Orchid Country Club

smiles> If u looking for the slot on 17/11/07 it is not available. The rest might still have a chance for weekends. Already send u my OCC packages liao.

shups> Send u my OCC package liao. Check out the Ruby suite (if i remember the name correctly) good view with all the curtains drawn can see the scenery but can only accomodate up to 16 tables only. Maybe u shld check with OCC understand there are others function room else the Yishun Lake garden like what lim mentioned.

jon, i went to email my co-ordinator too and asked abt the 7% GST.... if it raise after our AD (that is impossible) is good lah, if not pay more liao.... sian....

lim> Think the hike will be implemented some time next Feb I heard. Just calculated average an additional $15 more per table for my case........

lim> Took the menu 1 cos prefer the food inside there. Menu 2 and 3 not up to what I want somemore too expensive from my perspective. Wine still sourcing around, signed my contract in Oct. Where u plans to get your red wine?? Maybe we can go hunting together kekeke :o)

so u have free flow of beer lah... coz for me i dont have, i signed earlier then u... wine still hunting, i dont know which type of wine is better, i dont really drink wine leh

lim> oic my advice go for red wine dun go for a mixture of having both red and white wines. Like what happened to my friend he got red and white wines end up has many left over lor. There are a few tricks to minimise the red wine usage. For example only serve soft drinks and beer during the cocktail. Only start wine serving after the first course of dinner. There are others tricks if u want to noe me reveal more the next time kekeke

aiya, busy with work, so here quiet loh..... so sue, what have you been doing? still preparing for AD or put to a stop first?

Bz with work, just tender my resignation will be joining my new company next Jan. Then also taking care of my mum just discharge from hospital recently. Nw my wedding planning temporarily on hold will be hunting for bridal studio next year.

jon> looks like alot of things happening for you.

Hi all, especially those we had your Ad at OCC, when do
we normally go for food tasting ah?

suelynn> yeah quite a few things to handle and my WTB health also not too good. Bz rushing here and there. But sad to say neber seem to lose any weight!!!

Think that time me went with my friend for food tasting was abt 2 mths b4 his AD.

hi everyone~

if i have abt 40 tables will it be advisable to have it in the ballroom? cos the ballroom is so big, i'm afraid it might look empty....wad do you think?

hi shi hua, the ballroom is very nice and grand, thats y we are taking the ballroom.... i have around 40tables, as time goes by ur guest list may add up... you could go and see the layout of 40 tables in the ballroom with ur co-ordinator then u will have an idea....

if you not taking the ballroom of 40 tables, where will u be holding ur banquet?

hey thanks lim for ur reply!

i just started my research so i'm not v sure

is it possible to ask you to share ur package with me also? thanks
if not, am i right to say that sun is cheaper than fri and sat? where the most exp menu is abt 758nett?

sorry shi hua, my package is the old one.... there is a latest one, but i dont have it with me.... jonathan, be a kind man and send it to shi hua can? shi hua, wat is ur email add? acutally u can email to all those hotels and ask for their packages, that is wat i did. then look thru which one suits ur budget, then from there go see the forum thread and ask for comments.

I've been reading through the entries here but didn't come across about the quality of food at OCC? We're thinking of having our wedding dinner here but not sure whether the food is good. Any idea whether it is from the Club itself or do they use 3rd party caterers?

Jeslyn, the food is not bad.... they have their own cater from the yishun lake garden, u can go there and try those food..... they are quite generous abt the food....

Dear all who have your wedding at OCC,

where do u all get contacts for hard liquor? I have some at hm but they are from DFS tho there is no label....I wonder has anyone tried using? My fren told me duty free one normally is 1L n duty paid is 1.5L

Hi!! I am new too. We have seen the packages and are looking for a chinese sit down for about 80-100 people on a saturday in the downstairs foyer area (cos we like the partly outdoors thing). One woman told us that we could not have sit down there, only buffet, but have also been talking to jonathan who said we could have sit down.
Really want the food to be nice, and also do some dancing after dinner (we're an English/Aussie couple so want to do half singaporean half western style wedding!!). What have people's experiences been??

Emma Smith> Welcome to the thread for OCC! The food for the buffet is good have tried them b4. Hmm for sit-down, u are referring to having chairs and tables like a traditional chinese banquet but with buffet food served instead? So far the experience with OCC has been good, quite accommdating to what I ask for.

Emma Smith> oic it might be possible to have it there since u are planning to have ard 8 to 10 tables. Shld be able to cater for it just re-confirmed with your coordinator b4 deciding. Tell him what u have in mind and see how he can get it done for u.

Lyn> I have one table of halal sit down banquet dinner cos all my muslim friends are sitting together. But understand from my coordinator, if the muslim friends are not sitting together, they will serve the them individually. Hope it help u clarified the doubts u have.

the cost of having 1 table of muslim frens and serve individualy is diff lei...

If its serve individualy, the cost is additional to that table. If u can have a muslim table, its charge per table. For example, if your table cost $650, then u have 2 muslim/vegetarian in that table of 10 then you will need to pay extra $130 for the 2 person plus the $650 for that table.