Pan Pacific Singapore

hi orosalind,
me onleave again tomorrow to continue with my marriage leave........i will email u the details. i got to have along long weekemd.......heeeee

hi wen
they will show u the package, if u confirm, they will draw up a contract for u. u can meet up wif them, it is easier to talk. moreover they will show u the function rm, wedding favours, cards, theme, n many more in details

Twinkleglint,

thanks for your advice. Do we have to negotiate all that we want before the contract and get them written in there?

Orosalind,
for the function room that u have for your tea ceremony, is it written in the contract? By the way, I think this is indeed new.... this is the first time I heard having the tea ceremony at the hotel. I thought we normally have it at the groom's home?

Hi twinkleglint,

Enjoy ur weekends....

Hi Wen,

The additional function rm give to me is not in my contract cos my coord oni mention abt this additional rm when I went down to sign contract but I guess shldnt be a problem cos I have asked her to reserve a rm for me oredi. I have heard before that some couple had their tea ceremony in the hotel (this is for some relative who cant make it in the tea ceremony in the day time) but wat I saw was they did it in the ballroom itself and some in the suite. This is the first time I know we can request for additional room for tea ceremony when my coord told me abt it.

Hi petals,

Thanks for ur assurance. Now I'm even more confident of PP.

Yeah, Petals, it's comforting to hear that PP is good in terms of food. Never been there for banquets before. Ambience wise is of cos good, can tell. :D

Miata16,

The food from PP is generally good as they are prepared by chefs from the famous "Hai Tien Lou" restaurant - this was one of the main reasons why we chose PP. Nonetheless, the food tasting session is very important as this will determine the food quality & taste on the AD.

A tip for all PP brides : For your food tasting session, do get someone who can converse well in Cantonese. This is because the Exec. Chef (Simon Ho) will come to your table and hear your comments at the end of your food tasting session - he is only comfortable at conversing in Cantonese (he's from China and worked most of his time in HK). As my hubby and his family are Cantonese, they have no problem in talking to him and giving our comments. In fact, we chatted with him very well and in the process, he gave us some very good advise on the dishes that we have selected - we made some changes and they were well received by our guests. It will be a very awkward situation if you use English or other language to talk to him (which we found out initially) as he will only note down your comments without much talking.

Of course, you will still need to follow up closely with your sales coordinator to ensure that the chef prepare the food in the way as you have commented. We practically 'worked with' our sales coordinator till the AD and we were glad that all turned out well ...

Petals, do they have a kitchen next to the ballroom or they prepare the food at Hai Tien Lou kitchen and deliver them down?

Thanks for the tip, glad that I'm a cantonese (ey, can understand but cant speak well, hahaha). My parents will do the commenting. Hee.. yeah!

Who was your coordinator?

hi twinkleglint,
I hv not paid the deposit yet. i am asking this question coz i hope to get the contract early and try to fine tune it. See what's been offered and to negotiate for other things to be included.

Miata16,

I'm not sure about the food preparation part and how they deliver the food to the ballroom ... you may check with your sales coordinator.

I don't think I am able to reveal my sales coordinator name over here as this will prevent me from sharing more "tips & the things to look out for" with the rest of the PP brides ... Also, I will put her in a difficult situation as it is really for the couples to negotiate with their sales coordinators - some coordinators can be very flexible while some are not. All I can say of her is that she has been very accommodating to my requirements ... Some of which are not written in the contract and she still gave them to me FOC

Anyway, do feel free to ask if you need any information about PP - I will try to help if I have the answers.

Petals, okie, understood. Will find time to sort out what I need on top of the standard package and negotiate with my coordinator. I think my coordinator is a v nice person, it could be the same person (shhh...)

Thanks for sharing.

hi petals
i have a question here. do we need to tell our coordinator first if we wana change the items on the menu before the food tasting or after? my coor told me it is before.

