Orchid Country Club

tingie> My Ad is on 8th June this yr.

jon> We only realise we nvr have it change on the contract. *sigh* Anyway, its like nt very impt so sort of forgot....My god-granny jus passed away on thurs n the family is too upset also to remember some details. We were so busy this yr & with an elder being in and out of hospital, cant really concentrate on preps also. Don't want this to make it another burden to us. We are on waiting list for the extra room.

Just came bk from printer, we decided to go with the hotstamping,there will be free map if we choose the affliated printer. We got not much time to find more quotes also, jus chin chai.

So my advise is to email the coordinator of ur venue/bridal studio or whoever responsible as soon as u have a query. Don't be like me & my hb , we always wait till after work then go send email or call our coordinators, sometimes we forgot by the end of the day.....

suelynn> Sorry to hear about what happened. Liek what you mentioned earlier it will be better to have it in black and white. In this way there is no way they can deny anything if there there is problem arise after that. Besides how much is the quote for your printing?

jon> no worries. My parents said its no big deal ask me dun go and feel upset or blame ourselves abt it. I have 320 cards, $100 for inserts b4 gst. 10 cent each for gold string to tie inserts with cards. We go with hot-stampin cos the gold card we chose is bi-fold, so inserts very weird. If u see the cards, u will noe.....$80 for the mould then 35 cents for printing each card, we added $10 to add a cartoon. We add also our names in front of the card, forgot hw much for the mould n dunno hw much for prnting.All these b4 GST.

suelynn> Er what is the total costs u spend? Besides just want to check any idea where I can get flower petals? Want my flower girls to throw the flower petals along the aisle as we walk down.

suelynn> oic think quite reasonable my buddy pay around $350. Most probably will source around and see whether got alternatives or not. Besides for your red wine u take from OCC or source on your own?

jon> I m the only one among my frens who spend so much on cards, they tink I abit crazy....hahaha! They spend abt $100+ for inserts printing only. No choice, my hb needs to give to vendors n clients, suppliers, distributors etc.... More cards more $ involved.

I m getting wine outside, my cousin's hb will be sourcing for us as he have frens n contacts when we was in the hotel industry last time

suelynn> Yah lor the typical cost is around $100+ but sometimes bor ban especially if u have many friends and associates to give. If have contacts in the hotel industry it will make sourcing for the wine easier :o)

Hi all, just came bk from food tasting n meetup with coordinator. Parents are pretty satisfied with the food, portion are big as well.

Our parents love the Prawn with Pork Floss n scallops coated with yam alot! The lotus leaf rice is nice, 8 treasure chicken is very special n tasty, tiensin cabbage with scallop n mushroom is great too! Fil dun like the yam with scallop but overruled by the rest of us. Hee!

We chose gold theme with pink flowers and change the napkins n table cloth for guest to peach colour. Getting the bears as favours cos they are so cute!

jon> it will be like the brochure they show us when we sign up. U can choose the theme, gold or maroon. Flowers n table cloth oso! I chose gold theme, flowers I chose pink for the stands. VIP table centrepiece I chose red roses cos pils likes red! Layout depends on ur number of tables

hey all, I gotten my cards ytd, went to view our fotos after work. No time to really look through the cards. We confirmed the wordings and layout on last wed, n we got the cards last nite, very fast rite

suelynn> I have multiply, think my id shld be jonathanlydia. Pls add me too. Appreciate your help. How is your preparation coming along? Thanks.

suelynn> Hmm that mean it is almost similar to the setup in the ballroom. Just checked with my coordinator, the pictures he send me shows some candle stands with flower along the side of the aisle. Shld be around 3 one each side if I remember correctly.

How is your preparation coming along? Think will have to fix a date and take a look at other people's wedding at OCC. :o)

jon> i m super busy at work....only at hm at nite then got time to tink n do.

The setup for ballroom nicer got flower stands along the aisle. The cocktail recep area only got small flower arrangement on the table top ba.

suelynn> But when I attended my D & D there last year, there is these stands for the guests to put their drinks. Wonder whether still have it or not. Yah hor your AD is quite near must have alot of loose end to tie up. Must have plenty of rest dun stress or tire yourself out.

jon> the stand that u refer to for guest to put drinks are the tables that I am referring to ahahahah. That one got flower arrangement, small one

any recommendation for coordinator for OCC. I heard that serene is gd...is tt true??

wah...i used to have such high hopes for OCC..now starting to think twice

Hi Serene is bascially the sales coordinator, negotiate on the packages etc. I liase with Emily on the details of the events, like the wedding favours, when to collect cards n all those events related details. My experience with her is rather good, she will send email and call us to check details or remind us etc. As for sales, they are rather rigid....

