Orchid Country Club

rach> Wah din expect the OCC thread to move so fast also kekeke. Have send u the red wine supplier list through email. Take a look and ask me if u have any questions :o)

hi jon

i just had my event held yesterday...everything went so smoothly,and perfectly....the ballroom is super nice and the bridal suite (i got upgraded to the president suite)...so fantastic...Really enjoyed the event alot leaving wonderful memories for us..and everyone.

hiye all... a Merry christmas & happy new year to all in here...

Jovi >>> hiye!!! nice to hear from ya... so u have a great time @ OCC ballroom ?? that's good... keke.... i be holding my dinner there in next year .... perhaps can share few photos with us when u have them... keke..

hi moments0442

Merry x'mas to you...oh yes, we really had a great time over there...when is your AD? i will upload the pics when i have them....

jovi> Wah.. how did u get upgraded to the President Suite????????????? So shiok loh.. its $600 extra leh... And who was ur sales coord and events coord??

Is there any theme that we can choose? What did u choose?? Can share your photos with me??
PM me please.. thanks!

My AD is 01 Sep 08.

Jovi> Congrats! Belated Merry Christmas to u too :o) It is good to hear that everything went smoothly. Besides where will u be uploading your pictures? In multiply? President Suite not bad lor how much u top up or u change your menu?

jovi >>> hihi... morning! Ah... My AD is 28 Jun... yeah.. where will u be uploading to like jonathan say, so that we can have a glance at it.. keke.. but of cos, i think your pic will take some time to develop ba...

Jonathan >> So did you have any new additions of photos in your muliply?? keke.. on your AD so that can share with us too? =)

Anyway, let count down to the days to year 2008~

moments0422> My AD photos only be ready next month, this month my PG unable to make it on time. Can understand especially with the peak season now. He told me it will be ready by next month lor :o)

hi jon > i din top up any menu. Maybe they have availability, thats why they upgrade us or maybe the bridal suite is taken up by another couple.
The suite is very good, got jacuzzi...and a big living hall. Overall i am quite satisfied with their service.

My pics are not ready yet. Will upload them after i got the pics..hee..

Happy New Year to all of you.

mrswang> Hi... ermm.. not sure abt the food.. coz I havent hold my banquet yet.. but according to the comments here, its not bad la.. of coz u dun expect super high class standard... but my coord mentioned that they hold alot of events for the Ministers and all that.. so the food cant be that bad rite?
heee.. maybe Jon can share his view?

Hi all, went to OCC & meet up with Andrew yesterday. gone through the pkg with him, found everything was aright but was not so sure abt the hard liquor & wine per bottle which we can bring in. any ideal hw much is their corkage chrg if wanna bring in more than their maxi? any of ur getting their in house wine for ur dinner?

i hav another problem that is food for hala & veg de. cos got some relative & frez dont take those standard chinese set (not able to arrange all sit in the same table). anyone hav this problem too?

Yen, im having 2009 pkg de (heard frm OCC will b adjust again). i tik u can send an email to the banquet dept to request for the pkg of 2008 de.

mrswang, i had enquire from them yesterday during the meet up as to discuss abt their pkg. the food will be cook and prepare in the kitchen beside the grand ballroom, the chief will b the same as rotate between the chinese restaurant on 1st floor. tried the restaurant food during friend ROM dinner before, food quality was good and nice. so there shd b no problem on it de.

piggylover> Not sure abt bringing in more than their max... gotta check with them lo.. i guess u can always call up Andrew and check with him?
I'm still trying to fix a whole table of Halal.
For vege, i dun think I have a table of 10, I guess I have to pay double for that person.. or squeeze 11 in that table i think... then wont waste one extra seat for normal food...

rach, oh yes. thx alot for ur advise, indeed is a gd suggestion on the hala n veg problem. tik gotta sort out the guest list in the latest part. had sent out an email to Andrew to enqire this and corkage charges.

Sorry for the late reply, have been away for the last few days. For the veg and halal problem, not so much of a problem. My Muslim guests are one family that is why I can make arrangement for them to sit together in one table. But do take note if all the Muslim guests sit together in one table, there is two ways of presenting: one way is individual shares (which I dun like) and the other way is serve by dishes. The latter is the option I choose. My godparents feedback that the halal food is good and they love the way they presented the dishes also (my godparents are Muslim). Hmm try to squeeze the odd vegetarian together in a table of 10 non-vegetarian. Like that will not miss anyone out.

mrswang> The food is quite good and the portion is quite huge. For my tables of 56 + 1 halal, the guests love the food not much complaint except that the waiters and waitress seems a little bit too eager to clear the tables lor.

