Pan Pacific Singapore

oic... for me different, research me and my FW contribute greatly together, planning mostly me, decision also share. but i guess to have one decision maker also good... lesser conflict and arguments kekeke!!!

Yup, agree, 1 decision maker = lesser conflict. Good for u and ur FW cos ur 'duties' like quite evenly spread out.

Me a bit stress over the banquet and BS earlier on but since now almost all done, can relax a bit liao.

hi meiqi, rosalind, ppgroom
for me is i do all planning lor, like shortlisting, etc, then we analyse together n make decisions together. i always make sure he follow me to see service providers. lucky our views r the same. moreover i like to plan things, esp wedding things. i have been doing it for 2 frds. n becos of wider exposures, i more creative than him in wedding preparation.

my FH pay most of the things except for reno n hse, we split thou not evenly. he save more than me cos last year i paid for my deg so spent most of my saving already.

my FH say, count the money first, if can afford n within budget dun mind spending incase when i old hor will nag/complain/compare y didn't do this n that. kekekeke

me got things haven neg wif BS n reno is starting soon so very busy/stress. FH involve more in reno, it's his interest......

me really scare money not enuf cos now all things we pay r like deposit, only when the WD draws nearer, all last instalments come together n have to pay up in full..........

twinkleglint,

urs oso quite evenly spread out leh. For me, I'm quite overloaded at the initiate stage of choosing the banquet venue.

for $$, we use our joint account for bridal package and reno. The balance pay fm our own account. My hubby will end up paying more too cos he has got more saving than me.

Orosalind, your situation almost similiar to mine. We also booked the bridal shop, the first and only one I brought him along. The rest I went with my friends earlier. However both of us agreed they should be quite good and reputable.

As for the shortlisting of banquet venues, I was the one who researched for info. Lucky thing is I'm fortunate enough to have galfriends gg ard with me. So brought him to PP one of the nights when PP had a banquet, and he liked it, so decided on PP.

As for now, I'm planning the guest lists, programme, etc. I dont wanna wait till last min. However, I dont actually mind doing all these :D He then focus his attn on our house.

PPGroom, you are one rare species though. But you said you dont trust your wife's taste. But her ultimate choice is you lei. Hahaha.. Kidding lah.. no offence hor! *grin*

Hi Miata16,

Me oso doing up guest list and program list now so that dun have to fumbble at the last min.

The list for my FH's side and frens all done but dunno what to do for my relatives. My mum cant help me and seems like no one can help me. Having headache on this..... My closer relatives like aunties and uncles all ok liao but yi po, gu po, etc very luan and dunno who shld invite.

Orosalind, you probably have to get your parents to help you list them. Why your mum cant help? Hmm... ask your grandparents?

For me, it looks like I have quite a lot of tables. May exceed the Ocean Ballroom capacity, so may have to be very selective with my colleagues.

Hi Miata16,

No offence taken. But wat you said is very true!! Now that you've pointed this out, her taste is excellent afterall WAHAHAHA

For me and my FW, housing is not an issue cos i already own my flat (co-own with dad of course). So all that is needed for house are just furnitures, painting lor... it's a good thing my FW willing to stay with my parents. you all leh? all 'er ren shi jie'?

Agree with you all that hubbies usually fork out the most on $$, why huh?

My guest list almost fully done liao... wakau, my wedding in 2005 leh!!! i damm KS hor? kekekeke!!!

Only thing left is bridal package, montage and music selection to go. The rest probably need to worry at a nearer date.

PPgroom, you're really so disgustingly KS lah! Hahaha.. but very nice of you to have done all these for you and your FW.

I would have abt 40 tables. Ocean Ballroom can take only 37/38.. hmmm.. now have to be vvv selective.

hahahaha!!!! typical S'porean la... bo bian

about 40 tables? actually now PP have a promotion, if you get 40 tables, you can get $20 off pertable and free flow of beer leh...

Miata16,

My mum oso not sure. My grandparents say up to my mum. So my mum said one day got to go over to my grandparents' house to discuss lor. Headache ah!!!!!

