Orchid Country Club

Member's endosment means that they will waive the service fee if I have any friends or relative who is a member to endose for us.

good, finally they have replied you hahaha.

pierced, can i also take a look at your pic? my email add is [email protected]

picogy, wow you mean have to top up $3k and more for the ballroom ah? you could book them now, as next time the price may go up. At least u have settle the banquet then u can concentrate on other things.

suelynn, so when will u go and sign the agreement?

lim> I dun have to go down n sign, they can send over to us or something. Anyway I still considering, dun wanna rush into it

sue-- dont u need to discuss with them b4 you sign the agreement? If they send/post over how are you going to discuss with them? I thot is meet them, go negotiate then sign the agreement?

I still have not discuss with the pple at OCC yet... so i am not that sure

lim> ald met them, discuss face to face, did a bit of negotitation. Then email them to negotiate ald. So need to finalise on the "final" offer b4 they come up with the contract n sign on it.Anyway my inlaws stay near there so its convinient oso

Ribena> u sign on the contract ald?

lim> u blur ah, I replied u I went down ald lei...forgot when, prob end apr or was it early may...

U can arrange to go down mah, they are too busy?

hmm you replied me ah? Maybe forget liao, nowadays my memory quite poor... hehe

ya will arrange with them to meet.

Ribena> Not so sure if it's wise to make a deposit now even if i have confirmed the AD. Cos i have friends telling me is not wise cos i may have 2nd thoughts in future. So also abit luan....

suelynn> hmm dunno leh i've spoken to my bf he told me is not wise to top up the extra amt. with that amt we can find a hotel in town.....

picology> I dun tink its wise oso to take up now. Cos anything can happen 1.5 or 2 yrs later. Furthermore their deposit is much more than other hotels. If ur tables is nt alot can go for those hotels with ballroom that is smaller. cos if u pay extra, it will add to ur cost per table. Mite as well use the $ n get a hotel

We saw in a magazine that OCC hold wedding dinner in function room too and they allow 10 tables min. Hv anyone held their wedding there? We are looking for a max 15 table wedding dinner

lim> basically u need to estimate hw many tables u will need. If its abt 40s quite hard to ask for more things. In fact, they gave us almost the same as what was being offered ald...

Hi Lim, have sent u the link to mi pics., sorry for the late replies. juz got back fr taiwan yest.

act advise for all of u is that u dun have to really rush to sign ur contract, juz that the deposit is to be made so as to cfn ur AD banquet date in the system. i work out the rest of mi banquet details from time to time later on, even the confirming of tables was only done 2 wks bef, since aft all, the ballroom already guaranteed 40, so u just have to inform them closer to the date ur confirmed no of tables.

lim, 30L not enuf, i had 2 barrels of beer. juz need to buy another or if u really confirm having the 2nd or 3rd, can use that to negotiate for better corkage waivers. other than that, quite hard to neg since their perks are act ok. most of us have tried that bef,

had my AD buffet lunch there last sunday, overall the coordination were good, but quite disappointed with their food. and they served VIP table with cold food. not even warm

hi all, been to OCC and met the co-ordinator, mostly all quite ok when negotiating, but then they giving like 1 waiter to 2 tables, if need 2 waiters to 3 tables, they will charge, anyone come across this problem?

lim> its mostly the case for most places even some hotels oso will charge more for more waiters. But according to my coordinator, it will depends on hw much waiters that can employ during the period. mite be 3 to 2 tables oso. What did u manage to negotiate for?

Nothing much, just negotiate the corkage waiver, they give me base on how many tables we have. coz all things are ok to both of us. But some things we dont want and change to others. so that is about all.

Did you get to see their invitation cards and door gifts??? Its very normal leh.

Also, did serene mention about buying the bubble machine???

steve> I oso interested in bubble effect lei.... I find the favours nt bad lei, some hotels favours oso nt as nice, i like the couple key chains!

i saw the invitation cards and the gifts, there are 3 different design/colour of the cards, gold, white and red. The gift is bear, key chain and chocolate, all standard lah...

hey wat bubble machine are your talking about? my co-ordinator never tell me abt it.

Serene told me they are considering buying the bubble machine to produce the effect for march in. Seems like they haven make the decision yet

steve> the cards are ok la, better than Amara's cards n favours. Fruit cake or choc..... I wanted to get my own bubble machine, since u mentioned I get very excited kekke. Save $ liddat.Emailed coordinator but no reply guess she busy entertaining new customers who are interested than ppl like me who negotiate with them for like so long.....

Lim> the last time i meet occ, they have a napkin holder as well, its a plastic orchid wrap ard the napkin kind. Dun like it cos so fake looking. I like the bears too cos quite cute, most prob take couple keyrings, can alternative the modern or traditional couple. bears oso can alternate between the male n female bears

sue-- i went to occ, but they did not show me the napkin holder, just the bear, the keychain, also have chocolate (but did not show lah!) so intend to take the chocolate.

steve-- the bubble machine effect for march in, need to pay extra? or will be giving in the package?