Tan Wee Yan> Hmm my coordinator was David, was quite seceptical about OCC assigning a guy coordinator but guess he won me over with his service. So far his reply to my enquries is prompt.

I got card crisis, over n over again, like nt enuff again! I am jus so tired.....I told my hb, pls jus send email n sms ald, really no pt to jus print abt 15 cards. Everyone wan some to standby....sian

suelynn> Think email, sms cum a phone call will do the trick, dun stress yourself out this type of hiccups are bound to happen dun worry too much abt it.

jon> my hb still secretly go n print....anyway, whose AD is soon except mine ah, cos OCC is like fully booked for may n june lei, all weekends got ppl married, but no one join the thread

yoz ppl,

can i ask u a few questions abt occ? Do you all regret signing up with them? what perks did you ask for? is the food really tt bad?

Actually me n my bf went down last wk..then serene didnt let us bargain much except for waiver of corkage of 1 bottle of wine per table

Really need all yr advice...totally clueless..we like e place...bt e feedbacks dun sound gd!

yoz ppl,

can i ask u a few questions abt occ? Do you all regret signing up with them? what perks did you ask for? is the food really tt bad?

Actually me n my bf went down last wk..then serene didnt let us bargain much except for waiver of corkage of 1 bottle of wine per table

Really need all yr advice...totally clueless..we like e place...bt e feedbacks dun sound gd!

treegirl> I am overall nt very happy with the perks they gave but since they fit wat we are lookin for, we just went ahead. After sign contract, I din liase with the sales coordinator much, liase with events coordinator. So far, she has been very prompt and accomodatin, we had cards crisis and not once but twice she gave us the cards foc, maybe cos we confirm more tables.

How many tables are u having? Cos it will be easier to negotiate if you have more tables or choose a more ex menu. I tink overall cos its a club, the terms n conditions are quite rigid. So far service had been good. Hope it will be as good or better during my AD.

treegirl> Like what suelynn has mentioned for the perks at OCC they are quite rigid but so far my events coordinator has been accomdating. For example I trade in my anniversary stay for an extra night for my AD.

icic...is anni stay included in package? i dun rem seeing it...well, think we jus having 40 or slightly more than 40 tables.
so cant really negotiate much oso..
actually occ not v cheap oso...nw thinking whether to go those hotels eg oph,hipv, novetel, merchant court

treegirl> Hmm the anni stay is included in my package. If you have around 40 plus tables, u will be using the grand ballroom. As for the negotiation depends on how u go about it, manage to bargain my ways through with some stuff here and there. The main attraction about OCC is the ballroom, can consider one of the grandest ballroom in Singapore. That is why me and my wife choose it in the first place.

Hey Jonathan,

My coordinator's David too! But we haven't really talked much to him, just the one time to confirm favours and cards etc. Feeling a little bit like there's something undone.. As to your query as to where to get flower petals, I think most florists will sell loose petals at a couple of bucks for a bag of them. Just ask. Alternatively, if you're getting your own florist for decor, you could try asking them for it instead?

Just went for my food tasting a week back, okay lah, the food isn't half bad. My friends and PILs liked the Thai fried olive rice and braised duck. But like a lot of the food sauces taste the same!

Hey suelynn, yup, David is the events coordinator. We just picked up the cards from printing the other day, now writing like mad le..

Sharon Wok> When is your AD? Me making a trip down to OCC to look at the favours and cards this weekend. Once confirmed will pick up the cards from David, want to distribute the wedding invitation cards when I go back for my ICT in first week of July.

Hmm think will try the florists and see how much it will take to fill the aisle at OCC. Thanks for the reply :o)

sharon> cool, another occ bride....finally , tot only me n jon....hahahah! Mine's emily.

jon> tink the flower stands along the aisle is nt cheap lei....i wanted to change flowers etc but its so ex......so I jus stick to it