For me, I dunno if I can even fill up my 25 tables which I have booked. Dun think I'll hit 38. Probably be getting 11 pax - 12 pax per table instead of the usual 10 pax per tables. Was told cant have > 10 pax if I hit max no. of table.

PPgroom,

U very KS. I tot I'm very KS oredi by book 1yr + 1mth fm my AD, sikali u worse cos ur guest list even out liao. hahahaa.... Ya lah, bridal package can wait, montage and music selection can wait.

For me, er ren shi jie.

PPgroom,

If u get Ocean Ballroom (max 38 tables), it's $638 nett + free flow of beer (offer valid til 31 Dec 04 but must booked by 31 Dec 03).

For Pacific Ballroom (min 40 tables), it's $20 off per table + free flow of beer.

I think I will still keep to my Ocean Ballroom cos I like the exclusivity of the cocktail foyer.

Orosalind, fret not, grandparents can help.

PPgroom, for me, also er ren shi jie :D

hi miata16
i m looking at vividshots. good? i m going to check up on fabianlim.

hi ppgroom
u r right, wed-tv seems not bad, me also going to check on them.

if u got 40 tables, pacific ballrm is the best. can even have the whole foyer to urself. n got discount some more.

twinkleglint, I tot if oni 40 they wun give all Pacific 1, 2 and 3 but maybe just 1 and 2 or 2 and 3? I was told if u leave anyone of it empty, there cld be chances that someone will book the empty one and may end up having to share foyer leh.

Miata16, I heard about this promotion as well. It's for Pacific Ballroom. Agree with you that PPgroom very KS!!! Hahaha...

PPgroom, bcos guys earn more $$(NS)than gals mah so logically guys have to pay more wat...

Twinkle, envy that u have a FH who share same view as u. Orosalind, i agree with u..1 decision maker = lesser conflict. Sometimes I hope my FH will let me decide for certain things eg. bridal package etc. Cos he limit me not to develop too many photos. As u gals know, this is once in a lifetime event. I feel it's ok to develop more other than the std ones. What u all think?

Hi Meiqi,

I am like u, want a lot of photos in my wedding album but my FH doesnt want to spend so much on wedding album leh. I can understand y he say that cos we really nid to save up for reno.

So I'm thinking of having more photos without having to buy fm BS. In that way, I can get more photos but cheaper than buying fm BS. Again, my hubby still not quite agreeable (although he didnt object too strongly) but I think I will go ahead with my plan cos the no. of photos given in my package is definitely too little.

How much ur bridal shop charging u?

==================================================

Btw, anyone of u have not seen the bridal suite?

I haven't start looking for bridal shop yet cos still early. Now still in the research stage. Does your BS allow you to have the negative? If yes, that would be great. At least you can develop much more cheaper outside. Dun knw why guys are like that leh...my FH oso not agreeable to have more photos. Think I have to fork out money if I insist.

I have not seen the bridal suite leh. Anyone have the picture?

Of course my bridal shop dun allow lah haahhaha, they wan to earn $$ fm us mah. I got a plan but not convenient to post here in case someone fm my BS happen to come across my posting.... Convince him lah, or maybe when he sees the photos, he will change his mind. hahahahahha.... My bridal shop charging $80 per pc or $120 per page of 4 poses for magazine style.

I have not seen too, was think of asking my coord to arrange for me to view.

But I got photos of banquet setup for Ocean ballroom. If u interested, I can send to u.

Hopefully my FH will change his mind after he see the photos

Wow so expensive per pc!!! Wonder if any BS would let the couple have the negative at a price hor?

Ok, pls send to my yahoo mail. Thanks.

Halo ladies... not i KS la, it i bo bian. i tried to book Nov or Dec 2004 but PP's weekends already fully booked from Sep 04 to Dec 04!! when i first enquired and heard abt it HOTness, i nearly fainted... thus quickly 'chope' 2005 first... it's also because of this 'choping' that i need to get the headcount correct from the start. It's good to have as accurate a headcount as possible because as the days go by, it is ok to increase the number of tables, but definitely not ok to decrease it.

