Orchard Parade Hotel-Club Chinos

dilemma

Hi Eileen,

Ya I have booked my package. What abt urself?

I will be choosing the gold and white theme, looks quite unique and nice...

Dilemma

eileen

Hi Dilemma - Yes, I have booked mine with Flamingo. Who are you booked with?

I like the gold and white theme too...thinking to have a gold EG... On one hand, I thought it can match well with the whole theme, but on the other hand, if your EG and table cloth (for the host tables) the same colour, a bit funny right?? What you think huh?

rachel

hee Dilemma,

your wedding dinner in sep03? me too in sep.

I had booked my dinner for 14sep last year March..haha..very KS hor.. but we jus happened to drop by a wedding exhibition and we were attracted by the free flow of beer tingy..hehe.. I have abt 30 tables, dun know very cramped or not?...

haze

i hv oso booked with orchard parade, when do we have to meet up with eric to discuss on the theme etc? food tasting?

justme

hi haze
normally u will meet him to discuss the theme about 1 week before ur wedding. and the food tasting can be done any time as long as it is a weekday.

plse remind eric not to use new staff on ur wedding day.. i have bad experience bcos of that.

regd
justme

haze

Hi justme,

thanks...i will remind him but i think it also depends on whether there are enuf staff working on that day...keeping my fingers crossed!

dilemma

Hi Eileen,

Shldn't be a problem with the gold EG and table cloth cos normally guest eyes will be glued on the bride rather than tablecloth

I have booked with Focus Bridal at IMM.

Hi rachel

Mine is on 7 Sept. Its ok to book early than be late! I was not offered free flow of beer.

Yes, I think 30 tables is a bit cramp for the ballroon, heard that from my friends who had attended the wedding there b4. WHich bridal are you with btw?

kittycat

Hi rachel

I had my dinner at CC with 30 tables. I must say that it's quite cramped. I had to squeeze my way around those tables. I also "shrunk" the size of my stage to create more space so there was no space for champagne pouring and cake-cutting. But it was alrite with us coz we didn't want any of these.

rachel

Hee Dilemma!

Hehe..one week before me.
I am with Christain Creation for my wedding package. Heard of it? it is at tanjong pagar..Ai..heard alot of adverse comments abt its service from the forum..abit sian..me haven go for my first appointm yet. Have u??? which boutique are u with?

rachel

Hee Kittycat!

Oh no...no champagne pouring and cake-cutting ah...my silly hubby wanted 32 tables somemore..2 for reserve..I can imagine u sqeezing your way past the tables..very sian hor..tink i got to pyscho him to reduce the no of tables..its his side lor..got 22 tables..me no problem one.

kittycat

Hi rachel

I wasn't too keen on the champagne and cake so the lack of space was a good reason to do away with that. Despite it being cramped, I find CC nice and cosy (altho a fren commented that the ceiling is abit low) and the bridal suite is quite spacious. Feedback on food is good... that's most impt!

rachel

hee kittycat!

I m so happy to hear that the feedback on food is good cos most of the time those five star hotel the food sucks although it cost 800-900+++ per table. yah lor...i oso find it quite nice and cosy. thanks so much for sharing lei...even though your wedding over but u still drop by the forum. so nicee of u!

kittycat

hi rachel

It's quite fun to drop by and read the various postings. CC is value-for-money esp. if you managed to get the free-flow beer deal. I had to pay quite a bit for more beer.

Enjoy preparing for ur wedding!

rachel

hee Kittycat!

Thanks lei! yah lor..my hubby is from the army so prob alot of beer drinkers..heng ah..but then hor..my wedding is on sun..perhaps they wont drink alot oso cos next day gota work..hehehe..

dilemma

Hi Rachel,

Ya one week b4 u... hee hee. I m with Focus Bride at IMM, heard of? I also heard quite a lot of adverse comments abt my bridal shop, just our luck if it turns our bad!

Me haven go to the first appt, after CNY. So what are u preparing now? Pple alwas say must prepare one year ahead, me like dun know what to do next kinda of thing leh... hee hee

rachel

Hee Dilemma!

Happy New Year!

Me too lei..blurblur..I had alot of advice from the gals in the forum though..the brides which had signed up with my bridal boutique. all very nicee people.

