Bouquets and Services

Bridal Boutiques and Services

Bridal Shoes and Footwear

Intimate Wear

Invitation Cards and Printers

Laundry Services

Photography Services

Videographers and Wedding Presentation

Wedding Banquets

Do u nid? If so, then are those prices and quality offered by the participating stores competitive enuf with the disc given to the card holder? If yes, then u can consider signing up.

Just my personal comment lah.

Hi lly,

Dun think u nid the signature book fm ur bridal shop + signature poster fm PP. Then which one u want ur guests to sign on? Might as well choose one that u 2 prefer. I oni ask my bridal shop what they cn give me if I dun want the signature book cos I'm still thinking which one to keep.

My WG & EG is MTM. For me, I like their gowns too cos I think they did a good job for my ROM for the gowns, hair-do, make-up and accessories. But I'll stick to MTM cos I'm sure the design I'm looking for they dun have off the rack. Furthermore, they are not gg to give me more photos or waive some cost cos my package is orginally an OTR package but since I sign with them during the bridal fair, I got free upgrade to MTM.

Even if the OTR gown is brand new, it is still OTR so if u got OTR (be it new or not), u shld be entitled to more pics. I think 4 pics is ok cos I heard some got 3 pics.

OTR gown is good in the sense that u can see the immediate effect / result cos whether u will look nice or not, can see on the spot. I have heard some MTM gown turning out to be a disaster and not like what the brides wanted so each has got it's own adv and disadv. I'm keeping my finger crossed.

sori, forgot to add. The bow cost oni $2 and not $3. My coord told me $3 is the stalk of flowers behind each chair (refer to the pics on PP fairy garden theme setup).

I intend to change the broccoli and chicken.

Hi Chel,

Yes, just call them and make an appointment. They will bring u around.

U dun have to decide immediately. Can look ard all the hotels first and then decide which one u want and then meet up with them to bargain again.

For me, I get quotations fm ard 15 hotels that I have shortlisted. From there, I ask them thru email or phone whether they can give me those freebies that I wanted but not listed in the package. Then if the price and freebies ok, then I go view the ballroom (or u can view the ballroom first before u ask for the freebies). Then I confirm with the hotel after gg to all final shortlisted hotels. After that, they will send me the draft contract based on what I have neg. If there's any amendments, I will inform my coord to change and re-send me the draft. Then finally went down to sign contract and make payment at the same time. So in total, I oni visited PP twice. Once is to view the ballroom and neg the perks and then 2nd time to sign contract. I have a checklist of what I nid to neg so I din have to keep gg back to my coord. Neg all at once when I visited them the 1st time round. But I have my coord resend me the draft contract 4 times cos I read thru too many times and everytime, I wld find it not detailed enuf and some things which I have neg not in the contract.

I paid 3K deposit.

Hello all
so long not post here liao, so just to refresh i m a 2004 Bride at OB. :p
btw just wanna chk d price for OB at PanPacific is $668 for 2005, is it promo price increase from $638?

Greetings to the new PP brides n grooms.

For ref, i exchange my helpers' day room for the projector. My advice is not to sign for $400 projector. Mkt price is definately less than $200. If say coordinator can't promise now, at least dun include cost of projector into the contract, allow option for yourselves and decide when the time comes.

Orosalind,
Wow, it's cos i am very blur or wat.. my contract is done erm correct in the first draft. Or maybe i din ask for too much perks so not much changes to the contract. :P i believe things can still be discussed when the date draws nearer. See no pt bargain face green green for something which i'm not sure whether i need or not.

$668 for 2005 OB? Hmm.. still a gd deal

Hi Lynn,

I din bargain a lot. In fact I oni met my coord one time to see the ballroom cum bargain and the whole thing took oni half an hr. My coord quite accomodative to what I neg so din bargain till face green green lah. The reason why there's so many draft is bcos I wanted my contract to be more detailed. Otherwise, why nid a contract. In addition, it serves as a safeguard purpose in case my coord no longer ard nearer to my AD. At least I can show the new coord that this and that is promised in the contract so they cant run away fm what is initially promised. PP's standard contract is not v detailed and so I got my coord to add in this and that clause to make it more detailed. Technically the contract is rite in the first time but not detailed enuf and when I got my coord to change, she tends to miss out a bit here and there. Btw, what I bargain for is what I need of course, agree with u that no pt bargain for things u dun nid cos it's a waste of time too.