Piggylover> Er the house wine is not bad but find that with the price tag I can get better red wine outside. That is why I outsource my red wine to a local supplier. As for hard liquor, we din have any cos din cater for it.

jonathan, thank u for ur information. had check with andrew for the halal & veg charges, for those guest sitting with normal table will gotta chrg $60++ per pax extra. we r trying to gather the list & hope tat can fill all sitting in the same table.

as for the house wine indeed getting outside with the corkage chrgs is lower too. which wine supplier did u get frm local? we are tiking to get from outside too but worry if we get too much & there mayb alot extra for us to bring back. hw many bottle did u cater for each table?

piggylover> jon's contact got consigment basis one.. not to worry.. like u can confirm 40 bottles.. then take another 20 as consignment. In the event unused, can return.. but the 1st 40 confirmed u must take no matter what..

Get him to send u his list! Heheh...

rach, thank u very much for ur info.
it is a gd news as i hav no ideal of the cosignment request.

jonathan, do u still hav the contact of the supplier which can arrange for consignment request? can u help to send me their contact thank you!!

Has anyone of you seen the Tee Garden Foyer at Orchid Country Club or been there for a wedding event? Appreciate if you can give some comments on the venue. My boyfriend and I are thinking of having an outdoor garden theme wedding.. AD is in June 08 and yet find a suitable place which can fit into our budget. :/

Fiona> Hi there... I've seen it before.. i think it'll be rather nice to have it there..

Go talk to them.. see it in their 2008 calendar... very nice..

If you are not thinking of having many tables, that is...

Fiona, my ex-coli brother had his rom there 2yrs bad. tik the serving is buffet style de, u can send an email to enquire or go down personally to look ard.

Hi Rach and Piggylover.. thanks for your comments. We will go down to OCC this Sat to meet Serene to find out more. She did send me pictures of the foyer and i thought that's looks nice.. we are targeting for a minimum of 20 tables of 10 pax..

Rach.. My BS is Wedding Present .. how about yours?

hiye all..wow.. sudden this thread is moving fast! keke..glad to see new brdes coming in...!

Anyway... regards to the halal + vegetarian... i ambit confused... let take it this way, if we have one full table of 10pax for vegetarian, they do charge us @ the same pricing as our normal table ? or still additional charges involved?

And if we do not have 10pax to make up one table, how is their charges like? @.@" i dun think i got 10pax wor...

moments, for the halal & vegetarian it come in if u got full table of 10pax will b charge as per normal pkg price. but i tik mayb lower as this 2 different menu guest may not drink beer, so gotta check with the cooridinator of the charges.

as for those guest which taking but not in same 10pax de, nd to top up $60++ per pax extra frm the pkg they had offer u for normal menu de.

Fiona> My BS is MBR..

BTW, i dun think they have only buffet style, the ones i saw in the calendar is sit down tables... i think its 9 course style also.. gotta check with them though to ensure..

moments> the way they charge for halal and vege is like this:
if you have a table of 10pax or less ( as long as whole table is serve Halal/Vege) they'll charge you according to Menu 1 or 2 (can't rem is which)'s prices. So even if you have 5 persons in the table, it'll be charged as one table price.. $548++ or $618++ (2008 pricing)
Alternatively, if you have 10 pax in a table and you have 2 halal/vege, you have to pay that table's price - $548++ plus 2x$54++ or $62++.
Which means.. the 2 person sitting at the table is actually incurring double costs.
Coz they will charge by per table coz they will prepare the food for 10 pax, not 8 pax. So its only right that they charge u extra for that 2 persons.. I'm not sure if we can have 10 chinese in the table + 1 halal/vege. This gotta check... maybe someone can check and let us know? Hee..
I know Meritus Mandarin can. That's what the sales there told me. Just squeeze the extra in the table, then no need incur extra loh.. just a little bit squeezy for them la.. but i guess that is a good idea.
if you dont have 10pax in the table but u want whole table to be vege/halal, you have to pay full table price.

piggylover> there is a standard pricing for the halal/vege. they dont take into account that they dont drink beer la... beer is separate charge wat.. the 1 barrel that they give also not sufficient to cover all.. unless you having lesser tables..

rach, im nt really sure too. as per conversation between HTB & OCC did mention abt it. but no confirm de, still nd to talk to them once finlise on the confirm guest list again.

