Orchid Country Club

Jovan> Hmm maybe u find out and update bor cos I was also informed that only one person din leave. Kind of wasted cos most of the EO are bery customer oriented lor.

PIggylover> thanks for recommeding Esther.. she's good... professional and creative!
had a nice time with her.. and i must say she's really patient and sincere.. she took her time to slowly do the nail art... hehehe..
I should be gg back to her for ROM and AD... reasonable pricing also..

Valerie> Don't worry... think someone got a good deal with Andrew too..he's the sales manager.. should be able to make a lot of good decisions....

Jon>> mmmm.. i forgot to call Selina today.. will try to call her tmr.. but will be busy with fren's wedding.. hehehe...

Jovan> is the EM Rendall???

Jovan, yup yup. i mix up the SC & EO. hehe.. thank u!

Valerie, Andrew is attending to me since 1st meet up, placing deposit and contract sign. He is alright de, just gather all ur doubt & request before u go down. U can try to discuss with him during the meet up, btw when is ur AD?

rach, great to hear u like it too. she is a sweet & friendly lady, all my friend went to her love her creative n nice artwork. they will just left all their nails to Esther, without choosing any design they want.

rach> yup the EM is rendall. Heard few of my friends said he is a very nice person to talk to. They said andrew veri rigid de. everything also cannot.

jon? ya i full agreed with you that the EO are veri customer oriented and easy to talk to and not calculative. sigh.. good things never last. i am beginning to believe in this phrase.

Jovan> MmMM.. I guess different roles... coz Andrew is sales manager... Rendall is events manager..
Sales are the ones that controls what is in our contract... what the events side gotta do is just accomodate to what we want to be done.. definitely its much easier loh...
They wont be calculative...coz whatever needs to be calculated has been done by the SO...

Different jobscope la...

hiye all... good morning...

I have yet to get assigned with my new EO... supposed to start the wedding discussion in march... haiz...

Think of the positive side ba.. new comers in new enviroment, though they may nt be familiar.. but i guess the passion will be there... and the left over EO will take the role to do even better.... =P

I had my meeting with Andrew liao. I wouldn't say he is very strict (as in everything cannot) but he weigh his words well (seems to be very seasoned)..he is quite unlike other pple that we have seen who seem more genuine and friendly. I couldn't really negiotate for much.. he was like we'll have to relook the package again coz I asked for some stuff to be taken out.

The ballroom is nice but I didn't like the suite. Have you guys seen it??!! Smelt of smoke (though he said they can remove the smell) and the deco very dated. But I suppose that is ok since your guests will see the very classy ballroom and not the bridal suite.

I am still considering this venue since its one of the better ones. Btw my AD is 11 Oct 08.

Valerie> yup... i checked with Emily...the rest all have better deals tats why left.. but seems like Rendall left due to personal reason, according to some insider info.. Mmm....
My Sales C was Selina..she's bery nice and negotiable...

Yah. the Bridal Suite is nothing much.... cant expect too much, but just big loh.. went to Pan Pac the day before... the Bridal Suite is COOL man!! hahaha.. very class!

Smoke i think is due to the previous occupant... that one can be removed la.. they say will put nice bedsheets for Bridal Suite... nice wedding kind of bedsheets... hahhaa.... yah.. not much deco... i guess its more value for money ba....

Valerie, mayb u can go ard n compare but ur AD this yr?? u havent confirm ur banquet? ur is a saturday, so is much more popular de. do seach ard n shortlist the venue, make a trip down.

as for me i visited 4 venue but ended going back to OCC (my 1st choice).

gd luck!

Valerie> Yeah agreed that Andrew quite seasoned a little bit difficult to bargain with him lor. Hmm the bridal suite is quite typical will not say it is great but the ballroom still the main attraction bor :o)

hey guys! i received a call from Shane and informed that her last day is 11mar.. that the most ironic thing from her is 'no one has assigned to take over my case yet'..
very disappt on how OCC mgt handle such crisis.. i am going down with my sister on this sun noon (to meet up Shane - last session) to view a wedding set up.. to c if there is a need to put up any flower deco.. afterwhich, i will make sure there is someone who i can contact/liaise with on my wedding stuffs, esp mine is at this month end.. most likely i will call up Selina and 'complain' if no one contactd me after Shane's departure..
lucky thing is my elder sis who works as event coordinator (for wedding) at hyatt, swiss, fullerton hotel, etc.. she will oversee for me, and i will ask for her assistance when there is a need..
lastly, good luck to those couples who are going to have their weddings in near months!!

