Pan Pacific Singapore

I've been following this thread for some time. Interesting and very informative. It definitely helps me on whether to choose PP as my wedding venue in 2005.

Understand from PP they require the couples to pay 50% of the wedding cost 1 months in advance. I find that this is a ridiculous clause. None of the 5-star hotel I had talked to so far has request us to do that.

Hi, ppgroom and cutiebear

Will email my contact later. After hearing from the Dec'04 brides whereby some hubbies "merlion", I also scared I also might not wake up in time for breakfast. Think must schedule late breakfast. If no breakfast, then lunch perhaps. You collected your poster already? Me picking up the poster later from Veronica. Spoke to Kevin this morning and he informed me that the renovations at the lobby are completed. Which wedding favours are you choosing?

Me seems to have 1001 things haven settle. Very stressed, can't sleep properly at night thinking abt what I have not done. What abt your side? ppgroom, my wife says you even a more "gan cheong" groom than me.

Hi, Karen

My wedding a day later than ppgroom. And I spoke to Pauline and Kevin but they never mentioned abt paying upfront 50% deposit. The only deposit is the $3k booking fee. maybe it's their new rule. Think it's better to check with the catering sales.

Hi, all

Wishing everybody in advance a happy 2005 and that all brides and grooms in the year ahead will have a smooth sailing wedding and blissful marriage.

As we welcome 2005 tonight, let's also dedicate our well wishes and concern to the injured, missing and casualties from the tsunami disaster. Hope that 2005 will be a peaceful year ahead.

hi all, agree with sean, and let's count our blessing when we count down ahead. condolences to all who suffered under this natural disater.

Hi Sean,

Veronica is sending our poster direct to PP. yeah, i very gan cheong type one HAHAHA... i cannot confirm for lunch, cos my honeymoon departing on 12 Jan... so by noon may have to go back home and do some major packing liao.

as for wedding favors, the bear in the box also OUT OF STOCK liao!!! sigh... now we chose chocolates for all... how come PP cannot anticipate such logistics one??? when the new bear running out soon, they shd've ordered for more liao... somemore our ADs were booked SO FAR AHEAD!!! it's not like i just booked my AD last month... now then tell me they run out... quite pissed with this...

well... no point bursting my blood vessels...

Here's wishing a HAPPY NEW YEAR to one and all!!! And may this new year of 2005 be a good and peaceful year for all!!!

other favors nice also no point mah... we specifically wanted the bear, somemore informed so early in advance, yet now like that... SIANZZZZZ

Hi, ppgroom

I still don't know cos they also tell me the same story as you. Will try to make it for breakfast cos I want to see chio chio cutiebear and humsum ppgroom in person.

WAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Sean, you also hamsum groom... all couples will be most beautiful and hamsum on their AD one!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA

Hi ppl,

Happy New Year!! May Happiness Be with All Always!!

PPgroom and Sean ~ Our breakfast is on 10 Jan morning, right??

PPgroom ~ i will send you my contacts later. Then now you gog to have chocolate for your favours??

Sean ~ me and FH prepared liao, he bought those medication where will not hang over one!! hee hee

Karen ~ i think i know what is the 50% deposit about already, Pan Pac did ask me to give them a copy of pre-authorization from the credit card i hold, which amount to abt $21k.

cutiebear,

yeah, all my favors are choccolate now...

no leh... my pre-authorisation thingie, my coord asked me to chope the whole amount!! not 50%...

Hi PPgroom..
Pan Pac is quite irresponsible. How can the bear in the box run out of stock eventhough you have requested way in advance. Ask them to compensate you.

I think the pre-authorisation form is the "norm" cos this is what some hotels practises too.

hi ying11,

i can't be bothered with them anymore... burst my blood vessels only... i just wan my AD to be smooth smooth can liao...

Sean, cutiebear, you guys managed to ge the bear???

hi guys,

i'm thinking of checking PP out for AD, but can't find any information online.. anyone know the contact numbers/emails of the people whom I can get in touch with?

good luck to everyone whose AD is coming soon!

PP says the 50% payment is a new clause for the 2005 wedding. this is the first time i hear that. that's why need to check with u guys if you were aware. It's a lot of money we are talking. I'm reconsidering Sheraton. Any of you been to Sheraton lately?

hi exodus,

that is outrageous!!! how can PP collect 50% upfront!?!? that is as good as saying we cannot run away liao!!! walau... what is PP doing??? they are only spoiling their own reputation... sigh...

I tot there is a clause in our contract under the account settlement saying that "The balance of the total bill is to post to room account and to be settled by credit card or cash upon check-out"? Can anybody kindly check with PP?

