Painting of House/HDB flat/Room

painter

i'm intendind to paint my own house ( bought a resale flat with my hubby).

What kind of paint is good?
and where can i find the cans of paint for value for money?

Hi Painter,

I would suggest the "washable" paint. They will cost a bit more than normal paint but the advantage is that you can scrub dirt marks off. Unlike normal paints, it does not exhibit hair-line cracks as it seems to be able to stretch with the walls when it expands on hot days.

icer

hi Painter,

one thing about paint is try not to use glossy paint... meaning those that look "shiny" on the surface as if u wash them, the gloss will be gone and so u will have one area glossy and one without... n also using "shiny" paint, your wall must be VERY level, meaning no up and down as they will be the same as one area shiny n one not cos of the reflection...

Best regards.

starfruit

Definitely the ICI wash and waer or the Nippon Medifresh (both are washable) are the best choice for kitchen and toilet walls / ceilings.

islandpub

ICI actually has a latest series of paint call the 3-in-1 which is much better than the wash n wear and their wash n wear series is much better than their pendalite which is the series of paint which most contractors used when u ask them to do painting.... n accordingly, 3-in-1 is more expensive than the rest....

the cost for my whole house (5 rm resale - 121sqm) paint is ard $516.... excluding labour cost...

hope this helps....

icer

islandpub: do u mean the supreme 3-in-1?

just be careful about the finish u want for your flat, that's all cos though shiny surface is beautiful, it is hard to maintain it so.

islandpub

hi icer,

err... but my house is using all the supreme 3-in-1 but it's not shiny surface leh... looks juzz like normal paint leh.... ??????

may

Has any used the new ICI Dulux whiter shades of white range of paint. Just want to find out which white gives a warm white feeling without it being too yellowish or beige.

chiart

hi may
i think mine is nippon paint?
i also use white base paint..if u dun want something yellowish or beige, then advise you not to choose lily white cos i realise after painting, it looks a bit beige.
u can choose other off white colour...
i took orchid white and lilac white ....a bit purplish...
good luck

may

Hi Chiart,

I was looking at the ICI Supreme 3 in 1 range of whiter shades of white, either snail white or picket white color.

Has anyone used these 2 before?

ding dong

I used the pickets white. It is slightly greenish when applied onto a whole wall. Quite diff from what I expected. Cos I thought its bright white. But stil overall quite pleasant.

may

Ding Dong, i just called ICI and they told me that Sail White has a tint of green shade while Picket white has a tint of beige shade. I think u used Sail White, is it? Can u confirm as i will be planning to pain picket white for my walls.

nicky

Hi..

juz happened to come across this thread. me oso intending to use picket white for my whole house. Does it really have a tinch of green when it is painted over a large surface???

Wld appreciate yr advise

poshies

Painted my flat myself... but need to retouch... very badly done... any advise should I do it all over again myself or employ some one to do...
had all the furniture in the flat already

huggiez

poshies how many coats did u paint? i painted my house with 2 coats of paint. after the 2 coat it actually looks quite good. i was using nippon medifresh.

nyny wats sealant? i didnt use that.

poshies

i think is 2 layer.... but the result still look very bad.... and advise what can i do with it??
i had use different color for each room..

huggiez

hmmmm sounds tricky. i had bought the sponge like brush where u pour the paint into the container and then use it to start painting. that is quite convenient and produces quite even results. maybe u try to get those n paint another coat over it?? or is it ur paint? mine is water based so maybe easier. not too sure about this.

nyny

hi connie
i oso not quite sure. just heard from others that sealant is to prevent the wall from cracking and water leakage.

huggiez

nyny ya i think so. no prob poshies, hope u know wat kind of brush i am talking abt. it costs $19+ and can be bought at ntuc or home/self fix. ^.^

ahping

anyone can tell me what is the standard price for painting the house. Is $1350 very expensive for painting the whole house.

capadoo

I have seen from the straits time "Classified" that the painting of 5 room flat is only $400. Some advertisement even throw in chemical washing within the $400. Has anyone tried any of these low cost painting services? Any comments?

bungy_jumper

Yes, my colleague did and he regretted it.

These painters claimed to be professionals but are actually labour like foreign workers. And they used "branded" paints. Well the container was branded. And they didnt bother to touch up the major holes and cracks.

petals

Capadoo,

Don't even think of engaging those painters who charge only $400. My aunty recently engaged the services of a "$400" painter from the Straits Times' Classified section. He only applied 1-coat of paint and does not provide the basic floor protection/covering. In the end, the painting was so bad that she had to re-engage another painter to do the touch-up.

manylobang

i recently got my house painted and i almost wanted to try the cheapee painters but when i checked the paint prices at a paint shop, i realised that it is quite impossible. but the prices are so attractive and i am tempted to try them. My friend in the renovation business recommended me a painter and I am happy with his services. Price for 5 rm with original nippon or ICI paint is S$ 1300.00
I recommend their services as they did a good job for my house.

roo

Quotes from my ID
$800 for ICI paint for 3 room HDB, excl. kitchen
$1200 for ICI paint for 4 room HDB, excl. kitchen

tiqa

Just to share with you guys....My ID quoted me $1,400 for my 5-room resale flat and this includes painting of main gate, 3 bedroom doors, 2 bathroom doors and 1 store room door. Guess this is reasonable.

TIQA

interrace

sorry, am just sharing my information, for 5 room, 1.4k is reasonable but u can try to neg. if u want to.
i was quoted 1.5k by a diff ID, then was happy to see can be lowered to 1.3k by another, still better to paint ourselves, but as a lazy person, i rather pay hee..

rohm

Hi ,
Currently my contractor quoted $1900 for my mansionette, is it too ex?
Can anyone recommand cheaper painting contractor?

Hi lee,
Mine quote me $1.4k for a 4 room resale..so I guess the market price quite standard...

muffingan

I just got a contractor which I found thru newspapers. He quote me $860 for a 5rm hdb re-sales, with 4 cols. I suppose that is very gd price. I already confirmed taking him.