Anna> ooh.. I'll be going down this sat to see a wedding in progress.. hehehe.. will be there frm reception to march in.. wanna see how its like.. heheh....then see if we need extra projector at the back.. scared our guests cant see our expensive animation and video highlights.. hehehhe..

hi rach, Shane told me that there are 2 projectors - each is located next to the front stage..
i think there is no extra projector at the back..

rach> from what i found out, sales will do the initial stage of closing the deal thereafter it goes to the event department. my friend dealt with them said the eo didnt charge them for corkage but sales dept kept saying only certain bottles are waived. hmmm dunno too.

Anna> yup.. we know.. there's one on the right and left.. but we feel too small... we are considering in bringing in extra projector on our own..
extra cost..

Jovan> yup.. the sales decides on the corkage.. and its stated in the contract leh.. if EO didnt charge them... maybe its thru negotiation loh..

rach: i see, petty worry who is our new EO.. xian.. fingers crossed.. have a great day ahead..

jovan: now all the EO had left, except emily, so maybe everything unpredicted and anything can change.. so play safe, is better! i will get in 40 bottles for my 40 tables then! my poor frds/guests gg to limit themselves..

Anna> Mmm.. i'm pretty lucky that my EO is Emily.. I'm meeting her this sat...

Anna, how many bottles were waived off in ur contract?? try to negotiate with the EO in advance loh.. 5 bottles should be okay one... depends on how many extra u want la.. 1-2 i dun think they'll really charge rite?

btw... i managed to get slightly better perks coz my mum is working @ OCC hor....
Soo... u all just try ur best to ask for what you really need... and i guess there's a limit to what they can offer and if you have alot of tables... like me... my guarantee is 65... and i'm looking at about 70 now... so.... i managed to secure slightly better deals la... economies of scale ma.. if i get the same perks as all of u when I'm having more tables and paying more.. then i loogy rite?? heehee....

So... if the sales can't acede to your request... then bo bian loh.. unless u all also have 65 guarantee and have mum working @ OCC.. then maybe ou can try to ask for what i gotten also loh.. hehehe...

Jiayou everyone!! May you get the best deal okie!

Don't make life difficult for the Sales la.. later they give you too much kena pay cut!! wahahahha..

Yeah.. I'm counting down 179 days to my AD.... Mmmm.....

So after Anna, who's next in the line??

hiye ladies... just got a call from rendall... and he told us that we will have a new EO assigned to work on our case...

New EO...i guess to think of the bright side... gib them time to pick up as times goes... the most impt is they have make necessary arrangements and rest assured our wedding will nt be jeopardized...

I will look forward to the new EO... and also trusting the words from the manager...

gals..lets enjoy our big day ...coming soon! =)

hi rach and moments,
i got a call also, i guess they must also surf this forum quite often, or they got intel!!

anyway, selina called me that she will be taking over my case. oh my god! sale side which i cannot nego on the cockage wavier.. mine tentatively is 40.. hehe.. the very minimum! should have more, just that my FIL have not decided on his guest list. Me FAINT..

moments> ooh. thats good..
At least Rendall called..

But he never say who's the new EO huh??

Anna> hahahhaa.. u are right.. they do read the forum one.. most venues will check one.. they know people like us all kiasu and wants the best deal.. hehehe.. :P
So they have to read to improve and also take note of what we are not happy with ma..thats how some threads got removed along the way when there are too many negative comments.. :P

Don't worry, Selina is very nice one... try to talk to her and see if she can help u in any way... wah... sales take over to do EO's job ah.. Mmm.. but they used to have only 1 dept anyway.. sales + events together... they only diverse into 2 depts sometime back... and now they are short of manpower.. they must be realll busy liaoz... let's not be too picky and make their life difficult yah?
We've got nice people helping us, let's not make them unhappy...else our lives will be very tough later on...

we all wanna our Big Day to be nice nice and smooth smooth!! :D

Hiye.. i will meet up with the manager this sunday... perhaps by then he will intro the new EO to me.. =)

keke...months to AD... so excited ...!