I also have the same tots as all your FH... getting too many photos may not be feasible because it is the BEST opportunity for the BS to treat us as 'robert heads' and kena chop as they wish.

i have 40 tables liao, thus no worries. initially i booked at 37 tables only and my coord still gave us Pacific ballroom 1, 2 and 3. She did mention it's gonna be slightly empty though but lucky i can squeeze out more tables hehehe.

Miata16, if possible, u really shd up your tables to 40 cos just a diff of 2 tables and you lose out on the $20 discount as well as free flow of beer...

Is it possible to view the suite as early as now?

Meiqi, they will sell the negative at a price but still bo hua. Send to u liao.

PPgroom, ya lah, u r rite. I oso wanted to have headcount before I commit to PP cos I'm afraid can even hit 30 (cos it's stated as 30 min and I oni know can book 25 when I mit up with my coord). But time not permit cos in order to take adv of this promotion, nid to have the wedding held before Dec 04 and I know dates are running out so I go ahead and book but when I heard can book 25 tables, so hapi man!!!!
Ya, I agree, my BS oredi see me as one chai tou good for chopping oredi.
It's possible to view the suite. I am supposed to view it before I sign the contract but I cant make it and on the day of signing the contract, there's no room avail cos it's weekend.

Hi rosalind,

so for 25 tables, it'll be the Ocean ballroom correct?

yeah, i already heard so many of my frens kena chop till 'bo choon' liao kekeke... thus try to learn from their mistake lor... but i know very hard one la... ultimately still have to please my FW, if she really wants the additional photos then i give in lor, cos after all it is once a lifetime only.

PPgroom,

Yup, 25 tables for Ocean room 1-5...

Yup, all BS are waiting to squeeze the most out of each cust. But heard it's v hard not to buy extra cos nid a lot of self-discipline and control. I will make sure my BS got no chance to chop me..... hahaha... So nice of u to give in to ur FW buying additional photos.

Hi all, my BS charges cheaper for devt of pics ($65 per pc), but I'll control myself, cos frankly your pictures hor, after a while, will be kept somewhere, you dont take it out and see every other day. So be wise, that's just my personal view lah.

Twinkle, my understanding abt the Pacific Ballroom is in line with what Orosalind said, if you only have 40 tables, you risk PP renting the other empty room and sharing the foyer. That's why I am opting for Ocean Ballroom. Vividshots, Monica is friendly but I havent seen my friend's AD pictures. Will update you when I've seen it. Everafter, Albert Chua is good. His charges is high. Fabian's videography is good too. But high charges too.

PPgroom, Ocean Ballroom also free flow of biru lei.

I also havent seen the bridal suite. Orosalind, can email me the banquet setup. [email protected]. Thanks

Hi, PPgroom

If u're looking at Ocean Ballroom in 2005, pls note that the price per table is $668 and not $638 for 2004 weddind dinner.

Btw, which date are you looking at? Me Jan 2005 groom.

Hi twinkleglint,

My FH and I have seen their sample invitation cards before when we met up with our coordinator. I felt that it was nicer than the present one though it's not bery nice too.. she oso told us the same thing that they might have new design. I had actually called her up today and she mentioned that she will ask her boss if they can get some new designs..

Well, maybe I would get the cards from them too and get another designs outside too...

Jovialbliss

Hi orosalind,I went down to AV today and saw their wedding highlights and montage.As the sales person is busy entertaining cust,he din approach me.Find the photos are well-taken and nice but overall not that impressive leh. Mostly are just displaying photos and not much editing or high-tech graphics being used. Or maybe bcos I just saw part of it? My FH and I intend to take a look at wedding-tv 1st before making any decision. Heard many comments about wedding-tv but not sure if really that gd. Have to see then know liao...

hi meiqi,
me also looking at wed-tv, moreover i frd told me over the dinner jus now that they r good. i will c c look look first. their quote is in the web, they got everytime i wana, but need to go compare compare first.....

another groom here - sean. welcome....

hi rosalind, miata16,
that time, my coor told me at abt 38 tables can get pacific 1/2/3 leh. but not interested in that much tables so didn't bother. i wana stay within 30 tables, scare cannot breakeven. my FH's bro had 36 tables, really a lot.

jovialbliss
huh? so they not going to do much change loh. nvr mind, i will think of using my own.

hi ppgroom,
being early also good lah. like wat rosalind says, time can be evenly spread...............