Exactly... That's why we are reconsidering other hotel as well. They claim that other hotels like ritz is doing it.
as far as I'm concern, Conrad hotel is not even doing this.
I do like th ballroom a lot but the policy is very rigid. This is just the beginning.. will there be more after i sign the contract? I'm more worried... after reading all your encounters....

PP claim that so far all the couples having their in 2005 do not have problem signing the contract, with the new clause in there.

That's why i need to check if those 2005 couples is facing such an issue.

Hi exodus,
i hav signed with PP last Mar on the 2005 package, they dun hav tis clause. i will oni pay d total bill upon check-out. Had already pay 3k 4 d deposit.

hav oso check PP website, my 2005 package nt inside anymore... PP total changed d packages offer & d prices 2.

jus hope they honour our agreement.

what a mess PP is causing... no wonder turnover rate so high 4 d past few mths.

Hey LFC, just curious, how much does your package price differ between the one on the website and the one that you have? if not convenient to put on the forum you can always email me at [email protected]

i'm a bit concerned becuase i'm looking at jan/feb 2006 but they say the current 2005 prices only extend to 31Jan05. Thought if there's a high chance they'll up the price i might try to pressure them to give me the 2005 package for Feb 06 (if we decide to do it in feb..)

;)

Hi iso,
mi signed up the 2005 package for the OB, differs from the PP web by 100 nett/table.
Thats' quite alot!

i simply dun understand why PP is making it mandatory for this 50% downpayment. By making it 50%, it is no longer a deposit!!! it is partial payment!!! how can i pay 50% for an event which is to take place more than a year later??? if say the booking is done within 6 months to the AD, then perhaps collecting 50% is reasonable.

if they say they scared couples cancel their booking, then why would they have this fear if their service are up there??? so far alot of the comments about PP have been good... why must they complicate thngs???

Relax..
I've checked w PP. They have a new clause about 50% payment as deposit but it will only affect new brides. Those who have already signed and paid the deposit WILL NOT be affected..

As for Ritz, my gal fren told me she paid 50% deposit too when she signed up recently for her wedding end 2005.

Hope it clarifies matters..

hi maybride
thks 4 yr info

agree wif ppgroom.. dun understand y PP 1 wedding couples 2 deposit 50%.. very alot, amt 2 more than $15k.. so y pay 4 something when u haven't use any of their facilities/food,etc?!
$15k 2 reserve a venue is simple too much!

i know it wun affect existing couples... i'm just voicing my concerns for future couples... paying $15k upfront is no small sum leh... somemore for an event which is 1yr+ down the road...

Let me correct myself if I have mislead you guys. PP is asking us to pay the 50% deposit 1 month prior to our AD not upon signing of the contract. However, we still think it's ridiculous. All other hotels are not even practicising that. They all allow us to pay the balance (after the initial deposit) upon hotel check out.

For those who sign early, you are 'saved'. As long as the contract does not have such clause, you are ok.

ok. when I asked PP, they didn't correct me regardin the 50% deposit paid upfront when u sign the contract.

and it's true the other hotels are already asking for more deposit. ritz could be collecting 50% before the wedding day itself or the deposit but my fren only mentioned the 50% deposit, never tell me the time u have to pay that.

ya, I agree it's very expensive to put in the 50% deposit even if it's one month before coz i think most of us are hoping to recover more than that amount from AP during the dinner..

Hi Cutiebear, PPgroom & Sean,
Congrats on your coming wedding.
238948.gif

Hi Sean,
To prevent become "Merlion", u may try take some butter, my colleague taught me tis method.

Hi, ppgroom & cutiebear

Congrats on both your weddings tomorrow. Both of you will be able to savour the hard works of your labour and preparations tomorrow when the entire wedding proceeds along smoothly. And most importantly, xing fu mei man in your marriage. Cos marriage is not just abt AD. It's abt spending the rest of your lives with someone you love and cherish dearly.

As for me, I'm also trying my best to make sure all will proceed on smoothly. But the one thing I want most is a rain-free Sunday cos my wife hates the feeling of wet shoes.

Hi, garfield

Thanks for your well wishes. Heard of that method before, but don't know whether effective or not. Will try it out.

hey everyone,
we went to see PP and seriously considering it at the moment.. anyone can share on what to bargain for? we'll most likely take the pacific ballroom although our guest list not really confirmed yet, guess have to make more friends to fill up minimum 45 tables, hahah! just kidding..

anyone managed to get waiver of wine, or free bottle per table? they seem rather sticky about that comapred to other hotels...

hi all!!

now back at home packing up for my honeymoon

i must say, my event manager, Mr Johnson Low, is really very professional. With him taking care of your banquet, you can rest assured.

comment on the food were quite good (except an occasional comment that the dessert was too sweet), else everything was quite good. but after the toasting, i dun remember much liao, cos i was DRUNK!!

Sean, cutiebear, let me guess... you guys managed to get your bears, right?