Pan Pacific Singapore

PPgroom, you have too many things to negotiate with your coordinator until blurr liao ar? see orasalind's AD wrongly....hehe....

Hi orosalind,

Nope, not yet. Met up with my coordinator last weekend to negotiate the perks. She seems to be very friendly and accomodating..phew!

However I was told that I have to pay few hundred bucks to use their projector leh. All the while, I thought projector come along with Pacific ballroom. Dun think I would spend that money for just a projector. Btw anybody know where I can get someone to do my meimei powerpoint slides for wedding? I'm planning to show some powerpoint slides(from childhood till present)on my AD. Hope to get a really "solid" and nice one.

Hi Meiqi, you mean powerpoint slides or montage (video)? I have friends doing the montage for many wedding couples, not sure if you want? anyway, how much do PP charge for a projector rental?

Hi lemoncake,I think montage would look nicer. Could you help me to find out the pricing for that? Thanks.

PP charge me $400 for projector rental.Too expensive la...

Hi Meiqi,

Who's ur coord?

I got a contact fm someone in this forum who can rent projector at $180. The person will even go down personally to ur venue to do a test. If u need the details, let me know.

As for slideshow, I went to Academy video last week, the effect not bad. But I'm not taking it cos I dun intend to have those super nice effect powerpoint. I gonna DIY. If u r particular abt nice powerpoint and have the budget, u may like to go down to Academy Video to take a look. They let u look at the real things, very very nice. If u nid the contact details, let me know.
==================================================

Hi Sean & goodluck, sent.

Hi orosalind,

remember i told you who's my coord over email last time. Same as you but different sirname.
Can I have the add and contact of Academy Video? R they professional and approximate how much?

Hi Meiqi,

I've forgotten cos talk to many others that I got mixed up. I saw ur coord before and she seems nice.

Have forward the contact details to u liao. Check ur Yahoo email.

Thanks orosalind. I got it
From Academy website, I think it's not gonna to be cheap. Based on those pictures can see how professional they r.

Just a question. Let's say you have booked and confirmed 30 tables but on the actual day you only use up to 28 tables. What can you do with the extra 2 tables? Does PP refund them? Can you reserve and use them within a year's time? Or...?

Yup, but think can neg one cos I saw the boss last week and fm the way he put it, like everything can neg if u really have intention to sign up with them.

For me, I didnt ask much cos I'm oni interested in the album thing (the main reason why I went down). Got another lobang which my sis' coll hire. Will email u tmr cos it's not here with me now.

Hi PPgroom,

Think they wun refund u for the 2 tables but heard that u can neg with ur coord to use the 2 tables for some time after the banquet.

didn't post in here for awhile, but now seems like someone mentioning the montage n slideshow thing.........hey i m interested.

same as rosalind, i m going to try DIY first. if fail then look for other alt. went down to academy video too (wif rosalind, kekeke) but seems that they r ex. mayb bcos they service many tcs artist. kiv them first. if anyone got good recommendations, pls share wif me.

hi rosalind,
did lynn get back?

hi lemoncake,
can recommend ur frd whose doing the montage?

Hi orosalind and twinkleglint,

saw Academy Video's website... the services they provide like not bad leh... i believe the price gonna be 'not bad' too

i tried using powerpoint to do one simple one, but cannot make it leh... what software you using?

To all,

Anyone here has been to them? anyone knows what's their charge like? how's the end-result?

Hihi twinkleglint,

Having good life at home tdy huh....hahaha...

Nope, she hasnt get back to me yet.

Hi PPgroom,

Ya, I like Academy Video's work but as what twinkleglint mention, it's a bit ex, if there's no budget constraint, by all means, go for it.

I do up one with a lot of clip arts and annimation. The annimation part looks good but the clip arts with many photos on 1 slide looks a bit kiddo so I did up a 2nd one. This time round, I use black background, no clip arts and 1 big picture per slide with annimations. I think the effect is better. Simple and nice. I even add in a video clip on the front page doing countdown of 8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 (like those before show begin). Then the music and pics come out.

Yup, I did that using powerpoint and I think I'm quite satisfied in the overall results. But bear in mind that I'm not those looking for super professional results. For me, simple ones will do cos I saw some fren overdoing it and it turns out that pple focus more on other things than the pictures itself.

$2K is possible. With that, I roughly recall it's all-in package.

whoa! you'rw powerpoint savvy man

what you mean by 'all-in' package? you mean if i just want them to do a montage then shd not be this ex?

hi rosalind
yap, now looking into the photography & videography loh.......very hard to find with budget constraints. *sian*

this week mus force FH to trial n error on the presentation. got time mus do first. i think u n FH very hardworking not like us lazy, feel like throwing in the money for the profs to do it for us.

but hor got reno, n many other things to pay beta dun anyhow spend.

hi ppgroom
yup, $2k+ for videography, not including photography leh......if u have the budget, then give the money they will do all nice, nice n u can sit back n rest, leave all to them lor. if u add in photogrpahy with jounalistics with them, it will work up to $4k+. too ex for me liao.

seriously u mus go n see for urself cos i saw some girls saying not that impressive but i find them good.