Hi Lis, like orosalind, i'm with GHA too... how bout u?

to be frank, i bargained REALLY hard with both PP and GHA too.... and managed to get pretty good deals... i guess the trick is to never be at their mercy... do plenty of research on their competitors' packages and stand firm on wot you want... never have the "ok lor.." mentality..

twinkleglint,

I believe PP will still allow you to change the items on the menu after your food tasting, provided that there is not much of a price difference. Otherwise, you may need to top up more $ if the changed item(s) is more expensive than your earlier menu selection.

However, I understand that it also depends on whether the couple has signed up for the Ocean or Pacific ballroom package. For couples taking the Ocean ballroom package, they may experience more 'restrictions' from their coordinators as the package price is already very much cheaper as compared to those couples taking the Pacific ballroom package - the sale coordinators have very little rooms to play with in light of the small profit margins.

Petals

Here's something to share with PP brides:

For those who are not fussy & have no time to get/make an ang bao box, you can request PP via your coordinator to provide you one - they will make one and present it to you on AD. I got mine from PP and was rather satisfied with it - Do work out with your sales coordinator if you have any specific size or color paper designs ...

Hi all,I find this forum very useful especially for those couples who plan to get married soon. I have met up with PP coordinator recently and she showed us to Pacific Ballroom. Quite impressed with the lightings and decor. However weekend price is rather steep.I intend to bargain with the PP coordinator. But not sure how to negotiate? Also, dun think they will reduce the price with all the +++. Anyone been to Pan Pacific wedding dinner before? How's the food there and is it big serving? Another alternative is MC. My wedding already fixed on Jan 2005. Currently busy looking for a suitable venue for wedding dinner. But heard that MC 2005 wedding package is not even out yet. Appreciate if anyone could share your experience. Thanks :-)

Meiqi,

You can negotiate for a nett price (per table) with your coordinator. Also, you can tell the coordinator what is your budget - they will be able to work around your budget in some ways such as changing certain items in the menu and so on ...

My wedding was held at the Pacific ballroom recently (refer to my earlier postings) and we received great compliments about the food - many of my friends & colleagues commented that the food tasted better than those wedding banquets they attended in other 4* & 5* hotels. While there were some complaints from our guests in other aspects, we deemed that they were minor, really

The PP food serving portion is more than ample for a table of 10. In fact, we had a number of 11-people table (last minute additions) and we did not encouter any problem with them. Of course, food items like abalone need to be increased accordingly (1 person per slice).

Thanks petals
Felt much relieved to know that there's such great compliments with the food. Cos my parents are rather concerned with the food rather than decor(more practical)..hehe
By the way, how you manage to negotiate with PP? We decided to take Pacific ballroom, theme still yet to decide. However I prefer the fairy garden after looking at the 3 choices. Now still on negotiating terms with PP. Heard from many friends that Merchant Court oso not bad, the food are quite nice. Have you been there before? Is this true?

Meiqi,

Yes, Merchant Court is not bad either. I've attended one of my friend's wedding banquet at MC just 4 months before mine and quite liked its food and the ballroom.

On comparison, I would still choose PP for its better food, bigger reception hall & ballroom, nicer wedding flavours, beautiful ambience & lightings. I really have no regrets to pay a bit more for Pacific ballroom

As for negotiations, you should start off by working out a nett price with your sales coordinator ... you can gauge her flexibility in this regard. The rest of the contract details should come easy once she accedes to this request.

Hi Rosalind and Petals,
I'm really fuming...
My coordinator told me she's going to charge us $200++ for usage of the room for our solemnization! I told her we're only going to use it for 15 mins and I asked if the hotel could make this complimentary for us. And she says "No, hope you understand." The amount is to cover the labour cost for setting up the room. Also, if she holds the room for us, sale of the room would be impossible. If she has said "if there's a room available, she could let us use it" or something like that, the situation would have been diffused. Now I'm really disappointed with her attitude. How come other co-ordinators could VOLUNTEER a room for the couple. But for us, it is like asking for the impossible??

I wonder if it is possible to change co-ordinator at this stage? It has become unbearable talking to her... I doubt she'd even give us the ang-bao box if we were to request. Probably she'll charge us $100++ to cover labor and material costs!!! Grrr....

