GG, oop.. hehehe.. i visited the shifu last nov07 & already got my date since then. i very KS de, muz do everything earlier as to avoid problem during all the preparation.
i got Long shifu to help as he do not require to wait for the tongshui to b out. if really wanna wait gotta wait till aft lunar 7th mth in 2008 (ard sep08 time).
which date do u hav in mind now? Sep09 is a hot mth for wedding. Do take note tat 09.09.2009 is lunar 7th mth in year 2009, so next nice date will be 20.09.2009 is the popular date in Sep.
hi piggylover, shane is ok lah..so far.. very flexible.. asks for extra things like cards, angbao boxes..
Next week is my food tasting.. hopefully the foods is nice as i heard the food is so-so.. but funny right? i still chosen OCC.. becoz the ballroom is great (accordingly to my hubby)..
u getting angbao boxes frm them? heheheh.. nice box mah?
dont worry abt the food le. the food there are nice de. even my boss also say so, we went for our CNY lunch last wk in the restaurant downstair, all comment tat food quality n portion are gd. so no worry de. do keep us update aft ur food tasting okie?
hav u see their ballroom before?? it is really a nice place for wedding, alot of BTB like there too but cos of their min table require so give up de.
hi pacifiz, when will u b meeting ur SC? during my 1st visit with them, there is a wedding event gg on. so the feeling is very gd there. u can ask her if there is any up coming wedding event coming mah, den make an appt n go down take alook will b better to feel the different.
pacifiz> Hey I will try to post the ballroom setting by the end of the week in multiply. Too tied up with my work to upload the pictures into multiply recently. If you are interested u can add me in multiply. My id is jonathanlydia. All my pictures file too big size already need to resize and some editing here and there.
ask u gals... do you distribute cake vouchers for very invitation card you all send? issit a tradition??? i see some did, some did not... dunno wat's it for...
moments> wah.. cool... nice or not? u just bought?? wat songs inside ah?? can post here?? hehhe...can get it after ur AD la... hehehe..
Only need to give cakes to relatives la.. friends no need... else siao loh.....Cakes is for relatives to celebrate with you only... friends no need one... and only certain relatives.. depending how many cakes ur side ask from groom's side...
Piggylover> friends no need.. only relatives..else very siong leh!
ah i see... i thought need to gib cakes to every invitation cards i sent.. woah.. keke...
@@"
Yeah yeah... after my AD i can share it with you all.. keke..i don't have the whole list of songs (the wedding album) with me now...it's a gift from buddy... =) sweet surprises...
yes, i think cakes mainly are for gers side relative de. but heard from my frez that her hb side is also giving out to his relative. so i think better double chk with both parent side before order ba.
Piggylover> usually is give both sides relatives.. just that bride's side's cakes are supposed to be given by the groom.. means if bride's side ask for 20 boxes, groom supposed to pay for it and bring it to the bride's side on GDL Day.. then they supposed to go around distributing cakes on that day...with the invitation cards to the relatives, for both sides.. some people do it in 2 weeks.. coz not enough time..
oh rach, if ur theory is correct, my hubby gonna scolded by me for nothing.. hahaha.. he said that he wish to have some for his side.. i told him off.. saying that 'where got male's side have wan' and we just brushed away this tropic and focus on my side..
moments: the angbao box is free for lend, but need to return back after use..
piggylover: my mama asked 10 boxes from my hubby side for relatives only. NO colleagues or frds.. Easy on my side..
Anna> just checked with my mum.. haha.. yes.. its for both sides RELATIVES only.. of coz if u wanna give to friends, no one will stop you.. but its gonna cost alot.. but also the matter of who to give? Coz if u give this fren no give that fren, also headache. Nowadays no give friends liaoz.. Mama say last time those frens not inviting for wedding one, will give... just to tell people.. "hey, i'm getting married.. want u to share in my joy.."
But i guess marriage and wedding dinner has become very commercialised nowadays... last time people BQ also just to share happiness.. nowadays, we still wanna breakeven.. hahaha.. some people say.. no money then dun invite lo.. why invite and then hope to recover losses... sigh.. so true and yet sooo.... Mmm.. yah....
hahaha...
Doesnt ur parents say anything?? they dunno the traditions ah?? can la... both sides relatives can give cakes.. usually can give 10-20 or more... but 麻烦 to deliver all to their houses, that's why people have cake vouchers... hahaha... see how practical and realistic we've all evolved... kekkee... Mmmm... kyo cakes are nice..and cute... i had used to think buy Bengawan Solo cakes vouchers easier.. but if got physical cakes also nice leh...
