Painting of House/HDB flat/Room

muffingan

Hi Larryle,
Pls check yr email.

BTW, just want to share with you that we r very pleased with this contractor. He and his workers finished painting our whole hse in 1 day. We r amazed as our hse still have many of our furniture in the hse. Besides, they also take care of our furniture during painting.

fleur1

I only spent $1200 to paint the whole of my 5-room and I am very pleased with the results!

muffingan

Hi Fleur,

As originally the wall color of my previous owner is using darker col, so this contractor paints over 3 coats for most of our walls. The brand we choose is Duluxe ICI.

plus2

My new hse is under reno and going to start the painting. they have shown me the color b4 painting all. however i found that the wall is so ugly with those original lines and left-over small hole. my contractor is telling me that if i need to make it flat then need to do "plasta" and it cost me $1200 for whole hse except cabinet wall. I wonder it is fair in this case and how much the market price it should be. anyone can advise?

muffingan

Hi Pauline and to others who may interested,

Our painter is Jimmy and note his details below:
Tel: 65657747, H/P : 90232556
His company name is Color Creation Painting Service, located in clementi ave.

Overall, we r happy with his services. Hope that is useful for yr sourcing.

Take care..happy painting

supagal

jus wana share that i use Jimmy for my paint job and is happy with his work.

bt batok 5-rm, 5 colors (ici), quote $1100. he did a lot of plastering and touch up work for us.

fcc

hihi... we bought a resale flat. The walls are not those smooth flat surface but it is something like sprayed paint with alot of little littles dots. I'm not sure what is that called.

I want to even/smoothen the walls, anyone to recommend? What is the pricing like? My contractor quoted me $2k plus for plastering over to smoothen it, $4k plus to use mahcine to smoothem the surface.

plus2

plastering should be more than enough. Think the price is ok if it is include painting the ceiling.

cecilialim

hi, mine $1,100 for 5 room... include painting of pipes, varnish gates etc etc... as long as painting all included...

fcc

hi plus2,

The pricing have not include the painting, $2k plus is on top of the painting charges.

cecilialim

hi winnie...mine is a full package renovation quoted by a contractor. so you got to check out your whole package and see whether it is reasonable or not. I haven't engage them yet, but you can try out U home. Reasonable pricing...

cecilialim

BenDi who did you take in the end? i gave up U home in the end cos still not very attractive... took 3E, they quoted $1300 for painting but overall gave a $1.5K discount on the reno.

sbb

Hi I need to check regarding abt the painting stuff.

My ID got someone to do my hse at $1150 for my 4A resale hse.
However, after painting I do not like it. Eg.:
- door frames for gate and doors.
I use the existing gate and door frame.
I suppose the painter must scrape to make the frame smooth than paint right?
That is what 1 painter told me.

Than from the frame to the wall there is crack lines along the frame.
That means they did not paint properly right?

Actually what r they suppose to do?

- for living hall.
I'm havin 3 colours.
Dark earth, light earth and white for ceiling and foyer.

They did not paint in straight lines at the corner.
They said its because my wall is not straight.
But I thought they have technics to paint it straight without 2 colours intercedes one another right?

Am I writing too complicated? Hhaa..

sbb

agape : actually plastering is only to smoothen it.
my hse also resale and the wall r uneven.
after plastering and painting over, when switch on, hmm..can see those wavy ceilings. quite ugly but no choice one.

sbb

supagal : yr hse is resale one or what?
cos my hse hor.. is resale one. than those metal door frames got those very ugly marks there.
they can scrap off for us also before painting?

sbb

tks cecilia. i told my ID that yr guy did a bad job.. later i did a research, cal up paint ppl and also my colleagues where they employ paint ppl come. they said scrap off door frame and do some touch up with plastering is their job and its foc.

cecilialim

yes... so what did your ID say? think he should ask painters to redo the job, cos your are paying for it! and its not twenty thrity dollars kind of service you know, its thousand over!! and in one day of painting they earn about $500 already.