If I have read this thread before my appointment with Pan Pac, I wouldn't have allowed her to be our co-ordinator! Looks like I'm not the only one having problems with this co-ordinator. Sigh...

Belinda

Hi Blim,i understand your anger in this. Y can't they make it FOC for you? If they have mentioned earlier then you would have think of other alternatives. Well...wat to do?! Btw, who's ur coordinator?

Hi Demio,

Glad to see another GHA bride here. Wow, from what u say "do plenty of research on their competitors' packages and stand firm on wot you want", I guess my coord fm GHA is real good then cos I never do research and dunno what I want when I sign up with her last yr. Oni bargain with her recently.
==================================================

Hi twinkleglint,

Dun worry, dun think u nid to let ur coord know what u want for menu even before food tasting. Just get her to add in a terms like menu can be changed as per your request (I got my coord to do that).

Hi petals,

I agree with u, I ask for an ang bow box too. Was told that it's a metal one with lock but I scared it'll look ugly. Maybe I will try to ask for what u have suggested.

Hi blim,

Cool down, cool down. Who's ur coord? Maybe u can say some of ur fren got the room and ang bow box FOC from other coord and see what she say? Maybe she will give in after that?

Hi blim,

I agreed with you that she is not very flexible & helpful ... Providing you a room for 15 mins w/o deco certainly does not cost the hotel any much 'damage' if there are spare rooms on the AD.

Who is your coordinator? Let me know & I see if I can direct u to the right person for assistance.

Petals

Hi petals, based on your experience with PP, is it that once we sign contract with them,we will have to pay deposit as well? Cos the coordinator ask us to pay deposit asap. But we have not really negotiate on the nett price of table yet. Now everything seems to be in a rush...

Hi orosalind,

I did not ask for the metal ang bao box with lock ... a bit KS lah

You can ask for the paper box version ... they look nicer and more presentable.

Petals

Hi petals,

Ya, they say got this metal one with lock and I think it's kinda ugly. Thanks for telling me cos I didnt ask for any ang bow box, they volunteer the metal one with lock and I tot of asking for those that u mention. At first I tot of making it on my own if they oni have the metal kind.

Hello

Blim, i also thinking of changing coordinator, find that the coordinator's service real lousy. Can actually forget what perks we have discussed previously and mind u, we are already at the stage of signing the contract already, just because we postpone paying deposit? *grr* Lucky that my tolerence level is high n i'm a very patient and chim chai person, if not give a box to wrap tt look on the face!

I m not going to bargain with the coordinator for the angbao box, cos can't tahan seeing that "oh-my-god another cheapo person" face again. If my friends from those 5/6 stars hotel can get real gd service, inclusive of FOC nice angbao box and function room for their ROM, wat's wrong with this coordinator? It's not as if we are squeezing PP dry, we give n take too.

If it's not for hubby and PIL's preference of PP, wont even bother to call back.

who is "this coordinator" that you gals are tokin about? so scary...

i suggest if you have not signed up, ask for what you want, and if itz not granted, juz say you'll go elsewhere...

Hey Lynn, I'm suspecting we're talking about the same coordinator!! She forgot our perks too! She even forgot our appointment... took MC and didn't brief her assistant. The receptionist tried calling her office line, DID, HP all without avail. Our second trip back to the hotel, she forgot all about our correspondences and showed us the ballrooms and menu as if we are a new couple to her. And we gently reminded her we already confirmed most items in our email correspondence with her prior. Better still, the contract mailed to us also got mistake but my FH said let it be since it's likely we're not going to serve wine.

Look back at this Pan Pac thread a month ago and you'll see the same coordinator's name being complained. Anyway, as far back as I've read, there's only 1 Pan Pac coordinator that gets complaints in the forum.

My FH told me to wait a while longer and request the room from her again. She super-blur she may forgot she turned us down before. Else we may have to escalate or think of another solution. No way are we paying $200++ for 15-min room usage... Petals, what do you think?

Hi Meiqi,

Yes, you will be required to pay the deposit after signing the contract - pretty standard procedure for most hotels. Do try to finish your negotiations with your coordinator (as much as possible) before you sign on the dotted line ... Else you will lose most of your 'bargaining' powers.