Hi Sean,

Welcome brudder!! Me also Jan 05 groom
i already got the Pacific ballroom

Hi Meiqi,

what to do? but of course must give and take la... i give in to some things and my FW must give in to what i wan too la...

Hi rosalind/Miata,

Yes, for 40 tables is confirm PB 1/2/3. I even told my coord outright that i WON'T share my foyer nor partition any ballroom. But thank goodness my coord very nice lady, agree without any hesitation. I guess even if this is not a clause in the contract i dun have to worry cos i believe PP will honour their word.

Miata, you gotta be firm with your coord, tell them you wan the whole place to yourself, i'm sure they'll understand and accomodate one cos PP has a reputation and they would'nt wan to ruin it. also no point renting one small little section out and have a clash of events cos will be VERY 'luan' for them too.

Hi Meiqi,

Guess it's bcos u din see the whole of the presentation. Twinkleglint and I went into their special room whereby all their equipments and projectors are placed and then we were shown many 3 types of presentations.

Hi Sean, another PP groom huh? So amazed to see two men hanging ard here.

PPgroom, if I go for Pacific Ballroom, it is a higher package right? Another concern is if I take 38/40 tables, then Pacific 1/3 will look very empty right? I like cosy feel. :D

Hi orosalind, perhaps u're right. I din get to see the whole of the presentation. I just stood outside and watched the 2 TV which they have some sample montage and Zhou Chu Ming's wedding highlights. I'll fix an appt with them.

hi meiqi,
yup, me n orosalind seen their works by the boss, quite good lah but those r older version ones. they can cater to diff needs but as i have mentioned to ppgroom, if u add all-in, it will b abt $4k. too exp for me. there are other works done by AV employee (younger ones), their work are beta, more modern.

me now hearing many good commends for wed-tv, i m going to check on it.

hi Miata16,
i remember my coor told me they will try to spread out the tables. me also a big fan of pacific ballrm but i do not think i need so many tables. if u have so many tables, u should go for it, moreover now got promo....

hi sean, ppgroom,
same month?! hee, dun think of the same date...unless sean get the ocean ballrm.

Hi Twinkle, I think PB 1/3 can accommodate 60+ tables so I think it will look "empty" and sound noisy (pple talking, echo and cutlery noise) like one hotel I went to last weekend. Moreover PB's ceiling is higher. I shall stick to OB. Thanks for your advice.

Hi Orosalind, can you resend the banquet setup pictures to me again. I didnt recieve it. [email protected]. Thanks

Hi Twinkleglint, when are u going to wed-tv? keep me informed after that ok? Think have to make appt one...For me, i'm left with 2 choices-AV or wed-TV. Need to go down n take a look then will know...

By the way, wanna share something with u gals and guys. I attended a friend's wedding at Amara hotel last week. The services no good and food rather cold too. 1 waiter/waitress serve many tables and worse part is when come to montage,the PA system like 'hang' there and music start to 'jam-up'. All the guests started to complain about the lousy PA system. Oh my god..a bad experience! Hopefully PP is not like tat and everything goes smoothly for all of us here.

If I can recall correctly, in PP, 1 waiter/waiteress serve two tables right? And they dont do servings right? Anyone knows?

Hi Miata,

if i guess correctly, your AD date is on a weekday right? if so, then the price package can still retain at the Pixie package. All those Tinkerbell/Thumbelina package are for weekend package.

PP's waiter/waitress one to 2 tables meh? i tot a 5 star hotel shd do better?

anyone been to a wedding dinner at PP b4? is it really 1 to 2?

Miata16 & PPgroom,

For PP, it is 1 waiter/waitress to 1 table. Also, they will serve the food portions to guests.