I am going for first fitting on 28feb..prob try to get one off the rack then get extra photos. hehe.. photoshoot perhaps end of May. If you wan to MTM your WG and EG better go early yeh. and remember to bring your bridal shoes for your fitting hor.

I still abit headache abt the tables cos my hubby like insist wan 30 tables. I was thinking of 28 tables will be good and not too cramped. I very scared his side messy cos he got 22tables..tink i probably will stay in the bridal suite till it's time for march in then I wont see the confusion. I already arrowed my elder brother to co-ordinate..hehehe..

dilemma

Hi Rachel,

So fast ya... I haven call them for first appointment...

Photoshoot is it normally 3 mths before? Me blur blur leh
I didn't know must being bridal shoes for fitting u knw, but what if the shoes that you buy doesn't suit ur gown??

As for me, I don't have prob with too many tables as our relatives not too many, we are targeting at 25 tables. Ya, must faster find coordinator for my wedding too

Happy New Year to u too!

starcraft

Glad to find this thread and know the general good feedbacks on CC. I personally like the atmosphere and decor in OPH, simple without being over-elaborate.

I've also booked a package in Sept this year. We managed to neg for free-flow beer and waiver of wine corkage, provided that we have min 25 tables and go for the deluxe menu.

We chose CC mainly because my fiance has a very good impression of the food there. Also most feedbacks from friends on the food are very positive. After attending over 30 wedding banquets in S'pore, I've found that hotel food generally tastes "plastic" and functional. My only positive experience was of Charming Garden (another Tunglok) at Orchid Copthorne in Dunearn Road, where they served really great stuff. Although the place was really cramped, I really enjoyed the dinner. :0)

rachel

Hee Dilemma!

Perhaps u bring a pair of heels with the height u probably want to your first fitting..3,4 or 5 inches? then hor, after your first fit then u can start looking for the shoes liao. me very KS...already bought a pair of heels..off white one with abit of glitters. 3-inch.. i bought at metro marina..not very ex. but u can get better ones elsewhere too..but abit more pricey.

meekoo

my wedding is on 8/5/03.... should eric be calling me soon? or should i call them myself?

bit anxious cos didn't want things to corp up...

jean

Hi Dilemma,

This is Jean, just happen to drop by this website and would like to know more about Christian Creation.

I have heard and saw so many bad comments on this bridal shop that really scare me.

I just signed up with them and friend even asking me to forget abt the deposit and change bridal shop due to so many bad comment.

I really confuse and scare. Since you with the same shop as mine, can you share with me your experience or any advice?

Jean

erin

hi!

Anyone here has booked a weekday package? i've booked tunglok restaurant but am considering of changing to club chinois. Can anyone provide me with info on the menus and the prices? I've went to the tunglok website but they don't have the menu there. It just states that the cheapest package is $540++. Is this true?

eileen

Hi Erin

Yes, that's true for a weekday package. You may wish to contact Eric who is the banquet manager to go through the package and see the venue and most importantly to check if the date u are looking at is still available at CC.

Tel: 68340660

meekoo

this thread been so quiet..... i had went to see eric again to change some dishes and thinking about upgrading the fish? any comment? is it worth cos the next upgrading will be $30 per table!

anyone ordering real wedding cake cos they are giving dummy 3 tier cakes?

sakurasan

Hi meekoo

My mom suggested that we change our fish to deep-fried fish with some sauce..coz steamed fish is kind of dangerous...may not be fresh and it'll be obvious.

cyn

Hi ya!

Nice to meet all of you! I oso signed up wif CC for my wedding in July! I oso went through this 'fish' problem with my hubby. Altho I have to admit it is a cheaper fish, but to change fish costs between $35-$50 per table extra. Furthermore, my favourite fish is sea bass, so no prob! hee hee....

Oh yes, when are ur wedding dates? Do you get to choose the flowers n deco? I think they do not do up our names on the backdrop anymore rt?

Hi meekoo,
Seabass is quite common in wedding dinners. Personally, I wouldn't pay extra for different type of fish lor. My PILs also wanted us to change the fish cos they say it's "cheap" type lor but it's extra cost for us and we won't know if we can break-even for the dinner. If want expensive fish, it would be promfrets. Anyway, the seabass served during my wedding was quite good. All my guests enjoyed it. Hope this helps.