Petals

There is no need to bargain for the ang bao box ... it's your entitlement once you signed up with PP, as I understand from my coordinator.

----------------------------

blim,

You can certainly request for a change in your coordinator, given her lousy service and attitude. I would suggest that you fix up an appointment with the sales director and highlight your problems. It is most likely that they will accede to your request if you insist the change ... This was what I did and I received fantastic services from my new coordinator thereafter

Note: There are 2 sales directors at PP (Johnny Chuan & a lady ... i can't remember her name). You will need to know who's your sales coordinator is reporting under. I'm not sure who's your coordinator is and therefore can't advise you accordingly ... In any case, you can simply check up with the hotel.

Petals

hi petals n blim

My contract will only be 'submitted' for processing upon payment of deposit first. Despite me asking for contract first. Don't know it's because Ocean ballroom is so hot that PP not worry of losing a deal, but still basic customer service is expected right? Doesn't speak well of PP's reputation if the coordinator din even bother to read through the prior minutes before meeting the couple. Wont take long right?

Anyway i hope the contract wont give me any prob and quick sign n get it out of my way for now. Next yr then i think abt PP again.

hi bli, lynn
there are actually 3 mgrs (1 guy & 2 ladies) there. mgr will be the one serving us n then they pass those paperwork to their coor. if the inflexible mgr is not a guy then it is easy to guess. but i think she a bit blur but not the worst case. mayb try talking to her another time.

hi lynn
mine too, i paid first then they post the contract to me. i takes abt a wk. if not u can ask them to print the contract n y pay n sign on the spot.

Can we discuss on the terms and conditions of the contract with our coordinator first before paying the deposit? And then only when we are satisfied with the conditions then we pay and sign the contract?... Is this approach ok?

Thanks orosalind

Cos my coordinator keep asking me to pay deposit within these 2 days. However we just met her once and have not gone into negotiating terms yet. I just afraid that after i signed the contract and paid deposit, there's no room for negotiation. Well...On the other hand, after reading all the threads, I'm not sure if my coordinator is that flexible/accomodating? These are my concerns...

Hi Meiqi,

You definitely need to neg what you wanted and ask them to incl it in the contract. Otherwise, the contract serve as no purpose. If they just promise u verbally and not incl in the contract those additional items which u have negotiated for, wld they keep to their promise when times comes or wld the new coord honour what this current coord promise u verbally (if say, ur current coord left PP)? That u wun know so it's beta to put in everything which u have negotiated with them. Or maybe I'm too KS? :p

Yes, I have the same thoughts as u. I would also want them to include whatever negotiated into the contract, so that they cannot run away..hehe ;) Thanks orosalind. By the way, do u mind to send me you negotiated perks to my email?

meiqi, i think that should be done... and nothing should be paid until you are truly satisfied and put your signature down...

I know its not nice to mentioned our coordinator's name in the thread, however I am deeply concerned with who this coordinator is as I intend to choose PP for my wedding venue.

Are you girls able to drop us hints as to who she is so that we will know what to expect?

Hi! May I know what promotion you gals are referring to? I went to the website but saw no promotions going on...the package was $638++ for weekdays......have i missed out on anything? Am asking cos me thinking of having my banquet at end 04 or in Jan 05...can anyone advise if the promo is still happening? Thanks!

hi ladies...

new here... am considering PP for my dinner venue... any advice? who should i approach?

do you get a lot more perks when u negotiate? they're having a promo now rite?

Hi bubblegum,

There's this promotion of $638 nett per table (for Ocean Ballroom only) comes with free flow of beer, etc. It's not in the website. When u ask for package info from PP, they will send together with the normal package ($638+++ and above). However, for Pacific Ballroom package, it will still be $638+++ and above. The promotion is valid if u book before 31 Dec 03 and valid for banquets till 31 Dec 2004.

Hi feroy,

U can try to ask for my coord, Juliana Tay. Very nice lady and accomodating to ur needs too. U oni nid to negotiate for things which u one but not incld in the package. Ya, they are having promotion now (refer to my reply to bubblegum).