Piggylover> Guess rach has helped me answered your question kekeke. Still got the contact list, let me know your email account will send them to u. Besides if u manage to get enough people to sit together in one halal table, go for one table instead of individual portion. The table is more worth it.

As for red wine, my guests about half of them drink wine and I have around 56 tables. I cater around 36 bottles of red wine and another 26 bottles of red wine on consignment based. The prices for the red wine around $17 and most of my guests like it as it goes down well with the food.

rach> Yeah some hotel has the flexibility of allowing one extra person in a 10 person table but that is subjected to the size of the table.

jonathan, thank you for ur info. u can send the contact list to my email at [email protected]. thank you!

for the halal & veg table, still nt able to confirm nw. as some of the guest is my FPIL friend. think gotta confirm aft gatherin the guest list from all side de

oh.. nt necessary tat each table require 2 bottles? jus wanna check with u for the consignment of the wine, hw do u go about it? u can return to the seller for those under consignment & which not been open?

jonathan & rach, i'm facing the extra person in a 10 pax table too. cos they r in family group de, so cannot seperate they frm sitting together. will OCC chrg us for the extra person of 1 or 2 more?

thanks piggylover,rach n jonathan chew for your info. =)

btw if intend to book for 2009 when can i start to book? but i do not have a confirm date yet as tong shu for 2009 is not out yet.

mrswang, my AD fall in Dec 2009. already got my date now, but hav not confirm wit OCC yet. i had asked him during my visit last wk, there are couples had already book for their wedding for year 2009. so it's nt consider early if wanna take action nw.

oop.. we didnt wait for the tong shu for 2009, cos gotta wait till aft the lunar 7mth in 2008 den it will b out. hmm.. quite late & rush if by tat time wanna prepare for all those wedding planning & arrangement. so we went a shifu recommended by my frez, which he do not require to wait for the tongshu to be out. found he is very experience & gd in explanation on both ur bazhi & show ur charater de. cos b4 we meet up with him, my HTB seem he like those normal shifu jus anyhow say but out of expectation. he agreed wit alot of the shifu comment & even considering getting him to see our new house fengshu too.

let me knw if u nd his contact, i can email u de.

mrswang> No problem, think it is advisable to book earlier lor especially 2009 most of the hot date like 20/09/2009 have already been taken up. Think like what piggy mentioned it will be better to get a FT to calculate and provide u with a list of date to choose. For my case I also consult a FT also :o)

Piggy> A good thumb of rule is to judge how many people in the table will drink wine. For a typical red wine bottle, it can pour around 6 to 7 glasses (accordingly my wine supplier OCC wine glass are slightly smaller as compared to other place). For me, I cater around one bottle for 36 tables based on the calculation of around 30 tables of guests are wine drinker.

That is why I have 36 confirmed purchase and 36 bottles on consignment based. The 36 confirmed purchase will have to use up or bring back if unable to finish. As for the 36 bottles of consignment based, the wine supplier will bring back as long as the red wine is not opened lor.

jonathan, thank you for ur email. i had received it. it is a very useful information

now we are gathering the estimate guest list to see the nos & tables of guest will b wine drink. we will base on tat to bring in the qty of wine.

hmm.. wanna ask u as per ur reply to rach of the extra pax sharing in a 10pax table will b charge accordingly? do u hav any ideal hw it go abt it?

Piggy> From what I understand from my coordinator, that mean if says u got 10 non-vegetarian and one vegetarian sitting in one table, u will be charged one table of non-vegetarian and one vegetarian. That is what I understand when I checked with him. This is a typical practice in msot hotel also.

jonathan, oya.. hmm.. i mean if we wanna squeez in 1 or 2 more guest in 1 10pax normal menu table. will they chrg us for the extra too??

rach and piggy

For OCC tables, it can squeeze around 11 persons to one table. The table is big enough for 11 persons but 12 persons will be packed. As for the extra person, from my understanding is that they will charge the extra head lor.