Hi Cyn,
OPH has 2-3 themes rite? You can choose from those themes and inform Eric on the type of flowers that you want. Certain flowers may incur extra cost.

cyn

Hi Mint,

I think i have yet to check on the themes... but i think i remb Eric tell me that I can choose white flowers, mixed coloured flowers or plain pink roses... is that the theme u r refering to?

Hi Cyn,
The themes would include the colour of the tablecloths, backdrops and flowers. I think they have a silver-blue theme; red and gold theme; and 1 more which I can't remember...Eric has some fotos for you to choose from. Dun worry about it. You can select these themes about 2 weeks before your wedding.

meekoo

hi mint

thank you for your advise. guess i will not be changing too.

btw i thot there is only 2 themes. gold and silver they called it. gold will consist red table cloth for vip tables and gold backdrop. while silver will be white backdrop and beige table cloth?

hi cyn
when's your wedding? my on 8/5/03 but the SARS things had stirred some worries from my relatives... and Eric cun reduce the no tables at all....
and postpone still subject of OPH approval

hi yaoyap

i didn't take up that.

Hi meekoo,
Can't really remember if it's 2 or 3 themes.
. I changed my table cloth to gold cos my EG was fuschia pink. I didnt want to look like a tablecloth. Backdrop also gold. So, in the end, the colours in the ballroom were white, gold and green. Effect turned out well.

meekoo

hi mint

i had request the backdrop silver or white and also changed all the napkin to white too. me very plain one hee ....

cyn

HI meekoo,

My wedding is on 5 July, so not so bad.. still got some time. Hopefully the SARS will die down by then!

Did u get ur names done up for the backdrop? I think Eric once told me that they no longer do the name thing to pin up on backdrop. Did you do that?

meekoo

hi cyn

no not doing that. prefer plain and simply.

mine is only 1 mth to go but still feel lot of things no done and also dun know what to do.

hope it will turn out well. very sad about for those who lost the beloved and salute to the doctors and nurse who had risked their life and family for us!

meekoo

hi mint

thks so much. hope this thread will be more busy then can share and discuss with them too...

v quiet here huh?

abrinas

My wedding's on 21st June. Can i join in to share some ideas?

I've just printed the cards and now I m thinking of which theme? Eric told me that i can hv white/gold theme. Still green table cloth as the base. There's roses, lilies and gerberas. Which one is nice? I still hv not chosen yet.

meekoo

hi abrinas

mine is on 8 may. might be choosing white roses or lilies. prefer white themes too.

so did they offer any things special due to SARS?

abrinas

hi meekoo

I was thinking of white roses 2 but not lilies cos my nose's quite sensitive to the smell. I prefer white 2. Thinking of mixing white with red/pink roses. Think will look quite nice.

No, they did not offer me any thing due to SARS. Maybe b'cos I hv not spoken to him abt it. Mine is still quite a distance away compared to yrs so I still hv time. U intending to postpone or something?

eileen10

Hello Abrinas and others

It's me, Eileen.

Abrinas - Know you have sorted out yr cards, so would like to check with you. The allotment of your cards given to you, is it based on the no of tables you confirmed + the reserved tables or..

Apparently, Eric is on leave these few days. Been trying to call him to fix food tasting day. Any of you done that? Any reviews?

abrinas

Hi eileen

The cards is based on the no. of tables confirmed only, excl. reserved tables. The no. of tables confirmed is the no. that they will be charging you at the end of the banquet. Reserves will only be charged if you 'open' them.

Don't intend to do food tasting. I ate there a few times so quite confident about the quality of the food.

abrinas

Hi sakurasan

I love gerberras ... v. colorful n lovely. Thanks for the suggestion. I will prob hv the same theme as you.

meekoo

hi sakurasan

do u have any pic to share?

i had tried the food tasting pretty good! anyone doing any favours for the guests?

meekoo

hi mint

did u do any montage during the dinner? thot of doing it but not sure whether they provide any equipment.

eileen10

hi meekoo, i hv checked before with CC. They can only provide the screen but not the projector. Need to rent it yourself. If you have not found your actual day photographer, you may want to consider Albert Chua, Everafter as he provides projector rental free.