Hi Orosalind,

Have not been here for quite awhile. Juz started my new job. Under training for 51/2 wks so will not be loggin so freq. Is great to c so many PP brides here. BTW, have u cfm any photograper for ur AD or getting ur uncle to do it for u?

Hi Chel,

Yes, the tong shu will be out quite late for Lunar 2005. Another method would be to just grab a Sat you like first, hoping it is a good day, then the minute the book is out, grab it and quickly check for the dates and make changes accordingly. I got my date cos for english calendar of Jan 2005 is actually Lunar calendar's Dec 2004

the standard deposit that hotels usually ask you to pay is $3k. My frens all paid this rate. DO NOT pay for anything more. Also you can make a tentative booking without the need to pay the deposit. But of course subjected to no other couple 'whacking' your date. Just make your booking first.

actually if you dun like the hassle of going all over the shop, you can actually go on the internet and search for the hotels' website. on those website they have wedding packages posted. that's what i did, surf surf first before go jalan jalan...

Hi rosalind,

thanks!! will seriously look thru the membership thingy cos for me everything also haven get, so actually can worth a look

rosalind,

for the contract, did you put in a statement to say that you'll be paying upon checking out of the hotel? i damm scared they wan me to pay on the weddning dinner night itself!! cos most likely i'll be drunk kekeke

Hi, Chel

If i remember correctly, the tong shu is available after the Hungry Ghosts month (Lunar 7th month) which ends on 13th Sep 2004.

If you really want to check out the dates for 2005, you might want to check out these two websites.

http://mindcity.sina.com/MC-lunar/search/index.html

http://verywed.com/lunar/index.php

I used these two sites as reference before the almanac was out for 2004 lunar dates. After the tong shu was out, I went to ask for good dates from an old lady in Geylang. The dates that she gave me also coincides with the auspicious dates from the website.

One point to note: Make sure that the date doesn't clash with you and your hubby's "sheng xiao". If you need the contact for the old auntie, just leave me your email address or pm me.

There are 3 themes of deco from PP. Can anyone who have already booked with PP, advise me which theme is nicer? I don't have the time to go down to see the 3 diff wedding deco.

Another thing is my wedding will be in 2004 and if I sign the contract this year, may I suppose to pay GST based on 4% or 5%??? I get so many views.... so confused. Those who have signed up, any comments how it should be done?

hi everyone, i'm new here...
oso a PP bride...

was reading thru the postings... thot the projector that PP provides is about $300?

hi goodluck... depends on which ballroom u hv chosen. frm my understanding the fairy garden theme is not so suitable for OB as OB is slightly smaller but they have somethin similar to the fairy garden theme for the OB... which you mite wanna check wif ur coord?

when is ur wedding? it mite be good to go down to take a look at the ballroom when u're free to get an actual feel of the ballroom in the actual setup
that's what me and my hubby are doing

Hi straw_beri,

No wonder... But I can guess that it cld be u r bz with ur new job cos didn't see u in Yahoo and Oct thread too.

How's ur new job coming along?

I'm gettting my uncle & his tu di to be my AD photographer (1 doing journalistic style and the other the normal style). Thinking whether to get videographer or not. What abt u?

Hi PPgroom,

If u havent confirm a lot of things, can consider getting the card.

As for the contract thing, dun worry. They automatically put in a clause to say that the bill will be charged to ur rm and u will pay upon checking out.

Hi goodluck,

Depending on which ballroom u getting. I saw the Zen theme in Ocean Ballroom (actual setup). Very nice. But for Ocean Ballroom, cnt really use fairy garden cos the ceiling is not high enuf for the gazebo (but nice for Pacific Ballroom). As for candle theme, it's more suitable for Ocean Ballroom cos the candlelight may not be strong enuf to light up the whole Pacific Ballroom.

Hi brambles,

The projector rental fm PP cost $500.

orsalind, thanks.

but my wedding coord told me that the $500 they charge are for corporate clients when they hold seminars etc at PP. can someone confirm?

rosalind,

thanks, glad to know it is stated in the contract. yeah, i actually am seriously considering getting the card.

i wonder if all of us can actually 'coorperate' together and try to squeeze our respective coord to give us the projector FOC?