Pan Pacific Singapore

pearl_chin

vt> not yet! I have not gone for my first fitting for my wedding gown, evening gown! So, pre-wed photos not taken yet.... will do so only in August. how abt urself?

ds_gerl

vt> sounds nice to me… perhaps u can enquire with ivan on any couples having their wedding at ocean in the coming months using this theme…
at least u r able to visualize the actual deco and modify from there…

pearl> but I tot usually u will need more time to select ur gowns then do fitting & trial makeup prior to the PS? this means that u will hv to complete everything within 3 mths b4 ur wedding… cos from wat I understand, the final product of the PS will usually take up abt 3mths

alexlimks

me and my gal would be signing with pan pac this sat... looking at 40 tables.. besides asking for 2nd bridal nite stay, additional projector, more complimentary car park.. what else should we ask for??

verena

Pearl> I've only gone for my 1st appt with my BS. Now I'm still deciding on my WG design. Ya, same as you, EG also not decided yet. My PS is in July, so we're basically along the same timeline..haha.

DS_Gerl> Maybe I'll check with him when I meet up with him in 2 weeks' time. When's ur AD? =)

ds_gerl

alex> congrats! when is ur AD?
that will depends on ur negotiation skills & wat pan pac can offer... hahaha

vt> my AD is Oct 2010... =P

nayuqi

hi alex> congrats too.
my package only had free 1 wine / table & free 2 barrels of beer. so in case of additional wines that u need, u could request for waiver of corkage. i didnt get a waiver of corkage for all wines. only a max of 24 bottles (if i remember correctly). Should be enough since i am expecting 30 tables + 24 additional, wld have 54 wines already lor.

pearl_chin

ds_gerl> I checked with my BS and PG, they are comfortable to work along the time frame though its better if I can give them more time...yah..norm is 3-4 mths :p

vt> I already decided on my evening gown...doing my first fitting next week....so exciting....

pearl_chin

vt> I chose both on the same day...designs for wedding gown & evening gown...
hence, I am doing the fitting for both gowns at one time

verena

DS_Gerl> I'm just realised that your AD is in 2010. Wow...long engagement period ya? Guess you can get all the planning well sorted out way before the wedding. =)

ds_gerl

vt> yeah… heehee… some of my frens also tot that I’m being kiasu… but I find that I can slowly relac plan for my wedding… I dun like to do last min things… cos I will go crazy… moreover I also realized that my AD is a hot auspicious date… lucky venue & BS cfm liao… nw actively sourcing for PG & VG for AD then will start to collect recommendations on JPs…

pearl_chin

vt & ds_gerl> managed to book a tulle bottom then change the top of the wedding gown cos due to lack of time & change of bridal boutique, as for evening gown, its made to measure so I dunno if I have chosen the right design...so its good to have ample time...

verena

Pearl> Your WG is 2 separate pieces? Ha, me too. I also changed my bridal boutique sometime back. Silly mistake. Haha

ds_gerl

pearl & vt> my AD is next yr oct… haven’t decide on PS date yet… not even fitting dates… but most prob will hv PS in nov/dec or after cny next yr… cos bf will be gg overseas outstation but not cfm yet… so now hanging in mid air lor…

btw, hw come both of u change BS?? anything wrong with ur previous one??

verena

DS_Gerl> Don't worry, u have plenty of time to get your fittings and PS sorted out before your AD. For me, we signed up with our prev BS out of pushy sales tactics. What's more, it was the 1st BS that my fiance and I went to. Bad idea. Haha. Transferred my package albeit at a loss but with my current BS, I have absolutely no regrets (haha, and judging that I have yet to confirm my gown design actually)

ds_gerl

vt> at least u hv realized earlier and managed to sell away the pkg and find urself another BS that u r comfortable with

pearl_chin

vt & ds_gerl> nope, its not 2 separate pcs...just by changing the bodice. I changed the bridal shop cos I cannot find anything I like in the previous bridal shop. I am still trying to sell my package and like vt, thats the 1st BS I came by and we signed on the roadshow without visiting the shop personally, just by looking at the photos and the over promise of the gowns available.....too hasty a decision made.

With my current BS, I am also very pleased with it even though, I still have to change quite a fair bit more for my evening gown & wedding gown.

ds_gerl> guess you just have to wait for the confirmation whether or not your bf is going overseas before you start planning the PS date. Maybe can check with your bridal shop and see if they allow for any changes in PS dates etc after you make a tentative booking. Cos my previous BS only allow 1 time change, if I am not mistaken.

ds_gerl

pearl> thanks for ur advice…
if my bf will be gg overseas this yr, thn he will be back by late oct… so most prob will arrange to select our gowns when he is back and also cfm PS date lor…
but I din ask abt hw many times can we re-schedule the PS date leh… anyway, my bf ytd juz told me that they will cfm their trip within this week liao… if go, will leave in july… else will not be gg anywhere this yr… prob early next yr (Mar~Jun)… but also not cfm…
no matter hw, it wud be safer to get our PS done either b4 cny or after…

verena

Pearl> not yet. Is there a timeframe when we must chose the decor by? Will also probably only do so sometime Aug/Sept.

pearl_chin

I am not sure on the time frame but my previous coordinator did mention and email me that I need to see her in August to finalise the cards, decor and food menu...however she left already. So, I reckon it should be about the same time line...

twinkleng

Hi Pearl, Can you please email me your pan pac package? Will be meeting the coordinator on the 30th to sign the contract...

