Orchid Country Club

Lyn> No problem anytime :o)

suelynn> yah that is what my coordinator told me also. Lucky me just nice 10 person for one table of halal one.

cutecat> Hmm for buffet can hold outdoors but banquet might be a bit difficult. Have email u my banquet package. Check and see whether it is relevant or not.

<font color="aa00aa">hi jonathon,

i c u have been v helpful in tis thread, helping to furnish info. could u pls help me out too? i'm having my AD in dec tis yr and OCC is 1 of my shortlisted venues. can u pls email me some info on OCC at [email protected]. Thanks!</font>

Just to check if anyone of you has any idea how is the package for buffet lunch at occ....heard can do at the social club house at level 1????

rosel> u got mail :o)

sortkate> From what I know is between $38+++ to $48+++ per head depending whether it is a weekday or weekend.

Hmm my ex-colleague has her ROM last Dec, feedback from her the food is all right, as for perks think that time managed to get one bottle of red wine free per table but end up her husband dun want the red wine. Manage to get a cheaper price for her buffet instead...............

Hi Sortkate,

My cuz had his wedding in OCC.
Food is ok, big portion and the ambience is nice.
My wedding is in 2008, and OCC is in my top 5 choice.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

OCC 1.bmp (45.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>

I'm planning to hold my wedding at OCC too in March 08. Ive decided to use an outside caterer, Gim Tim Resturant for the wedding banquet.
The food by them is fabulous.
How about you guys, taking the package direct from OCC?
What are some of the perks given by them?
Care to share.

<font color="aa00aa">hi elmo, have u checked with OCC about the external caterer yet? when i asked, they said they dun allow external catering (except for indian food).</font>

Hi rosel and jonathan
From my understanding with OCC, they onli allowed Gim Tim Resturant as their one and only external caterer. My cousin hold his wedding there 2 years ago and he aslo used Gim Tim Resturant.
For this kind of arrangement, you will have to call up Gim Tim Resturant directly to discuss on the package and they will help you to book the ballroom.
btw, when both your AD?
>Jonathan, i'm referring to perks like beer, wine, projector etc.

<font color="aa00aa">elmo, thanks for the enlightenment. i most prob wun b holding my banquet @ OCC so wldnt b able to help u much on tat. sorry.</font>

Elmo> My AD is 14th of Oct this year, now still sourcing for my bridal studio but most probably will be getting a simple one with indoors shoots. My wife and I dun want outdoors shoots. Most probably will take the family portrait together also.

As for the perks me still bargaining lor, most probably can increase the number of free corkage red wines but yet to discuss with my coordinator yet. He already gives me discount rate on the two additional rooms I book on my AD liao.

We paid around $200 in total for 350 cards. Gold thread 10cent each and they tie for you. Printing on insert $100. Expensive one is the hotstamping of names. I add in hello kitty icon for $10
They provide free printing of map too.

hi all, i'm planning to hold my wedding there too.. just wondering how is the food there? also, i heard the ambience there is not too romantic.. is it true?

Sapphire,
The reception area is romantic, I chose OCC is becos I like Victorian stuff. Mine held in year 2004, dunno got changes or not lah. The dining area to me is so-so. But I like their first dish lightings.

Lyn> Thanks for the information. Still thinking whether I should use them cos mine shld be around the same amount of inserts as yours. How u find the design?

I choose the Gold Card design from OCC.. u saw their sample already? The rest of the card design i find it quite ordinary and a bit obiang.. The printing design quite ok..

Sapphire_Amy,
there will no charge from OCC if you choose to use Gim Tim Resturant as the caterer for your banquet. The amouunt quoted to you will include the rental of the ballroom. GT will do all the co-ordination for you with OCC. that save you the hassle of co-ordinating with both parties.

There are few menus for you choose from, peharps you can call Martin at 91068301 to enquire about their package.

Lyn> when's ur AD? where will u be getting the hard liqour fr ah?

So far anyone serve DFS liquor there? My parents got alot at hm, tink need to get decanter....

Jonathan, my AD is 7 July this year. It's very funny because my friend is also having his banquet on the same day at the same time at OCC and his wife shares the same name as me! Hahaha~ sure hope my guests won't get lost and end up at the wrong banquet...

Suelynn, I won't be serving any liquor at all, so I can't help there...

Lyn> I saw ur webby, ur change those 3 dishes to wat ah? I am nt getting promfret cos nt all ppl appreciate n if nt fresh will taste weird

~Lyn~ saw ur photos as well as ur wedding pics.. they were very beautiful...

As for the banquet, i have to admit i was pretty shocked by the way the food was presented... not very wedding like leh.. more like coffee shop zhi cha.. did you bring it up to the chef??

By the way... does anyone know if i wanna change the caterer to an external caterer but I have alredi paid the deposit, can it be done???

Lyn> Wah the fish and the vegetable look bad especially with the presentation. From what I remember think I choose the same vegetable dish as yours, will have to change it also.

suelynn> OCC will check and make sure the labels are duty paid one. They told me cannot serve DFS liquor.

Sharon> Wah so much of a concidence, my advice better to put the couple wedding photos in front. Then the ang pow will not end up at the wrong ang pow box lol.

Lyn> u need any help to get wine supplier? Have a few contacts if u want just let me know.

suelynn> Without DFS label that mean consider duty paid mah, then should not be a problem. Besides free corkage charges for your hard liquor?

Sharon> I got 2 friends getting married on 7 July too! It is indeed a very very popular date in 2007.
Suelynn> the fish change to red garoupa cos they said on the day itself, pomfrets are all frozen and it is hard to tell whether the quality is good or bad. The veggie i change to the one with Bailing Mushroom, hopefully it will turn out good. Also, i chose the garlic chicken, the garlic smell very strong and not all pple can accept so we chg it to the normal deep fried chicken

jon> but I heard from someone that only DFS hard liquor is in 1L those duty paid one is 750ml...so confused...

lyn> thanks for the tips! All the best in the preparations! So far did OCC contact u nearer the AD date? I tot of checking things with them after cny....after signing like bo news.

i feel like crying cos i am planning everything alone

my wedding is somewhere in jan or feb 2008.
its a malay wedding. and OCC is my choice. either the ballroom or function room.
anyone has any suggestion, for function room, which room shud i use? ruby or the other suites?

and does ruby suite allows more than 10 table?
appreciate some help

Ruby suite can accommdate up to 10 to 15 tables if I remember correctly. As for the ballroom need at least 45 tables then can use.......

jonathan, thanks for the reply.
i assume ur from OCC.
among all the function rooms, which one is the biggest. i saw the Emerald function room, its quite tight and small. and can we do lunch rather than dinner for this.

tnx for the reply.