Hi twinkleglint,

Ya, got time must do. We started doing cos I boh liao and feeling bored so I tot might as well do something productive than lazing ard at home. I oso like u, tight budget cos got to pay for reno, bridal package and banquet all the the same time so can save, save lor. My personal opinion is no nid pros to do it if u can DIY. Unless u really got the budget and think getting a pro to do is impt. For me, I think slideshow not so impt cos pple will see and forget lata. Most impt is the banquet on the whole and not part of it.

I think u cn do it lah. That time u say ur FH good in Photoshop. Even beta, scan in ur pics and try ard. I'm now thinking of using Photoshop to create special effect to DIY my album if possible to get those thick pages album.
==================================================

Hi PPgroom,

Erm, speaking frankly, I admit that I'm quite good in Powerpoint and the rest of MS Office program too (hope I dun sound too thick skin). :p

My all-in means videography, slideshow, etc. And like what twinkleglint says, no photography included.

Hi orosalind, i think i'll be going down to Academy Video this weekend. Wanna find out the price for Wedding MTV and videography. I agree with PPgroom..the picture look not bad and i think price should be "not bad" too. Noticed that they provide projector rental as well, perhaps can check the price...see if it's cheaper than PP.

Hi Meiqi,

The work quite good but price is definitely 'good' too but as I have been saying, if u have no budget constraints, AV is definitely a good choice. It's good that u go down and see the real thing.

As for the projector, I got 1 which charges $180 for. Good for screen up to 250inch and the person will do a dry run hours before your dinner. Someone in the forum tried before and says it's ok so can try his serv cos I think AV will charge more than that amt. Maybe u can check with AV on that and let me know cos I didnt ask last Sat when I went down.

Hi PPgroom,

Me know abt AV long ago but did not thought of visiting them all the while cos me dun nid to get a photographer and videographer for my AD. My uncle and his tu di will be my AD photographers and I dun nid videographer.

Oni tot of gg down last Sat cos few weeks before that, someone responded on my posting requesting for a shop to help in putting my studio and outdoor wedding photos taken by my uncle into those wedding album (like bridal shop). This person email me and she is fm AV. That's y I said my main purpose of gg down to AV is to see their artwork for album and not so much on video works, etc.

Anyone seen Pan Pac's wedding invitation cards before?

My FH and I had just received their sample cards... The designs looked so "orh biang".. I dun like it at all and they got only two designs when I ask my coordinator...

I wonder if I can choose other cards from the supplier that they got their cards from...

hi jovialbliss
yup, me think so too. actually me n FH was thinking of our own design but upon signing the contact our coor told us that they will change the design of their wedding cards. so dun worry.

but if still not nice, u can always design on ur own......

hi ppgroom
me also *faint* aft looking at the price. so now continue sourcing, will b going now to see a few photographer & videographer nex week. then let u kn.

btw, i twat ur wedding is in 2005, so fast planning oredi??? seldom see guys like u, so sweet. my FH, only pay, hahahaha, the planning leave to me.

Twinkleglint, I agree with u..think PPgroom too 'kan jiong'...haha
Normally guys will just pay and leave the planning to gals...

Hi twinkleglint/ Meiqi,

is it? guys only pay and ladies do the rest ah? cannot la... must be fair mah... besides i dun trust my wife's taste

maybe cos i'm the kan cheong type lor... hope that plannng early can save me lots of hassle later on.

thanks. will wait for your info... in the mean time, me go 'hunting' too kekeke

I agree with twinkleglint & meiqi. My FH oso leave all planning to me. I was thinking how come he so boh chup until I found out fm this forum that this is usually the norm. But PPgroom, agree with u that planning early can save a lot of hassle lata on cos fm my frens' experience, always got something that pops up last min so if most of the things oredi settled earlier, not so scared of those last min issues.

PPgroom, I think your wife will be sad to see that you dun trust her taste. Usually gals are more "xi xin" in details thus most of the time they are the one who do the planning. For my case different, I'll leave it till early next year then start planning. Meanwhile try to gather more info and once okay with it, I go for that....hehe

Hmmm... but wun that be tiring on you? i mean all the planning by yourself, shack leh... fokng out money is always the easy part.

For me, i share my planning with my FW, but of course i still do most of the planning, my FW more of an advisory role.

Meiqi, it's not dun trust her taste, but sometimes her taste abit too conventional... conventional = boring...

I took a look at www.wed-tv.com and the price package seems not bad... any of you went there b4?

For me, I'm more conservative thus tend to have 'traditional' thinking. Whereas my FH very different, he have innovative ideas which sometimes I cannot accept.I've seen the wedding TV website before, find the pictures quite well-taken and also heard many gd comments as well. But not sure is it true...

Yup, always got the final say. My FH v chin chai one until I think he v hack care. I ask for all quotations and make the final decision on PP. He just give some comments here and there abt what to bargain. But ended up, he didnt give much comments cos he didnt do any research so oso dunno what to ask for in the first place.

For bridal shop, we both decide on GHA at the same time cos it's the one n oni BS we went to and we sign on the spot.

I think so far oni on hse and reno he give more comments.