My mum asked for 20 boxes... have yet to talk to FMIL... wanted to tell her kyo cakes nice... can order there.. we registered online.. they still sent us discount vouchers. 10% to use for $200 & above.. that's if we order about 30 boxes la... should be enough... $7.90 each ma...
rach, wow.. if u dont say. i still think is only for bride relative de. heheh
anna, wow.. 10 boxes is gd. easy to deliver also. when is ur GDL? mine is 3wk before AD, so think got lot of extra time to send out. jus worry the cake cannot tahan for too long. think after collect 1 or 2day muz finish up le.
Piggylover> yah.. for both sides.. but its really up to u all... see whats ur family's tradition or style... like when ur cousins get married, what do they do? hehhe...
ya loh..the thing is must finish the cakes in 3 days time..else will spoil..card can anytime go redeem.. heheh..
rach, think my cousin only give to bride side relative only. gotta ask my FMIL if require when wanna order next yr.
tat is wat my mum say too. card they can anytime go collect at their convenience. but to me abit "bo xin" to invite ppl for our wedding. haiz... dunno le. for me still far away to fan on this. gd luck to 2008BTB!
Piggylover> hahaa.. like what i said.. up to each family's tradition.. i think both sides also give nicer la... for my side.. if dun give..people say u stingy.. how come no give cakes one.... my cousins all got give.. and all come to the house to give cakes and cards one.. be it the male one or female one..
rach, yes. still nd to give cake de, but for my side only for bride relative. my mum prefer those cake voucher as the relative can go get it themself, no nd to worry abt the cake turn bad aft afew day.
Hmm for the cake usually for lady side of relatives, the guy side can give also but usually not necessary. As for my wedding then, my wife side only give one voucher to each family lor. If give everyone we will piangz lor.....
hahaha.. tks rach for your advice.. i shall follow my mama as she said is only for bride's side..
and, my GDL is 9mar, 3 wks before my AD.. ok, i will order kyo! confirm!!
hey to all, my coordinator has tendered and she told me that someone will take over my wedding after she left.. her last day is not fixed, but will be mid mar.. i quite worried on my wedding, but luckily all the necessary thingy had fixed and confirmed w her.. SO, to all OCC brides, esp in these coming months, pls make sure u have settled 90% of ur weddings stuffs w ur coordinator..
ya, piggylover: did ur coordinator told u anything?? do you take the MCs speech, wedding songs lists, photoshot permit, etc from her?? Do let me know if u r interested..
piggylover, ur coordniator is Shane right? If so, yes, she is leaving. But she didnt inform you is because ur wedding is before she leaves. When is urs?? mine is end of mar, that y she told me..
Anna, she sent me an email last week. telling me she will b helping me through out my planning n arrangement. but she will only contact me 3mth before my AD. my AD still far, it is next year Dec.
Ooh... sad to hear that someone is leaving... hehe... request for Emily la... she's good. My AD is Sept.. she already sent me OCC map, Emcee Script, Sample Itinery liaoz.. hahaha..
We'll be meeting her March to discuss and find out some AD details.. hehehe...
We called her to tell her we wanna meet up one... and she very nice to say anything.. we going down to look at other's AD event...see how the whole thing will be like..
Hi All I'm new to this thread. Is anyone using or has tried their buffet menu? I'm meeting Serene next Sat to view the ballroom and plan to run thru the details with her then. Would prefer to have a wedding dinner buffet so that the guests can mingle around rather than be 'stuck' to their table. Can anyone advise what 'freebies' we can negotiate for??
Valerie> ask for extra nite stay for ur bridal suite... means 2 nites instead of one...
For anniversary nite stay, you might want to change to helpers room for ur helpers to change and rest... see if it can be an overnite stay.. from 2pm - 12pm next day.
Ask for waiver of corkage charges... think there's a limit to the no. of bottles FOC..see if u can have ALL bottles waived, else as many as you can bargain for... depending on the no. of pax u having... free flow of beer if needed...
See if u can dun want their wedding invites for vouchers or direct discount from the banquet at the end of the day.. that is if u are thinking of personalising ur own wedding invite la..
I think most of us here are using their sit down style.. not too sure about their buffet style though..
Mmm.. can't think of anymore liaoz.. wine listing if u need, let us know... we have some good consignment basis..