Oh btw, if you ladies are interested, there is an indian wedding on the 30th - pacific ballroom... the setup is supposed to be unique (according to my coordinator).

DS_Gerl, duno if u're still interested in going cos its not the traditional / normal banquet setup...

ds_gerl

eileen> i told my FH that it is an indian wedding, he dun seems to be interested liao...
but we shall see if we hv anything on that day... if nothing, probably we will drop by...

pearl_chin

eileen> you probably gotta get someone else who have signed up this year to email you on the package cos I signed up last year and its valid for 2009 only.

twinkleng

hey babes! just signed with Pan Pac yesterday. Oh just to inform you gals that Pan Pac is increasing their price by $100 bucks for weddings held after sept 2010.

They were charging $60 bucks extra previously...
and they may increase their price further so hurry book before the price increase again...

cherrycoke

i'm considering booking pacific ballroom, but as it is quite huge, would it be a problem for guests sitting at the far end of the ballroom? i'm just concerned that the guests sitting right at the other end of the ballroom (away from the stage) will not be able to see or hear much. am not sure where the projectors will be.

is the hotel able to have the stage at the center of the ballroom instead?

verena

CK> Yes, I believe the stage can be moved to the centre of the ballroom cos I'm doing that for mine too but I'm using the Ocean Ballroom

pearl_chin

eileen> thats great! Sorry, couldn't email you my package cos I think what Pan Pac is offering is better than what I got @ $1088++.
ck> yes...you can have the stage to be at the centre of the ballroom....

sillyme123

Hi Eileen,

Serious? "They were charging $60 bucks extra previously... and they may increase their price further so hurry book before the price increase again..."

They going to increase the rate to 100 instead of 60? When they going to increase?

twinkleng

haha i think they've increased by 100 already.

Was asking her how come there was a drastic drop in price from 1088++ to 1028 net.. then she said that its a price revision.

however, mgt is probably going to increase the price anytime

dreamer11

I must say that Pan Pacific's packages are really quite value for money but one huge drawback i faced with them while choosing my ad venue was the lousy attitude of the wedding planner. utterly put off by the service rendered..

this is my experience..
I made an appt with one of their wedding planner named Iv*n. I was late ten mins for our appt but i waited for ten mins as well. he didn't introduce himself and had this very disinterested look while showing me around the ballrooms and explaining the details thruout. When i asked if he could show me the bridal suite after everything, he said no, cos his client just sms him that they are coming and he has to attend to them. becos our appt was scheduled last min and i came late so he has no time for me so he said maybe we can arrange another date to view. ????? Cant he get someone to show me if he's not available? Am i not a 'potential' client? Will it take long to view the room and the client has not even reached!!! Is this the service of this particular five star hotel?? I had visited another five star hotel nearby and i must say their service was fantastic! Pan Pacific really has a long way to catch up with that kind of standard.

I am contemplating to write in to lodge a complain.. can't believe this..

twinkleng

grace> i have a concern of their carpet too.. i'm hoping that they'll change it into a nicer shade next year.

p.s according to the planner, carpets are changed every year..

princess_ping

I met up with a coordinator today and was quite disappointed that the bridal suite is facing Suntec City with no view of the bay at all? Did those of you who booked get the same facing room or there are supposed to be some bayview bridal suites as well?

And is it possible to switch coordinator if we have already met up with one of them already?

Really interested to confirm with Pan Pac, but not very comfortable with the coordinator i met today. Appreciate any feedback, thanks!

princess_ping

Ivan was the coordinator. I am looking at the pacific ballroom..

Actually he is ok, seems quite experienced.. just that there were some issues with the prices he quote us and also him telling us our date might be taken by another couple even when we have informed him of our date quite some time back.

Would actually prefer someone more "on the dot" and inform us if there are any changes along the way.

kiat

just wondering for those who went to view pan pac recently, any idea if the sat for sept 2010 are all taken up?

looks like a hot month for sept and oct next year...

richgrace

Princess,

What the date you are looking at?

I think their suite is fine... cos the poster bed looks comfy. though its facing suntec but the night lights should look nice too...

ds_gerl

hello kiat,
i think it will be the best to chk with the hotel themselves... they shld hv the lastest updates on the dates that hv ardy taken up

pearl_chin

princess ping> I guess you will have to do a tentative booking on a specific date but if another couple comes along and decides to place a deposit with Pan Pac on the same date as you, you probably only have that 1-2 days to consider whether you want to let go of your tentative booking or place your deposit within that 1-2 days. I think this is the norm for most hotels.

I have not looked at the suite yet even though I booked my package last year....doesn't bother me on what it faces as long as the place is clean & comfy :p

princess_ping

Grace: I'm looking at Jan 2011.

kiat: Sorry can't help you. Like DS Gerl said, best to check with the coordinators directly. Perhaps not Ivan though, to be sure ;)

Pearl: Precisely, he didn't even call me or anything to tell me someone else wants my date. Only when i met him then he mention the date may not be available anymore. i dunno why he is giving the other couple priority. If they reserved the date earlier than me, he would have told me i'm on waiting list right. Sigh.. anyway, dun want to harp on this anymore. Hehz. I'm currently exploring other hotels since i dun really trust this guy from Pan Pac anymore. It's a pity cos I like Pan Pac.

Anyway the suite is nice la.. the four poster bed looks quite shiok. just that i expected the bayview which should be a selling point for the hotel but was surprised bridals suites face the other side =)