Hi lim,

When is ur AD? Serene never say anything abt the bubble machine... Not sure if they have bought it...

But she mentioned to me a couple rented and use it during their Banquet... She say the effect it very fairytale like. But it makes the floor slippery.

Really ah, they have the bubble machine ah? I was actually looking ard for it as well. din noe they have it. Quite happy to hear that! but hw much ah?

me oso v interested in getting OCC as my wedding venue.cos hubby n i work out our abnquet tables to be ard 40+.hotels wld be too ex for us. so now sourcing ard for nice restaurants or clubs to hold our dinner wi gd food n nice ambience.seems OCC have both, from the comments here.

had emailed them for their package.but as me n hubby nv view OCC's ballroom b4, is ther any 1 who can share their pics of the ballroom wi me? really appreicate that alot.
thks in advance. [email protected]

hi lim, to mi i tot the cards were fine. dunno if they still have the same ones as they changed yearly. i chose the long ones which i tot were fine. aft all, no one bothers abt the card after ur wedding. mi guests like the bears that we picked coz i thk diff hotels have diff bears. the one that Occ had was quite cute, coz round and fat.

wah, now got bubble machine! but where would it be placed? coz the ballroom act is quite big so muz have enuf bubbles to have the effect

hi galgal, i sent u mi AD pics for viewing. u can have a look at how the ballroom is like. itz towards the last few pics.

Hi all, I n my hb has decided on OCC due to budget contraints. They seem to fit our budget best. Will sign the contract n place deposit once my hb is back fr his biz trip! Tho they werent flexible at all, we still chose them cos of the big ballroom, capacity and price....

Pierced> hw is the process like ? we signed ald then go down n pay deposit thru credit card? then when to contact them again, hw many mths in adv to get cards etc ?

Hi suelynn, for mi, i cfn by gg down to pay up the deposit. signing of contract we did thru fax. thk u can send back thru mail as well.

usually about 3 mths bef then u contact the coord to arrange for collection of cards.
other den the cards, the rest are mostly one mth bef ur AD like food tasting.(i love their food tasting coz itz for 10 pax and servings were huge! some hotels only provide for 6 pax)
can arrange a date with ur coord to settle the final details like to choose favors, nitty gritty like seating plans, what u require for floral arrangement and table cloths, beverages,(best is to arrange aft ur food tasting as u can cfn the menu with ur coord again and calculate any change in menu)
a lot of things can be done thru emails like ballrm arrangement,etc

hi pierced, thks for sharing your pics wi me. u looked v pretty n hw i envy u wi the military march in.it's looked so grand.haha.

so u have ard 43 tables huh? the space bet each tables seems spacious.gd.easier to walk ard.
act, i find the idea of standing in the buggy abit funny..hahaha.like our president during national day.

hubby n i decide to go dw to OCC tis wkend to tok to the sales manager n perhaps work out someting from there.hopefully, it will be a fruitful trip.

hi suelynn, act u can choose to select ur own songs for march in and 1st dish or use OCC music. i chose mi own for it instead. 1st dish quite a long one coz the waiters gotta march in.

hi galgal, thanks for ur comments. all brides will look pretty on their big day. dun worry.
yup, i like occ coz there's enuf space to walk around and the tables are not squeezy. for 10 pax, very comfortable. i juz attended one at holiday view and the table was very cramp for 10. i was squashed near the wall!
i tot the buggy was quite hilarious as well, but went along with it. didnt regret since ppl were quite surprised as they didnt know we had buggy march in. plus frenz commented later itz act quite unique. yup, do go and meet to see how the place is and what they offer.

Hi all, i have place a deposit of $4k last week. We find that OCC is good and the perks are ok. Finally have settle 1 thing (banquet)

Steve, my AD is aug 07.

Hi yiplim,

You can take ur time to prepare for your AD.

Do you go to the printer recommended by OCC or you have other good printers to recommend?

pierced> thanks for the advice, what song u choose for 1st dish ah, anyway hws the presentation like? I will only go down n place deposit next week onwards, my hb is overseas.....

steve---that is in 3mths time.... so you have settle most of the things?

galgal---how was your trip to OCC?

suelynn---so you have decided on OCC, good!! i think OCC is nice and good loh.... but is cheaper then the other hotels....

yiplim, nope. I am in the midst of it.

OCC ballroom is very grand. But I am worried on the standard of the food...

the standard of the food is good lah... dont worry! if there is anything wrong with the food inform the captian immediate... (that is wat my co-ord tell me)

lim> yup decided to go with them mainly cos of $.....they follow up mainly thru email....dunno y, lack personal touch....so far alrite la

suelynn you took the menu 1? is the weekend or weekday? when you meet your co-ord both of your could sit down and talk abt the package once again. coz they dont give you the agreement on the spot, they will mail to you....

lim> took menu 1 , weekend package. My hb was away so not able to go down to pay dep yet. Finalising some details on the contract, wld be going down to sign the contract next week. Ald negotiate till cant negotiate ald