fiona

Just wondering..
Does Jimmy provide services like painting patterns?
Has anyone tried painting their walls with patterns?
Appreciate if there is any photos to share.

sbb

hi cecilia, i told my ID liao they r arranging the paint ppl coming my hse on the 16 nov morning time wor.

this x i wil be there cos hor..my stuff all there and i think by supervising them its better..they won anyhow do..d most i hold back the payment and don give it to them.

sbb

hi cecilia, i told my ID liao they r arranging the paint ppl coming my hse on the 16 nov morning time wor.

this x i wil be there cos hor..my stuff all there and i think by supervising them its better..they won anyhow do..d most i hold back the payment and don give it to them.

supagal

jasmine> mine is resale flat and require quite a fair bit of plastering and scraping works. so they did everything for us.

fiona> i didnt try patterns but u can call jimmy and ask him, he is very friendly

sbb

tks cecilia! hha..
i told my ID 2 cme my hse on the 16 nov also. cos i told him u r d one that employ them n i felt u be there is still better!

cos if the paint ppl gg to be harsh on me, than at least he is still there u see.
cos i do all this research to let myself hav sme evidence of what a paint ppl should do. hha..

must do some homework lah. hha..

sbb

supagal : my hse after doing all the plastering hor.. hmm
still can see some uneveness. cos hor..plastering is jst making it smooth but not making it straight.

what abt yrs?

yr paint they did a lot of scraping for u ah? mine didn wor. next wed 16 nov they coming n i wil ask them to do it.

cecilialim

good... my ID told me anything just go through her, i won't contact any of her sub con... hope my reno turns out well, starting in about 2 weeks time...

sbb

Gd leh. But than smetimes when we go there supervise a bit hor.. Still have to come in contact with their sub-contractors one.
But once in a while better to have someone to go and supervise their work.
Cos if u not there hor.. Sometimes their sub contractor anyhow one wor.

supagal

jasmine> after plastering, my walls are quite smooth but not very even. i think if you wan it to be v even, may need to get those pro who uses machine.

muffingan

Our hse is a resales 5rm flat and the painting is done by Jimmy. The price he quote for us is reasonable. Beside painting whole hse (mostly in 2-3 coats), he also include some plastering FOC and our metal gate grill.

Our ID - Mode Interior, also have put up our hse pics, as 'project' in her company website, pls take a look at our hse images (before renov & after renov.) In there, you can see the pics of our new hse, and the paint of the walls, is done by Jimmy.

http://www.modeinterior.com
under residence @ Sembawang 5rm

jnp

Ok, my contractor is advising me to use ICI pentalite instead of Supreme 3in1 cos he says that the problem with 3in1 or All, is that when you do touch-up, it's pretty obvious especially with dark colour. Wherelse with pentalite, we won't be able to tell the difference after the touch-up. When I ask him about why they will need to touch up, he says they are bound to have to do it after people come in to install items etc

I'm not sure to go with which type, the pentalite or supreme. Anyone can advise me if what the contractor claim is true? I have only heard that Supreme is a better quality paint.
I need to tell him by Wed which type I want....

finesse

i also heard that pentalite is the lowest quality (or rather cheapest paint) ie. emulsion paint. Suggest u visit those paint shops to understand more?

jnp

Yeah, Pentalite is the cheaper paint but apparently it's good enough cos ICI paint is good quality paint. Anyway, just to update those who are interested, got confirmation from one of my friend's hubby who is in the ID business ( he's not doing my place ) that what my contractor say is true. Furthermore, Supreme 3in1 is too glossy for the whole house but it's good to be used to highlight a side of the wall. So, I decided to use Pentalite for the whole house.

bungy_jumper

My ID also told me the same thing. But my guess is because Pentalite is cheap so they also have a higher profit margin.
In the end we did the painting ourselves and we have no problem touching up after reno, I used a combination of Pentalite, wash and wear and all in one

molicha

dear Jnp,

U can request for nippon 3 in 1 matt finish which has no difficulty in touch up and can be wash. this is gd if yr wall is light colour