Hi Guys,

This is my 1st post here at SBF. Thanks to all the support you guys and gals have given to my team and myself. Certainly been a pleasure working with you all ;P For those whom have not worked with me or any of my ex team members, not to worry I am sure the new team will be able to assist you with their expertise.

Moments> Rest assured your WD is in good hands, will intro the EO to you this Sunday.

Rach> Never mention the new EO as i thought it will be better to do it personally rather than on the phone. ;P

For those whom I have communicated prior to this over the phone or email, do not worry my mobile is still working, do call me if any assistance is required, I will certainly help. My email is [email protected]

rendall> It is a pity that most of your team meembers are leaving. David was a great help from the start of my wedding preparation till the AD. Thanks for the great job your team have done for me and my wife. Thanks. :o)

Jon> no worries. I am glad everything went on smoothly. We always put ourselves in the couple's position and from there we will know how is it like if everything is so rigid and not done properly.

Perhaps you can provide me with an email address so that i can drop you an email sometime soon when i am settled down at my new place. Its a new place that everyone is talking about and its great not just for weddings but other social and lieisure functions. I can send you an invites for that.

rendall> hihi! Wow.. thats very nice of u to make a post here.. it definitely assures all the lost couples... thanks for the effort! I'm sure we all appreciate it!

Wah rendall.. a nice place that everyone is talking abt sounds like St Regis to me.. hehhehe... email me too!

Hiye...!

Glad to have assurance from the in charge again.. hee.. so we shall look forward to meeting you this weekend.

And what do rendall mean by new place? he's leaving too? Anyway, what's that good place everyone is tallking bout.. if can share - [email protected]. =)

Hey dear brides and groom to be, i will inform you guys where i will be heading once i am concrete with my plans as i currently have 2 offers which i am contemplating which to take as both offers me what i want in terms of jobscope. haha my turn to use the word " i will not be lost anymore too" ;P

The new place will give me more freedom to make decision as i am in control of sales too not just coordinating. stay tune..

Does anyone know how big Orchid ballroom restrooms are? ie how many cubicles? Sorry I know this is a silly qn but I went to one of the country club ballrooms and they only had 2 cubicles in their loos!! Imagine 400++ guests and 2 cubicles for both gents and ladies!

Thks Piggylover!! I'm torn b/w them and Laguna. Laguna is giving me lots more perks and the manager is so much more friendly too! Price wise they are almost similar.. so I am more inclined towards Laguna even though the ballroom is not as grand as Orchid. In such a dilemma now..

suwaiwai,

yes, i had compare Laguna & OCC before. they are offering really a very attracting pkg, perks & gd service frm their event sales. but i have get some feedback. we did not put Laguna in our list, did u went to their road show at BOW during Jan time? they got free buses for visit n their show during that time. my cousin went n get some feedback & plus it is quite far from my place. tat is jus my personally information only lar, think u can read through their thread to know more n understand more de. gd luck! ;)

Hi Piggylover,
Are you able to share the feedback with me? There isn't really a thread on them that I can find here? Or maybe I'm not looking at the right places? If you'd prefer, pls pm me. thks

suwaiwai, ur PM is not open. hmm.. i think the feedback may nt b a problem, to me most impt is the quite far for me n guest. cos most of them staying in north area.

hav u been to there urself? look out for their thread or in some others URL to see see.

Hi pple,
i would like to know more about Laguna..i'm more or less ok with the distance. i have been there to see the actual wedding setup for the ballroom and it looks nice, though not pillarless.

can someone share with me the perks given by laguna and who is the person you're in contact with?

Thx!

Hey piggylover,
u mentioned there's a thread on laguna, where is it? do share with me the feedback if anyone of you has gotten it

Thx again!